$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vectra
Vancouver BC
Jan 14, 2013

Our family getaway

We had a fantastic holiday at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This was our third time at the hotel, but wasn't the last. The location is excellent, the hotel ground is beautifully maintained, the food is very good. I can recommend the Italian restaurant, the best! There are three pools, my favorite pool is in the middle part of the resort, clean and quiet. The resort is huge, but cozy. The only downside of this hotel is the gym. If you like to work out in the morning, than I don't think this is the rite place for you. The gym is small, crowded, and the stuff is awful. To get there, the taxi cost $40 from and to the airport. If you plan going to Higuey (the closest big city) take the bus. The bus stop is outside the hotel entrance, and only cost $3 per person, each way. it's very safe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Olathe, Kansas
Apr 7, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Great time had by all. This place was great to relax and do nothing. Great pool, drinks are a little watered down, buffets are great. If you can walk, the beach goes on for ever. This place is huge, had a hard time finding the different restaurants at night. Wouldn't recommend the Japanesse restaurant, very saltly food. We stayed for 10 nights, the second week to any children in the pool and at the swim up bar. If going up grade to Premium Club Golden it is well worth the money. I will go back again but not during spring break. I want peace and quiet. I did find on the whole this is the best package we have ever had. The resort is well secure and beautiful. Also get transporation to the hotel and back to the airport, it is well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask for directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young at heart
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 4, 2010

The best way to enjoy the Caribbean

I especially appreciated that the staff was readily responsive to our requests and always pleasant about it. The grounds were very attractive and clean. The gardens are beautiful and well tended. The food at the buffets was good. We also enjoyed the specialty restaurants. We went out in the small paddle boats one afternoon. It was fun for the most part. The only problem for me was the small speed boats, driven by other guests, which came a bit too close to us for my liking. We enjoyed a few of the shows and danced a little too. This was my first time in the Caribbean and the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort exceeded my expectations. If I get to go again, I want to stay at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
St. Nicholas
Business
New Jersey
Mar 29, 2010

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort -

Clean rooms, friendly staff, good food. Only two complaints would be poor lighting in room and in order to good chair location at pool or beach you need to get place a towel on your chair location at 5:00AM. Otherwise everthing was top class

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arrive on time. There is a 15 minute window. You will not be seated 15 minutes before and you will loose your reservation if you come 15 minutes late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carmen "The red rocket"
Business
Strongsville, Ohio
Mar 24, 2010

Awesome location, great service.

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in and found out that the hotel had been upgraded for free to the new addition "Esmeralda".This was our second vacation at Bahia Principe. We loved everything the first time but this time was unbelievable.The pool at the new wing "Esmeralda" is not to crowded, beautiful rooms, gourmet food and wonderful presentation at the restaurant. The service is excellent also. Very friendly people. There were 15 people in our group and besides the fact that the pool closed at 6PM nobody had anything else to complain about.The beach and the water couldn't have been better. Loved it. I will recomend this all inclusive resort to everybody I know. Carmen, Strongsville,Ohio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxed and rejuvenated
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 9, 2010

Luxury for a great price!

We went on Valentine's Day and stayed for a week, and we loved it! Maybe it's because it wasn't the busiest time of year, but I don't understand how other people had such bad experiences. The hotel is REALLY big, but the tram is comfy and convenient, so we didn't really do much walking. Everyone, and I mean everyone, on staff was incredibly nice, even to an English-speaker. And, yes, most people spoke very good English. The resort itself was incredibly clean and beautiful with foliage and roman statues and such. There were a lot of pools, so if you don't wanna hang out in the main pool, there's always a smaller (but still expansive) pool for your part of the resort. The main pool had fun activities throughout the week, so I never went elsewhere. I'm a complete foodie, and I wasn't disappointed!! The first night was Valentine's Day, so we had an incredible seafood meal with lobster and crab. ~yum~ The paella was incredible. The a la carte restaurants were ok. We chose the Japanese and Italian restaurants, and the Japanese one was just like Benihana, and the food was decent. The theme nights at the buffet rocked! My only issue was the cheese... either rubber cheese or really really potent blue cheese. Oh, well. At least all of the drinks were strong! :) You have to have to have to check out the Michael Jackson show if you're there!!! I'm not a crazy fan, but the show was cool. It even had breakdancing! Go to the second show since it'll be less crowded and "humid". The karaoke bar and dance club were fun, but the casino was teeny tiny and not worth it. All in all, a great trip for the price! Don't even need to travel outside of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
parents weekend
Business
new york, ny
Mar 8, 2010

Esmiralda

the esmiralda - the 5 star section of the resort was where we had reservations for our trip. the service there was top notch! we had friendly staff, never ending drinks, great food, amazing rooms. The rest of the resort is HUGE - a bit too large, but esmiralda was very small, 4 buildings that housed the jr suits, a large beautiful lobby, a private buffet restaurant, a outdoor/open air full service snack bar, and an italian sit down restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

garden grill was great, makio japanese resturant is a great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 7, 2010

Cheap hotel but not worth it!

