$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
229 reviews
Anniversary fun

We stayed at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana, we stayed in a villa which was in close proximity to... See full review

  • Cincy couple anniversary
  • May 22, 2014
Honeymoon

Great hotel really enjoyed our stay. People are very friendly See full review

  • QTBABYD
  • May 20, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IlPadron
Pennsylvania
Sep 9, 2013

A relaxing getaway

Despite some of the other reviews, we had a great time at this hotel! The resort was well-manicured and the staff was generally very friendly. We rarely felt pressure to tip, and when we did, it was only because of great service. Our biggest concern was the potential language barrier since we only speak English. Staff was very good about conversational English and the only international frustration we ran into was the attitude of other tourists, particularly from European countries. Otherwise, the food was always very hot and delicious and while we took precautions (e.g. not drinking tap water or using it to brush our teeth, etc.), we didn't get sick, as many other reviewers experienced. We would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Late Honeymoon
New York, New York
Sep 4, 2013

Three year belated honeymoon

We booked this resort (both mine and my wife's first ever all inclusive resort) not knowing that there would be different and more expensive sections with better food/access (my fault). Booking Punta Cana instead of other sections at the hotel will give you fewer amenities and access to only one of the buffets. I can't comment on whether the food was better at the buffets of the pricier sections of the hotel, but I would assume so. I'll start by saying reception and check-in was great and smooth. Bumped up into a slightly better room for no apparent reason but I didn't ask questions. The resort is massive. If you get a room by the main large pool right by the beach, then you will have to take the train/ trolly/bus to the buffet which is in the lobby. The food is mediocre; some people I spoke to there enjoyed it so maybe I'm a pickier eater than I thought. I was also really disappointed with the service in the buffets; you are greeted as you enter, checked for wet clothing and allowed in. More often than not you have to try and find your own table (this gets difficult at peak meal hours) and then wait entirely too long for the waiters to bring you water. After swimming and sweating I didn't want beer, I wanted water; the waits were long. The pools were clean, the beach was fantastic. There are shows in their theater every night which were entertaining. Again, you will have to take the train there (you could walk, but I do not exaggerate by saying it is nearly a half mile from where my room was). Almost all of the staff spoke english very well; it's important for those who complain of their abilities that we are visiting their country where they speak Spanish and english is a second language for all of them. In short: food mediocre, but if you don't care and just want a nice and affordable place to lounge by a pool and nice beach then go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cms705
white plains new york
Aug 19, 2013

I love this Resort

I stayed at their location in Runaway Bay and Punta Cana and I absolutely fell in love with this place I will definitely be back and soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

was amazing

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Claudia Franco
Tampa,fl
Jul 10, 2013

Súper

We had an amazing vacation people were very welcoming this is our 2nd time at the hotel I hope we have the 3rd soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KJ Frequent Traveller
Denver, Colorado
Jun 7, 2013

Wouldn't return

I am an American. This makes a difference in my review because of the things I am accustomed to. I believe this review will only assist other Americans. Be prepared that most people at the resort do not speak English. If you don't know Spanish, its incredibly hard to communicate. The front desk staff was not great. The man that checked us in was rude, when we had trouble with the room we were told to come back later, and they don't really understand customer service. The food at the buffet is pretty bad. The restaurants are mediocre at best. The drinks are not made with mixers so they taste off and the soda does not taste the same. During our 6 day stay they never explained the way the a/c worked so we had to get them to come turn it on at 2:45am one night. The bathtub did not drain at all. The ceiling fan made a racket. And you had to jiggle the handle on the toilet to keep it from running. The maid didn't stock the mini fridge even though there's a card displayed on the bureau that says she does. I have zero complaints about the pools and beaches and the grounds of the property. It is all beautiful. Gorgeous! But when you lay on the beach you will constantly get harassed by hotel staff to go to their sales presentation or to buy their excursions or goods. A pair of flip flops there are $12-$32. A can of Deep Woods Off is $30. And the vultures at the kiosks, if you are stupid enough to go there, will rob you blind. The soda machines and coffee machines were frequently out of order and there are only 2 places to eat and you have to do it on their schedule. Either the buffet or the beach snack bars. The "show" at night consists of them pulling guests up in stage and doing funny skits with the guests, but if you are used to a choreographed production you will not get it. Overall I will definitely not return to this resort and I doubt I will return to the Dominican Republic until they get a little more experienced at running all inclusive resorts. If you choose to go here are some important things to know: Bring snacks for your room because the food is bad and not always available. Brings lots of cash because everything is expensive (even at the airport) and they hound you for money. And bring bug spray bc the mosquitoes and the "no-see-sums" as they call them in Puerto Rico are merciless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you put money inside your fridge every single day it will be overfilled. If you don't they won't fill it at all.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tenant rep
COLUMBUS Ohio
May 14, 2013

Great place

Wonderful location , beach and pools magnificent Shows at night superb! Some staff lacked English and wifi not great But overall wonderful place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The shows were incredible and I am surprised not a surcharged for them don't miss them

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyHappyHappy
Chicago
Apr 15, 2013

Perfect resort for everyone

The check in process and a la carte dinner reservations (or lack there of) was trying, but once we were settled we, we realized how lucky we were to have found this place. This resort actually has 5 resorts. There are 4 and 5 star Gran Bahia options, one that is just adults only. The rooms/food/liquor varies between the 4 and 5 star resorts, but thats just about it. Amazing beach and pools for all, great shops, and so clean! The resort is perfectly manicured and you feel safe there. Loved the market they have at the resort - no need to leave for shopping. To me, any reviews about the resort being too big are silly. Everything is walkable and trams are readily available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I wish I would have brought more dollar bills to the all inclusive I stayed at. Tips are included, so you don't "need" to tip, but I wanted to, so ended up being a little more generous than I should have been. Having brought a bunch of singles would have been smart.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgruntled vacationer 2
Maryland
Apr 10, 2013

Nice beach but everything else was horrible.

04/10/2013 08:57 AM No rooms were available when we arrived. They said there was a problem with booking. We waited in lobby holding our luggage for 4 hrs as they tried to find us a room. When we finally got a room it was hot and toiled seat was cracked, refrigerator did not get cold, room safe looked tampered with, security chain on front door was detached and the lamps were not plugged into wall outlets. They advertised multiple restaurants to chose from but we could not make reservations due to no seating available. Are only option was to eat at buffet. Needless to say I am in the process of disputing the charges to my discover card. I have had successful vacations in the past but this was a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMWRIGHT
Steuben County NY
Apr 7, 2013

Fantastic time

Third time to DR. Gran Bahia was best resort we have stayed at. We stayed in Ambar section -Adults only and it was perfect. Close to pool, beach and dining. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for relaxing trip in a picture perfect location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If going to evening shows....go early or you won't find a seat. Michael Jackson show was especially impressive.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
unme4ever
the poconos, pa
Mar 21, 2013

lovely place

my first trip with me family....love it...no problems at all...staff is very friendly, great service....going back again soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search