$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
336 reviews
Anniversary fun

We stayed at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana, we stayed in a villa which was in close proximity to... See full review

  • Cincy couple anniversary
  • May 22, 2014
Honeymoon

Great hotel really enjoyed our stay. People are very friendly See full review

  • QTBABYD
  • May 20, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (336)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravellerB
Toronto, Canada
Mar 25, 2014

Staff are THIEFS

The Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana hotel page begins with "You'll love it because…" and ends with "What you're missing…." Here's what I did not love and will never miss - lazy hotel staff who think it is their right and privilege to enter a locked room safe and steal from their patrons. I can live with our room not being cleaned for three days, but what I do have a MAJOR problem with is $108 missing from two wallets in a locked safe. When reported, security came to the room and did an "investigation." They went through everything and then inferred that we were fabricating the story and hiding the money elsewhere. Then, when that approach did not work, they accused us of drinking too much and bringing strange men back to our room. We left the resort without following up on the investigation, because security and cleaning staff started following us around the resort in the evenings and entering our room during the day to mess up our bed and personal items and "make their presence known." If you want to VACATION and feel that yourself and your property are safe (I'm not naive to think that resort theft doesn't happen, of course), I highly recommend you do NOT stay at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This was my second visit and I am utterly discussed by the staff's behaviour. I will NEVER return to this resort again. (N.B. we never did get our money back!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John plus 5
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2010

"Never again"

The pools closed at 6PM!!! The customer service was terrible. We had the wrong room configuration, and the missing remote and extra pillow came 24 hours after the hotel was notified. They tell you the restaurants are all booked when you check in, yet you can't make advance reservations. We ended up finally getting into a restaurant and it was empty! The trolley driver passed us up on the road several times, even if we were running to the "bus stop". The shady beach chairs were all gone by 8am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't go.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Hanover, NJ
May 16, 2010

Customer service - non-existant!

Relaxed @ the beach & read. The staff @ the reception desk were the rudest people I've ever met. They were all liars & made mine & my daughters' first day in the Dom. Rep. the worst vacation experience ever. The people that worked in the restaurants were the only nice people. I will never go back to that place & probably won't return to the Dom. Rep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

All-inclusive wasn't all-inclusive. Restricted to certain dining locations & couldn't go to all restaurants. Believe it or not, the use of the safe wasn't included ... what a joke!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgruntled vacationer 2
Maryland
Apr 10, 2013

Nice beach but everything else was horrible.

04/10/2013 08:57 AM No rooms were available when we arrived. They said there was a problem with booking. We waited in lobby holding our luggage for 4 hrs as they tried to find us a room. When we finally got a room it was hot and toiled seat was cracked, refrigerator did not get cold, room safe looked tampered with, security chain on front door was detached and the lamps were not plugged into wall outlets. They advertised multiple restaurants to chose from but we could not make reservations due to no seating available. Are only option was to eat at buffet. Needless to say I am in the process of disputing the charges to my discover card. I have had successful vacations in the past but this was a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joetrini
New York
Jul 21, 2009

The trip from Hell!!!

The trip from HELL!!The hotel service was the worst. According to the hotel, Orbitz provided them with the incorrect reservation info.(we never saw proof of that). And supposedly could not obtain a room until we paid the difference. Couldn't get a hold of Orbitz via an 800 #. 7 hours later we get through to Orbitz who also tried to b/s us. Finally we get our rooms, providing a credit card as gtee of pymt. One of which was roach infested. Several of us got food poisioning. And for families with young children, there is nudity on the beach and pool area, which we had no warning on. Mgmt. staff all have attitudes and are useless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The water sport was the only thing we did without any problem, because the sales person was Haitian and not a local.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ayame
Providence RI
Aug 6, 2012

i wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone!

I'm shocked how everybody's reviews for this place are so good. That's why I stayed here. I would never come here again or recommend it to anybody! Check in took over an hour and a half. Even though check in is at 3pm, our room wasn't ready until after 4pm. The room only had 2 bath towels. Later someone snuck in and added 2 hand towels and a bath mat. On the second day, we got no hand towels again. But like the first day, the hand towels appeared later on in the day. There is no clock in the room and also no outlets. I had to unplug a lamp and the coffee pot to plug in my camera batteries and such. The tv is a small box tv with only a few fuzzy channels. The so called mini bar had only 2 beers! Seriously, this is a 5 star resort? I've stayed at Sleep Inns with better amenities! And I'm talking about simple things like a cold refrigerator and business center! I will say that the room did look nice at least. You have to insert your key card in a slot by the door when you come in to turn on the electric, which would be fine if it didn't turn off the AC when you leave! It's disgustingly miserable hot outside and you have to go back to your room being hot? And it also turns off the fridge! And even if you leave a key card in when you leave, that fridge keeps everything barely above room temperature. I really would appreciate some cold water! And who wants to drink warm beer? When you open your balcony door it also turns off the AC. But there is no handle on the outside of the door to fully shut it! Their wifi only works in certain areas of the lobby, if at all. And apparently the business center in our lobby is not for our use. The buffet food is honestly not good. After around 10pm the only place to get any food is one of the snack bars by the beach that only has leftover burgers and hotdogs. This resort is huge and it IS very nice looking. But the workers are all so very rude! They either love you or hate you. If the men (yes, including hotel workers) aren't hitting on you and not taking no for an answer, then they are literally scowling at you in disgust in passing! They make up their own rules too. If they don't like you or the way you look, they refuse to serve you. One of the workers we kept running in to was friendly, but way too flirty and touchy with me, and he even tried getting my friend to leave the resort with him! I will mention one bartenders name, "Rafael", because he was very nice to me and did not cross any lines. Another of the workers was at a little alcohol stand outside by the shops and he refused to serve me because they "close at 10". I said "it is 9:30". He mumbled something in Spanish with a dirty look. An hour an a half later we saw him serving others. One of the store owners kept calling me "cheap" because I didn't want to pay his outrageous prices for junk. Yeah, that's definitely a way to get me to buy anything! I was actually assaulted and blinded with pepper spray by a random crazy guest while I was minding my own business walking to the buffet with others, and not one hotel worker did anything! My friend chased her down. And everybody around us just ignored that anything happened! The beach and pools are very nice, but I imagine that stuff is nice at any of the resorts. Why would I ever want to come back or recommend a resort where I was treated like complete garbage??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Mar 7, 2010

