$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
240 reviews
Awsome

We have a blast ... Bad experience on try to sign us for the member club to long See full review

  • Rickycenturion
  • Nov 19, 2014
Awesome

Excellent resort, beautifully landscaped, friendly staff,nice food. See full review

  • SvMrflk
  • Nov 17, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00
Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anokstay
Business
usa
Aug 2, 2012

punta cana vacation

Most of the staff was friendly. Food was good. beds are very uncomfortable, even for just a couple of hours of sleep each night. Hard to find a chair by the beach, impossible to find one by any of the pools, even if you get there by 6 in the morning, because people leave their towel and other belongings on the chairs as if they own them and the hotel allows this to happen. First come first served, that's how it should be. All in all, it's an ok place to stay in, you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Resort Man
Business
Illinois
Sep 14, 2012

Trip Was Good, Not Great!

Just got back from a 5 day, 4 night stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort. This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic. Previously we have went to the Barcelo Maya Beach Resort in the Riviera Mayan, Mexico. We decided to try something different this year and this happened to be a little cheaper. For most of this review I will compare our experience at Gran Bahia Principe with that at the Barcelo Maya Beach Resort. The one great thing about Gran Bahia was the distance from the airport. Compared to the Riviera Mayan this trip was only 20 mins compared to an hour and half. However after that one item everything else is downhill. THE BEACH: The beach is horrible....the seaweed is overwhelming and you can't walk in the water unless your standing in seaweed. The beach is crawling with vendors that are trying to sell you stuff, and they are very very pushy. And good luck finding a seat. At the Barcelo in Mexico the beach is kept clean, is off limits, to vendors, and always has plenty of seats. TIP: take your towels down to the pool or beach and claim your chairs early in the morning (everyone else does). THE LAYOUT: be prepared to walk the resort is long inland and you have a good half mile walk from the beach to the reception area. They do have trams but they run every 10 mins or so and are often crowded. Barcelo in Mexico has this place beat hands down on layout. THE POOL: Gran Bahia has a nice set of pools but only one pool down by the beach with a bar. The pool is nice but often crowded. THE ROOMS: The rooms are ok, you have to pay for a safe which is a rip off but well worth the money because its very sketchy who goes in and out of your room throughout the day. Our friends found some cockroaches in their room. THE FOOD: The restaurants were good not great the best by far was the Japanese. The buffet, breakfast, and lunch is very redundant, be prepared to eat a lot of the same stuff over and over. THE STAFF: The staff is not very welcoming, very few speak English fluent and they don't seem as friendly as other resorts. OTHER ITEMS: Beware the Shopping Plaza in the resort, they will steal you blind and are very very pushy! The entertainment is on par with a Grade School production, some great dancing but the sound, lighting, and overall shows were a waste of time. The activity staff seemed more interested in hooking up with girls then doing their job. If your going to drink do so in the lobby bar, they have the best drinks. OVERALL: It was great to go to the DR once in my life but would not go back to this resort and left a very very bad impression on the Bahia Principe. For my money if you want a great all inclusive vacation, great beach, great pool, great staff, and great experience I would check out another resort and from my experience Barcelo is the way to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alg world traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 1, 2013

Tropical getaway

This hotel is in the perfect location along a beautiful beach. I have plenty of beaches and hotels to compare this with since I have traveled plenty throughout the Caribbean. The water is a bit rough at times but that mainly happens later in the day. The beach is kept clean. There were always people cleaning up. The only negative fact is that if you don't get there before 9 a.m., it's difficult finding a chair. As for the hotel, I was not impressed. It is no doubt well maintained, but just too large of a place to deal with. For example, getting extra towels and pillows is a challenge. It took 3 days to get the pillow and we never were able to get an extra towel. They most likely can't keep track of who needs what due to the size and crowd at this place. Also, part of the problem is that most of the employees speak not a word of English. The rooms are cleaned daily and I want to mention that there are plenty of mosquitoes in the rooms as well as outside. This seems to be a problem there but I understand it's not their fault. Finally, the food was somewhat of a disappointment. The buffet was just not as good as I thought it would be. The fruit was terrible for being in the Caribbean. The desserts were terrible as well. I did experience 3 specialty dinners that were better. I will just mention the fish restaurant since it was really a great dinner. In summery, I most likely would not return to this hotel again. If I were to return to Punta Cana again, I would choose a smaller resort were the service can be a bit better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The fish restaurant is the best one there. You will need a reservation in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JeanJeanJean
Business
Boston
Feb 25, 2013

