$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
336 reviews
Anniversary fun

We stayed at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana, we stayed in a villa which was in close proximity to... See full review

  • Cincy couple anniversary
  • May 22, 2014
Honeymoon

Great hotel really enjoyed our stay. People are very friendly See full review

  • QTBABYD
  • May 20, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (336)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 336
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budpan1
Somerset, Massachusetts
Apr 27, 2014

Awesome Resort

This place is awesome. It has something for every age group. Although it is enormous, it is easy to get around because the trams run continuously all day long. The beach is clean and never were we unable to get a beach chair. There was always some fun activity on the beach or at the pools. The staff was friendly and very helpful. On our first day the cards to the room and safe did not work and within five minutes we had someone there who replaced our cards. Our room was always clean and the cleaning staff was respectful of our privacy when we wanted it . There was a wide selection of food always available and the Barbecue and Mediterranean Restaurants were great. We learned quickly that if you ordered a drink you had to tell them to put alcohol in it, because they had virgin drinks readily available for children and those who preferred no alcohol. The shows at night were very entertaining, especially the Michael Jackson show.There wasn't really any negative experiences on this resort. If you did not want anyone to hound you while shopping in the village area all you had to say was "no". Then they left you alone. They will ask you to spend an hour visiting their newest area on the resort called the Esmerelda....but again...if you are not interested in doing this just say "no thanks". They never bothered us after that. We booked parasailing, snorkling, and the pirate dinner cruise/show. All were outstanding. If you are looking for an inclusive place with a lot to do for all ages, this is the place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island Hopper360
NYC
Apr 9, 2014

All you need

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the island amazing. The hotel didn't offer anything extraordinary as far as entertainment but generally no complaints if all you want to do is relax and enjoy the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Global Traveler 6656
U.S.
Mar 27, 2014

Great value, terrible service

At a resort of this size, the staff have a very hard time giving any resemblance of good service. That being said, this resort is a great value. For what you pay, you get a fantastic vacation. If anything goes wrong though, it will be a headache getting it addressed by the hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravellerB
Toronto, Canada
Mar 25, 2014

Staff are THIEFS

The Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana hotel page begins with "You'll love it because…" and ends with "What you're missing…." Here's what I did not love and will never miss - lazy hotel staff who think it is their right and privilege to enter a locked room safe and steal from their patrons. I can live with our room not being cleaned for three days, but what I do have a MAJOR problem with is $108 missing from two wallets in a locked safe. When reported, security came to the room and did an "investigation." They went through everything and then inferred that we were fabricating the story and hiding the money elsewhere. Then, when that approach did not work, they accused us of drinking too much and bringing strange men back to our room. We left the resort without following up on the investigation, because security and cleaning staff started following us around the resort in the evenings and entering our room during the day to mess up our bed and personal items and "make their presence known." If you want to VACATION and feel that yourself and your property are safe (I'm not naive to think that resort theft doesn't happen, of course), I highly recommend you do NOT stay at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This was my second visit and I am utterly discussed by the staff's behaviour. I will NEVER return to this resort again. (N.B. we never did get our money back!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runningsoxfan
Salem, MA
Feb 24, 2014

Luxury Upgrade!

Upon checking in, we were told that the Punta Cana was overbooked and the hotel had upgraded us to the Ambar (located within this very large resort). Wow - what a nice surprise! Ambar is the luxury adults only portion. The hotel room was spacious with a nice patio. But the best part had to be the bathroom - it was huge, with a large vanity, separate toilet area, a rainfall shower, and a jetted tub. The pool area was fantastic - plenty of chairs and huts (if that's what you wanted). We had great service throughout the week, every one was extremely friendly and definitely there to make your stay enjoyable. We would give a shout out to Bianca (pool area server), Ruben (pool bar bartender), and Elvin (snack bar bartender). One point to be aware of...give yourself plenty of time to catch your flight home. The Punta Cana airport is a little hectic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cms705
white plains new york
Aug 19, 2013

I love this Resort

I stayed at their location in Runaway Bay and Punta Cana and I absolutely fell in love with this place I will definitely be back and soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

was amazing

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyHappyHappy
Chicago
Apr 15, 2013

