$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
236 reviews
Awsome

We have a blast ... Bad experience on try to sign us for the member club to long See full review

  • Rickycenturion
  • Nov 19, 2014
Awesome

Excellent resort, beautifully landscaped, friendly staff,nice food. See full review

  • SvMrflk
  • Nov 17, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boardin'
Toronto
Jan 23, 2013

GBP just does it right.....

I can't say enough about how great our stay was at Grand Bahia Principe. From the moment we arrived we were treated like a valued customer... every single request we made was not only met - but even after 5 days - we had one small issue and left a comment on a comment card (*as we aren't really ones to complain about anything) and by the time we got back to our room the issue had already been dealt with. We were very very surprised with the speed and attention to detail from the staff and management. Oh, and the golf course is RIGHT next door.... you really don't even leave the property and your are at the first tee. Amazing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you talk to the Punta Blanca Golf course they will hook you up with a deal to play three times on the course for a discount - the staff there are amazing and if you get out early... there is NO ONE on the course for miles.... can't beat it. Enjoy the nature, sun, birds and LOW scores ;)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anokstay
Business
usa
Aug 2, 2012

punta cana vacation

Most of the staff was friendly. Food was good. beds are very uncomfortable, even for just a couple of hours of sleep each night. Hard to find a chair by the beach, impossible to find one by any of the pools, even if you get there by 6 in the morning, because people leave their towel and other belongings on the chairs as if they own them and the hotel allows this to happen. First come first served, that's how it should be. All in all, it's an ok place to stay in, you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
george and michelle
Business
Dominican Republic. Punta Cana
Jul 26, 2012

2nd Honey Moon!

Wonderful!! Provided transportation for you around property. We will return soon. Food was outstanding! Local tours with VIP travel was excellent! Ask for Wendy Polanzo, she was the best. Must go on Bavaro Local tour with Sammy Carwash and Martinre they're the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Bavaro Local Tour with Sammy and Martinre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love11
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 24, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

The staff is great - Johanna, Miguel and Federico (pool side bar tenders) are amazing!!!! They went above and beyond. We could not have been happier with their service =D The resort itself is enormous, the rooms are average but very clean and that’s always a plus in my book!!! The shows are great; I would most definitely recommend them. They have a total of 8 pools but if you try and get a pool side chair after 9am you’ll be left standing so wake up early and lay out your towel and just come back later! The restaurants food is good, well better than the buffet that is. The buffet in the other hand needs a lot of help!!! It made two of us literally sick to our stomach :(. The plus side is if the buffet isn’t open they have a snack bar open and we found that the food was better there. If you want to try Dominican food you’re going to have to get out of the resort and let me tell you it is well worth it. Their food is delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nolabi
Business
Illinois
Jun 14, 2012

Great family vacation

I stayed at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana From 6/4/12 - 6/11/12. the hotel is about 35 minutes from the airport. I took my children along with their friends and had two rooms. The resort is wonderful. There is something for everyone and for all ages. The entertainement was very good. There was great variety in the buffet whether for breakfast or dinner. The service is very good. What you need to know is that there are 5 restaurants but if you are staying for a week, you can only make dinner reservations at 3 of the restaurants. Also there is no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the hotel lobby. which is frustrating. Otherwise I really enjoyed the resort. The beach is nice. I would highly recommended as a family get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SS won't go back here
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 11, 2012

Cockroaches and Rats! DO NOT GO HERE!

I usually don't write reviews but this time I felt that if I can save even one person from having their vacation ruined by this resort, it would be worth it. CONs: -The hotel was infested with COCKROACHES and RATS!. There were cockroaches in the dining area, the theater and the rooms! -The rooms were very old and smelled of bug killer sprays. We switched rooms and it still smelled. We had to kill 3 COCKROACHES IN THE ROOM! It was such a nightmare. I couldn't sleep because I was scared there would be more crawling in.. - There were rats in the pool area, the bar and the hallways. It was disgusting. -The hotel staff was very rude, particularly their "supervisor" Jose Antonio who issued us wrong keys to the room 3 times. And then yelled at us when we approached him. He specifically asked us "where did you get these keys??" we said YOU gave it to us 15 minutes ago, you are the only one at the register! And he yelled at us, saying "what! You want me to say I'm sorry??" I really could not believe my ears. I have never been treated so badly on a "resort." -There were NO managers besides the one person who called himself the supervisor of the hotel. When we asked them for the manager, he wouldn't come out!! They asked us if we had an appointment with him! The manager refused to come out to speak to us, he was hiding in the back the whole time! It was the most dysfunctional hotel ever! -The hotel is HUGE! Way too big! It takes a 15 min bus to get from the lobby to the beach. At night, everything is really dark so you dont feel safe walking either. -The place should really be shut down and it should not be offeredas a "4 star resort." I am still waiting for my full refund- a front desk person named "Adrian" assured us that we would get it.. but here we are 2 weeks later. PROs: There really are no pros. The beach is beautiful but the rats we saw at the beach bar pretty much ruined it for us. OVERALL: Do not waste your money here. We paid to leave after the first day but there was nothing available until the 2nd day. It's so difficult to take time off for a vacation and they cost us 2 and a half days of our vacation. We spent the rest of the time at a RIU which was like paradise compared to this place. DO NOT GO HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LSMHG
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Late Spring Break Get-away

