$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SriA
Single
San Francisco,CA
Dec 26, 2013

Much better experiences found elsewhere

After a week here with my extended family, I'm heading home tomorrow, and wanted to write this while it's still fresh. If you're looking for a one word summary, it's this: Inconvenient Now, it's always good to start with the positives: 1. No line-ups at the bars and just short ones at the restaurants, if any 2. Lots of fresh fruit at dinner 3. The weather was generally great - warm, but not too hot; just a bit of rain here and there (the hotel even provides everyone with an umbrella) 4. The rooms are huge - never feels cramped Next, the reason I think you should spend your money elsewhere: you have to work hard to enjoy this place. I've been to many resorts over the past 5-10 years, and this was by far the most cumbersome and inconvenient one I've been to. I think it mostly stems from the fact that it's so large - I think I read it's one of the largest in the world, so you feel very much like a cog in the machine rather than a guest. More specifically, here's what my group of 8 found inconvenient: 1. Eating: For breakfast and dinner the primary eating option is the main buffet. Getting there is a 5-15 minute journey depending on where you are in the resort. Also, booking reservations at the restaurants was a nightmare for us - we must have spent hours on it, and got nowhere - had to eat at the buffet every single day 2. Pool: Getting a chair means you have to put towels down at 7am; any later than that, and you are out of luck 3. Beach: Really crowded, and yep, without a towel on a chair first thing in the morning, you're out of luck 4. Administrative: Again, because the resort is so big, if you have an issue, it's a 5-15 minute journey to the front desk - this happened to several of us with room keys that stopped working 5. Rooms: They're nice and functional, but not spectacular - for example, my water pressure was always really low, and the shower setup meant the floor got soaked whenever I used it 6. Towels: I tried five times during the week to get a fresh beach towel and was told they were out every single time. A few times rather rudely As a final indicator of the service here, on the last day, my brother, his wife, and 1.5 year old had to move in with my parents. They had extended their reservation by one day, but the hotel "forgot" and basically kicked them out. They offered to let them stay on the resort if they could find their own accommodation if they paid $350 for the night. My brother managed to negotiate them down to $150. What a way to end our stay... As the title says, you can find a much better experience elsewhere for the same price. The size and crowds in this place means you're always working hard to relax and enjoy yourself - I recommend you go elsewhere where relaxation comes easier and your experience will be more personal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rolliejoy
Couples
mich
Dec 10, 2013

my stay

had a wonderful time , great value, beautiful location friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Japanese steak house is excellent

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IlPadron
Couples
Pennsylvania
Sep 9, 2013

A relaxing getaway

Despite some of the other reviews, we had a great time at this hotel! The resort was well-manicured and the staff was generally very friendly. We rarely felt pressure to tip, and when we did, it was only because of great service. Our biggest concern was the potential language barrier since we only speak English. Staff was very good about conversational English and the only international frustration we ran into was the attitude of other tourists, particularly from European countries. Otherwise, the food was always very hot and delicious and while we took precautions (e.g. not drinking tap water or using it to brush our teeth, etc.), we didn't get sick, as many other reviewers experienced. We would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late Honeymoon
Couples
New York, New York
Sep 4, 2013

Three year belated honeymoon

We booked this resort (both mine and my wife's first ever all inclusive resort) not knowing that there would be different and more expensive sections with better food/access (my fault). Booking Punta Cana instead of other sections at the hotel will give you fewer amenities and access to only one of the buffets. I can't comment on whether the food was better at the buffets of the pricier sections of the hotel, but I would assume so. I'll start by saying reception and check-in was great and smooth. Bumped up into a slightly better room for no apparent reason but I didn't ask questions. The resort is massive. If you get a room by the main large pool right by the beach, then you will have to take the train/ trolly/bus to the buffet which is in the lobby. The food is mediocre; some people I spoke to there enjoyed it so maybe I'm a pickier eater than I thought. I was also really disappointed with the service in the buffets; you are greeted as you enter, checked for wet clothing and allowed in. More often than not you have to try and find your own table (this gets difficult at peak meal hours) and then wait entirely too long for the waiters to bring you water. After swimming and sweating I didn't want beer, I wanted water; the waits were long. The pools were clean, the beach was fantastic. There are shows in their theater every night which were entertaining. Again, you will have to take the train there (you could walk, but I do not exaggerate by saying it is nearly a half mile from where my room was). Almost all of the staff spoke english very well; it's important for those who complain of their abilities that we are visiting their country where they speak Spanish and english is a second language for all of them. In short: food mediocre, but if you don't care and just want a nice and affordable place to lounge by a pool and nice beach then go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KJ Frequent Traveller
Couples
Denver, Colorado
Jun 7, 2013

