$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
336 reviews
Anniversary fun

We stayed at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana, we stayed in a villa which was in close proximity to... See full review

  • Cincy couple anniversary
  • May 22, 2014
Honeymoon

Great hotel really enjoyed our stay. People are very friendly See full review

  • QTBABYD
  • May 20, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (336)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boardin'
Toronto
Jan 23, 2013

GBP just does it right.....

I can't say enough about how great our stay was at Grand Bahia Principe. From the moment we arrived we were treated like a valued customer... every single request we made was not only met - but even after 5 days - we had one small issue and left a comment on a comment card (*as we aren't really ones to complain about anything) and by the time we got back to our room the issue had already been dealt with. We were very very surprised with the speed and attention to detail from the staff and management. Oh, and the golf course is RIGHT next door.... you really don't even leave the property and your are at the first tee. Amazing time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you talk to the Punta Blanca Golf course they will hook you up with a deal to play three times on the course for a discount - the staff there are amazing and if you get out early... there is NO ONE on the course for miles.... can't beat it. Enjoy the nature, sun, birds and LOW scores ;)

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mags2835
Chicago
Mar 19, 2014

Anniversary vacation

Although theirs a lot of different reviews from awful to fantastic. We had a great trip. We went last weekend for 4 nights 5 days. The staff was wonderful the room was clean and the location was perfect. We had a villa in the middle of the resort (villa 14) so we were close to all the pools and beach as well as the lobby, buffet and shops. We thought the buffet food was better than the al la carte restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you down load the hotel app prior to your stay you don't have to worry about getting your dinner reservations. You can make them before your trip thru the app

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
claudschi
yorktown, va
Mar 13, 2014

dangerous bathtub, horrible check-in

we booked and paid for punta cana (not bavaro) level hotel room. were keep getting the run-around for 2 1/2 hours at check-in despite my confirmation clearly stating a punta cana level room. bathtub is extremely slippery (most slippery ever in 30+ countries we've been to and 100's of hotel rooms#. used a towel in and out of tub to prevent falls. despite our preventive measures, I slipped, fell and fractured my finger #1st fracture ever#. we suggest to bring own bathmat from dollar store. in room problems - no a/c 1st day, fridge replaced 3 times, tv broke morning of check-out #as of 4 hrs later was not replaced, so who know#. maid was nice and friendly #although the floor was not very clean), shuttle drivers, bellhop, bartenders were friendly. food was average. front desk was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

bring a bathmat from dollar store. bathtub was incredibly slippery. fractured my finger...

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BaezW
Puerto Rico
Mar 13, 2014

Excellent Resort!

I vacationed from 08/03/14 to 12/03/14. When I first got to Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana the hotel was over booked, so they gave me an upgrade to The Esmeralda a luxury hotel inside this huge resort. Best thing that could happen! The Esmeralda is real a luxurious hotel and with the violet colored bracelet they gave me I could access all the resort. The Place is beautiful: rooms, restaurants, pools, beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. My only complain is about the night life which is not too variable. The food is good, but not excellent. I highly recommend the Gran Bahia Principe Resort. It's Worth The Money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coolbody
salem ,nh
Mar 6, 2014

some things need help

toliet not working i had to fix it twice. called for ice on 2 /25/2104 still wating the refrigerator wasnt working had to call for repair. tried to make resaervation at one of the speciality restaurants could not give me a reservation till 9;45 pm too late forus seniors, the room did not get made up till after 4;30 daily the stairs leading down from the unit were wet with soap and water with no warning almost slipped and fell' upon arrival t could not get into the room until after 4;00 pm check is 3;00 pm had to wait around for room to be ready no slip bars in tub almost fell trying to shower g

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

not bad i guess for the money if they want me back some type of financial monies would probably get me to come back.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
St. John the Divine
Philly, PA
Mar 2, 2014

very large hotel. nice but a bit complicated

over all it's a very nice place to stay but be ready to get to the beach 7-7:30 am if you wanna get a chair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runningsoxfan
Salem, MA
Feb 24, 2014

Luxury Upgrade!

