$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
233 reviews
The perfect place for our honeymoon

My wife and i had visited the Grand Bahia Principe for a 10 nights stay. It was fabulous, we were... See full review

  • Vlad F.
  • Oct 8, 2014
Friend getaway

First time in Punta Cana and it was great. The staff was wonderful and help anytime we needed... See full review

  • Ariel Ann
  • Sep 7, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 233
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SriA
Business
San Francisco,CA
Dec 26, 2013

Much better experiences found elsewhere

After a week here with my extended family, I'm heading home tomorrow, and wanted to write this while it's still fresh. If you're looking for a one word summary, it's this: Inconvenient Now, it's always good to start with the positives: 1. No line-ups at the bars and just short ones at the restaurants, if any 2. Lots of fresh fruit at dinner 3. The weather was generally great - warm, but not too hot; just a bit of rain here and there (the hotel even provides everyone with an umbrella) 4. The rooms are huge - never feels cramped Next, the reason I think you should spend your money elsewhere: you have to work hard to enjoy this place. I've been to many resorts over the past 5-10 years, and this was by far the most cumbersome and inconvenient one I've been to. I think it mostly stems from the fact that it's so large - I think I read it's one of the largest in the world, so you feel very much like a cog in the machine rather than a guest. More specifically, here's what my group of 8 found inconvenient: 1. Eating: For breakfast and dinner the primary eating option is the main buffet. Getting there is a 5-15 minute journey depending on where you are in the resort. Also, booking reservations at the restaurants was a nightmare for us - we must have spent hours on it, and got nowhere - had to eat at the buffet every single day 2. Pool: Getting a chair means you have to put towels down at 7am; any later than that, and you are out of luck 3. Beach: Really crowded, and yep, without a towel on a chair first thing in the morning, you're out of luck 4. Administrative: Again, because the resort is so big, if you have an issue, it's a 5-15 minute journey to the front desk - this happened to several of us with room keys that stopped working 5. Rooms: They're nice and functional, but not spectacular - for example, my water pressure was always really low, and the shower setup meant the floor got soaked whenever I used it 6. Towels: I tried five times during the week to get a fresh beach towel and was told they were out every single time. A few times rather rudely As a final indicator of the service here, on the last day, my brother, his wife, and 1.5 year old had to move in with my parents. They had extended their reservation by one day, but the hotel "forgot" and basically kicked them out. They offered to let them stay on the resort if they could find their own accommodation if they paid $350 for the night. My brother managed to negotiate them down to $150. What a way to end our stay... As the title says, you can find a much better experience elsewhere for the same price. The size and crowds in this place means you're always working hard to relax and enjoy yourself - I recommend you go elsewhere where relaxation comes easier and your experience will be more personal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Garick
Business
Encino,ca
Apr 24, 2012

N/a

There are a lot of absolutely identical hotels That is why to find your hotel is very complicated. Hotel pretty far from beach. In the hotel there is no pen ,paper,list of services Even no info how to call front desk or make a wake up Call. Towels in bathroom very small. Internet signal very very week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Party Girls LA
Business
California
Jun 16, 2014

Great vacation for singles

We were two singles travelling, looking to meet awesome people at the resort. This place was perfect. The pool at 3 pm has fun games and bingo. The staff are very nice and helpful. Food: Make reservations at the restaurants right away. Here is what I thought...Japanese was the best followed by Italian. Mexican was o.k. THe BBQ was not worth it. Those are the only restaurants we tried. The buffet was decent. They had options each day for made to order food. I had an omelette and fresh pasta from the made to order. it was yummy. The lunch selection is the same everyday at the pool location. We only ate lunch at the pool location because the general buffet was really far away. Request a villa near the beach or in the center, somewhere between the lobby and the beach. We were located right next to the Italian restaurant and it was a great spot. The resort is spread out and they have a trolley to take you from one end to the other but it is nice to have the option to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The discoteca was fun every night, although not very crowded. The pool at 3 p.m. goes off! If you are looking for a party, that is where to go. (We were there in june)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
QUEENS, NEW YORK
Jun 14, 2011

Fantastic single getaway..!!!!!

beautiful,simple the best...!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monthly Traveller
Business
World Traveller
Aug 25, 2011

Great Vacation Location

Second visit to Punta Cana and would definately return to this location anytime. Wonderful staff and we have no complain about anything. Lots of entertainment and things to do or jus relax and enjoy a peaceful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Jun 9, 2009

Overall very satisfied

I'm overall satisfied with the hotel. My room's location was perfect, right by the pool and beach area. But, for people who have rooms located throughout the hotel, they must take a trolley to go to the beach. Buffet food was okay. Mainly hot dogs and hamburger. It was not awful, but not great neither. However, the a la carte restaurants are pretty good. One thing I love about the hotel is their drinks are awesome! My favorite is their coco loco and margarita. It has everything at the resort. I visited the spa and nightclub, they are both wonderful experience. There's also a mini golf and tennis court. They provide water volleyball at the pool and ping pong. There's nothing around the resort. If you would like to leave the resort, I recommend you to join one of those tour trips. They have a big plaza with nice shops for souvenirs. There are couple things that bothered me. My room key didn't work twice, so I had to get new ones at the lobby, which is 10 minutes away from my room. The A/C didn't work on the first day. But, they got it fixed on the same day. My phone was not working the whole time I was there, so I couldn't get in contact with my friends or call guest services. Staff are pretty friendly, especially the male if you are a single female. But, they don't really bother you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top