$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
334 reviews
Anniversary fun

We stayed at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana, we stayed in a villa which was in close proximity to... See full review

  • Cincy couple anniversary
  • May 22, 2014
Honeymoon

Great hotel really enjoyed our stay. People are very friendly See full review

  • QTBABYD
  • May 20, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Budpan1
Somerset, Massachusetts
Apr 27, 2014

Awesome Resort

This place is awesome. It has something for every age group. Although it is enormous, it is easy to get around because the trams run continuously all day long. The beach is clean and never were we unable to get a beach chair. There was always some fun activity on the beach or at the pools. The staff was friendly and very helpful. On our first day the cards to the room and safe did not work and within five minutes we had someone there who replaced our cards. Our room was always clean and the cleaning staff was respectful of our privacy when we wanted it . There was a wide selection of food always available and the Barbecue and Mediterranean Restaurants were great. We learned quickly that if you ordered a drink you had to tell them to put alcohol in it, because they had virgin drinks readily available for children and those who preferred no alcohol. The shows at night were very entertaining, especially the Michael Jackson show.There wasn't really any negative experiences on this resort. If you did not want anyone to hound you while shopping in the village area all you had to say was "no". Then they left you alone. They will ask you to spend an hour visiting their newest area on the resort called the Esmerelda....but again...if you are not interested in doing this just say "no thanks". They never bothered us after that. We booked parasailing, snorkling, and the pirate dinner cruise/show. All were outstanding. If you are looking for an inclusive place with a lot to do for all ages, this is the place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn M. G.
Miami, Florida
Apr 22, 2014

Relaxing, family friendly place

Great place to go. Wonderful environment for couples or families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Reserve dinning upon arrival to the hotel. Reservations are taken quickly.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Urs from Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 21, 2014

perfect for doing nothing

Given the negative reviews we had seen, we were scpeptic. But what we have seen was really great. No clue where the negative reviews came from (they must have been at a different hotel). Room, food, ambience, everything was great. Definitely a place to recommend, also as family with three boys aged from 3 to 9 years old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EricCccc
Washington, DC
Apr 13, 2014

Romantic getaway

My girlfriend and I visited Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana in April. It was a pleasant experience overall. I've read some previous reviews about noises and difficulties of getting chairs next to the pool and at the beach, but that wasn't the case for us at all! We had no trouble of finding a great spot at any time, and the hotel staff were exceptional! The beach was beautiful and parasailing was so much fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Italian and the Japanese restaurants were awesome! Kayaking is free but requires reservation early in the morning. My girlfriend and I did parasailing during our stay, and it was definitely one of the highlights during our trip. $90 for two!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island Hopper360
NYC
Apr 9, 2014

All you need

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the island amazing. The hotel didn't offer anything extraordinary as far as entertainment but generally no complaints if all you want to do is relax and enjoy the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane Doe 2014
Idaho
Mar 28, 2014

Good getaway

We stayed for five days. The drinks were always available. The food could have been a little better but it's an adjustment going to another country. The location was great. Our resort was right on the beach. We had fun doing the zip line and a reef experience. We also went on a buggie ride that wasn't too great. It was short and we had to drive really slow. All in all, it was a good experience and I'm glad we went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't go into town to shop. They just take you to two different stores. It's not worth leaving the resort for.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Global Traveler 6656
U.S.
Mar 27, 2014

Great value, terrible service

At a resort of this size, the staff have a very hard time giving any resemblance of good service. That being said, this resort is a great value. For what you pay, you get a fantastic vacation. If anything goes wrong though, it will be a headache getting it addressed by the hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravellerB
Toronto, Canada
Mar 25, 2014

Staff are THIEFS

The Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana hotel page begins with "You'll love it because…" and ends with "What you're missing…." Here's what I did not love and will never miss - lazy hotel staff who think it is their right and privilege to enter a locked room safe and steal from their patrons. I can live with our room not being cleaned for three days, but what I do have a MAJOR problem with is $108 missing from two wallets in a locked safe. When reported, security came to the room and did an "investigation." They went through everything and then inferred that we were fabricating the story and hiding the money elsewhere. Then, when that approach did not work, they accused us of drinking too much and bringing strange men back to our room. We left the resort without following up on the investigation, because security and cleaning staff started following us around the resort in the evenings and entering our room during the day to mess up our bed and personal items and "make their presence known." If you want to VACATION and feel that yourself and your property are safe (I'm not naive to think that resort theft doesn't happen, of course), I highly recommend you do NOT stay at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This was my second visit and I am utterly discussed by the staff's behaviour. I will NEVER return to this resort again. (N.B. we never did get our money back!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mags2835
Chicago
Mar 19, 2014

Anniversary vacation

Although theirs a lot of different reviews from awful to fantastic. We had a great trip. We went last weekend for 4 nights 5 days. The staff was wonderful the room was clean and the location was perfect. We had a villa in the middle of the resort (villa 14) so we were close to all the pools and beach as well as the lobby, buffet and shops. We thought the buffet food was better than the al la carte restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you down load the hotel app prior to your stay you don't have to worry about getting your dinner reservations. You can make them before your trip thru the app

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
claudschi
yorktown, va
Mar 13, 2014

dangerous bathtub, horrible check-in

we booked and paid for punta cana (not bavaro) level hotel room. were keep getting the run-around for 2 1/2 hours at check-in despite my confirmation clearly stating a punta cana level room. bathtub is extremely slippery (most slippery ever in 30+ countries we've been to and 100's of hotel rooms#. used a towel in and out of tub to prevent falls. despite our preventive measures, I slipped, fell and fractured my finger #1st fracture ever#. we suggest to bring own bathmat from dollar store. in room problems - no a/c 1st day, fridge replaced 3 times, tv broke morning of check-out #as of 4 hrs later was not replaced, so who know#. maid was nice and friendly #although the floor was not very clean), shuttle drivers, bellhop, bartenders were friendly. food was average. front desk was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

bring a bathmat from dollar store. bathtub was incredibly slippery. fractured my finger...

Back to menu Return to top