Upon checking in, we were told that the Punta Cana was overbooked and the hotel had upgraded us to the Ambar (located within this very large resort). Wow - what a nice surprise! Ambar is the luxury adults only portion. The hotel room was spacious with a nice patio. But the best part had to be the bathroom - it was huge, with a large vanity, separate toilet area, a rainfall shower, and a jetted tub. The pool area was fantastic - plenty of chairs and huts (if that's what you wanted). We had great service throughout the week, every one was extremely friendly and definitely there to make your stay enjoyable. We would give a shout out to Bianca (pool area server), Ruben (pool bar bartender), and Elvin (snack bar bartender). One point to be aware of...give yourself plenty of time to catch your flight home. The Punta Cana airport is a little hectic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelbug Bitten
Punta Cana, DR
Feb 15, 2014

Worst hotel ever

Walking into 1 of our 2 rooms we were met with a horrible stench coming from bathroom and permeating bedroom. Five phone calls and 2 hrs later a maid showed up with an even more foul-smelling lemon spray and drenched the walls, floors, bedding, curtains. Begged for a different room and were told we had to stay there. Six hrs and several managers later we finally were moved to another hotel on the huge property --so now half our family was at one hotel and half at another, it was past midnight AND we were sternly told we'd have to move again the next day because this was not the hotel we'd booked! The next day we were ordered to pack up both our rooms and move to another building at the original hotel. We spent the rest of the week putting up with my adult daughter sleeping on a cot instead of the expected double bed, mini bars NOT being refilled each day, towels being taken and not replaced, mosquitoes galore 24/7 in the rooms, few employes speaking even basic English to mostly US/Canadian guests, our rooms not being made up till 5 or 6 pm daily, and restaurants that served food that even for an all-inclusive resort was well below par. As frequent travelers who understand that this is not a perfect world, we were most disgusted by the uncaring treatment by staff in a hospitality industry and the run-down condition of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
defrostintheDR
Hoth, MA
Feb 15, 2014

great resort

The resort is great. The staff is very friendly and there are a ton of areas. 3 huge pools with swim up bars, just a perfect place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine and Michael
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 1, 2014

First visit - won't be the last!!

Astounded at the cleanliness of the resort, friendly staff, excellent food and overall experience. Lots of Europeans there and their children were extremely well-behaved, compared to the typical behavior of American children. We have traveled extensively for many years and are used to minor and, sometimes, major annoyances but could find absolutely nothing to complain about at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
that's me on the beach
Toronto
Dec 31, 2013

Pleasant Christmas Getaway

The beach is beautiful, the water clear, and there are just enough waves to make it interesting. Hard to imagine a young family not enjoying the shallow, ever moving ocean. If your primary focus at an all inclusive is the beach you will not be disappointed, though when the place is busy the sun bed hunt will be an irritation. Grounds are lovely, pools immaculate, but since even the quiet pool is right beside the regular pool, pool scene a little too caffeinated for our comfort. Rooms were fine, though fridge and fan were both on fritz. Beds and bedding not particularly comfortable. There seem to be several classes of room and it may be worth paying extra to be closer to the beach or in a quieter area if those are priorities. Buffet food was fine, but would have preferred the main buffer have a more open feel. Usually lunched and breakfasted at one of the beach side snack bars, better ambiance and the same food. Do absolutely book a al carte restaurants, which had a much higher standard of food, service and ambiance. French, Japanese Teppanyaki and "Garden Grill" all excellent and close to big city standards. Did not do many activities as they seemed somewhat chaotically organized, and sport area feels separate from resort. Might be wise to organize before you leave, but it might still seem possible nothing will happen until it does. Resort is very big and may best suit families with different interests and older kids emboldened to do things on their own. I think we would have preferred something smaller and quieter with easier to access activities. Potentially good value then, obviously depending on what you pay, but the only standout elements are the beach (essential to my party) and the a la cartes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Book as many a la cartes as you can, and not having sampled the others I can say the French, the "Garden Grill" and the Japanese Teppanyaki places were all surprisingly good.

Back to menu Return to top