$277 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
240 reviews
Awsome

We have a blast ... Bad experience on try to sign us for the member club to long See full review

  • Rickycenturion
  • Nov 19, 2014
Awesome

Excellent resort, beautifully landscaped, friendly staff,nice food. See full review

  • SvMrflk
  • Nov 17, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00
Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Mar 2, 2011

Beautiful Resort....but

We stayed at this resort the last week in February 2011. The grounds and the room were very lovely. The food was super awful. Five nights was way too long to live on rice and orange water (called orange juice by the resort). There was a definite language barrier with the staff which made it difficult to communicate. Many of the staff members only speak Spanish. Also, it was like a smokers convention here. There is nowhere to escape the stench of smoke other than your hotel room, and even that had an ashtray in it. The beach was crowded and packed with smokers as was every other space on this resort. Would never even consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Cana, DR
Feb 26, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Good:1. Beautiful hotel in paradise with great weather for our entire trip.2. Really enjoyed snorkeling expedition and massages.3. Drinks were very good and they'll make them strong for you! Not top shelf, but still good. FYI, tip [...] well at the pool and she'll take very good care of you!4. Entertaining MC's and activities at the beach and main pool.5. Good looking people everywhere you turn, so we fitted in well :)6. Clientele consisted of: 50% Canadians, 25% Europeans, and 25% Americans. Made for interesting conversations with other guests.Bad:1. Only stayed for 4 nights and all of the good restaurants were already booked up almost a week out, so we couldn't eat where we wanted to.2. The food made us nauseous for most of the trip.3. One day, the maid removed the sheets from our bed and didn't put new sheets on. We called room service to get sheets and no one came, so after 2 hours, we tracked down a maid outside and had her come up to put sheets on our bed.4. We were told we could use the pool in front of our hacienda and an employee embarrassed us by making us leave and move to a pool further away since we weren't given the correct bracelet to use our pool.5. Hotel staff friendliness was hit or miss. Some were very friendly and helpful and others acted like they'd help us only if it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for them.6. There were minor language issues since all employees didn't speak English and we speak broken Spanish. Wasn't a major issue for the most part, but little things like asking for a steak "rare" and getting it "charred/well-done" happened from time to time.7. Most bars close at 5:30pm, so had to go to bar lobby or casino for drinks after 5:30pm. Could also get drinks at disco after midnight.8. People reserved beach/pool chairs with their towels even if they never used them, so we had to scavenge hunt for chairs every day. Hint: reserve a chair by 9:00am each morning with your towel even if you might not ever use it.Bottom Line:Had a great time, but probably won't go back to the Gran Bahia Principe due to their customer service issues of helping us only when it wasn't too much of an inconvenience for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Stop by the pool or beach by 9:00am to put your beach towel on chairs to reserve them. Everyone else does this and it's almost impossible to find 1-2 chairs after 11:00am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,Il
Feb 24, 2011

GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE PUNTA CANA FEB/2011

Worthy 100%

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to El Pescador restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 18, 2011

Price and location unbeatable

Great place if you like the sun, beach, water and walking. Grounds are beautifly capped. Its our second time in 3 years, first time with 2 other couples this time with 6 couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Couple from CT
Business
CT/NY
Feb 11, 2011

Great value for a great stay

This resort is huge. Everything you need is within the resort. There is no reason to leave. The train takes you around the resort. It was wonderful. There are bus stops everywhere, so you always have access. The people were the nicest we have ever met. They were so friendly and helpful. There was wonderful entertainment by the pool all day and at night in the outdoor theater. They put on amazing shows from dance shows to the circus. The restaurants had good food, but I would recommend not to eat the buffet outside by the pool. The only thing we did not like was that you could only make a certain number of reservations at the restaurants depending on the number of nights you were staying, so you could not eat at the restaurants every night. The nights you weren't eating at a restaurant, you were stuck with the buffet. The buffet food was okay. They did not have a great selection of food at the buffet. The beach was stunning. The sand was perfect and the water was beautiful. The palm trees on the beach completed everything. The resort was just gorgeous. Everything was maintained so meticulously. The rooms were nice, but the air conditioning did not work so well. The ceiling fan was a huge help. I would recommend getting a room closer to the beach, otherwise your view from the balcony is not the greatest, and you have to hike to the beach. There was a small shopping area on site right near a small casino and a disco club. The entertainment was great, just wish the food and drinks were as well. The alcohol was not top shelf, and the bars were always very busy, making it hard to get a drink right away. Overall, good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not eat the outdoor buffet and be very careful as to what you eat at the other buffets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BC
Nov 15, 2010

Dont go here!

horrible service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring cash, dont give the people on the beach anywhere near the price they ask for the jewelry or stuff they are selling

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grande Prairie, Alberta
Nov 15, 2010

Bad Service

The staff did not speak english well or at all. the staff was not friendly, my sister was assaulted by a male housekeeper and we had to fill out reports and the guy was fired but the hotel by no means went out of their way to make up for the situation. no where near enough was done, the manager seemed to think that it was part of their culture. the people booking trips, [...], were making ppl pay with cash so that they could keep the money for themselves, all in all the staff was not to be trusted in any area of the hotel. i would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO.
Sep 28, 2010

Great vacation!