Perfect resort for everyone

The check in process and a la carte dinner reservations (or lack there of) was trying, but once we were settled we, we realized how lucky we were to have found this place. This resort actually has 5 resorts. There are 4 and 5 star Gran Bahia options, one that is just adults only. The rooms/food/liquor varies between the 4 and 5 star resorts, but thats just about it. Amazing beach and pools for all, great shops, and so clean! The resort is perfectly manicured and you feel safe there. Loved the market they have at the resort - no need to leave for shopping. To me, any reviews about the resort being too big are silly. Everything is walkable and trams are readily available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I wish I would have brought more dollar bills to the all inclusive I stayed at. Tips are included, so you don't "need" to tip, but I wanted to, so ended up being a little more generous than I should have been. Having brought a bunch of singles would have been smart.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doctor Dave S
Richmond, ky
Mar 20, 2013

Couples/friends get away

For the most part things were good, just what I expected from what was rated a 3/4 star hotel/resort. However, the food in the buffets was horrible. It wasn't just once, but every day. And one night we made reservations at the "Mediterranean seafood restaurant" and it was worse than the buffets. Also, the staff seemed to constantly expect tips, even though it specifically says no tipping required

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gb2013
michigan
Mar 1, 2013

horrible experiance

we had a horrible experiance with this hotel . when we arrived our room was not available we booked a 2 queen bed and only got a single king. kept getting worse and worse !! worst experiance ever .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ayame
Providence RI
Aug 6, 2012

i wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone!

I'm shocked how everybody's reviews for this place are so good. That's why I stayed here. I would never come here again or recommend it to anybody! Check in took over an hour and a half. Even though check in is at 3pm, our room wasn't ready until after 4pm. The room only had 2 bath towels. Later someone snuck in and added 2 hand towels and a bath mat. On the second day, we got no hand towels again. But like the first day, the hand towels appeared later on in the day. There is no clock in the room and also no outlets. I had to unplug a lamp and the coffee pot to plug in my camera batteries and such. The tv is a small box tv with only a few fuzzy channels. The so called mini bar had only 2 beers! Seriously, this is a 5 star resort? I've stayed at Sleep Inns with better amenities! And I'm talking about simple things like a cold refrigerator and business center! I will say that the room did look nice at least. You have to insert your key card in a slot by the door when you come in to turn on the electric, which would be fine if it didn't turn off the AC when you leave! It's disgustingly miserable hot outside and you have to go back to your room being hot? And it also turns off the fridge! And even if you leave a key card in when you leave, that fridge keeps everything barely above room temperature. I really would appreciate some cold water! And who wants to drink warm beer? When you open your balcony door it also turns off the AC. But there is no handle on the outside of the door to fully shut it! Their wifi only works in certain areas of the lobby, if at all. And apparently the business center in our lobby is not for our use. The buffet food is honestly not good. After around 10pm the only place to get any food is one of the snack bars by the beach that only has leftover burgers and hotdogs. This resort is huge and it IS very nice looking. But the workers are all so very rude! They either love you or hate you. If the men (yes, including hotel workers) aren't hitting on you and not taking no for an answer, then they are literally scowling at you in disgust in passing! They make up their own rules too. If they don't like you or the way you look, they refuse to serve you. One of the workers we kept running in to was friendly, but way too flirty and touchy with me, and he even tried getting my friend to leave the resort with him! I will mention one bartenders name, "Rafael", because he was very nice to me and did not cross any lines. Another of the workers was at a little alcohol stand outside by the shops and he refused to serve me because they "close at 10". I said "it is 9:30". He mumbled something in Spanish with a dirty look. An hour an a half later we saw him serving others. One of the store owners kept calling me "cheap" because I didn't want to pay his outrageous prices for junk. Yeah, that's definitely a way to get me to buy anything! I was actually assaulted and blinded with pepper spray by a random crazy guest while I was minding my own business walking to the buffet with others, and not one hotel worker did anything! My friend chased her down. And everybody around us just ignored that anything happened! The beach and pools are very nice, but I imagine that stuff is nice at any of the resorts. Why would I ever want to come back or recommend a resort where I was treated like complete garbage??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top