$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
234 reviews
Awesome

Excellent resort, beautifully landscaped, friendly staff,nice food. See full review

  • SvMrflk
  • Nov 17, 2014
The perfect place for our honeymoon

My wife and i had visited the Grand Bahia Principe for a 10 nights stay. It was fabulous, we were... See full review

  • Vlad F.
  • Oct 8, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 234
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chad2001
Business
Cleveland
Dec 24, 2012

Never again! Don't do it!

My girlfriend and I stayed and Gran Bahia from December 14th-20th. A friend of mine told me that she got really sick from eating the food there before, but I figured it was unlikely it would happen to me. Boy was I wrong! We were sick most of our time there and the staff did nothing to accommodate us! They were rude, gave me the run around, and very untruthful. They have a pharmacy, but it didn't have any antibiotics. We basically laid around in our room most of the days in pain. Also, I didn't find any of the specialty restaurants good at all. I ate at Le Gourmet, the Japanese restaurant, and the Mexican restaurant. The buffet was okay. Much of the food was cold. Could have been much better. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable and there was a very little and old television in the room. Most people there, staff and visitors, spoke spanish. While it was kind of hard to communicate, I didn't mind it much. The shows were okay. To top off this terrible trip we had to call 3 times for the trolly to come pick us up from the room and take us up front to the taxi. They never showed up so we had to walk our luggage across the resort. When we were almost there a worker who was passing picked us on a his trolly. I told him I checked out and needed to get a taxi. He drove us passed the front lobby, where we were suppose to catch a taxi, and to a parking lot. We waited for about 15 minutes while he said someone was coming. He didn't know English and called someone else for me. The guy said he should have took us to the lobby. I had to yell at this guy as he kept saying someone was coming. Then some guy finally showed up. He drove us to the airport. But the whole time he was doing about 90 miles and hour, and switching lanes, while talking on the phone! I WILL NEVER stay at this resort again in my life. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgruntled vacationer 2
Business
Maryland
Apr 10, 2013

Nice beach but everything else was horrible.

04/10/2013 08:57 AM No rooms were available when we arrived. They said there was a problem with booking. We waited in lobby holding our luggage for 4 hrs as they tried to find us a room. When we finally got a room it was hot and toiled seat was cracked, refrigerator did not get cold, room safe looked tampered with, security chain on front door was detached and the lamps were not plugged into wall outlets. They advertised multiple restaurants to chose from but we could not make reservations due to no seating available. Are only option was to eat at buffet. Needless to say I am in the process of disputing the charges to my discover card. I have had successful vacations in the past but this was a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Bad Service for non-spanish speakers

My wife and I went on our honeymoon to the Bahia Principe and we were NOT satisfied. Because we do not speak spanish we got the run around for everything (including ordering drinks!). It took us 6 days just to get our "honeymoon treatment" which consisted of a basket of rotten fruit, a bottle of rum, and 2 t-shirts. Service at the restaurants were sub-par of you did not speak spanish. We sat around waiting for our water which the Puerto Rican couple next to us were served grilled shrimp that wasn't even on the menu!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The highlight of our trip was definately our Outback Jeep Safari. It was an eventful and exciting trip all around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
May 20, 2009

Don't waste your money at this resort!!!

Where do I start?! We waited 2 hours for check-in.They offered another room but it was even farther than our original room. When we got to our room, it still wasn't cleaned! The floor was sopping wet, the bathroom was dirty, the bed unmade and they were still dusting! All of this was going on while our air conditioning was leaking from over head and our hair dryer didn't work. All this in the first 2 hours of our stay! We had minimal choices to pick from for lunch and were NOT ALLOWED to eat in certain places because of the color of our bracelets (yet, no one could tell us why we couldn't eat there!). We weren't even allowed at the buffet because we had just come from the pool. They patted us down!!! They served the same food every single day! We also were only allowed one towel per person per day...so even if you already returned the towels, you were not allowed a new one later in the day. Our hotel sheets smelled like body odor! When we called housekeeping, they said "10 minutes" (which you'll learn is their favorite saying!). But, after 40 minutes, we were tired of waiting. So, I called again..and the response was "I'm the only one here and you have to wait, you got it?!" I don't think I need to elaborate on what I said after that. Needless to say, they came after 12am, when we were already sleeping. By then, we had already used one of our own shirts to cover the pillow. The best part about that is...they didn't even change it! They left our shirt on the pillow for the rest of our stay! At that point, at least we knew it was our own! There aren't enough poor things that I can say about this place. I would not even call it a resort. We travel a lot! We would NEVER consider this a 5 star resort!!!! If we didn't have to go for a wedding, we would have saved ourselves a lot of money and even more so a lot of aggravation and disappointment by staying home or elsewhere!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't book here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unpleased couple
Business
New Bedford MA
Jul 2, 2009

Very annoyed!