We had a great vacation! We upgraded and stayed at the Esmerelda. I would recommend upgrading if you are thinking about it. You get far more amenities and services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couple plus senior MOM
Business
Tucson, AZ
Sep 27, 2010

Excellent hotel, but....

When coming, upgrade to very best rooms possible A MUST--will get you into "esmeralda" hotel, which is perfect: very new, excellent A/C, perfect housekeeping, private butler, spacy, excellent bathrm. --rooms just do not get any better than this---five to six stars (and we have stayed at a lot of all-inclus.)!!! Now, with highest Upgrade possible--Esmeralda section is separate: perfect beach and pool, and jakuzzi--all five star plus--- real good food etc. Would have been perfect vacation if it hadn't been for half of the Dominic. Rep. people's bad, non-caring-rude attitude...Esmeralda people were trying to be very friendly if you tip high and a lot---but everyday we encountered one who was very annoying to deal with--incl. resort shuttle bus drivers....store employees---just unheard of bevavior--- how for you to deal with this? 1. Maybe come prepared knowing this so you are ready to expect sometimes no cust. service and 2. be super friendly first with them--then they come around to you. Do not get me wrong---a lot of very nice people at Esmeralda, incl. top exec. manager (because I had to report an incident: one hotel shuttle driver almost hurt my 82 yr. old Mom really badly...)-why? because he didn't pay attention nor cared...)--- just enough annoying people there to leave a little sour taste behind--but that is a problem of the whole island, not hotel.... BUT: overall, yes go there, very fancy, you will love it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family traveler Kellie
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 17, 2010

GBP Punta Cana- positives and negatives

*Gold Club all the way- we would NOT have been happy otherwise! The resort is WAY too big and your room would be FAR Away from beach/pools if you don't book Gold Club and I like to walk and am not very picky.*Gold Club junior suite was excellent- adjoining rooms with my parents made it extra great- spacious and clean- oversize sofa bed a plus for young kids to sleep on- bathroom was huge with jacuzzi tub- plenty of storage- coffee pot, umbrella, toiletries provided. Maid service everyday- very friendly- - drawback- room keys stop working OFTEN- even when not stored near electronics- you need to go to Lobby to get new key- 4 times for our stay of 5 days- boo* Buffets were great- daily theme nights- seafood night was outstanding- crab legs, shrimp- everything you could imagine- No one got sick at all. A la cart "Garden Grill"- very good lamb special and shrimp wrapped with bacon- chewy steak- angus burgers a hit with kids. Gold Club offers 24 hour room service- BUT chicken I ordered for kids was 75% raw in the middle- thank goodness my dad checked or that would have been terrible- maybe how the other girl on TA ended up in the hospital- don't drink alcohol and order room service unless a sober person is around to check your chicken! * Pool/Beach area is gorgeous and fun- with alot to do- but it is SO overcrowded and noisy that you feel like a sardine- the beach is clean and beautiful- minus the 5,000 people and chairs on it. Very hard to get your own little ocean space, you keep bumping people. The water was alot clearer toward the Esmeralda. no fishies to be seen. "Pisci" buffet near main pool- open early for lunch, the other one closer to the Ambar didn't open til 12:30- same food at both- SAngria and Mamawauma (wine drinks)- very good- Mojitos can be found at lobby bar but no where else. *Water activities- fun and reasonable- (turn right on beach facing ocean, you can't book through Ambar to the left) parasailing $80 for 2- and a nice boat ride- very peaceful and great view of shoreline.[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

You could waste a lot of time by not booking Gold Club- your room would be far and you'd have to wait at main desk to get a new room key each time your's stopped working- there is a reception lobby and a hang out lobby that look exactly the same and you will be confused until you figure out that they are separated by the Tropicana theater- Gold Club Reception room is near the reception lobby- which is not the same lobby that the trolley takes you too- coul could go in both sides of Pueblo Principe- this will save you walking time also- the casino side of Pueblo Principe is close to hang out lobby, the vendor side of Pueblo is close to reception lobby and Gold Club office- free internet 15 minutes daily in Gold Club office and A La Carte restaurants really don't check your time- we had 7:15 pm reservations but were starving by 6:30 so we went and they never even checked the time and let us right in- so don't worry about the time you are booked for ala cartes- just go- we had no trouble an all food was very good except uncooked chicken from room service and tough beef everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top