$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
233 reviews
The perfect place for our honeymoon

My wife and i had visited the Grand Bahia Principe for a 10 nights stay. It was fabulous, we were... See full review

  • Vlad F.
  • Oct 8, 2014
Friend getaway

First time in Punta Cana and it was great. The staff was wonderful and help anytime we needed... See full review

  • Ariel Ann
  • Sep 7, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vectra
Vancouver BC
Jan 14, 2013

Our family getaway

We had a fantastic holiday at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This was our third time at the hotel, but wasn't the last. The location is excellent, the hotel ground is beautifully maintained, the food is very good. I can recommend the Italian restaurant, the best! There are three pools, my favorite pool is in the middle part of the resort, clean and quiet. The resort is huge, but cozy. The only downside of this hotel is the gym. If you like to work out in the morning, than I don't think this is the rite place for you. The gym is small, crowded, and the stuff is awful. To get there, the taxi cost $40 from and to the airport. If you plan going to Higuey (the closest big city) take the bus. The bus stop is outside the hotel entrance, and only cost $3 per person, each way. it's very safe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelbug Bitten
Business
Punta Cana, DR
Feb 15, 2014

Worst hotel ever

Walking into 1 of our 2 rooms we were met with a horrible stench coming from bathroom and permeating bedroom. Five phone calls and 2 hrs later a maid showed up with an even more foul-smelling lemon spray and drenched the walls, floors, bedding, curtains. Begged for a different room and were told we had to stay there. Six hrs and several managers later we finally were moved to another hotel on the huge property --so now half our family was at one hotel and half at another, it was past midnight AND we were sternly told we'd have to move again the next day because this was not the hotel we'd booked! The next day we were ordered to pack up both our rooms and move to another building at the original hotel. We spent the rest of the week putting up with my adult daughter sleeping on a cot instead of the expected double bed, mini bars NOT being refilled each day, towels being taken and not replaced, mosquitoes galore 24/7 in the rooms, few employes speaking even basic English to mostly US/Canadian guests, our rooms not being made up till 5 or 6 pm daily, and restaurants that served food that even for an all-inclusive resort was well below par. As frequent travelers who understand that this is not a perfect world, we were most disgusted by the uncaring treatment by staff in a hospitality industry and the run-down condition of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine and Michael
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 1, 2014

First visit - won't be the last!!

Astounded at the cleanliness of the resort, friendly staff, excellent food and overall experience. Lots of Europeans there and their children were extremely well-behaved, compared to the typical behavior of American children. We have traveled extensively for many years and are used to minor and, sometimes, major annoyances but could find absolutely nothing to complain about at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
that's me on the beach
Business
Toronto
Dec 31, 2013

Pleasant Christmas Getaway

The beach is beautiful, the water clear, and there are just enough waves to make it interesting. Hard to imagine a young family not enjoying the shallow, ever moving ocean. If your primary focus at an all inclusive is the beach you will not be disappointed, though when the place is busy the sun bed hunt will be an irritation. Grounds are lovely, pools immaculate, but since even the quiet pool is right beside the regular pool, pool scene a little too caffeinated for our comfort. Rooms were fine, though fridge and fan were both on fritz. Beds and bedding not particularly comfortable. There seem to be several classes of room and it may be worth paying extra to be closer to the beach or in a quieter area if those are priorities. Buffet food was fine, but would have preferred the main buffer have a more open feel. Usually lunched and breakfasted at one of the beach side snack bars, better ambiance and the same food. Do absolutely book a al carte restaurants, which had a much higher standard of food, service and ambiance. French, Japanese Teppanyaki and "Garden Grill" all excellent and close to big city standards. Did not do many activities as they seemed somewhat chaotically organized, and sport area feels separate from resort. Might be wise to organize before you leave, but it might still seem possible nothing will happen until it does. Resort is very big and may best suit families with different interests and older kids emboldened to do things on their own. I think we would have preferred something smaller and quieter with easier to access activities. Potentially good value then, obviously depending on what you pay, but the only standout elements are the beach (essential to my party) and the a la cartes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Book as many a la cartes as you can, and not having sampled the others I can say the French, the "Garden Grill" and the Japanese Teppanyaki places were all surprisingly good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NadiaS
Business
Brampton On
Dec 27, 2013

Mosquitos

Mosquitos everywhere on the resort. Good staff, good food, good experience. Will do it all over again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Loved the shows

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJIte
Business
New Jersey
Dec 27, 2013

Nice resort except bed bugs

Good location, generous amenities, very helpful staff, decent food/drinks. The big problem was that many rooms have bed bugs. We switched twice before it got somewhat acceptable. Another point to ponder is the pace at which anything gets done. This is probably uncorrelated to the resort, but everything happens in very slow motion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SriA
Business
San Francisco,CA
Dec 26, 2013

