$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
238 reviews
Awsome

We have a blast ... Bad experience on try to sign us for the member club to long See full review

  • Rickycenturion
  • Nov 19, 2014
Awesome

Excellent resort, beautifully landscaped, friendly staff,nice food. See full review

  • SvMrflk
  • Nov 17, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00
Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (238)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 238
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KJ Frequent Traveller
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jun 7, 2013

Wouldn't return

I am an American. This makes a difference in my review because of the things I am accustomed to. I believe this review will only assist other Americans. Be prepared that most people at the resort do not speak English. If you don't know Spanish, its incredibly hard to communicate. The front desk staff was not great. The man that checked us in was rude, when we had trouble with the room we were told to come back later, and they don't really understand customer service. The food at the buffet is pretty bad. The restaurants are mediocre at best. The drinks are not made with mixers so they taste off and the soda does not taste the same. During our 6 day stay they never explained the way the a/c worked so we had to get them to come turn it on at 2:45am one night. The bathtub did not drain at all. The ceiling fan made a racket. And you had to jiggle the handle on the toilet to keep it from running. The maid didn't stock the mini fridge even though there's a card displayed on the bureau that says she does. I have zero complaints about the pools and beaches and the grounds of the property. It is all beautiful. Gorgeous! But when you lay on the beach you will constantly get harassed by hotel staff to go to their sales presentation or to buy their excursions or goods. A pair of flip flops there are $12-$32. A can of Deep Woods Off is $30. And the vultures at the kiosks, if you are stupid enough to go there, will rob you blind. The soda machines and coffee machines were frequently out of order and there are only 2 places to eat and you have to do it on their schedule. Either the buffet or the beach snack bars. The "show" at night consists of them pulling guests up in stage and doing funny skits with the guests, but if you are used to a choreographed production you will not get it. Overall I will definitely not return to this resort and I doubt I will return to the Dominican Republic until they get a little more experienced at running all inclusive resorts. If you choose to go here are some important things to know: Bring snacks for your room because the food is bad and not always available. Brings lots of cash because everything is expensive (even at the airport) and they hound you for money. And bring bug spray bc the mosquitoes and the "no-see-sums" as they call them in Puerto Rico are merciless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you put money inside your fridge every single day it will be overfilled. If you don't they won't fill it at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
claudschi
Business
yorktown, va
Mar 13, 2014

dangerous bathtub, horrible check-in

we booked and paid for punta cana (not bavaro) level hotel room. were keep getting the run-around for 2 1/2 hours at check-in despite my confirmation clearly stating a punta cana level room. bathtub is extremely slippery (most slippery ever in 30+ countries we've been to and 100's of hotel rooms#. used a towel in and out of tub to prevent falls. despite our preventive measures, I slipped, fell and fractured my finger #1st fracture ever#. we suggest to bring own bathmat from dollar store. in room problems - no a/c 1st day, fridge replaced 3 times, tv broke morning of check-out #as of 4 hrs later was not replaced, so who know#. maid was nice and friendly #although the floor was not very clean), shuttle drivers, bellhop, bartenders were friendly. food was average. front desk was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

bring a bathmat from dollar store. bathtub was incredibly slippery. fractured my finger...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Global Traveler 6656
Business
U.S.
Mar 27, 2014

Great value, terrible service

At a resort of this size, the staff have a very hard time giving any resemblance of good service. That being said, this resort is a great value. For what you pay, you get a fantastic vacation. If anything goes wrong though, it will be a headache getting it addressed by the hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
watch out
Business
New York, NY
May 25, 2009

unfriendly guest services

The location was lovely and the facilities were well kept. However, the front desk staff and guest services was unfriendly and not very helpful. The other workers were very nice (waiters, waitresses, etc.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I'll tell you the truth
Business
Westchester, NY
Aug 3, 2009

I would NOT go back!!

