$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
240 reviews
Awsome

We have a blast ... Bad experience on try to sign us for the member club to long See full review

  • Rickycenturion
  • Nov 19, 2014
Awesome

Excellent resort, beautifully landscaped, friendly staff,nice food. See full review

  • SvMrflk
  • Nov 17, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00
Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SS won't go back here
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 11, 2012

Cockroaches and Rats! DO NOT GO HERE!

I usually don't write reviews but this time I felt that if I can save even one person from having their vacation ruined by this resort, it would be worth it. CONs: -The hotel was infested with COCKROACHES and RATS!. There were cockroaches in the dining area, the theater and the rooms! -The rooms were very old and smelled of bug killer sprays. We switched rooms and it still smelled. We had to kill 3 COCKROACHES IN THE ROOM! It was such a nightmare. I couldn't sleep because I was scared there would be more crawling in.. - There were rats in the pool area, the bar and the hallways. It was disgusting. -The hotel staff was very rude, particularly their "supervisor" Jose Antonio who issued us wrong keys to the room 3 times. And then yelled at us when we approached him. He specifically asked us "where did you get these keys??" we said YOU gave it to us 15 minutes ago, you are the only one at the register! And he yelled at us, saying "what! You want me to say I'm sorry??" I really could not believe my ears. I have never been treated so badly on a "resort." -There were NO managers besides the one person who called himself the supervisor of the hotel. When we asked them for the manager, he wouldn't come out!! They asked us if we had an appointment with him! The manager refused to come out to speak to us, he was hiding in the back the whole time! It was the most dysfunctional hotel ever! -The hotel is HUGE! Way too big! It takes a 15 min bus to get from the lobby to the beach. At night, everything is really dark so you dont feel safe walking either. -The place should really be shut down and it should not be offeredas a "4 star resort." I am still waiting for my full refund- a front desk person named "Adrian" assured us that we would get it.. but here we are 2 weeks later. PROs: There really are no pros. The beach is beautiful but the rats we saw at the beach bar pretty much ruined it for us. OVERALL: Do not waste your money here. We paid to leave after the first day but there was nothing available until the 2nd day. It's so difficult to take time off for a vacation and they cost us 2 and a half days of our vacation. We spent the rest of the time at a RIU which was like paradise compared to this place. DO NOT GO HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ayame
Business
Providence RI
Aug 6, 2012

i wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone!

I'm shocked how everybody's reviews for this place are so good. That's why I stayed here. I would never come here again or recommend it to anybody! Check in took over an hour and a half. Even though check in is at 3pm, our room wasn't ready until after 4pm. The room only had 2 bath towels. Later someone snuck in and added 2 hand towels and a bath mat. On the second day, we got no hand towels again. But like the first day, the hand towels appeared later on in the day. There is no clock in the room and also no outlets. I had to unplug a lamp and the coffee pot to plug in my camera batteries and such. The tv is a small box tv with only a few fuzzy channels. The so called mini bar had only 2 beers! Seriously, this is a 5 star resort? I've stayed at Sleep Inns with better amenities! And I'm talking about simple things like a cold refrigerator and business center! I will say that the room did look nice at least. You have to insert your key card in a slot by the door when you come in to turn on the electric, which would be fine if it didn't turn off the AC when you leave! It's disgustingly miserable hot outside and you have to go back to your room being hot? And it also turns off the fridge! And even if you leave a key card in when you leave, that fridge keeps everything barely above room temperature. I really would appreciate some cold water! And who wants to drink warm beer? When you open your balcony door it also turns off the AC. But there is no handle on the outside of the door to fully shut it! Their wifi only works in certain areas of the lobby, if at all. And apparently the business center in our lobby is not for our use. The buffet food is honestly not good. After around 10pm the only place to get any food is one of the snack bars by the beach that only has leftover burgers and hotdogs. This resort is huge and it IS very nice looking. But the workers are all so very rude! They either love you or hate you. If the men (yes, including hotel workers) aren't hitting on you and not taking no for an answer, then they are literally scowling at you in disgust in passing! They make up their own rules too. If they don't like you or the way you look, they refuse to serve you. One of the workers we kept running in to was friendly, but way too flirty and touchy with me, and he even tried getting my friend to leave the resort with him! I will mention one bartenders name, "Rafael", because he was very nice to me and did not cross any lines. Another of the workers was at a little alcohol stand outside by the shops and he refused to serve me because they "close at 10". I said "it is 9:30". He mumbled something in Spanish with a dirty look. An hour an a half later we saw him serving others. One of the store owners kept calling me "cheap" because I didn't want to pay his outrageous prices for junk. Yeah, that's definitely a way to get me to buy anything! I was actually assaulted and blinded with pepper spray by a random crazy guest while I was minding my own business walking to the buffet with others, and not one hotel worker did anything! My friend chased her down. And everybody around us just ignored that anything happened! The beach and pools are very nice, but I imagine that stuff is nice at any of the resorts. Why would I ever want to come back or recommend a resort where I was treated like complete garbage??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chad2001
Business
Cleveland
Dec 24, 2012

