$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
231 reviews
Friend getaway

First time in Punta Cana and it was great. The staff was wonderful and help anytime we needed... See full review

  • Ariel Ann
  • Sep 7, 2014
Beautiful Carribean Setting

I was very lucky because the Punta Cana section of my hotel was booked when I arrived and received... See full review

  • Lily from New York
  • Aug 26, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rott1
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Staff is very rude.

The resort was very nice and clean. There are a lot of attractions and activities to do in the resort. However, if you like to go outside the resort and see the sights on your own, it is not for you. The resort is about 40 minutes away from the nearest town and the taxi can get very expensive. The staff is very rude. When you first check in, they will give you a map of the resort and tell you to go on your way. They will not explain anything to you. They simply don’t care. The resort has some decent restaurants, however you better make reservations during the check in process or you will not be able to get in later. It’s all booked. I was only able to get into 2 restaurants out of six .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Apr 19, 2008

Don't get excited about the food

The room and amenities were nice. The food was not good. Don't expect anything outstanding except for the Brazilian restaurant. We were starving for some normalcy. Not much seafood except for the day they were doing a survey in the buffet restaurant then they had some weird lobster. The pool and bar was awesome. Shows were ok but after a dinner like that hard to take. Can not go outside the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa City, Iowa
Mar 11, 2009

Little fish in a very big pond

I knew going in it would be a large place but I had no idea how large it truely was. The tram was helpful but with about 10,000 people it was about as full as all the chairs. People did comment about the food, it wasn't super but pretty good and very consistant considering how many they feed. The Speciality Dining actually had about the same food as the buffet just different atmosphere, but they did host a wonderful birthday party for my guy. I found the Dominican people fun, they like to laugh, and they really want all the tourists to have a good time. I was most surprised about all reserved chairs at the pools and beach. If lucky enough to find a chair I could sit for hours and no one came to claim the chair they probably got up early to reserve with their beach towel. There are literally thousands of chairs at the beach and one day I couldn't find just one that didn't have a "reserved" towel on it. That was annoying, especially when probably half are reserved knowing they would be gone all day enjoying a tour or something. Best thing to have along, flip flops (but they had plenty to sale), sunscreen (very expensive there, I went through 2 spray cans of spf45, two small tubes spf55 and half a tube of spf70) came back glowing but not burnt! Tummy medicine was good for heart burn but they are careful about the food. Lots of swim suits and cute coverups a must!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Mar 2, 2011

Beautiful Resort....but

We stayed at this resort the last week in February 2011. The grounds and the room were very lovely. The food was super awful. Five nights was way too long to live on rice and orange water (called orange juice by the resort). There was a definite language barrier with the staff which made it difficult to communicate. Many of the staff members only speak Spanish. Also, it was like a smokers convention here. There is nowhere to escape the stench of smoke other than your hotel room, and even that had an ashtray in it. The beach was crowded and packed with smokers as was every other space on this resort. Would never even consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Punta Cana, DR
Feb 26, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Good:1. Beautiful hotel in paradise with great weather for our entire trip.2. Really enjoyed snorkeling expedition and massages.3. Drinks were very good and they'll make them strong for you! Not top shelf, but still good. FYI, tip [...] well at the pool and she'll take very good care of you!4. Entertaining MC's and activities at the beach and main pool.5. Good looking people everywhere you turn, so we fitted in well :)6. Clientele consisted of: 50% Canadians, 25% Europeans, and 25% Americans. Made for interesting conversations with other guests.Bad:1. Only stayed for 4 nights and all of the good restaurants were already booked up almost a week out, so we couldn't eat where we wanted to.2. The food made us nauseous for most of the trip.3. One day, the maid removed the sheets from our bed and didn't put new sheets on. We called room service to get sheets and no one came, so after 2 hours, we tracked down a maid outside and had her come up to put sheets on our bed.4. We were told we could use the pool in front of our hacienda and an employee embarrassed us by making us leave and move to a pool further away since we weren't given the correct bracelet to use our pool.5. Hotel staff friendliness was hit or miss. Some were very friendly and helpful and others acted like they'd help us only if it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for them.6. There were minor language issues since all employees didn't speak English and we speak broken Spanish. Wasn't a major issue for the most part, but little things like asking for a steak "rare" and getting it "charred/well-done" happened from time to time.7. Most bars close at 5:30pm, so had to go to bar lobby or casino for drinks after 5:30pm. Could also get drinks at disco after midnight.8. People reserved beach/pool chairs with their towels even if they never used them, so we had to scavenge hunt for chairs every day. Hint: reserve a chair by 9:00am each morning with your towel even if you might not ever use it.Bottom Line:Had a great time, but probably won't go back to the Gran Bahia Principe due to their customer service issues of helping us only when it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Stop by the pool or beach by 9:00am to put your beach towel on chairs to reserve them. Everyone else does this and it's almost impossible to find 1-2 chairs after 11:00am.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mom_rocks8
Ottawa, ON
May 11, 2011

Family Wedding

The attraction is the warm turquoise ocean water and the white sandy beach. Awesome! We took a shopping excursion to 3 different malls to shop for $15.00 and did a "james bond" type of adventure $60.00 - driving your own boat out to another boat to do snorkeling which was really fantastic..Sun is very hot - I used SPF 50 the whole time and still burnt. Lots of good food /drinks. Leave all "gold jewellery" at home - mine went missing from the room the first day. You can use the "safe" at $4.00 per day. There are NO CLOCKS in the room, the TV was very small tube type and the phone did not work. I got bug bites on my legs - from the knees down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your a la carte dinner reservations as soon as possible after your arrive since they "fill fast".

