$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
334 reviews
Anniversary fun

We stayed at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana, we stayed in a villa which was in close proximity to... See full review

  • Cincy couple anniversary
  • May 22, 2014
Honeymoon

Great hotel really enjoyed our stay. People are very friendly See full review

  • QTBABYD
  • May 20, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
BC
Nov 15, 2010

Dont go here!

horrible service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring cash, dont give the people on the beach anywhere near the price they ask for the jewelry or stuff they are selling

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joetrini
New York
Jul 21, 2009

The trip from Hell!!!

The trip from HELL!!The hotel service was the worst. According to the hotel, Orbitz provided them with the incorrect reservation info.(we never saw proof of that). And supposedly could not obtain a room until we paid the difference. Couldn't get a hold of Orbitz via an 800 #. 7 hours later we get through to Orbitz who also tried to b/s us. Finally we get our rooms, providing a credit card as gtee of pymt. One of which was roach infested. Several of us got food poisioning. And for families with young children, there is nudity on the beach and pool area, which we had no warning on. Mgmt. staff all have attitudes and are useless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The water sport was the only thing we did without any problem, because the sales person was Haitian and not a local.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chad2001
Cleveland
Dec 24, 2012

Never again! Don't do it!

My girlfriend and I stayed and Gran Bahia from December 14th-20th. A friend of mine told me that she got really sick from eating the food there before, but I figured it was unlikely it would happen to me. Boy was I wrong! We were sick most of our time there and the staff did nothing to accommodate us! They were rude, gave me the run around, and very untruthful. They have a pharmacy, but it didn't have any antibiotics. We basically laid around in our room most of the days in pain. Also, I didn't find any of the specialty restaurants good at all. I ate at Le Gourmet, the Japanese restaurant, and the Mexican restaurant. The buffet was okay. Much of the food was cold. Could have been much better. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable and there was a very little and old television in the room. Most people there, staff and visitors, spoke spanish. While it was kind of hard to communicate, I didn't mind it much. The shows were okay. To top off this terrible trip we had to call 3 times for the trolly to come pick us up from the room and take us up front to the taxi. They never showed up so we had to walk our luggage across the resort. When we were almost there a worker who was passing picked us on a his trolly. I told him I checked out and needed to get a taxi. He drove us passed the front lobby, where we were suppose to catch a taxi, and to a parking lot. We waited for about 15 minutes while he said someone was coming. He didn't know English and called someone else for me. The guy said he should have took us to the lobby. I had to yell at this guy as he kept saying someone was coming. Then some guy finally showed up. He drove us to the airport. But the whole time he was doing about 90 miles and hour, and switching lanes, while talking on the phone! I WILL NEVER stay at this resort again in my life. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SS won't go back here
Washington, DC
Jun 11, 2012

Cockroaches and Rats! DO NOT GO HERE!

I usually don't write reviews but this time I felt that if I can save even one person from having their vacation ruined by this resort, it would be worth it. CONs: -The hotel was infested with COCKROACHES and RATS!. There were cockroaches in the dining area, the theater and the rooms! -The rooms were very old and smelled of bug killer sprays. We switched rooms and it still smelled. We had to kill 3 COCKROACHES IN THE ROOM! It was such a nightmare. I couldn't sleep because I was scared there would be more crawling in.. - There were rats in the pool area, the bar and the hallways. It was disgusting. -The hotel staff was very rude, particularly their "supervisor" Jose Antonio who issued us wrong keys to the room 3 times. And then yelled at us when we approached him. He specifically asked us "where did you get these keys??" we said YOU gave it to us 15 minutes ago, you are the only one at the register! And he yelled at us, saying "what! You want me to say I'm sorry??" I really could not believe my ears. I have never been treated so badly on a "resort." -There were NO managers besides the one person who called himself the supervisor of the hotel. When we asked them for the manager, he wouldn't come out!! They asked us if we had an appointment with him! The manager refused to come out to speak to us, he was hiding in the back the whole time! It was the most dysfunctional hotel ever! -The hotel is HUGE! Way too big! It takes a 15 min bus to get from the lobby to the beach. At night, everything is really dark so you dont feel safe walking either. -The place should really be shut down and it should not be offeredas a "4 star resort." I am still waiting for my full refund- a front desk person named "Adrian" assured us that we would get it.. but here we are 2 weeks later. PROs: There really are no pros. The beach is beautiful but the rats we saw at the beach bar pretty much ruined it for us. OVERALL: Do not waste your money here. We paid to leave after the first day but there was nothing available until the 2nd day. It's so difficult to take time off for a vacation and they cost us 2 and a half days of our vacation. We spent the rest of the time at a RIU which was like paradise compared to this place. DO NOT GO HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Katy,TX
Sep 5, 2009

Expensive !!!! unfriendly staff!Wasted!!

