$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
240 reviews
Awsome

We have a blast ... Bad experience on try to sign us for the member club to long See full review

  • Rickycenturion
  • Nov 19, 2014
Awesome

Excellent resort, beautifully landscaped, friendly staff,nice food. See full review

  • SvMrflk
  • Nov 17, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00
Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmann122
New England
Dec 8, 2012

Great Place

The place is wonderful- be sure to get a good room location near the beach- try to stay on the 3rd floor- more privacy on deck. Food was good. French Restraunt was a let down, We drove through other resorts- this place was much nicer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French Retraunt- more concerned about how nice food looked vs. how good it tasted- Our meals were not the best. The buffets were great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vectra
Business
Vancouver BC
Jan 14, 2013

Our family getaway

We had a fantastic holiday at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This was our third time at the hotel, but wasn't the last. The location is excellent, the hotel ground is beautifully maintained, the food is very good. I can recommend the Italian restaurant, the best! There are three pools, my favorite pool is in the middle part of the resort, clean and quiet. The resort is huge, but cozy. The only downside of this hotel is the gym. If you like to work out in the morning, than I don't think this is the rite place for you. The gym is small, crowded, and the stuff is awful. To get there, the taxi cost $40 from and to the airport. If you plan going to Higuey (the closest big city) take the bus. The bus stop is outside the hotel entrance, and only cost $3 per person, each way. it's very safe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amwendwa
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jan 14, 2013

Amazing

Stayed at the GBP punta cana resort from Dec 29, 2012 to Jan 12, 2013. We were impressed with how clean and well maintained the resort is. Rooms are clean and spacious. The staff was amazing and friendly. Good food and entertainment. The only negative was not being able to eat the Bavaro Buffet,but, other than that everything else was Awesome! would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alg world traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 1, 2013

Tropical getaway

This hotel is in the perfect location along a beautiful beach. I have plenty of beaches and hotels to compare this with since I have traveled plenty throughout the Caribbean. The water is a bit rough at times but that mainly happens later in the day. The beach is kept clean. There were always people cleaning up. The only negative fact is that if you don't get there before 9 a.m., it's difficult finding a chair. As for the hotel, I was not impressed. It is no doubt well maintained, but just too large of a place to deal with. For example, getting extra towels and pillows is a challenge. It took 3 days to get the pillow and we never were able to get an extra towel. They most likely can't keep track of who needs what due to the size and crowd at this place. Also, part of the problem is that most of the employees speak not a word of English. The rooms are cleaned daily and I want to mention that there are plenty of mosquitoes in the rooms as well as outside. This seems to be a problem there but I understand it's not their fault. Finally, the food was somewhat of a disappointment. The buffet was just not as good as I thought it would be. The fruit was terrible for being in the Caribbean. The desserts were terrible as well. I did experience 3 specialty dinners that were better. I will just mention the fish restaurant since it was really a great dinner. In summery, I most likely would not return to this hotel again. If I were to return to Punta Cana again, I would choose a smaller resort were the service can be a bit better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The fish restaurant is the best one there. You will need a reservation in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CoolStuff
Business
Italy
Dec 24, 2012

Good getaway

This was our honeymoon getaway. Room service was good. The rooms are a little dated but you are really not in the room that much if you sign up for daily excursions. Once you get there make sure you make reservations to the restaurants because there are roughly 2k+ people there and reservations go fast. This is good resort if its your first all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chad2001
Business
Cleveland
Dec 24, 2012

Never again! Don't do it!

My girlfriend and I stayed and Gran Bahia from December 14th-20th. A friend of mine told me that she got really sick from eating the food there before, but I figured it was unlikely it would happen to me. Boy was I wrong! We were sick most of our time there and the staff did nothing to accommodate us! They were rude, gave me the run around, and very untruthful. They have a pharmacy, but it didn't have any antibiotics. We basically laid around in our room most of the days in pain. Also, I didn't find any of the specialty restaurants good at all. I ate at Le Gourmet, the Japanese restaurant, and the Mexican restaurant. The buffet was okay. Much of the food was cold. Could have been much better. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable and there was a very little and old television in the room. Most people there, staff and visitors, spoke spanish. While it was kind of hard to communicate, I didn't mind it much. The shows were okay. To top off this terrible trip we had to call 3 times for the trolly to come pick us up from the room and take us up front to the taxi. They never showed up so we had to walk our luggage across the resort. When we were almost there a worker who was passing picked us on a his trolly. I told him I checked out and needed to get a taxi. He drove us passed the front lobby, where we were suppose to catch a taxi, and to a parking lot. We waited for about 15 minutes while he said someone was coming. He didn't know English and called someone else for me. The guy said he should have took us to the lobby. I had to yell at this guy as he kept saying someone was coming. Then some guy finally showed up. He drove us to the airport. But the whole time he was doing about 90 miles and hour, and switching lanes, while talking on the phone! I WILL NEVER stay at this resort again in my life. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Dude
Business
New York
Dec 21, 2012

