$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
334 reviews
Anniversary fun

We stayed at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana, we stayed in a villa which was in close proximity to... See full review

  • Cincy couple anniversary
  • May 22, 2014
Honeymoon

Great hotel really enjoyed our stay. People are very friendly See full review

  • QTBABYD
  • May 20, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilkes-Barre, PA
May 23, 2011

Enjoyable!

We had a really wonderful time at this resort. The hotels are all connected and in turn makes the property VERY large, we knew this going in and had no problem with it. The trams run nonstop and are quick and efficient but after eating all the delicious food a nice walk was definitely needed. The food here was delicious! I have stayed at many all inclusive hotels over the years and have to say the food here (especially at the restaurants) was amazing. We tried the Italian, Japanese, and Garden Grill restaurants and left full with nothing but rave reviews. However we were only allowed 3 reservations (which we did not know about when booking). At first we were very annoyed but found out a twenty dollar bill goes a long way in securing a table if you don't have a reservation. The staff was friendly and we were able to communicate just fine. The rooms could have used some upgrades but this was not a deal breaker for us. The pools and beach were large with numerous chairs available at each, we never had a problem finding a spot to sit. It is a crowded resort but this just gave us the ability to meet and interact with a bunch of different people. Overall my boyfriend and I, plus the other couple we were traveling with had a great experience and a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make friends with a waiter and tip him to secure more reservations in the wonderful restaurants!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilkes-Barre, PA
May 23, 2011

Enjoyable!

We had a really wonderful time at this resort. The hotels are all connected and in turn makes the property VERY large, we knew this going in and had no problem with it. The trams run nonstop and are quick and efficient but after eating all the delicious food a nice walk was definitely needed. The food here was delicious! I have stayed at many all inclusive hotels over the years and have to say the food here (especially at the restaurants) was amazing. We tried the Italian, Japanese, and Garden Grill restaurants and left full with nothing but rave reviews. However we were only allowed 3 reservations (which we did not know about when booking). At first we were very annoyed but found out a twenty dollar bill goes a long way in securing a table if you don't have a reservation. The staff was friendly and we were able to communicate just fine. The rooms could have used some upgrades but this was not a deal breaker for us. The pools and beach were large with numerous chairs available at each, we never had a problem finding a spot to sit. It is a crowded resort but this just gave us the ability to meet and interact with a bunch of different people. Overall my boyfriend and I, plus the other couple we were traveling with had a great experience and a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make friends with a waiter and tip him to secure more reservations in the wonderful restaurants!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mom_rocks8
Ottawa, ON
May 11, 2011

Family Wedding

The attraction is the warm turquoise ocean water and the white sandy beach. Awesome! We took a shopping excursion to 3 different malls to shop for $15.00 and did a "james bond" type of adventure $60.00 - driving your own boat out to another boat to do snorkeling which was really fantastic..Sun is very hot - I used SPF 50 the whole time and still burnt. Lots of good food /drinks. Leave all "gold jewellery" at home - mine went missing from the room the first day. You can use the "safe" at $4.00 per day. There are NO CLOCKS in the room, the TV was very small tube type and the phone did not work. I got bug bites on my legs - from the knees down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your a la carte dinner reservations as soon as possible after your arrive since they "fill fast".

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mom_rocks8
Ottawa, ON
May 11, 2011

Family Wedding

The attraction is the warm turquoise ocean water and the white sandy beach. Awesome! We took a shopping excursion to 3 different malls to shop for $15.00 and did a "james bond" type of adventure $60.00 - driving your own boat out to another boat to do snorkeling which was really fantastic..Sun is very hot - I used SPF 50 the whole time and still burnt. Lots of good food /drinks. Leave all "gold jewellery" at home - mine went missing from the room the first day. You can use the "safe" at $4.00 per day. There are NO CLOCKS in the room, the TV was very small tube type and the phone did not work. I got bug bites on my legs - from the knees down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your a la carte dinner reservations as soon as possible after your arrive since they "fill fast".

