$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
238 out of 238
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grande Prairie, Alberta
Nov 15, 2010

Bad Service

The staff did not speak english well or at all. the staff was not friendly, my sister was assaulted by a male housekeeper and we had to fill out reports and the guy was fired but the hotel by no means went out of their way to make up for the situation. no where near enough was done, the manager seemed to think that it was part of their culture. the people booking trips, [...], were making ppl pay with cash so that they could keep the money for themselves, all in all the staff was not to be trusted in any area of the hotel. i would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couple plus senior MOM
Business
Tucson, AZ
Sep 27, 2010

Excellent hotel, but....

When coming, upgrade to very best rooms possible A MUST--will get you into "esmeralda" hotel, which is perfect: very new, excellent A/C, perfect housekeeping, private butler, spacy, excellent bathrm. --rooms just do not get any better than this---five to six stars (and we have stayed at a lot of all-inclus.)!!! Now, with highest Upgrade possible--Esmeralda section is separate: perfect beach and pool, and jakuzzi--all five star plus--- real good food etc. Would have been perfect vacation if it hadn't been for half of the Dominic. Rep. people's bad, non-caring-rude attitude...Esmeralda people were trying to be very friendly if you tip high and a lot---but everyday we encountered one who was very annoying to deal with--incl. resort shuttle bus drivers....store employees---just unheard of bevavior--- how for you to deal with this? 1. Maybe come prepared knowing this so you are ready to expect sometimes no cust. service and 2. be super friendly first with them--then they come around to you. Do not get me wrong---a lot of very nice people at Esmeralda, incl. top exec. manager (because I had to report an incident: one hotel shuttle driver almost hurt my 82 yr. old Mom really badly...)-why? because he didn't pay attention nor cared...)--- just enough annoying people there to leave a little sour taste behind--but that is a problem of the whole island, not hotel.... BUT: overall, yes go there, very fancy, you will love it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family traveler Kellie
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 17, 2010

GBP Punta Cana- positives and negatives

*Gold Club all the way- we would NOT have been happy otherwise! The resort is WAY too big and your room would be FAR Away from beach/pools if you don't book Gold Club and I like to walk and am not very picky.*Gold Club junior suite was excellent- adjoining rooms with my parents made it extra great- spacious and clean- oversize sofa bed a plus for young kids to sleep on- bathroom was huge with jacuzzi tub- plenty of storage- coffee pot, umbrella, toiletries provided. Maid service everyday- very friendly- - drawback- room keys stop working OFTEN- even when not stored near electronics- you need to go to Lobby to get new key- 4 times for our stay of 5 days- boo* Buffets were great- daily theme nights- seafood night was outstanding- crab legs, shrimp- everything you could imagine- No one got sick at all. A la cart "Garden Grill"- very good lamb special and shrimp wrapped with bacon- chewy steak- angus burgers a hit with kids. Gold Club offers 24 hour room service- BUT chicken I ordered for kids was 75% raw in the middle- thank goodness my dad checked or that would have been terrible- maybe how the other girl on TA ended up in the hospital- don't drink alcohol and order room service unless a sober person is around to check your chicken! * Pool/Beach area is gorgeous and fun- with alot to do- but it is SO overcrowded and noisy that you feel like a sardine- the beach is clean and beautiful- minus the 5,000 people and chairs on it. Very hard to get your own little ocean space, you keep bumping people. The water was alot clearer toward the Esmeralda. no fishies to be seen. "Pisci" buffet near main pool- open early for lunch, the other one closer to the Ambar didn't open til 12:30- same food at both- SAngria and Mamawauma (wine drinks)- very good- Mojitos can be found at lobby bar but no where else. *Water activities- fun and reasonable- (turn right on beach facing ocean, you can't book through Ambar to the left) parasailing $80 for 2- and a nice boat ride- very peaceful and great view of shoreline.[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

