$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
264 out of 264
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vectra
Vancouver BC
Jan 14, 2013

Our family getaway

We had a fantastic holiday at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This was our third time at the hotel, but wasn't the last. The location is excellent, the hotel ground is beautifully maintained, the food is very good. I can recommend the Italian restaurant, the best! There are three pools, my favorite pool is in the middle part of the resort, clean and quiet. The resort is huge, but cozy. The only downside of this hotel is the gym. If you like to work out in the morning, than I don't think this is the rite place for you. The gym is small, crowded, and the stuff is awful. To get there, the taxi cost $40 from and to the airport. If you plan going to Higuey (the closest big city) take the bus. The bus stop is outside the hotel entrance, and only cost $3 per person, each way. it's very safe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian restaurant

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
unme4ever
Business
the poconos, pa
Mar 21, 2013

lovely place

my first trip with me family....love it...no problems at all...staff is very friendly, great service....going back again soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doctor Dave S
Business
Richmond, ky
Mar 20, 2013

Couples/friends get away

For the most part things were good, just what I expected from what was rated a 3/4 star hotel/resort. However, the food in the buffets was horrible. It wasn't just once, but every day. And one night we made reservations at the "Mediterranean seafood restaurant" and it was worse than the buffets. Also, the staff seemed to constantly expect tips, even though it specifically says no tipping required

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gb2013
Business
michigan
Mar 1, 2013

horrible experiance

we had a horrible experiance with this hotel . when we arrived our room was not available we booked a 2 queen bed and only got a single king. kept getting worse and worse !! worst experiance ever .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach going
Business
Detroit MI
Feb 27, 2013

Great vacation

Good location and spectacular landscape was best part. The beach was way too crowded but the pools compensated totally. Room was kind of disappointing but again there was good compensation in excellent buffet. Overall very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations in first day.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
honeymoonerscc
Business
New Jersey
Feb 26, 2013

awesome honeymoon!

I enjoyed staying here for our honeymoon! We have never been to an all-inclusive resort and I expected more things to not be included than included, but I was pleasantly surprised. The breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets were good and there was always variety. The staff were all very friendly. The all inclusive drinks were delicious and not watered down for the most part. There were many bars throughout the resort, places to shop (although would have liked to shop in town), different buffets available throughout the day (a snack bar). The beach was lovely, and the pools were nice too. Only complaint is that people saved their seats with their towels and you sort of had to hunt down seats. I enjoyed my stay here and would book with Grand Bahia again for other vacations...their other locations look interesting too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the Bavaro Splash excursion-great value!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JeanJeanJean
Business
Boston
Feb 25, 2013

Not really all inclusive

Only 3 à la carte dinners per week of stay. We stayed 5 nights, so we only allowed 2 a la carte dinners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boardin'
Business
Toronto
Jan 23, 2013

GBP just does it right.....

I can't say enough about how great our stay was at Grand Bahia Principe. From the moment we arrived we were treated like a valued customer... every single request we made was not only met - but even after 5 days - we had one small issue and left a comment on a comment card (*as we aren't really ones to complain about anything) and by the time we got back to our room the issue had already been dealt with. We were very very surprised with the speed and attention to detail from the staff and management. Oh, and the golf course is RIGHT next door.... you really don't even leave the property and your are at the first tee. Amazing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you talk to the Punta Blanca Golf course they will hook you up with a deal to play three times on the course for a discount - the staff there are amazing and if you get out early... there is NO ONE on the course for miles.... can't beat it. Enjoy the nature, sun, birds and LOW scores ;)

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amwendwa
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jan 14, 2013

Amazing

Stayed at the GBP punta cana resort from Dec 29, 2012 to Jan 12, 2013. We were impressed with how clean and well maintained the resort is. Rooms are clean and spacious. The staff was amazing and friendly. Good food and entertainment. The only negative was not being able to eat the Bavaro Buffet,but, other than that everything else was Awesome! would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alg world traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 1, 2013

Tropical getaway

This hotel is in the perfect location along a beautiful beach. I have plenty of beaches and hotels to compare this with since I have traveled plenty throughout the Caribbean. The water is a bit rough at times but that mainly happens later in the day. The beach is kept clean. There were always people cleaning up. The only negative fact is that if you don't get there before 9 a.m., it's difficult finding a chair. As for the hotel, I was not impressed. It is no doubt well maintained, but just too large of a place to deal with. For example, getting extra towels and pillows is a challenge. It took 3 days to get the pillow and we never were able to get an extra towel. They most likely can't keep track of who needs what due to the size and crowd at this place. Also, part of the problem is that most of the employees speak not a word of English. The rooms are cleaned daily and I want to mention that there are plenty of mosquitoes in the rooms as well as outside. This seems to be a problem there but I understand it's not their fault. Finally, the food was somewhat of a disappointment. The buffet was just not as good as I thought it would be. The fruit was terrible for being in the Caribbean. The desserts were terrible as well. I did experience 3 specialty dinners that were better. I will just mention the fish restaurant since it was really a great dinner. In summery, I most likely would not return to this hotel again. If I were to return to Punta Cana again, I would choose a smaller resort were the service can be a bit better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The fish restaurant is the best one there. You will need a reservation in advance.

Back to menu Return to top