Wouldn't return

I am an American. This makes a difference in my review because of the things I am accustomed to. I believe this review will only assist other Americans. Be prepared that most people at the resort do not speak English. If you don't know Spanish, its incredibly hard to communicate. The front desk staff was not great. The man that checked us in was rude, when we had trouble with the room we were told to come back later, and they don't really understand customer service. The food at the buffet is pretty bad. The restaurants are mediocre at best. The drinks are not made with mixers so they taste off and the soda does not taste the same. During our 6 day stay they never explained the way the a/c worked so we had to get them to come turn it on at 2:45am one night. The bathtub did not drain at all. The ceiling fan made a racket. And you had to jiggle the handle on the toilet to keep it from running. The maid didn't stock the mini fridge even though there's a card displayed on the bureau that says she does. I have zero complaints about the pools and beaches and the grounds of the property. It is all beautiful. Gorgeous! But when you lay on the beach you will constantly get harassed by hotel staff to go to their sales presentation or to buy their excursions or goods. A pair of flip flops there are $12-$32. A can of Deep Woods Off is $30. And the vultures at the kiosks, if you are stupid enough to go there, will rob you blind. The soda machines and coffee machines were frequently out of order and there are only 2 places to eat and you have to do it on their schedule. Either the buffet or the beach snack bars. The "show" at night consists of them pulling guests up in stage and doing funny skits with the guests, but if you are used to a choreographed production you will not get it. Overall I will definitely not return to this resort and I doubt I will return to the Dominican Republic until they get a little more experienced at running all inclusive resorts. If you choose to go here are some important things to know: Bring snacks for your room because the food is bad and not always available. Brings lots of cash because everything is expensive (even at the airport) and they hound you for money. And bring bug spray bc the mosquitoes and the "no-see-sums" as they call them in Puerto Rico are merciless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you put money inside your fridge every single day it will be overfilled. If you don't they won't fill it at all.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyHappyHappy
Friends
Chicago
Apr 15, 2013

Perfect resort for everyone

The check in process and a la carte dinner reservations (or lack there of) was trying, but once we were settled we, we realized how lucky we were to have found this place. This resort actually has 5 resorts. There are 4 and 5 star Gran Bahia options, one that is just adults only. The rooms/food/liquor varies between the 4 and 5 star resorts, but thats just about it. Amazing beach and pools for all, great shops, and so clean! The resort is perfectly manicured and you feel safe there. Loved the market they have at the resort - no need to leave for shopping. To me, any reviews about the resort being too big are silly. Everything is walkable and trams are readily available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I wish I would have brought more dollar bills to the all inclusive I stayed at. Tips are included, so you don't "need" to tip, but I wanted to, so ended up being a little more generous than I should have been. Having brought a bunch of singles would have been smart.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgruntled vacationer 2
Couples
Maryland
Apr 10, 2013

Nice beach but everything else was horrible.

04/10/2013 08:57 AM No rooms were available when we arrived. They said there was a problem with booking. We waited in lobby holding our luggage for 4 hrs as they tried to find us a room. When we finally got a room it was hot and toiled seat was cracked, refrigerator did not get cold, room safe looked tampered with, security chain on front door was detached and the lamps were not plugged into wall outlets. They advertised multiple restaurants to chose from but we could not make reservations due to no seating available. Are only option was to eat at buffet. Needless to say I am in the process of disputing the charges to my discover card. I have had successful vacations in the past but this was a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMWRIGHT
Couples
Steuben County NY
Apr 7, 2013

Fantastic time

Third time to DR. Gran Bahia was best resort we have stayed at. We stayed in Ambar section -Adults only and it was perfect. Close to pool, beach and dining. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for relaxing trip in a picture perfect location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If going to evening shows....go early or you won't find a seat. Michael Jackson show was especially impressive.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doctor Dave S
Friends
Richmond, ky
Mar 20, 2013

Couples/friends get away

For the most part things were good, just what I expected from what was rated a 3/4 star hotel/resort. However, the food in the buffets was horrible. It wasn't just once, but every day. And one night we made reservations at the "Mediterranean seafood restaurant" and it was worse than the buffets. Also, the staff seemed to constantly expect tips, even though it specifically says no tipping required

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gb2013
Friends
michigan
Mar 1, 2013

horrible experiance

we had a horrible experiance with this hotel . when we arrived our room was not available we booked a 2 queen bed and only got a single king. kept getting worse and worse !! worst experiance ever .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top