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Resort Man
Illinois
Sep 14, 2012

Trip Was Good, Not Great!

Just got back from a 5 day, 4 night stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort. This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic. Previously we have went to the Barcelo Maya Beach Resort in the Riviera Mayan, Mexico. We decided to try something different this year and this happened to be a little cheaper. For most of this review I will compare our experience at Gran Bahia Principe with that at the Barcelo Maya Beach Resort. The one great thing about Gran Bahia was the distance from the airport. Compared to the Riviera Mayan this trip was only 20 mins compared to an hour and half. However after that one item everything else is downhill. THE BEACH: The beach is horrible....the seaweed is overwhelming and you can't walk in the water unless your standing in seaweed. The beach is crawling with vendors that are trying to sell you stuff, and they are very very pushy. And good luck finding a seat. At the Barcelo in Mexico the beach is kept clean, is off limits, to vendors, and always has plenty of seats. TIP: take your towels down to the pool or beach and claim your chairs early in the morning (everyone else does). THE LAYOUT: be prepared to walk the resort is long inland and you have a good half mile walk from the beach to the reception area. They do have trams but they run every 10 mins or so and are often crowded. Barcelo in Mexico has this place beat hands down on layout. THE POOL: Gran Bahia has a nice set of pools but only one pool down by the beach with a bar. The pool is nice but often crowded. THE ROOMS: The rooms are ok, you have to pay for a safe which is a rip off but well worth the money because its very sketchy who goes in and out of your room throughout the day. Our friends found some cockroaches in their room. THE FOOD: The restaurants were good not great the best by far was the Japanese. The buffet, breakfast, and lunch is very redundant, be prepared to eat a lot of the same stuff over and over. THE STAFF: The staff is not very welcoming, very few speak English fluent and they don't seem as friendly as other resorts. OTHER ITEMS: Beware the Shopping Plaza in the resort, they will steal you blind and are very very pushy! The entertainment is on par with a Grade School production, some great dancing but the sound, lighting, and overall shows were a waste of time. The activity staff seemed more interested in hooking up with girls then doing their job. If your going to drink do so in the lobby bar, they have the best drinks. OVERALL: It was great to go to the DR once in my life but would not go back to this resort and left a very very bad impression on the Bahia Principe. For my money if you want a great all inclusive vacation, great beach, great pool, great staff, and great experience I would check out another resort and from my experience Barcelo is the way to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late Honeymoon
New York, New York
Sep 4, 2013

Three year belated honeymoon

We booked this resort (both mine and my wife's first ever all inclusive resort) not knowing that there would be different and more expensive sections with better food/access (my fault). Booking Punta Cana instead of other sections at the hotel will give you fewer amenities and access to only one of the buffets. I can't comment on whether the food was better at the buffets of the pricier sections of the hotel, but I would assume so. I'll start by saying reception and check-in was great and smooth. Bumped up into a slightly better room for no apparent reason but I didn't ask questions. The resort is massive. If you get a room by the main large pool right by the beach, then you will have to take the train/ trolly/bus to the buffet which is in the lobby. The food is mediocre; some people I spoke to there enjoyed it so maybe I'm a pickier eater than I thought. I was also really disappointed with the service in the buffets; you are greeted as you enter, checked for wet clothing and allowed in. More often than not you have to try and find your own table (this gets difficult at peak meal hours) and then wait entirely too long for the waiters to bring you water. After swimming and sweating I didn't want beer, I wanted water; the waits were long. The pools were clean, the beach was fantastic. There are shows in their theater every night which were entertaining. Again, you will have to take the train there (you could walk, but I do not exaggerate by saying it is nearly a half mile from where my room was). Almost all of the staff spoke english very well; it's important for those who complain of their abilities that we are visiting their country where they speak Spanish and english is a second language for all of them. In short: food mediocre, but if you don't care and just want a nice and affordable place to lounge by a pool and nice beach then go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anonymous28
New Jersey
Aug 18, 2014

Good but lacks minor things

Overall I was happy with quality of service and friendly staff. Resort is beautiful but lacks some basic things like no exhaust in restroom, insufficient air conditioning at dance club, couldn't stay in over 30 minutes. Missing air conditioning in lobby. Worst was not able to get restaurant reservation if you are more than 4 people in your group. We were there for four nights and they could not provide us a reservation in any good restaurant at property. Food in main dining hall (buffet) was decent enough, so we didn't mind that much but it would have been a good fine dining experience if we could get reservation in restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservation when you arrive or you may not get one.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 16, 2011

Ok

The food was underwhelming as was the entertainment. Bars closed at 11 and disco didn't open until midnight, so not the place to go if you're looking to spend the evening dancing unless you're a night owl. However, people were friendly and grounds were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search