with the money I padi I expected much better hotel and service, you have to pay for everything. there is only one kind of beer, and all kind of local,cheap liquors, so honestly its not worth to get all inclusive here. No internet, no Business station, No phone coverage,, nothing! the only good thing it ahs pool. restaurant??? are you kidding me!!! there are 2000 people in Hotel and there are 5 restaurant that you can choose one of them only if you stay a week or more! Ok I was staying one week, but did I get in to any of them? after 5 days of fighting with guest service, I got a reservation for a BBQ restaurant, they told me all the tables are reserved and you must reserve a week in advance but we are gonan put extra table there for you, I went there adn there was total of 5 table in restaurant! can you imaging that!!! no wonder they all are reserved, adn anyway food was disscusting! I enjoyed my travel to punta cana, but hotel was not worth anything! I could have gone better palces!!!! by the way a tooth brush is about $25 there, and cold soda is $8 for 8oz bottle. so be prepared to spend couple of thousand.(yes I had all inclusive , but inclusives are designated time, which is 7 to 9AM and 12PM to 3PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Katy,TX
Sep 5, 2009

Expensive !!!! unfriendly staff!Wasted!!

with the money I padi I expected much better hotel and service, you have to pay for everything. there is only one kind of beer, and all kind of local,cheap liquors, so honestly its not worth to get all inclusive here. No internet, no Business station, No phone coverage,, nothing! the only good thing it ahs pool. restaurant??? are you kidding me!!! there are 2000 people in Hotel and there are 5 restaurant that you can choose one of them only if you stay a week or more! Ok I was staying one week, but did I get in to any of them? after 5 days of fighting with guest service, I got a reservation for a BBQ restaurant, they told me all the tables are reserved and you must reserve a week in advance but we are gonan put extra table there for you, I went there adn there was total of 5 table in restaurant! can you imaging that!!! no wonder they all are reserved, adn anyway food was disscusting! I enjoyed my travel to punta cana, but hotel was not worth anything! I could have gone better palces!!!! by the way a tooth brush is about $25 there, and cold soda is $8 for 8oz bottle. so be prepared to spend couple of thousand.(yes I had all inclusive , but inclusives are designated time, which is 7 to 9AM and 12PM to 3PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John plus 5
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2010

"Never again"

The pools closed at 6PM!!! The customer service was terrible. We had the wrong room configuration, and the missing remote and extra pillow came 24 hours after the hotel was notified. They tell you the restaurants are all booked when you check in, yet you can't make advance reservations. We ended up finally getting into a restaurant and it was empty! The trolley driver passed us up on the road several times, even if we were running to the "bus stop". The shady beach chairs were all gone by 8am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't go.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SriA
San Francisco,CA
Dec 26, 2013

Much better experiences found elsewhere

After a week here with my extended family, I'm heading home tomorrow, and wanted to write this while it's still fresh. If you're looking for a one word summary, it's this: Inconvenient Now, it's always good to start with the positives: 1. No line-ups at the bars and just short ones at the restaurants, if any 2. Lots of fresh fruit at dinner 3. The weather was generally great - warm, but not too hot; just a bit of rain here and there (the hotel even provides everyone with an umbrella) 4. The rooms are huge - never feels cramped Next, the reason I think you should spend your money elsewhere: you have to work hard to enjoy this place. I've been to many resorts over the past 5-10 years, and this was by far the most cumbersome and inconvenient one I've been to. I think it mostly stems from the fact that it's so large - I think I read it's one of the largest in the world, so you feel very much like a cog in the machine rather than a guest. More specifically, here's what my group of 8 found inconvenient: 1. Eating: For breakfast and dinner the primary eating option is the main buffet. Getting there is a 5-15 minute journey depending on where you are in the resort. Also, booking reservations at the restaurants was a nightmare for us - we must have spent hours on it, and got nowhere - had to eat at the buffet every single day 2. Pool: Getting a chair means you have to put towels down at 7am; any later than that, and you are out of luck 3. Beach: Really crowded, and yep, without a towel on a chair first thing in the morning, you're out of luck 4. Administrative: Again, because the resort is so big, if you have an issue, it's a 5-15 minute journey to the front desk - this happened to several of us with room keys that stopped working 5. Rooms: They're nice and functional, but not spectacular - for example, my water pressure was always really low, and the shower setup meant the floor got soaked whenever I used it 6. Towels: I tried five times during the week to get a fresh beach towel and was told they were out every single time. A few times rather rudely As a final indicator of the service here, on the last day, my brother, his wife, and 1.5 year old had to move in with my parents. They had extended their reservation by one day, but the hotel "forgot" and basically kicked them out. They offered to let them stay on the resort if they could find their own accommodation if they paid $350 for the night. My brother managed to negotiate them down to $150. What a way to end our stay... As the title says, you can find a much better experience elsewhere for the same price. The size and crowds in this place means you're always working hard to relax and enjoy yourself - I recommend you go elsewhere where relaxation comes easier and your experience will be more personal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doctor Dave S
Richmond, ky
Mar 20, 2013

Couples/friends get away

For the most part things were good, just what I expected from what was rated a 3/4 star hotel/resort. However, the food in the buffets was horrible. It wasn't just once, but every day. And one night we made reservations at the "Mediterranean seafood restaurant" and it was worse than the buffets. Also, the staff seemed to constantly expect tips, even though it specifically says no tipping required

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grande Prairie, Alberta
Nov 15, 2010

Bad Service

The staff did not speak english well or at all. the staff was not friendly, my sister was assaulted by a male housekeeper and we had to fill out reports and the guy was fired but the hotel by no means went out of their way to make up for the situation. no where near enough was done, the manager seemed to think that it was part of their culture. the people booking trips, [...], were making ppl pay with cash so that they could keep the money for themselves, all in all the staff was not to be trusted in any area of the hotel. i would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top