$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
QUEENS, NEW YORK
Jun 14, 2011

Fantastic single getaway..!!!!!

beautiful,simple the best...!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilkes-Barre, PA
May 23, 2011

Enjoyable!

We had a really wonderful time at this resort. The hotels are all connected and in turn makes the property VERY large, we knew this going in and had no problem with it. The trams run nonstop and are quick and efficient but after eating all the delicious food a nice walk was definitely needed. The food here was delicious! I have stayed at many all inclusive hotels over the years and have to say the food here (especially at the restaurants) was amazing. We tried the Italian, Japanese, and Garden Grill restaurants and left full with nothing but rave reviews. However we were only allowed 3 reservations (which we did not know about when booking). At first we were very annoyed but found out a twenty dollar bill goes a long way in securing a table if you don't have a reservation. The staff was friendly and we were able to communicate just fine. The rooms could have used some upgrades but this was not a deal breaker for us. The pools and beach were large with numerous chairs available at each, we never had a problem finding a spot to sit. It is a crowded resort but this just gave us the ability to meet and interact with a bunch of different people. Overall my boyfriend and I, plus the other couple we were traveling with had a great experience and a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make friends with a waiter and tip him to secure more reservations in the wonderful restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mom_rocks8
Business
Ottawa, ON
May 11, 2011

Family Wedding

The attraction is the warm turquoise ocean water and the white sandy beach. Awesome! We took a shopping excursion to 3 different malls to shop for $15.00 and did a "james bond" type of adventure $60.00 - driving your own boat out to another boat to do snorkeling which was really fantastic..Sun is very hot - I used SPF 50 the whole time and still burnt. Lots of good food /drinks. Leave all "gold jewellery" at home - mine went missing from the room the first day. You can use the "safe" at $4.00 per day. There are NO CLOCKS in the room, the TV was very small tube type and the phone did not work. I got bug bites on my legs - from the knees down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your a la carte dinner reservations as soon as possible after your arrive since they "fill fast".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Ill
May 9, 2011

Wonderful Vacation for the Price

This resort is BEAUTIFUL....The staff is always cleaning, the pools were beatiful, the food was great, the beach was awesome! We stayed for 8 days, 7 nights in the "Golden" section of the resort. This gave us a room closer to the beach, the activity pool, and the buffet. That alone was worth the extra money. Our housekeeper, [...], was excellent!! She went above and beyond. We didn't do any excursions, just went to the beach everyday...We dined at The Garden Grill, which was good, and Maiko, which was not so good. The buffets were good. There was a different theme every night (i.e. American night, Italian night, Dominican night)...We didn't use the pools very much at all, but they were beautifully maintained.The Micheal Jackson show was very good, but not as good as the one we seen at Gran Bahia Principe - Tulum. The Tulum show is excellent!! The other shows were very good also...My only complaint is the bartenders do not cut people off, We seen several young people very drunk and very obnoxious. One young man looked as if he may have had alcohol poisioning...Anyway I would recommend this resort to anyone..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Request Mikado. They will try to steer you to Maiko, which was not that good at all. Would have preferred the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 26, 2011

Excellent Resort

From check-in to check-out everything was smooth and effortless. Once you land in Punta Cana you better forget the meaning of the word "hurry" - things there happen at a slow pace and that is the charm of the place. We arrived at Gran Bahia Principe in the early afternoon. Checked in with [...] who was very helpful in locating a room that matched our request and explained all details of the Gran Bahia experience. By 4pm we were at the beach and enjoyed the rest of the day there. The beach itself is very clean - staff is constantly collecting every little leaf or piece of trash that may be laying on the sand. Yes, most beach chairs are reserved by 6:30am, but I didn't find that rude or inappropriate. I woke up every morning at 6:00 am and reserved a location for my family as well. As a bonus I enjoyed the sunrise above the sea - a must see experience. Breakfast at the beach, lunch at the beach, and dinner at one of the many restaurants/buffets. The food variety was exceptional and all eating premisses were kept clean at all times. The restaurant staff were friendly (most of them) and did all they could to accommodate everyone's needs even at 7:00pm when the buffets were most crowded. The landscaping staff maintains the gardens immaculate. Not a leaf out of place, in contrast with the rest of the country as far as my observation.The resort is big and you can not escape encounters with loud visitors from french Canada who perhaps liberated from the cold grip of winter behave a bit oddly. Russian tourists can be seen there as well, but they are much more restrained in their appreciation of the warm climate.The maids were courteous, cleaned the room well, and kept the minibar stocked with drinks and deserved the appreciation tokens we left for them daily. We did not use the 24 hour complementary room service, but I heard it was good as well.Some of the merchants that are allowed to trade at Gran Bahia Principe were somewhat pushy, but within reason. The same can not be said about any other place in the Dominican Republic, especially the airport. Beware of "photographers" and other "professionals" when you are outside the borders of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 20, 2011

