$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boardin'
Toronto
Jan 23, 2013

GBP just does it right.....

I can't say enough about how great our stay was at Grand Bahia Principe. From the moment we arrived we were treated like a valued customer... every single request we made was not only met - but even after 5 days - we had one small issue and left a comment on a comment card (*as we aren't really ones to complain about anything) and by the time we got back to our room the issue had already been dealt with. We were very very surprised with the speed and attention to detail from the staff and management. Oh, and the golf course is RIGHT next door.... you really don't even leave the property and your are at the first tee. Amazing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you talk to the Punta Blanca Golf course they will hook you up with a deal to play three times on the course for a discount - the staff there are amazing and if you get out early... there is NO ONE on the course for miles.... can't beat it. Enjoy the nature, sun, birds and LOW scores ;)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mags2835
Business
Chicago
Mar 19, 2014

Anniversary vacation

Although theirs a lot of different reviews from awful to fantastic. We had a great trip. We went last weekend for 4 nights 5 days. The staff was wonderful the room was clean and the location was perfect. We had a villa in the middle of the resort (villa 14) so we were close to all the pools and beach as well as the lobby, buffet and shops. We thought the buffet food was better than the al la carte restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you down load the hotel app prior to your stay you don't have to worry about getting your dinner reservations. You can make them before your trip thru the app

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
claudschi
Business
yorktown, va
Mar 13, 2014

dangerous bathtub, horrible check-in

we booked and paid for punta cana (not bavaro) level hotel room. were keep getting the run-around for 2 1/2 hours at check-in despite my confirmation clearly stating a punta cana level room. bathtub is extremely slippery (most slippery ever in 30+ countries we've been to and 100's of hotel rooms#. used a towel in and out of tub to prevent falls. despite our preventive measures, I slipped, fell and fractured my finger #1st fracture ever#. we suggest to bring own bathmat from dollar store. in room problems - no a/c 1st day, fridge replaced 3 times, tv broke morning of check-out #as of 4 hrs later was not replaced, so who know#. maid was nice and friendly #although the floor was not very clean), shuttle drivers, bellhop, bartenders were friendly. food was average. front desk was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

bring a bathmat from dollar store. bathtub was incredibly slippery. fractured my finger...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BaezW
Business
Puerto Rico
Mar 13, 2014

Excellent Resort!

I vacationed from 08/03/14 to 12/03/14. When I first got to Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana the hotel was over booked, so they gave me an upgrade to The Esmeralda a luxury hotel inside this huge resort. Best thing that could happen! The Esmeralda is real a luxurious hotel and with the violet colored bracelet they gave me I could access all the resort. The Place is beautiful: rooms, restaurants, pools, beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. My only complain is about the night life which is not too variable. The food is good, but not excellent. I highly recommend the Gran Bahia Principe Resort. It's Worth The Money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coolbody
Business
salem ,nh
Mar 6, 2014

some things need help

toliet not working i had to fix it twice. called for ice on 2 /25/2104 still wating the refrigerator wasnt working had to call for repair. tried to make resaervation at one of the speciality restaurants could not give me a reservation till 9;45 pm too late forus seniors, the room did not get made up till after 4;30 daily the stairs leading down from the unit were wet with soap and water with no warning almost slipped and fell' upon arrival t could not get into the room until after 4;00 pm check is 3;00 pm had to wait around for room to be ready no slip bars in tub almost fell trying to shower g

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

not bad i guess for the money if they want me back some type of financial monies would probably get me to come back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
St. John the Divine
Business
Philly, PA
Mar 2, 2014

very large hotel. nice but a bit complicated

over all it's a very nice place to stay but be ready to get to the beach 7-7:30 am if you wanna get a chair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runningsoxfan
Business
Salem, MA
Feb 24, 2014

Luxury Upgrade!