Great Value

We just got back from the Grand Bahia Principe. The resort is large but there is a relaxed feel to it. The walk from the main lobby to the pool is only 10 minutes but there are shuttles available if necessary. The beach is kept clean and the shaded canopies were a welcome relief during midday. All of the serving staff were friendly and helpful. A great spot for relaxing and enjoying the sun and sand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you book your additional restaurants upon arrival. They are well worth the effort. (We enjoyed the Japanese, French and Mediterranean)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmann122
Business
New England
Dec 8, 2012

Great Place

The place is wonderful- be sure to get a good room location near the beach- try to stay on the 3rd floor- more privacy on deck. Food was good. French Restraunt was a let down, We drove through other resorts- this place was much nicer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French Retraunt- more concerned about how nice food looked vs. how good it tasted- Our meals were not the best. The buffets were great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
virgo2n1
Business
Kings, NY, USA
Oct 29, 2012

Loved this place

I love all the Gran Bahia Principe chains and this one is no different. It's beautiful, food was good and staff was super friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio Texas
Sep 15, 2012

Great Experience

Fun and relaxing at the same time. The staff was very helpful and polite.. The trip to Saona Island is well worth the money. Paradise on earth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Garden Grill surpassed our expectations. Premium service and food selection. A total surprise because the name is misleading.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Resort Man
Business
Illinois
Sep 14, 2012

Trip Was Good, Not Great!

Just got back from a 5 day, 4 night stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort. This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic. Previously we have went to the Barcelo Maya Beach Resort in the Riviera Mayan, Mexico. We decided to try something different this year and this happened to be a little cheaper. For most of this review I will compare our experience at Gran Bahia Principe with that at the Barcelo Maya Beach Resort. The one great thing about Gran Bahia was the distance from the airport. Compared to the Riviera Mayan this trip was only 20 mins compared to an hour and half. However after that one item everything else is downhill. THE BEACH: The beach is horrible....the seaweed is overwhelming and you can't walk in the water unless your standing in seaweed. The beach is crawling with vendors that are trying to sell you stuff, and they are very very pushy. And good luck finding a seat. At the Barcelo in Mexico the beach is kept clean, is off limits, to vendors, and always has plenty of seats. TIP: take your towels down to the pool or beach and claim your chairs early in the morning (everyone else does). THE LAYOUT: be prepared to walk the resort is long inland and you have a good half mile walk from the beach to the reception area. They do have trams but they run every 10 mins or so and are often crowded. Barcelo in Mexico has this place beat hands down on layout. THE POOL: Gran Bahia has a nice set of pools but only one pool down by the beach with a bar. The pool is nice but often crowded. THE ROOMS: The rooms are ok, you have to pay for a safe which is a rip off but well worth the money because its very sketchy who goes in and out of your room throughout the day. Our friends found some cockroaches in their room. THE FOOD: The restaurants were good not great the best by far was the Japanese. The buffet, breakfast, and lunch is very redundant, be prepared to eat a lot of the same stuff over and over. THE STAFF: The staff is not very welcoming, very few speak English fluent and they don't seem as friendly as other resorts. OTHER ITEMS: Beware the Shopping Plaza in the resort, they will steal you blind and are very very pushy! The entertainment is on par with a Grade School production, some great dancing but the sound, lighting, and overall shows were a waste of time. The activity staff seemed more interested in hooking up with girls then doing their job. If your going to drink do so in the lobby bar, they have the best drinks. OVERALL: It was great to go to the DR once in my life but would not go back to this resort and left a very very bad impression on the Bahia Principe. For my money if you want a great all inclusive vacation, great beach, great pool, great staff, and great experience I would check out another resort and from my experience Barcelo is the way to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top