Mixed Review

The hotel was gorgeous but I definitely recommend staying at the Ambar not any of the other parts of the resort if you want the option for a more relaxing experience. The good: Buffet at the Ambar, free wifi in the lobby, gorgeously manicured grounds, bloody marysThe bad: food at the restaurants you had to make a reservation for, [...] at the Punta Cana front desk who lied to our faces multiple times about trivial things like how many beds were in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Mar 2, 2011

Beautiful Resort....but

We stayed at this resort the last week in February 2011. The grounds and the room were very lovely. The food was super awful. Five nights was way too long to live on rice and orange water (called orange juice by the resort). There was a definite language barrier with the staff which made it difficult to communicate. Many of the staff members only speak Spanish. Also, it was like a smokers convention here. There is nowhere to escape the stench of smoke other than your hotel room, and even that had an ashtray in it. The beach was crowded and packed with smokers as was every other space on this resort. Would never even consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Cana, DR
Feb 26, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Good:1. Beautiful hotel in paradise with great weather for our entire trip.2. Really enjoyed snorkeling expedition and massages.3. Drinks were very good and they'll make them strong for you! Not top shelf, but still good. FYI, tip [...] well at the pool and she'll take very good care of you!4. Entertaining MC's and activities at the beach and main pool.5. Good looking people everywhere you turn, so we fitted in well :)6. Clientele consisted of: 50% Canadians, 25% Europeans, and 25% Americans. Made for interesting conversations with other guests.Bad:1. Only stayed for 4 nights and all of the good restaurants were already booked up almost a week out, so we couldn't eat where we wanted to.2. The food made us nauseous for most of the trip.3. One day, the maid removed the sheets from our bed and didn't put new sheets on. We called room service to get sheets and no one came, so after 2 hours, we tracked down a maid outside and had her come up to put sheets on our bed.4. We were told we could use the pool in front of our hacienda and an employee embarrassed us by making us leave and move to a pool further away since we weren't given the correct bracelet to use our pool.5. Hotel staff friendliness was hit or miss. Some were very friendly and helpful and others acted like they'd help us only if it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for them.6. There were minor language issues since all employees didn't speak English and we speak broken Spanish. Wasn't a major issue for the most part, but little things like asking for a steak "rare" and getting it "charred/well-done" happened from time to time.7. Most bars close at 5:30pm, so had to go to bar lobby or casino for drinks after 5:30pm. Could also get drinks at disco after midnight.8. People reserved beach/pool chairs with their towels even if they never used them, so we had to scavenge hunt for chairs every day. Hint: reserve a chair by 9:00am each morning with your towel even if you might not ever use it.Bottom Line:Had a great time, but probably won't go back to the Gran Bahia Principe due to their customer service issues of helping us only when it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Stop by the pool or beach by 9:00am to put your beach towel on chairs to reserve them. Everyone else does this and it's almost impossible to find 1-2 chairs after 11:00am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,Il
Feb 24, 2011

GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE PUNTA CANA FEB/2011

Worthy 100%

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to El Pescador restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 18, 2011

Price and location unbeatable

Great place if you like the sun, beach, water and walking. Grounds are beautifly capped. Its our second time in 3 years, first time with 2 other couples this time with 6 couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top