Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
334 reviews
Anniversary fun

We stayed at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana, we stayed in a villa which was in close proximity to... See full review

  • Cincy couple anniversary
  • May 22, 2014
Honeymoon

Great hotel really enjoyed our stay. People are very friendly See full review

  • QTBABYD
  • May 20, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
claudschi
yorktown, va
Mar 13, 2014

dangerous bathtub, horrible check-in

we booked and paid for punta cana (not bavaro) level hotel room. were keep getting the run-around for 2 1/2 hours at check-in despite my confirmation clearly stating a punta cana level room. bathtub is extremely slippery (most slippery ever in 30+ countries we've been to and 100's of hotel rooms#. used a towel in and out of tub to prevent falls. despite our preventive measures, I slipped, fell and fractured my finger #1st fracture ever#. we suggest to bring own bathmat from dollar store. in room problems - no a/c 1st day, fridge replaced 3 times, tv broke morning of check-out #as of 4 hrs later was not replaced, so who know#. maid was nice and friendly #although the floor was not very clean), shuttle drivers, bellhop, bartenders were friendly. food was average. front desk was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

bring a bathmat from dollar store. bathtub was incredibly slippery. fractured my finger...

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
watch out
New York, NY
May 25, 2009

unfriendly guest services

The location was lovely and the facilities were well kept. However, the front desk staff and guest services was unfriendly and not very helpful. The other workers were very nice (waiters, waitresses, etc.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grande Prairie, Alberta
Nov 15, 2010

Bad Service

The staff did not speak english well or at all. the staff was not friendly, my sister was assaulted by a male housekeeper and we had to fill out reports and the guy was fired but the hotel by no means went out of their way to make up for the situation. no where near enough was done, the manager seemed to think that it was part of their culture. the people booking trips, [...], were making ppl pay with cash so that they could keep the money for themselves, all in all the staff was not to be trusted in any area of the hotel. i would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westchester County New York
Feb 19, 2010

Slow Service

I was disappointed with my stay at this hotel. The hotel is comprised of four or five hotels! The size is absolutely massive. Some of the hotel structures are close to the beach and others require the use of a shuttle to get to the beach. Check in was extremely slow. I wound up with two double beds instead of a king bed on my honeymoon. The hotel staff was unable to explain how the mix up happened nor were they able to rectify the situation because the hotel was sold out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

You must make dinner reservations for the week upon arrival or you will not be able to eat in any of the a la carte restaurants. You are not allowed to eat in the a la carte restaurants every night.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco
Aug 18, 2009

get away

We had problems at the registration office getting our suite. The hotel said that we had paid for 2 adults and 1 child therefore we needed to pay extra if we were 3 adult which I told them we had paid for adults only(this was a lot of time consuming, trying to get things corrected, staff had us checking at the fron desk a couple of times and things were not fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelBug00
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Probably won't return

The first thing I noticed in the hotel room was the ants. Later I noticed what may have been bed bugs. The bed was hard as a rock and the room could definitely use an update. I was afraid to use the blanket because it smelled and looked like it had never been washed. You could not escape the cigarette smoke or the people asking you to buy things. The excursions were mediocre and a little scary. The buffets got tiresome because they lacked variety but you can expect that at an all inclusive resort. However, the Japanese restaurant and the Steak House were great and the staff was very friendly and accomodating, especially at the Sports Bar. Also, the weather was perfect and the scenery was gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you can't get a reservation for dinner, talk to the person at the front because they may be able to squeeze you in anyway and it's definitely worth trying to escape the buffet.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
May 27, 2009

Vacation in the Caribbean

The Bar's pool close very early, at 5:30pm. People selling hand made stuff are very insistent. You can find people on the beach selling excursions but that is illegal, they are no responsible if something happen to you during the excursion.. They give you one towel per day for the beach, you can't change it until the next day. The TV in the room is small and noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Garick
Encino,ca
Apr 24, 2012

N/a

There are a lot of absolutely identical hotels That is why to find your hotel is very complicated. Hotel pretty far from beach. In the hotel there is no pen ,paper,list of services Even no info how to call front desk or make a wake up Call. Towels in bathroom very small. Internet signal very very week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexico Spoiled
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 9, 2012

Average get what ya pay for trip

When shopping for bargain beach vacations, my first inclination is Mexican locations. But I wanted to try something different this time, and was urged to do so by my travel companion. I think I'll stick to Mexico. The staff at both the hotel and excursions were less than impressive. It was rare to bump into anyone who seemed eager to make our experience exceptional. I often felt as though we were a burden. Their english was poor. Only shop keepers and the front desk people spoke fluently. Service in the restaurant was slow and spotty. Our hotel had several restaurants, but we were only able to experience the buffet. All reservations for the specialty restaurants were filled even before we arrived. So it was never even an option to try them. The food was decent buffet style, but became a little repetative, since it was our only option. 24 hour room service was supposedly included in our package. However there was no menu to be found and when we called the front desk staff about it, they said our room is not served room service. so that was another disappointment. The clerk apologized to us at check out, but offered no reparations. The beach and water were very pretty, but way way way overcrowded. It was almost impossible to find a chair to lay in. And any sand castle would be trampled in minutes due to the traffic. Way too many available hotel rooms for the size of their beach. But escaping to the pools wasnt really an option either. Every poolside chair was claimed before the sun rose in the morning. Even though gratuities are supposedly included in the price of the vacation package, I've worked in the service industry, so I'm big on rewarding good service with a little extra. I never tipped once this trip. The staff were unmotivated and unimpressive. They would have to offer a huge price difference to get me to choose DR over Mexico. And I'd know going into the trip that I was paying for the weather, not the hotel service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We did a nightclub excursion to Imagine with open bar. It was a nightclub built in a cave. A very interesting experience. Be prepared to wait in long lines for your included drinks. Be prepared to have no idea what is going on because the staff informs you of nothing.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LSMHG
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Late Spring Break Get-away

This was our first time to Punta Cana. We usually travel within Mexico but decided to do something different this year. A co-worker recommended this resort - so I highly trusted her recommendation. Location: Beautiful white sand beach with clear blue water. Beach/Pool: Overcrowded. Big downfall was no open lounge chairs. We had to get set our alarm clocks at 730AM everyday to pick up our beach towels (@ 8am) to save a spot. Although, that rarely ever worked out due to the fact that almost every seat was already "taken" prior to 8am. **TIP: Save your old beach towel til the next morning to save your seat bright and early - that way you do not need to wait til 8am for the towel stand to open. **Beach: Be aware there are nudist sun bathing on the beach - I thought a little arrogant especially since there were young children walking and playing around. Room: Location was perfect (Villa 11) in the middle of everything. Good walking distance. Bus service available every 5 minutes (As so they say). Lighting in the room needs to be changed - too dark. We were not able to turn on the tall lap in the corner. The fridge smelled like bad residue - needs to be cleaned - also "mini bar" were barely ever cold. Room presentation creative and cute. Food: Surprisingly good. Drinks: barley puts any alcohol - depending on which bartender. Shows: Michael Jackson was the only good one. Some co workers arrogant - made some racial comments directly at us. Overall, was a decent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top