Not really all inclusive

Only 3 à la carte dinners per week of stay. We stayed 5 nights, so we only allowed 2 a la carte dinners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late Honeymoon
Business
New York, New York
Sep 4, 2013

Three year belated honeymoon

We booked this resort (both mine and my wife's first ever all inclusive resort) not knowing that there would be different and more expensive sections with better food/access (my fault). Booking Punta Cana instead of other sections at the hotel will give you fewer amenities and access to only one of the buffets. I can't comment on whether the food was better at the buffets of the pricier sections of the hotel, but I would assume so. I'll start by saying reception and check-in was great and smooth. Bumped up into a slightly better room for no apparent reason but I didn't ask questions. The resort is massive. If you get a room by the main large pool right by the beach, then you will have to take the train/ trolly/bus to the buffet which is in the lobby. The food is mediocre; some people I spoke to there enjoyed it so maybe I'm a pickier eater than I thought. I was also really disappointed with the service in the buffets; you are greeted as you enter, checked for wet clothing and allowed in. More often than not you have to try and find your own table (this gets difficult at peak meal hours) and then wait entirely too long for the waiters to bring you water. After swimming and sweating I didn't want beer, I wanted water; the waits were long. The pools were clean, the beach was fantastic. There are shows in their theater every night which were entertaining. Again, you will have to take the train there (you could walk, but I do not exaggerate by saying it is nearly a half mile from where my room was). Almost all of the staff spoke english very well; it's important for those who complain of their abilities that we are visiting their country where they speak Spanish and english is a second language for all of them. In short: food mediocre, but if you don't care and just want a nice and affordable place to lounge by a pool and nice beach then go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJIte
Business
New Jersey
Dec 27, 2013

Nice resort except bed bugs

Good location, generous amenities, very helpful staff, decent food/drinks. The big problem was that many rooms have bed bugs. We switched twice before it got somewhat acceptable. Another point to ponder is the pace at which anything gets done. This is probably uncorrelated to the resort, but everything happens in very slow motion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coolbody
Business
salem ,nh
Mar 6, 2014

some things need help

toliet not working i had to fix it twice. called for ice on 2 /25/2104 still wating the refrigerator wasnt working had to call for repair. tried to make resaervation at one of the speciality restaurants could not give me a reservation till 9;45 pm too late forus seniors, the room did not get made up till after 4;30 daily the stairs leading down from the unit were wet with soap and water with no warning almost slipped and fell' upon arrival t could not get into the room until after 4;00 pm check is 3;00 pm had to wait around for room to be ready no slip bars in tub almost fell trying to shower g

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

not bad i guess for the money if they want me back some type of financial monies would probably get me to come back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just another one Reviewer
Business
NYC
Jun 3, 2014

Nice place for its money

Good place to spend a vacation. Beautiful beach. Food is nice, kids aquapark is also a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mom_rocks8
Business
Ottawa, ON
May 11, 2011

Family Wedding

The attraction is the warm turquoise ocean water and the white sandy beach. Awesome! We took a shopping excursion to 3 different malls to shop for $15.00 and did a "james bond" type of adventure $60.00 - driving your own boat out to another boat to do snorkeling which was really fantastic..Sun is very hot - I used SPF 50 the whole time and still burnt. Lots of good food /drinks. Leave all "gold jewellery" at home - mine went missing from the room the first day. You can use the "safe" at $4.00 per day. There are NO CLOCKS in the room, the TV was very small tube type and the phone did not work. I got bug bites on my legs - from the knees down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your a la carte dinner reservations as soon as possible after your arrive since they "fill fast".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 16, 2011

Ok

The food was underwhelming as was the entertainment. Bars closed at 11 and disco didn't open until midnight, so not the place to go if you're looking to spend the evening dancing unless you're a night owl. However, people were friendly and grounds were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top