A phone was stolen from our room. It took them 48 hours to investigate, to be told sorry and that they didn't find anything and that we were welcomed to go to the police station. The grounds and pool crew made inappropriate comments to my 17 and 13 year old daughters. Guest services did nothing about it. The activities by the main pool consist of a bikini dirty dance contest and a lap dance contest. Not appropriate for children. You're entitled to only three meals at the ala cart restaurants. The breakfast and lunch buffet serves almost the same everyday. The Themed dinner buffet serves much the same. The rooms smell like mildew and the bathroom has mold. Very busy, large and alot of walking. Shuttle service is running all the time. Evening shows are great. Entertainment crew and wait staff very nice and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Overpriced....Make deals on everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach,VA
May 11, 2009

the good and the bad

I liked the hotel, but we did go to another one before and the difference is very big (Paladium) but this one was less expensif also.The manager [...] went out of his way to please us.We had a couple of bad experiences but not bad enough to make a big deal, we had very good one also.If you did not go to the Palladium(Fiesta) this one is super good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For this Hotel, the A la carte reservation was a mistake, we ate better at the Buffet, the only time we liked our food was at the "El Pescador" a la carte, the Gourmet(French) was not good at all, nothing close to French Food and the B.B.C. was also a waste of time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grande Prairie, Alberta
Nov 15, 2010

Bad Service

The staff did not speak english well or at all. the staff was not friendly, my sister was assaulted by a male housekeeper and we had to fill out reports and the guy was fired but the hotel by no means went out of their way to make up for the situation. no where near enough was done, the manager seemed to think that it was part of their culture. the people booking trips, [...], were making ppl pay with cash so that they could keep the money for themselves, all in all the staff was not to be trusted in any area of the hotel. i would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gabe Ruth
Business
Buxton, ME
Jun 9, 2009

Overrated

overall the experience was good. The all inclusive is a great value especially with drinks included. The buffet food available during the day was decent and the Dinners at the Restaurants that you could make reservations at were very good. However, there were blatantly bed bugs in our room that caused very iritating and red marks. My friend and I had to go to the "doctor" at the resort bc we had no idea what it was and thought it might be serious. The "doctor" would not say exactly what it was but offered to give a consultation and fix the problem for $100. At this point my friends arms were covered in red spots so he had to pay the money to be told it was bugs from the beach NOT the hotel room and then had to pay anoth $85 for a bottle of cortizone cream that you could normally pick up at CVS for $5...We new it was bed bugs because the resort called the next day and asked my friend if everything was OK, he said no and so they offered to fumigate the rooms...They did so the day before we left and when I got back I saw a bug flying accross the curtain so whatever they did it was NOT effective. In addition, both my friend and I were robbed having the cash taken out of our wallets in total about $400 lost. We woke up one morning and our patio door was open (we were on the first floor) and when we checked our wallets the money was gone. So dont get a room on the first floor and also pay the $30 bucks a night for the safe if you bring cash. The one bad thing about the staff was that when we reported the money stolen, the offered to do an "investigation" which consisted of two guys going through our luggage and belongings without checking anything else in the room and telling us that they would get back to us in 48 hrs and then never did. We walked away from that experience feeiling violated and angry about the whole situation. Given that I was with my buddies the whole time and we generally just took everything with a grain of salt then had another free drink to forget about it and have fun, everything worked out fine. However, if I had been there with my girlfriend it totally would have ruined our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

make sure to make reservations for the restaurants early on in the week or you will be stuck with the buffet the whole time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jersey9
Business
Knoxville,TN
Jun 10, 2014

Musto Vacation

The staff that we dealt with were very nice Especially the staff at the buffet and also the head waiter and his staff at the Italian restaurant. The staff spoke very little english. The room was really never cleaned, the bathroom towels were not changed everyday. Our mini bar was never stocked and we had to call up everyday to have room service come and stock the room. We also called the front desk about the mini bar not keeping the drinks cold. The maintenance department can once and did nothing to replace the mini refrigerator. We were very unsatisfied with the room. The light outside the room was out and never replace after calling the front desk about this issue. Thank you Anthony Musto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Go to the shows, they were really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stomach Cramps
Business
North Carolina
Aug 10, 2014

Family trip

Hotel was extremely well maintained and clean. All the staff was friendly and eager to please. My one and only complaint would be the food. 3 out of 5 people I was traveling with got food poisoning to various degrees. And we were not the only ones. Everyone we talked to suffered similar results. Even the tour guide rep told me me he heard a lot of complaints similar to ours. If you do go, pack your medication. A small pack of Imodium will set you back 20 bucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top