$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Apr 19, 2008

Don't get excited about the food

The room and amenities were nice. The food was not good. Don't expect anything outstanding except for the Brazilian restaurant. We were starving for some normalcy. Not much seafood except for the day they were doing a survey in the buffet restaurant then they had some weird lobster. The pool and bar was awesome. Shows were ok but after a dinner like that hard to take. Can not go outside the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Mar 2, 2011

Beautiful Resort....but

We stayed at this resort the last week in February 2011. The grounds and the room were very lovely. The food was super awful. Five nights was way too long to live on rice and orange water (called orange juice by the resort). There was a definite language barrier with the staff which made it difficult to communicate. Many of the staff members only speak Spanish. Also, it was like a smokers convention here. There is nowhere to escape the stench of smoke other than your hotel room, and even that had an ashtray in it. The beach was crowded and packed with smokers as was every other space on this resort. Would never even consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Cana, DR
Feb 26, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Good:1. Beautiful hotel in paradise with great weather for our entire trip.2. Really enjoyed snorkeling expedition and massages.3. Drinks were very good and they'll make them strong for you! Not top shelf, but still good. FYI, tip [...] well at the pool and she'll take very good care of you!4. Entertaining MC's and activities at the beach and main pool.5. Good looking people everywhere you turn, so we fitted in well :)6. Clientele consisted of: 50% Canadians, 25% Europeans, and 25% Americans. Made for interesting conversations with other guests.Bad:1. Only stayed for 4 nights and all of the good restaurants were already booked up almost a week out, so we couldn't eat where we wanted to.2. The food made us nauseous for most of the trip.3. One day, the maid removed the sheets from our bed and didn't put new sheets on. We called room service to get sheets and no one came, so after 2 hours, we tracked down a maid outside and had her come up to put sheets on our bed.4. We were told we could use the pool in front of our hacienda and an employee embarrassed us by making us leave and move to a pool further away since we weren't given the correct bracelet to use our pool.5. Hotel staff friendliness was hit or miss. Some were very friendly and helpful and others acted like they'd help us only if it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for them.6. There were minor language issues since all employees didn't speak English and we speak broken Spanish. Wasn't a major issue for the most part, but little things like asking for a steak "rare" and getting it "charred/well-done" happened from time to time.7. Most bars close at 5:30pm, so had to go to bar lobby or casino for drinks after 5:30pm. Could also get drinks at disco after midnight.8. People reserved beach/pool chairs with their towels even if they never used them, so we had to scavenge hunt for chairs every day. Hint: reserve a chair by 9:00am each morning with your towel even if you might not ever use it.Bottom Line:Had a great time, but probably won't go back to the Gran Bahia Principe due to their customer service issues of helping us only when it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Stop by the pool or beach by 9:00am to put your beach towel on chairs to reserve them. Everyone else does this and it's almost impossible to find 1-2 chairs after 11:00am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anonymous28
Business
New Jersey
Aug 18, 2014

Good but lacks minor things

Overall I was happy with quality of service and friendly staff. Resort is beautiful but lacks some basic things like no exhaust in restroom, insufficient air conditioning at dance club, couldn't stay in over 30 minutes. Missing air conditioning in lobby. Worst was not able to get restaurant reservation if you are more than 4 people in your group. We were there for four nights and they could not provide us a reservation in any good restaurant at property. Food in main dining hall (buffet) was decent enough, so we didn't mind that much but it would have been a good fine dining experience if we could get reservation in restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservation when you arrive or you may not get one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
proud daddy1
Business
boston ma
Sep 3, 2014

good value

Hotel was close to beach, but it was too big where you have to ride shuttle go to place. It takes way too long to make appointment for restaurants. They have few openings and not everyone can use restaurants. We had first floor, if you leave bread crumbs, ants will be all over. Foodo on buffet was good and pool was excellent. One night I saw cockroach, I didn't care, and caught it but kind of worried it might follow us with luggage. If we go back I would pay more to different bahia resort like emeralde, amenities were way better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
loris
Business
N/A
Mar 16, 2015

if you love hot dogs and burgers...if not GO SOMEWHERE ELSE

if you are looking for a decent food resort this would be it. It lacks flavor. The hibachi was the only decent place to eat and that you only get to choose 3 places to eat for 7 days is horrible. The buffet besides breakfast was HORRIBLE. I ve eaten better at a fast food place. the staff is great and the drinks are good too.. but the food .. is not up to par

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
that's me on the beach
Business
Toronto
Dec 31, 2013

Pleasant Christmas Getaway

The beach is beautiful, the water clear, and there are just enough waves to make it interesting. Hard to imagine a young family not enjoying the shallow, ever moving ocean. If your primary focus at an all inclusive is the beach you will not be disappointed, though when the place is busy the sun bed hunt will be an irritation. Grounds are lovely, pools immaculate, but since even the quiet pool is right beside the regular pool, pool scene a little too caffeinated for our comfort. Rooms were fine, though fridge and fan were both on fritz. Beds and bedding not particularly comfortable. There seem to be several classes of room and it may be worth paying extra to be closer to the beach or in a quieter area if those are priorities. Buffet food was fine, but would have preferred the main buffer have a more open feel. Usually lunched and breakfasted at one of the beach side snack bars, better ambiance and the same food. Do absolutely book a al carte restaurants, which had a much higher standard of food, service and ambiance. French, Japanese Teppanyaki and "Garden Grill" all excellent and close to big city standards. Did not do many activities as they seemed somewhat chaotically organized, and sport area feels separate from resort. Might be wise to organize before you leave, but it might still seem possible nothing will happen until it does. Resort is very big and may best suit families with different interests and older kids emboldened to do things on their own. I think we would have preferred something smaller and quieter with easier to access activities. Potentially good value then, obviously depending on what you pay, but the only standout elements are the beach (essential to my party) and the a la cartes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Book as many a la cartes as you can, and not having sampled the others I can say the French, the "Garden Grill" and the Japanese Teppanyaki places were all surprisingly good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
defrostintheDR
Business
Hoth, MA
Feb 15, 2014

great resort

The resort is great. The staff is very friendly and there are a ton of areas. 3 huge pools with swim up bars, just a perfect place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
St. John the Divine
Business
Philly, PA
Mar 2, 2014

very large hotel. nice but a bit complicated

over all it's a very nice place to stay but be ready to get to the beach 7-7:30 am if you wanna get a chair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BaezW
Business
Puerto Rico
Mar 13, 2014

Excellent Resort!

I vacationed from 08/03/14 to 12/03/14. When I first got to Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana the hotel was over booked, so they gave me an upgrade to The Esmeralda a luxury hotel inside this huge resort. Best thing that could happen! The Esmeralda is real a luxurious hotel and with the violet colored bracelet they gave me I could access all the resort. The Place is beautiful: rooms, restaurants, pools, beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. My only complain is about the night life which is not too variable. The food is good, but not excellent. I highly recommend the Gran Bahia Principe Resort. It's Worth The Money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top