Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
240 reviews
Awsome

We have a blast ... Bad experience on try to sign us for the member club to long See full review

  • Rickycenturion
  • Nov 19, 2014
Awesome

Excellent resort, beautifully landscaped, friendly staff,nice food. See full review

  • SvMrflk
  • Nov 17, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Dining

El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00
Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brenda Travel Mom
Business
Weston, WI
Sep 25, 2009

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana

The staff was incrediable to us. We lost our luggage for 5 days and the selection for mens clothing was limited for an average size guy. Also, clothing was very expensive in US $. The weather was in the high 80's, but felt more like the 100's (F). Mostly, Europeans, very few couples from US. There was a great variety of food, one kind of beer, limited name brand alcohols, had to pay $5.50 for Jack Daniels. Pools close at 6:00 PM daily, limited night life, Pepsi products, there are 5 resorts on the property. Overall, we made the best of our trip. It would have been better had we had our luggage with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quebradillas, Puerto Rico
Sep 19, 2009

"great vacation and great price"

The trip was amazing. Great location and very beautiful hotel. The pool was great and the variety of the food was incredible. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and the hotel maintenance was excellent. The quality of the night shows was very good. Overall it was a great vacation. The only thing I would improve was the smoke smell. The rest was great. We had a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy,TX
Sep 5, 2009

Expensive !!!! unfriendly staff!Wasted!!

with the money I padi I expected much better hotel and service, you have to pay for everything. there is only one kind of beer, and all kind of local,cheap liquors, so honestly its not worth to get all inclusive here. No internet, no Business station, No phone coverage,, nothing! the only good thing it ahs pool. restaurant??? are you kidding me!!! there are 2000 people in Hotel and there are 5 restaurant that you can choose one of them only if you stay a week or more! Ok I was staying one week, but did I get in to any of them? after 5 days of fighting with guest service, I got a reservation for a BBQ restaurant, they told me all the tables are reserved and you must reserve a week in advance but we are gonan put extra table there for you, I went there adn there was total of 5 table in restaurant! can you imaging that!!! no wonder they all are reserved, adn anyway food was disscusting! I enjoyed my travel to punta cana, but hotel was not worth anything! I could have gone better palces!!!! by the way a tooth brush is about $25 there, and cold soda is $8 for 8oz bottle. so be prepared to spend couple of thousand.(yes I had all inclusive , but inclusives are designated time, which is 7 to 9AM and 12PM to 3PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massapequa, NY
Aug 29, 2009

"Great Family Vacation"

This was a relaxing family vacation. The grounds were safe, so that I didn't mind my kids walking around. We were able to book water sports right at the beach. Scuba was nice my boys and husband went, the Scuba Doo was fun, I went with my boys, and the 4 hr snorkle trip with swimming with the sharks was great. There were always enough lounge chairs. The shows were entertaining especially the Michael Jackson show. It would have been nice if they had a teen club because there wasn't much to do after the show for my teenages. We would go back to the same hotel if we went to Punta Cana again, all in all, it was a nice vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

During the day tour of Catalina Island, if you are not scuba diving and only snorkling, make sure that someone will show you where to snorkle when you get to the island, we went on our own and really didn't know where to go, so we stayed on the island and it was very hot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oruiz
Business
New York, NY
Aug 20, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

We Had a wonderful time... It was fun, clean and full of fun stuff to do with the whole family. Food of all kinds very day a different Menu... I loved my stay at the Gran Bahia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Make shure you Know before hand the exchange of $ because like in anyother place they will try to pull a fast one... 36 peso make a 1 USA $. 100 Peso make more or less 3.50 US.. Keep the count... or you will run out fast...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 20, 2009

Bad Service for non-spanish speakers

My wife and I went on our honeymoon to the Bahia Principe and we were NOT satisfied. Because we do not speak spanish we got the run around for everything (including ordering drinks!). It took us 6 days just to get our "honeymoon treatment" which consisted of a basket of rotten fruit, a bottle of rum, and 2 t-shirts. Service at the restaurants were sub-par of you did not speak spanish. We sat around waiting for our water which the Puerto Rican couple next to us were served grilled shrimp that wasn't even on the menu!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The highlight of our trip was definately our Outback Jeep Safari. It was an eventful and exciting trip all around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Aug 18, 2009

get away

We had problems at the registration office getting our suite. The hotel said that we had paid for 2 adults and 1 child therefore we needed to pay extra if we were 3 adult which I told them we had paid for adults only(this was a lot of time consuming, trying to get things corrected, staff had us checking at the fron desk a couple of times and things were not fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
srabivens
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 16, 2009

Great Resort! (will go back!)

We stayed for 7 days for vacation and enjoyed our trip thoroughly! There are LOTS of things to do during the day and at night! The resort is huge (really multiple resorts in one) so you get the advantage of shared resources. The food was good (the meat a little overcooked at times, but that's it). The beach was beautiful with lots of chairs, bars, service as were the pools! Of all the hotels/resorts that I've stayed in (a lot), this resort has the best service and is the cleanest! There was always someone cleaning, buffing, putting a coaster under your drink, taking your order, etc. It was nice to be pampered for a week after working all of the time! The only thing that I wish was different would be the option to eat at the specialty restaurants every night, not just 3 out of 7 days. Everything is excellent and I highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for your specialty restaurants before you leave (at least a week and a half ahead of time) as they fill up quick and we didn't get our first choice restaurant and we tried when we arrived (a week ahead).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperGirl 18
Business
Bronx, New York
Aug 5, 2009

Great Getaway

I had gone with family. We all love to sunbathe and swim, the pool and beach area were very clean and there was so much to do throughout the day that we never got bored. The staff were very freindly and we actually became friends with a few of the staff members. By the end of our vacation, we really did not want to leave. We had a perfect vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 5, 2009

Gran Bahia Punta Cana

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bahia Principe for 7 days (July 23-30 2009). The hotel was exceptionally clean, the staff were pleasant (except one or two) and the beach was beautiful. The best tasting food the whole trip was the Italian ala carte restaurant. The Buffet food was okay, but what do you really expect for a buffet. Not too much entertainment except one hour and a half show at night. But we didn't mind. We went to DR to relax from our daily stress and lie on the beach! Word of advice...If you would like to iron your clothes for dinner....request the iron 2 hours before you are ready to use it because that is how long it takes for them to bring it. For some odd reason there is not an iron in each guestroom. You have to ask for one and wait for them to bring it. The housekeeper forgot to leave washclothes in the bathroom one day but we called the express service and the bought some to our room right away. Thats my only real complaint. The drinks at the bar were weak but most all-inclusive resort water down the liquor anyway. Overall, We had a great time and enjoyed ourselves/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you plan to buy souvenirs, but them from Puebla Principle. Its a small area within the hotel grounds. The vendors there are always ready to make a bargain....never pay the first price they say...they go lower always lol

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top