We were a party of 9. When we arrived we were all in different buildings. The place is huge so we were all so far away from eachother. Asked if we could get upgraded and instant response was no. They finally gave us a room in one of the other couples building and was told to go to the pool and they will make sure our bags were transferred to the new room in an hour. Well after a day at the pool we went to our new room to open the door to a naked woman, oh not fun, very embarassing. Went to the front desk to discuss the situation and they tried to blame it on us saying that we were suppose to come back at 6pm and we didnt so they gave the room away. Bad communication at front desk. They would not accept their mistake. Finally got put into a different room, meanwhile listening to people say that they were overbooked and being shipped to a different resort which we should of done. At least this room was nicer than the other one,disgusting and smelly. The transfer from the airport to the hotel lost one of our luggage and finally found it at another resort and was told that we had to pay for it to be brought back. There were 9 of us and all in different parts of the resort, which was huge and confusing at first. Trying to figure out the trolleys were confusing. You would get on one to be told that they dont go to your building????? After the first couple of days after going around in circles you can finaly figure it out. Prior to arriving I read reviews on reserving dinner prior to arriving, good luck with that. You can only do it by email but you are unable to get an email out of anyone, one of us called and spoke spanish and was told that we didnt have to reserve prior. We would all be able to dine together once we arrive. Not so much. A few couples were in diamond so pretty much when we tried to all dine together our dinner reservation sheets were thrown back to us and said no way possible. So we all dined separate. We got three dinner reservations that they chose for us. We had to eat at the buffet the rest of the time. Which was awful. The food at the main reservation restaurants were good but besides that the food was awful, dont worry about gaining weight. The drinks were awful also. One kind of beer and if you want top shelf you will have to pay extra. The one pool that we were allowed to go to was divided so you would have to stay on one side to be by the bar. The other pool only allowed diamond members. Bring your own raft, resort doesnt have them and make sure you go out early to get a chair by the pool or beach. The beach chairs are so close together,the beachfront is not that big, overcrowded.One more complaint...the fire alarm went off in the building next to us one night all night long. Everyone evacuated to a false alarm that went off all night into early morning. Very noisy resort maids arrive early and are very noisy. also alot of children. The wait staff was the best thing at the resort and of course the weather was gorgeous. We all loved the area but pay a little more and pick another resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations prior by email but good luck getting that information.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Mar 2, 2010

would go again

pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

great entertainment staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
snowy upstate NY
Feb 22, 2010

not bad, considering

nice location / beach; a large and busy resort, but not so extreme as to be unpleasant; multiple internal shuttle services made the deep, narrow site reasonably convenient; our room was large and well-kept; soft mattress stressed my poor, aching back; dim lights stressed my poor, worn-out eyes; friendly service; not really enough beach chairs; limited watersports [4 hobies and 3 windsurfers], and a beach site not really conducive due to space committed to swimming area; buffet food was ok with very good variety but was extremely bland - byo garlic! price among resorts of this class was a factor in our choice, and we have limited resort travel experience, so we were reasonably satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

as recommended by the resort, sign up for a la carte restaurant choices immediately in order to get your preferences.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Feb 21, 2010

Great place, but...

My husband an I stayed at this beautiful hotel for almost a week. We enjoyed the amenities of the all-inclusive, great drinks, good service, many activities, clean and efficient junior st. room and enjoyed it very much. On the down side we encountered with the problem that there are not enough beach chairs for all the guests, and so, you have to get up early to get a spot (or look around for a while). Also we felt that the hotel was prepared enough for the amount of guests they have and so, the food was not great. Sometimes it was over-cooked, and sometimes it lacked flavor. But, the variety was great. My main complaint has to be that none of the websites I checked specified that you have only a specific amount of a la carte restaurants that you can choose. Since I did not knew this, we got there only to be surprised that they choose two restaurants for us and when we wanted to change, I had to fight with like 4 different staff members to get a restaurant that we liked (they told us there was no availability) and by the time we seriously complained to speak to the manager, were we able to get reservations. After this complaint, the staff was really great in trying to accommodate us (apparently, the word got around and many people knew about our issue)and we focused on enjoying the rest of our vacation. In general, this hotel is amazing, beautiful and full of activities for its many guests, just understand that you are in a different country, with different service and ways of doing things and make sure that you reserve the restaurants beforehand. If you have this in mind, you will enjoy a great time in a great Caribbean location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top