Much better experiences found elsewhere

After a week here with my extended family, I'm heading home tomorrow, and wanted to write this while it's still fresh. If you're looking for a one word summary, it's this: Inconvenient Now, it's always good to start with the positives: 1. No line-ups at the bars and just short ones at the restaurants, if any 2. Lots of fresh fruit at dinner 3. The weather was generally great - warm, but not too hot; just a bit of rain here and there (the hotel even provides everyone with an umbrella) 4. The rooms are huge - never feels cramped Next, the reason I think you should spend your money elsewhere: you have to work hard to enjoy this place. I've been to many resorts over the past 5-10 years, and this was by far the most cumbersome and inconvenient one I've been to. I think it mostly stems from the fact that it's so large - I think I read it's one of the largest in the world, so you feel very much like a cog in the machine rather than a guest. More specifically, here's what my group of 8 found inconvenient: 1. Eating: For breakfast and dinner the primary eating option is the main buffet. Getting there is a 5-15 minute journey depending on where you are in the resort. Also, booking reservations at the restaurants was a nightmare for us - we must have spent hours on it, and got nowhere - had to eat at the buffet every single day 2. Pool: Getting a chair means you have to put towels down at 7am; any later than that, and you are out of luck 3. Beach: Really crowded, and yep, without a towel on a chair first thing in the morning, you're out of luck 4. Administrative: Again, because the resort is so big, if you have an issue, it's a 5-15 minute journey to the front desk - this happened to several of us with room keys that stopped working 5. Rooms: They're nice and functional, but not spectacular - for example, my water pressure was always really low, and the shower setup meant the floor got soaked whenever I used it 6. Towels: I tried five times during the week to get a fresh beach towel and was told they were out every single time. A few times rather rudely As a final indicator of the service here, on the last day, my brother, his wife, and 1.5 year old had to move in with my parents. They had extended their reservation by one day, but the hotel "forgot" and basically kicked them out. They offered to let them stay on the resort if they could find their own accommodation if they paid $350 for the night. My brother managed to negotiate them down to $150. What a way to end our stay... As the title says, you can find a much better experience elsewhere for the same price. The size and crowds in this place means you're always working hard to relax and enjoy yourself - I recommend you go elsewhere where relaxation comes easier and your experience will be more personal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rolliejoy
Business
mich
Dec 10, 2013

my stay

had a wonderful time , great value, beautiful location friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Japanese steak house is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IlPadron
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 9, 2013

A relaxing getaway

Despite some of the other reviews, we had a great time at this hotel! The resort was well-manicured and the staff was generally very friendly. We rarely felt pressure to tip, and when we did, it was only because of great service. Our biggest concern was the potential language barrier since we only speak English. Staff was very good about conversational English and the only international frustration we ran into was the attitude of other tourists, particularly from European countries. Otherwise, the food was always very hot and delicious and while we took precautions (e.g. not drinking tap water or using it to brush our teeth, etc.), we didn't get sick, as many other reviewers experienced. We would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late Honeymoon
Business
New York, New York
Sep 4, 2013

Three year belated honeymoon

We booked this resort (both mine and my wife's first ever all inclusive resort) not knowing that there would be different and more expensive sections with better food/access (my fault). Booking Punta Cana instead of other sections at the hotel will give you fewer amenities and access to only one of the buffets. I can't comment on whether the food was better at the buffets of the pricier sections of the hotel, but I would assume so. I'll start by saying reception and check-in was great and smooth. Bumped up into a slightly better room for no apparent reason but I didn't ask questions. The resort is massive. If you get a room by the main large pool right by the beach, then you will have to take the train/ trolly/bus to the buffet which is in the lobby. The food is mediocre; some people I spoke to there enjoyed it so maybe I'm a pickier eater than I thought. I was also really disappointed with the service in the buffets; you are greeted as you enter, checked for wet clothing and allowed in. More often than not you have to try and find your own table (this gets difficult at peak meal hours) and then wait entirely too long for the waiters to bring you water. After swimming and sweating I didn't want beer, I wanted water; the waits were long. The pools were clean, the beach was fantastic. There are shows in their theater every night which were entertaining. Again, you will have to take the train there (you could walk, but I do not exaggerate by saying it is nearly a half mile from where my room was). Almost all of the staff spoke english very well; it's important for those who complain of their abilities that we are visiting their country where they speak Spanish and english is a second language for all of them. In short: food mediocre, but if you don't care and just want a nice and affordable place to lounge by a pool and nice beach then go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cms705
Business
white plains new york
Aug 19, 2013

I love this Resort

I stayed at their location in Runaway Bay and Punta Cana and I absolutely fell in love with this place I will definitely be back and soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

was amazing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top