You could waste a lot of time by not booking Gold Club- your room would be far and you'd have to wait at main desk to get a new room key each time your's stopped working- there is a reception lobby and a hang out lobby that look exactly the same and you will be confused until you figure out that they are separated by the Tropicana theater- Gold Club Reception room is near the reception lobby- which is not the same lobby that the trolley takes you too- coul could go in both sides of Pueblo Principe- this will save you walking time also- the casino side of Pueblo Principe is close to hang out lobby, the vendor side of Pueblo is close to reception lobby and Gold Club office- free internet 15 minutes daily in Gold Club office and A La Carte restaurants really don't check your time- we had 7:15 pm reservations but were starving by 6:30 so we went and they never even checked the time and let us right in- so don't worry about the time you are booked for ala cartes- just go- we had no trouble an all food was very good except uncooked chicken from room service and tough beef everywhere.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rained out Traveler
Business
New Jersey
Jul 26, 2010

The good, but more of the bad...

Though this in not the fault of the resort, it rained every day we were there. What is the fault of the hotel is their strange rules, such as only one pool/ beach towel a day, even if it gets soaked in the rain, so basically we had to walk around with sopping wet towels. The other issues we dealt with were a severe language barrier, you must speak spanish if you want to stay here. We asked for certain thngs to be fixed in our room and they never were. It took three hours to get bath towels up to the room even after three phone calls to the front desk. I was hung up on by the front desk because my spanish was not fluent. The rooms are kept very clean and they are nice size. There are a lot of pools and places to sit by the pool and the beach. There is definitly plenty of food to go around, and the entertainment and wait staff was awesome. The other staff was at best pleasant, at worst rude. Again my opinion is swayed by the fact that it rained all day every day of my tropical vacation, but I think there were a lot of things that could have been better about this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you get a reservation to the Japanese restaurant for Hibachi, it was very good. Also make sure you get the reservations you want, when they tell you the restaurant is fully booked, it is a lie, we went and there was only 4 tables in the whole place.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island New York
Jul 5, 2010

Beautiful getaway

great relaxing trip, comparable to previous trips

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

can go early before actual reservation and they will seat you

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 16, 2010

Great Resort Simple, Friendly & Relaxing

The Resort and Dominican Republic was great. I was concerned with Haiti's post-earthquake situation, but it was a great time. 1st, we stayed at Esmeralda (newer suite-style and only $9 more a night; worth it). 2nd, we stayed for 3 nights/4 days and went to the beach, different restaurant every night, and a whole lot of relaxing (1 catamaran ride) on the beach. 3rd, we previously stayed at Sandals Resort, Negril, Jamaica, & 2 cruises on Norwegian. The beach is just as it looks in photos with plenty of lounge chairs, shade, and activities. WHAT WE LIKED: Large beach area, quiet locations, loud music locations, clean rooms, FRIENDLY Staff, non-aggressive solicitation ambiance unlike in Jamaica. Great variety of foods & activities. Of course, all the drinks you and your liver can handle. WHAT WE DID NOT LIKE: Included activities were quickly reserved; FOOD IS very average in taste, but very nice ambiance and nice decor; The staff will not know English in depth so it can be confusing for those who speak absolutely no Spanish, but basic talks and requests can be done easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Reserve included activities early.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Jun 14, 2010

fantastic

I did everything I could and enjoy a lot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
May 18, 2010

Unbeatable location

The resort was so large that it took a couple days to "settle down" with where our villa was located in relationship to the many villa's and amenities on the property. There was an abundance of food and local drink. We felt the quality and variety of food types was average. However, we experienced a refreshing dining experience at the gourmet restaurants. Unfortunately we were allowed to visit these restaurants for only three nights during the entire week vacation. Overall - well worth the trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Hanover, NJ
May 16, 2010

Customer service - non-existant!

Relaxed @ the beach & read. The staff @ the reception desk were the rudest people I've ever met. They were all liars & made mine & my daughters' first day in the Dom. Rep. the worst vacation experience ever. The people that worked in the restaurants were the only nice people. I will never go back to that place & probably won't return to the Dom. Rep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

All-inclusive wasn't all-inclusive. Restricted to certain dining locations & couldn't go to all restaurants. Believe it or not, the use of the safe wasn't included ... what a joke!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 11, 2010

Better than I expected!!!!!

All I must say is that we had a blast. The room was awesome, great hospitality, beautiful beach and pool. I enjoyed every bit of it and i plan to return very soon.It was much better than I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top