No one could speak english! It was so hard communicating with anyone on the resort. When first arriving to the airport, an orbitz representative almost put us on the wrong bus. And on the way back because no one spoke english we missed our transportation to the airport adn had to pay for a $50 cab ride when I had already paid for the transportation. Just very unhappy. Wish I would have known it was only spanish speaking I would have never spent the money to go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
claudschi
Business
yorktown, va
Mar 13, 2014

dangerous bathtub, horrible check-in

we booked and paid for punta cana (not bavaro) level hotel room. were keep getting the run-around for 2 1/2 hours at check-in despite my confirmation clearly stating a punta cana level room. bathtub is extremely slippery (most slippery ever in 30+ countries we've been to and 100's of hotel rooms#. used a towel in and out of tub to prevent falls. despite our preventive measures, I slipped, fell and fractured my finger #1st fracture ever#. we suggest to bring own bathmat from dollar store. in room problems - no a/c 1st day, fridge replaced 3 times, tv broke morning of check-out #as of 4 hrs later was not replaced, so who know#. maid was nice and friendly #although the floor was not very clean), shuttle drivers, bellhop, bartenders were friendly. food was average. front desk was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

bring a bathmat from dollar store. bathtub was incredibly slippery. fractured my finger...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KJ Frequent Traveller
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jun 7, 2013

Wouldn't return

I am an American. This makes a difference in my review because of the things I am accustomed to. I believe this review will only assist other Americans. Be prepared that most people at the resort do not speak English. If you don't know Spanish, its incredibly hard to communicate. The front desk staff was not great. The man that checked us in was rude, when we had trouble with the room we were told to come back later, and they don't really understand customer service. The food at the buffet is pretty bad. The restaurants are mediocre at best. The drinks are not made with mixers so they taste off and the soda does not taste the same. During our 6 day stay they never explained the way the a/c worked so we had to get them to come turn it on at 2:45am one night. The bathtub did not drain at all. The ceiling fan made a racket. And you had to jiggle the handle on the toilet to keep it from running. The maid didn't stock the mini fridge even though there's a card displayed on the bureau that says she does. I have zero complaints about the pools and beaches and the grounds of the property. It is all beautiful. Gorgeous! But when you lay on the beach you will constantly get harassed by hotel staff to go to their sales presentation or to buy their excursions or goods. A pair of flip flops there are $12-$32. A can of Deep Woods Off is $30. And the vultures at the kiosks, if you are stupid enough to go there, will rob you blind. The soda machines and coffee machines were frequently out of order and there are only 2 places to eat and you have to do it on their schedule. Either the buffet or the beach snack bars. The "show" at night consists of them pulling guests up in stage and doing funny skits with the guests, but if you are used to a choreographed production you will not get it. Overall I will definitely not return to this resort and I doubt I will return to the Dominican Republic until they get a little more experienced at running all inclusive resorts. If you choose to go here are some important things to know: Bring snacks for your room because the food is bad and not always available. Brings lots of cash because everything is expensive (even at the airport) and they hound you for money. And bring bug spray bc the mosquitoes and the "no-see-sums" as they call them in Puerto Rico are merciless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you put money inside your fridge every single day it will be overfilled. If you don't they won't fill it at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grande Prairie, Alberta
Nov 15, 2010

Bad Service

The staff did not speak english well or at all. the staff was not friendly, my sister was assaulted by a male housekeeper and we had to fill out reports and the guy was fired but the hotel by no means went out of their way to make up for the situation. no where near enough was done, the manager seemed to think that it was part of their culture. the people booking trips, [...], were making ppl pay with cash so that they could keep the money for themselves, all in all the staff was not to be trusted in any area of the hotel. i would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rphillips
Business
North vRilina
Aug 11, 2014

Punta Cana grand Bahia

Room and all facilities were immaculate. Despite the cleanliness all 5 people in our party became sick w nausea & diarhea. After reporting to several staff members, not one seemed concerned that we were sick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone in my party became sick within 2 days

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coolbody
Business
salem ,nh
Mar 6, 2014

some things need help

toliet not working i had to fix it twice. called for ice on 2 /25/2104 still wating the refrigerator wasnt working had to call for repair. tried to make resaervation at one of the speciality restaurants could not give me a reservation till 9;45 pm too late forus seniors, the room did not get made up till after 4;30 daily the stairs leading down from the unit were wet with soap and water with no warning almost slipped and fell' upon arrival t could not get into the room until after 4;00 pm check is 3;00 pm had to wait around for room to be ready no slip bars in tub almost fell trying to shower g

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

not bad i guess for the money if they want me back some type of financial monies would probably get me to come back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top