Never again! Don't do it!

My girlfriend and I stayed and Gran Bahia from December 14th-20th. A friend of mine told me that she got really sick from eating the food there before, but I figured it was unlikely it would happen to me. Boy was I wrong! We were sick most of our time there and the staff did nothing to accommodate us! They were rude, gave me the run around, and very untruthful. They have a pharmacy, but it didn't have any antibiotics. We basically laid around in our room most of the days in pain. Also, I didn't find any of the specialty restaurants good at all. I ate at Le Gourmet, the Japanese restaurant, and the Mexican restaurant. The buffet was okay. Much of the food was cold. Could have been much better. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable and there was a very little and old television in the room. Most people there, staff and visitors, spoke spanish. While it was kind of hard to communicate, I didn't mind it much. The shows were okay. To top off this terrible trip we had to call 3 times for the trolly to come pick us up from the room and take us up front to the taxi. They never showed up so we had to walk our luggage across the resort. When we were almost there a worker who was passing picked us on a his trolly. I told him I checked out and needed to get a taxi. He drove us passed the front lobby, where we were suppose to catch a taxi, and to a parking lot. We waited for about 15 minutes while he said someone was coming. He didn't know English and called someone else for me. The guy said he should have took us to the lobby. I had to yell at this guy as he kept saying someone was coming. Then some guy finally showed up. He drove us to the airport. But the whole time he was doing about 90 miles and hour, and switching lanes, while talking on the phone! I WILL NEVER stay at this resort again in my life. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gb2013
Business
michigan
Mar 1, 2013

horrible experiance

we had a horrible experiance with this hotel . when we arrived our room was not available we booked a 2 queen bed and only got a single king. kept getting worse and worse !! worst experiance ever .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgruntled vacationer 2
Business
Maryland
Apr 10, 2013

Nice beach but everything else was horrible.

04/10/2013 08:57 AM No rooms were available when we arrived. They said there was a problem with booking. We waited in lobby holding our luggage for 4 hrs as they tried to find us a room. When we finally got a room it was hot and toiled seat was cracked, refrigerator did not get cold, room safe looked tampered with, security chain on front door was detached and the lamps were not plugged into wall outlets. They advertised multiple restaurants to chose from but we could not make reservations due to no seating available. Are only option was to eat at buffet. Needless to say I am in the process of disputing the charges to my discover card. I have had successful vacations in the past but this was a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SriA
Business
San Francisco,CA
Dec 26, 2013

Much better experiences found elsewhere

After a week here with my extended family, I'm heading home tomorrow, and wanted to write this while it's still fresh. If you're looking for a one word summary, it's this: Inconvenient Now, it's always good to start with the positives: 1. No line-ups at the bars and just short ones at the restaurants, if any 2. Lots of fresh fruit at dinner 3. The weather was generally great - warm, but not too hot; just a bit of rain here and there (the hotel even provides everyone with an umbrella) 4. The rooms are huge - never feels cramped Next, the reason I think you should spend your money elsewhere: you have to work hard to enjoy this place. I've been to many resorts over the past 5-10 years, and this was by far the most cumbersome and inconvenient one I've been to. I think it mostly stems from the fact that it's so large - I think I read it's one of the largest in the world, so you feel very much like a cog in the machine rather than a guest. More specifically, here's what my group of 8 found inconvenient: 1. Eating: For breakfast and dinner the primary eating option is the main buffet. Getting there is a 5-15 minute journey depending on where you are in the resort. Also, booking reservations at the restaurants was a nightmare for us - we must have spent hours on it, and got nowhere - had to eat at the buffet every single day 2. Pool: Getting a chair means you have to put towels down at 7am; any later than that, and you are out of luck 3. Beach: Really crowded, and yep, without a towel on a chair first thing in the morning, you're out of luck 4. Administrative: Again, because the resort is so big, if you have an issue, it's a 5-15 minute journey to the front desk - this happened to several of us with room keys that stopped working 5. Rooms: They're nice and functional, but not spectacular - for example, my water pressure was always really low, and the shower setup meant the floor got soaked whenever I used it 6. Towels: I tried five times during the week to get a fresh beach towel and was told they were out every single time. A few times rather rudely As a final indicator of the service here, on the last day, my brother, his wife, and 1.5 year old had to move in with my parents. They had extended their reservation by one day, but the hotel "forgot" and basically kicked them out. They offered to let them stay on the resort if they could find their own accommodation if they paid $350 for the night. My brother managed to negotiate them down to $150. What a way to end our stay... As the title says, you can find a much better experience elsewhere for the same price. The size and crowds in this place means you're always working hard to relax and enjoy yourself - I recommend you go elsewhere where relaxation comes easier and your experience will be more personal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelbug Bitten
Business
Punta Cana, DR
Feb 15, 2014

