$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 16, 2011

Ok

The food was underwhelming as was the entertainment. Bars closed at 11 and disco didn't open until midnight, so not the place to go if you're looking to spend the evening dancing unless you're a night owl. However, people were friendly and grounds were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bronx, ny
Jul 11, 2011

good place

best hotel i have been too. food was good, big hotel but they do provide 24hrs transportation. 24hrs snack bar. big pools. reception workers did not hvae a great attitude

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 11, 2011

July in Punta Cana

We had a great time. It was very hot, so more reason to enjoy the Bahia Principe's pools and beach. The staff at the pools and the restaurants were very nice. The drinks and food were ok, had better in other spots. The people working at the reception were rude. Did not like dealing with them at all. We tried to make a reservation for a group of 8 at one of the a'la carte restaurants and we were told that they couldn't accommodate us, but in a very rude manor. Other than that we all really enjoyed ourselves and had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jul 11, 2011

All-inclusive

We stayed 5 nights at this resort to attend a wedding. This was a great deal for the price: all food and drinks are included in the price. There are 4 pools, a beautiful beach, sports activities all day, and a theater for nightly shows. This is not the place to go for quite relaxation or an adventurous trip to the Dominican Republic. However, it is a great place to go to let loose and have fun. We stayed 4 nights in Santo Domingo to see the historical sites, then caught an express bus to Punta Cana to meet up with the wedding party. A great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet is open every night, but there are several sit down restaurants available for reservations. You get 3 free reservations (included in package) for every week stayed at the resort. Book these reservations early before they are full!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
QUEENS, NEW YORK
Jun 14, 2011

Fantastic single getaway..!!!!!

beautiful,simple the best...!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilkes-Barre, PA
May 23, 2011

Enjoyable!

We had a really wonderful time at this resort. The hotels are all connected and in turn makes the property VERY large, we knew this going in and had no problem with it. The trams run nonstop and are quick and efficient but after eating all the delicious food a nice walk was definitely needed. The food here was delicious! I have stayed at many all inclusive hotels over the years and have to say the food here (especially at the restaurants) was amazing. We tried the Italian, Japanese, and Garden Grill restaurants and left full with nothing but rave reviews. However we were only allowed 3 reservations (which we did not know about when booking). At first we were very annoyed but found out a twenty dollar bill goes a long way in securing a table if you don't have a reservation. The staff was friendly and we were able to communicate just fine. The rooms could have used some upgrades but this was not a deal breaker for us. The pools and beach were large with numerous chairs available at each, we never had a problem finding a spot to sit. It is a crowded resort but this just gave us the ability to meet and interact with a bunch of different people. Overall my boyfriend and I, plus the other couple we were traveling with had a great experience and a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make friends with a waiter and tip him to secure more reservations in the wonderful restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mom_rocks8
Business
Ottawa, ON
May 11, 2011

Family Wedding

The attraction is the warm turquoise ocean water and the white sandy beach. Awesome! We took a shopping excursion to 3 different malls to shop for $15.00 and did a "james bond" type of adventure $60.00 - driving your own boat out to another boat to do snorkeling which was really fantastic..Sun is very hot - I used SPF 50 the whole time and still burnt. Lots of good food /drinks. Leave all "gold jewellery" at home - mine went missing from the room the first day. You can use the "safe" at $4.00 per day. There are NO CLOCKS in the room, the TV was very small tube type and the phone did not work. I got bug bites on my legs - from the knees down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your a la carte dinner reservations as soon as possible after your arrive since they "fill fast".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Ill
May 9, 2011

Wonderful Vacation for the Price

This resort is BEAUTIFUL....The staff is always cleaning, the pools were beatiful, the food was great, the beach was awesome! We stayed for 8 days, 7 nights in the "Golden" section of the resort. This gave us a room closer to the beach, the activity pool, and the buffet. That alone was worth the extra money. Our housekeeper, [...], was excellent!! She went above and beyond. We didn't do any excursions, just went to the beach everyday...We dined at The Garden Grill, which was good, and Maiko, which was not so good. The buffets were good. There was a different theme every night (i.e. American night, Italian night, Dominican night)...We didn't use the pools very much at all, but they were beautifully maintained.The Micheal Jackson show was very good, but not as good as the one we seen at Gran Bahia Principe - Tulum. The Tulum show is excellent!! The other shows were very good also...My only complaint is the bartenders do not cut people off, We seen several young people very drunk and very obnoxious. One young man looked as if he may have had alcohol poisioning...Anyway I would recommend this resort to anyone..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Request Mikado. They will try to steer you to Maiko, which was not that good at all. Would have preferred the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 26, 2011

Excellent Resort

From check-in to check-out everything was smooth and effortless. Once you land in Punta Cana you better forget the meaning of the word "hurry" - things there happen at a slow pace and that is the charm of the place. We arrived at Gran Bahia Principe in the early afternoon. Checked in with [...] who was very helpful in locating a room that matched our request and explained all details of the Gran Bahia experience. By 4pm we were at the beach and enjoyed the rest of the day there. The beach itself is very clean - staff is constantly collecting every little leaf or piece of trash that may be laying on the sand. Yes, most beach chairs are reserved by 6:30am, but I didn't find that rude or inappropriate. I woke up every morning at 6:00 am and reserved a location for my family as well. As a bonus I enjoyed the sunrise above the sea - a must see experience. Breakfast at the beach, lunch at the beach, and dinner at one of the many restaurants/buffets. The food variety was exceptional and all eating premisses were kept clean at all times. The restaurant staff were friendly (most of them) and did all they could to accommodate everyone's needs even at 7:00pm when the buffets were most crowded. The landscaping staff maintains the gardens immaculate. Not a leaf out of place, in contrast with the rest of the country as far as my observation.The resort is big and you can not escape encounters with loud visitors from french Canada who perhaps liberated from the cold grip of winter behave a bit oddly. Russian tourists can be seen there as well, but they are much more restrained in their appreciation of the warm climate.The maids were courteous, cleaned the room well, and kept the minibar stocked with drinks and deserved the appreciation tokens we left for them daily. We did not use the 24 hour complementary room service, but I heard it was good as well.Some of the merchants that are allowed to trade at Gran Bahia Principe were somewhat pushy, but within reason. The same can not be said about any other place in the Dominican Republic, especially the airport. Beware of "photographers" and other "professionals" when you are outside the borders of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 20, 2011

Mixed Review

The hotel was gorgeous but I definitely recommend staying at the Ambar not any of the other parts of the resort if you want the option for a more relaxing experience. The good: Buffet at the Ambar, free wifi in the lobby, gorgeously manicured grounds, bloody marysThe bad: food at the restaurants you had to make a reservation for, [...] at the Punta Cana front desk who lied to our faces multiple times about trivial things like how many beds were in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top