Upon checking in, we were told that the Punta Cana was overbooked and the hotel had upgraded us to the Ambar (located within this very large resort). Wow - what a nice surprise! Ambar is the luxury adults only portion. The hotel room was spacious with a nice patio. But the best part had to be the bathroom - it was huge, with a large vanity, separate toilet area, a rainfall shower, and a jetted tub. The pool area was fantastic - plenty of chairs and huts (if that's what you wanted). We had great service throughout the week, every one was extremely friendly and definitely there to make your stay enjoyable. We would give a shout out to Bianca (pool area server), Ruben (pool bar bartender), and Elvin (snack bar bartender). One point to be aware of...give yourself plenty of time to catch your flight home. The Punta Cana airport is a little hectic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
defrostintheDR
Business
Hoth, MA
Feb 15, 2014

great resort

The resort is great. The staff is very friendly and there are a ton of areas. 3 huge pools with swim up bars, just a perfect place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelbug Bitten
Business
Punta Cana, DR
Feb 15, 2014

Worst hotel ever

Walking into 1 of our 2 rooms we were met with a horrible stench coming from bathroom and permeating bedroom. Five phone calls and 2 hrs later a maid showed up with an even more foul-smelling lemon spray and drenched the walls, floors, bedding, curtains. Begged for a different room and were told we had to stay there. Six hrs and several managers later we finally were moved to another hotel on the huge property --so now half our family was at one hotel and half at another, it was past midnight AND we were sternly told we'd have to move again the next day because this was not the hotel we'd booked! The next day we were ordered to pack up both our rooms and move to another building at the original hotel. We spent the rest of the week putting up with my adult daughter sleeping on a cot instead of the expected double bed, mini bars NOT being refilled each day, towels being taken and not replaced, mosquitoes galore 24/7 in the rooms, few employes speaking even basic English to mostly US/Canadian guests, our rooms not being made up till 5 or 6 pm daily, and restaurants that served food that even for an all-inclusive resort was well below par. As frequent travelers who understand that this is not a perfect world, we were most disgusted by the uncaring treatment by staff in a hospitality industry and the run-down condition of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine and Michael
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 1, 2014

First visit - won't be the last!!

Astounded at the cleanliness of the resort, friendly staff, excellent food and overall experience. Lots of Europeans there and their children were extremely well-behaved, compared to the typical behavior of American children. We have traveled extensively for many years and are used to minor and, sometimes, major annoyances but could find absolutely nothing to complain about at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
that's me on the beach
Business
Toronto
Dec 31, 2013

Pleasant Christmas Getaway

The beach is beautiful, the water clear, and there are just enough waves to make it interesting. Hard to imagine a young family not enjoying the shallow, ever moving ocean. If your primary focus at an all inclusive is the beach you will not be disappointed, though when the place is busy the sun bed hunt will be an irritation. Grounds are lovely, pools immaculate, but since even the quiet pool is right beside the regular pool, pool scene a little too caffeinated for our comfort. Rooms were fine, though fridge and fan were both on fritz. Beds and bedding not particularly comfortable. There seem to be several classes of room and it may be worth paying extra to be closer to the beach or in a quieter area if those are priorities. Buffet food was fine, but would have preferred the main buffer have a more open feel. Usually lunched and breakfasted at one of the beach side snack bars, better ambiance and the same food. Do absolutely book a al carte restaurants, which had a much higher standard of food, service and ambiance. French, Japanese Teppanyaki and "Garden Grill" all excellent and close to big city standards. Did not do many activities as they seemed somewhat chaotically organized, and sport area feels separate from resort. Might be wise to organize before you leave, but it might still seem possible nothing will happen until it does. Resort is very big and may best suit families with different interests and older kids emboldened to do things on their own. I think we would have preferred something smaller and quieter with easier to access activities. Potentially good value then, obviously depending on what you pay, but the only standout elements are the beach (essential to my party) and the a la cartes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Book as many a la cartes as you can, and not having sampled the others I can say the French, the "Garden Grill" and the Japanese Teppanyaki places were all surprisingly good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top