$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 238
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vectra
Vancouver BC
Jan 14, 2013

Our family getaway

We had a fantastic holiday at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana. This was our third time at the hotel, but wasn't the last. The location is excellent, the hotel ground is beautifully maintained, the food is very good. I can recommend the Italian restaurant, the best! There are three pools, my favorite pool is in the middle part of the resort, clean and quiet. The resort is huge, but cozy. The only downside of this hotel is the gym. If you like to work out in the morning, than I don't think this is the rite place for you. The gym is small, crowded, and the stuff is awful. To get there, the taxi cost $40 from and to the airport. If you plan going to Higuey (the closest big city) take the bus. The bus stop is outside the hotel entrance, and only cost $3 per person, each way. it's very safe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian restaurant

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Feb 21, 2010

Great place, but...

My husband an I stayed at this beautiful hotel for almost a week. We enjoyed the amenities of the all-inclusive, great drinks, good service, many activities, clean and efficient junior st. room and enjoyed it very much. On the down side we encountered with the problem that there are not enough beach chairs for all the guests, and so, you have to get up early to get a spot (or look around for a while). Also we felt that the hotel was prepared enough for the amount of guests they have and so, the food was not great. Sometimes it was over-cooked, and sometimes it lacked flavor. But, the variety was great. My main complaint has to be that none of the websites I checked specified that you have only a specific amount of a la carte restaurants that you can choose. Since I did not knew this, we got there only to be surprised that they choose two restaurants for us and when we wanted to change, I had to fight with like 4 different staff members to get a restaurant that we liked (they told us there was no availability) and by the time we seriously complained to speak to the manager, were we able to get reservations. After this complaint, the staff was really great in trying to accommodate us (apparently, the word got around and many people knew about our issue)and we focused on enjoying the rest of our vacation. In general, this hotel is amazing, beautiful and full of activities for its many guests, just understand that you are in a different country, with different service and ways of doing things and make sure that you reserve the restaurants beforehand. If you have this in mind, you will enjoy a great time in a great Caribbean location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Feb 20, 2010

Very Nice

This was the best resort we've ever been to for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Potsdam, New York
Feb 20, 2010

Wonderful Vacation

After reading so many negative reviews before our trip, we were so happy to have had the experience of such a wonderful place. We couldn't find anything wrong with the hotel, the staff was super friendly and very helpful with doing reservations for the restaurants and any questions or concerns we had. The French and Japanese Restaurants were wonderful, the buffet food was sometimes bland but they had so much variety that you could find something you would like. We had the experience of putting the wrong tag on the door "do not disturb" and left for a day trip, when we got back we realize our mistake, our room was cleaned, when we left four dinner, left the tag to clean room just in case. We had a great surprise when we got back the room was all cleaned. We highly recommend this hotel.!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations for your dinners at the restaurants as soon as you get there.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester County New York
Feb 19, 2010

Slow Service

I was disappointed with my stay at this hotel. The hotel is comprised of four or five hotels! The size is absolutely massive. Some of the hotel structures are close to the beach and others require the use of a shuttle to get to the beach. Check in was extremely slow. I wound up with two double beds instead of a king bed on my honeymoon. The hotel staff was unable to explain how the mix up happened nor were they able to rectify the situation because the hotel was sold out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You must make dinner reservations for the week upon arrival or you will not be able to eat in any of the a la carte restaurants. You are not allowed to eat in the a la carte restaurants every night.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfyed traveller
Business
New York, NY
Feb 9, 2010

Fantastic vacation at Ambar

We upgraded to Hotell Ambar which was quiet, clean and neat. Beautiful surroundings. Over my expectations. The hotell staff was friendly and very serviceminded. We had access to the entire resort with all the poolareas, dining and entertaining. Beautiful beach with white sand and palmtrees. We are definitly coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jan 5, 2010

Terrific winter getaway

Guest Service representatives need more communication training. They did not communicate well in english.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Dec 24, 2009

Great vacation!!!!!!!!!!! Will go back!!

it was the best vacation I have ever had!!!! This place is great for everyone singles, couples, family....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I didnt like BQ restaurant because its a buffet style.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fredlamama
Business
Osoyoos, Canada
Dec 22, 2009

Great Wedding Destination

Our daughter got married. There were 17 persons in our group including a 10 year old and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. The wedding itself was set up on the beach and the hotel did a wonderful job of making it look elegant and festive, complete with flowered archway, white cloth covered chairs with bows, and champagne. The photographer was fantastic and the bride and groom had fun posing in various locations along the beach. It was a great experience. The complex is so large that it took a couple of days to orient ourselves but there is a great shuttle service running throughout the grounds at all times and we took advantage of it. My 84 year old mother especially appreciated it being there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

People should try to book excursions as soon as possible to avoid disapointment. We tried to book an outing before we left home but it was booked for the whole time we were there so we waited until we got there to see our other options. We had a very good time on the one we chose.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 6, 2009

Great place!

Really lovely place. Beautiful beach, friendly service, all facilities well maintained and beautiful. The food was only so-so, even at the restaurants, but otherwise we really enjoyed our trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pucky
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Oct 2, 2009

vacation at Paradise

The hotel is big and very beautiful with a village style. The beach is comparable with Bahamas beaches. Service is excellent. Food is not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top