Worst hotel ever

Walking into 1 of our 2 rooms we were met with a horrible stench coming from bathroom and permeating bedroom. Five phone calls and 2 hrs later a maid showed up with an even more foul-smelling lemon spray and drenched the walls, floors, bedding, curtains. Begged for a different room and were told we had to stay there. Six hrs and several managers later we finally were moved to another hotel on the huge property --so now half our family was at one hotel and half at another, it was past midnight AND we were sternly told we'd have to move again the next day because this was not the hotel we'd booked! The next day we were ordered to pack up both our rooms and move to another building at the original hotel. We spent the rest of the week putting up with my adult daughter sleeping on a cot instead of the expected double bed, mini bars NOT being refilled each day, towels being taken and not replaced, mosquitoes galore 24/7 in the rooms, few employes speaking even basic English to mostly US/Canadian guests, our rooms not being made up till 5 or 6 pm daily, and restaurants that served food that even for an all-inclusive resort was well below par. As frequent travelers who understand that this is not a perfect world, we were most disgusted by the uncaring treatment by staff in a hospitality industry and the run-down condition of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravellerB
Business
Toronto, Canada
Mar 25, 2014

Staff are THIEFS

The Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana hotel page begins with "You'll love it because…" and ends with "What you're missing…." Here's what I did not love and will never miss - lazy hotel staff who think it is their right and privilege to enter a locked room safe and steal from their patrons. I can live with our room not being cleaned for three days, but what I do have a MAJOR problem with is $108 missing from two wallets in a locked safe. When reported, security came to the room and did an "investigation." They went through everything and then inferred that we were fabricating the story and hiding the money elsewhere. Then, when that approach did not work, they accused us of drinking too much and bringing strange men back to our room. We left the resort without following up on the investigation, because security and cleaning staff started following us around the resort in the evenings and entering our room during the day to mess up our bed and personal items and "make their presence known." If you want to VACATION and feel that yourself and your property are safe (I'm not naive to think that resort theft doesn't happen, of course), I highly recommend you do NOT stay at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This was my second visit and I am utterly discussed by the staff's behaviour. I will NEVER return to this resort again. (N.B. we never did get our money back!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joetrini
Business
New York
Jul 21, 2009

The trip from Hell!!!

The trip from HELL!!The hotel service was the worst. According to the hotel, Orbitz provided them with the incorrect reservation info.(we never saw proof of that). And supposedly could not obtain a room until we paid the difference. Couldn't get a hold of Orbitz via an 800 #. 7 hours later we get through to Orbitz who also tried to b/s us. Finally we get our rooms, providing a credit card as gtee of pymt. One of which was roach infested. Several of us got food poisioning. And for families with young children, there is nudity on the beach and pool area, which we had no warning on. Mgmt. staff all have attitudes and are useless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The water sport was the only thing we did without any problem, because the sales person was Haitian and not a local.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John plus 5
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2010

"Never again"

The pools closed at 6PM!!! The customer service was terrible. We had the wrong room configuration, and the missing remote and extra pillow came 24 hours after the hotel was notified. They tell you the restaurants are all booked when you check in, yet you can't make advance reservations. We ended up finally getting into a restaurant and it was empty! The trolley driver passed us up on the road several times, even if we were running to the "bus stop". The shady beach chairs were all gone by 8am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top