Cheap hotel but not worth it!

We were a party of 9. When we arrived we were all in different buildings. The place is huge so we were all so far away from eachother. Asked if we could get upgraded and instant response was no. They finally gave us a room in one of the other couples building and was told to go to the pool and they will make sure our bags were transferred to the new room in an hour. Well after a day at the pool we went to our new room to open the door to a naked woman, oh not fun, very embarassing. Went to the front desk to discuss the situation and they tried to blame it on us saying that we were suppose to come back at 6pm and we didnt so they gave the room away. Bad communication at front desk. They would not accept their mistake. Finally got put into a different room, meanwhile listening to people say that they were overbooked and being shipped to a different resort which we should of done. At least this room was nicer than the other one,disgusting and smelly. The transfer from the airport to the hotel lost one of our luggage and finally found it at another resort and was told that we had to pay for it to be brought back. There were 9 of us and all in different parts of the resort, which was huge and confusing at first. Trying to figure out the trolleys were confusing. You would get on one to be told that they dont go to your building????? After the first couple of days after going around in circles you can finaly figure it out. Prior to arriving I read reviews on reserving dinner prior to arriving, good luck with that. You can only do it by email but you are unable to get an email out of anyone, one of us called and spoke spanish and was told that we didnt have to reserve prior. We would all be able to dine together once we arrive. Not so much. A few couples were in diamond so pretty much when we tried to all dine together our dinner reservation sheets were thrown back to us and said no way possible. So we all dined separate. We got three dinner reservations that they chose for us. We had to eat at the buffet the rest of the time. Which was awful. The food at the main reservation restaurants were good but besides that the food was awful, dont worry about gaining weight. The drinks were awful also. One kind of beer and if you want top shelf you will have to pay extra. The one pool that we were allowed to go to was divided so you would have to stay on one side to be by the bar. The other pool only allowed diamond members. Bring your own raft, resort doesnt have them and make sure you go out early to get a chair by the pool or beach. The beach chairs are so close together,the beachfront is not that big, overcrowded.One more complaint...the fire alarm went off in the building next to us one night all night long. Everyone evacuated to a false alarm that went off all night into early morning. Very noisy resort maids arrive early and are very noisy. also alot of children. The wait staff was the best thing at the resort and of course the weather was gorgeous. We all loved the area but pay a little more and pick another resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations prior by email but good luck getting that information.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unpleased couple
New Bedford MA
Jul 2, 2009

Very annoyed!

No one could speak english! It was so hard communicating with anyone on the resort. When first arriving to the airport, an orbitz representative almost put us on the wrong bus. And on the way back because no one spoke english we missed our transportation to the airport adn had to pay for a $50 cab ride when I had already paid for the transportation. Just very unhappy. Wish I would have known it was only spanish speaking I would have never spent the money to go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Hanover, NJ
May 16, 2010

Customer service - non-existant!

Relaxed @ the beach & read. The staff @ the reception desk were the rudest people I've ever met. They were all liars & made mine & my daughters' first day in the Dom. Rep. the worst vacation experience ever. The people that worked in the restaurants were the only nice people. I will never go back to that place & probably won't return to the Dom. Rep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

All-inclusive wasn't all-inclusive. Restricted to certain dining locations & couldn't go to all restaurants. Believe it or not, the use of the safe wasn't included ... what a joke!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unpleased couple
New Bedford MA
Jul 2, 2009

Very annoyed!

No one could speak english! It was so hard communicating with anyone on the resort. When first arriving to the airport, an orbitz representative almost put us on the wrong bus. And on the way back because no one spoke english we missed our transportation to the airport adn had to pay for a $50 cab ride when I had already paid for the transportation. Just very unhappy. Wish I would have known it was only spanish speaking I would have never spent the money to go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top