This was our first time to Punta Cana. We usually travel within Mexico but decided to do something different this year. A co-worker recommended this resort - so I highly trusted her recommendation. Location: Beautiful white sand beach with clear blue water. Beach/Pool: Overcrowded. Big downfall was no open lounge chairs. We had to get set our alarm clocks at 730AM everyday to pick up our beach towels (@ 8am) to save a spot. Although, that rarely ever worked out due to the fact that almost every seat was already "taken" prior to 8am. **TIP: Save your old beach towel til the next morning to save your seat bright and early - that way you do not need to wait til 8am for the towel stand to open. **Beach: Be aware there are nudist sun bathing on the beach - I thought a little arrogant especially since there were young children walking and playing around. Room: Location was perfect (Villa 11) in the middle of everything. Good walking distance. Bus service available every 5 minutes (As so they say). Lighting in the room needs to be changed - too dark. We were not able to turn on the tall lap in the corner. The fridge smelled like bad residue - needs to be cleaned - also "mini bar" were barely ever cold. Room presentation creative and cute. Food: Surprisingly good. Drinks: barley puts any alcohol - depending on which bartender. Shows: Michael Jackson was the only good one. Some co workers arrogant - made some racial comments directly at us. Overall, was a decent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Garick
Business
Encino,ca
Apr 24, 2012

N/a

There are a lot of absolutely identical hotels That is why to find your hotel is very complicated. Hotel pretty far from beach. In the hotel there is no pen ,paper,list of services Even no info how to call front desk or make a wake up Call. Towels in bathroom very small. Internet signal very very week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suebell
Business
Hampton Bays, NY, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Fun time

The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The food however was mediocre at best. I could not get reservations at any of the restaurants that I wanted to try, but after going to the ones I was able to - I doubt they were any good. I ended up going elsewhere to eat dinner. You also must be an early riser if you want to get a chair at the beach or your favorite pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Hard Rock Hotel for great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hanning
Business
Iowa
Mar 26, 2012

Very nice!

This was a family vacation: we took our 15 and 13 year old girls. The kids were not bored - wi fi area, miniature golf, many pools, nightly entertainment. The circus and Michael Jackson nights were great. The facility is huge!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Do not go to the local vendor night in the hotel that is offered one night. Very expencive, they do not leave you alone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexico Spoiled
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 9, 2012

Average get what ya pay for trip

When shopping for bargain beach vacations, my first inclination is Mexican locations. But I wanted to try something different this time, and was urged to do so by my travel companion. I think I'll stick to Mexico. The staff at both the hotel and excursions were less than impressive. It was rare to bump into anyone who seemed eager to make our experience exceptional. I often felt as though we were a burden. Their english was poor. Only shop keepers and the front desk people spoke fluently. Service in the restaurant was slow and spotty. Our hotel had several restaurants, but we were only able to experience the buffet. All reservations for the specialty restaurants were filled even before we arrived. So it was never even an option to try them. The food was decent buffet style, but became a little repetative, since it was our only option. 24 hour room service was supposedly included in our package. However there was no menu to be found and when we called the front desk staff about it, they said our room is not served room service. so that was another disappointment. The clerk apologized to us at check out, but offered no reparations. The beach and water were very pretty, but way way way overcrowded. It was almost impossible to find a chair to lay in. And any sand castle would be trampled in minutes due to the traffic. Way too many available hotel rooms for the size of their beach. But escaping to the pools wasnt really an option either. Every poolside chair was claimed before the sun rose in the morning. Even though gratuities are supposedly included in the price of the vacation package, I've worked in the service industry, so I'm big on rewarding good service with a little extra. I never tipped once this trip. The staff were unmotivated and unimpressive. They would have to offer a huge price difference to get me to choose DR over Mexico. And I'd know going into the trip that I was paying for the weather, not the hotel service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We did a nightclub excursion to Imagine with open bar. It was a nightclub built in a cave. A very interesting experience. Be prepared to wait in long lines for your included drinks. Be prepared to have no idea what is going on because the staff informs you of nothing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top