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Ill
May 9, 2011

Wonderful Vacation for the Price

This resort is BEAUTIFUL....The staff is always cleaning, the pools were beatiful, the food was great, the beach was awesome! We stayed for 8 days, 7 nights in the "Golden" section of the resort. This gave us a room closer to the beach, the activity pool, and the buffet. That alone was worth the extra money. Our housekeeper, [...], was excellent!! She went above and beyond. We didn't do any excursions, just went to the beach everyday...We dined at The Garden Grill, which was good, and Maiko, which was not so good. The buffets were good. There was a different theme every night (i.e. American night, Italian night, Dominican night)...We didn't use the pools very much at all, but they were beautifully maintained.The Micheal Jackson show was very good, but not as good as the one we seen at Gran Bahia Principe - Tulum. The Tulum show is excellent!! The other shows were very good also...My only complaint is the bartenders do not cut people off, We seen several young people very drunk and very obnoxious. One young man looked as if he may have had alcohol poisioning...Anyway I would recommend this resort to anyone..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Request Mikado. They will try to steer you to Maiko, which was not that good at all. Would have preferred the buffet.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Ill
May 9, 2011

Wonderful Vacation for the Price

This resort is BEAUTIFUL....The staff is always cleaning, the pools were beatiful, the food was great, the beach was awesome! We stayed for 8 days, 7 nights in the "Golden" section of the resort. This gave us a room closer to the beach, the activity pool, and the buffet. That alone was worth the extra money. Our housekeeper, [...], was excellent!! She went above and beyond. We didn't do any excursions, just went to the beach everyday...We dined at The Garden Grill, which was good, and Maiko, which was not so good. The buffets were good. There was a different theme every night (i.e. American night, Italian night, Dominican night)...We didn't use the pools very much at all, but they were beautifully maintained.The Micheal Jackson show was very good, but not as good as the one we seen at Gran Bahia Principe - Tulum. The Tulum show is excellent!! The other shows were very good also...My only complaint is the bartenders do not cut people off, We seen several young people very drunk and very obnoxious. One young man looked as if he may have had alcohol poisioning...Anyway I would recommend this resort to anyone..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Request Mikado. They will try to steer you to Maiko, which was not that good at all. Would have preferred the buffet.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 26, 2011

Excellent Resort

From check-in to check-out everything was smooth and effortless. Once you land in Punta Cana you better forget the meaning of the word "hurry" - things there happen at a slow pace and that is the charm of the place. We arrived at Gran Bahia Principe in the early afternoon. Checked in with [...] who was very helpful in locating a room that matched our request and explained all details of the Gran Bahia experience. By 4pm we were at the beach and enjoyed the rest of the day there. The beach itself is very clean - staff is constantly collecting every little leaf or piece of trash that may be laying on the sand. Yes, most beach chairs are reserved by 6:30am, but I didn't find that rude or inappropriate. I woke up every morning at 6:00 am and reserved a location for my family as well. As a bonus I enjoyed the sunrise above the sea - a must see experience. Breakfast at the beach, lunch at the beach, and dinner at one of the many restaurants/buffets. The food variety was exceptional and all eating premisses were kept clean at all times. The restaurant staff were friendly (most of them) and did all they could to accommodate everyone's needs even at 7:00pm when the buffets were most crowded. The landscaping staff maintains the gardens immaculate. Not a leaf out of place, in contrast with the rest of the country as far as my observation.The resort is big and you can not escape encounters with loud visitors from french Canada who perhaps liberated from the cold grip of winter behave a bit oddly. Russian tourists can be seen there as well, but they are much more restrained in their appreciation of the warm climate.The maids were courteous, cleaned the room well, and kept the minibar stocked with drinks and deserved the appreciation tokens we left for them daily. We did not use the 24 hour complementary room service, but I heard it was good as well.Some of the merchants that are allowed to trade at Gran Bahia Principe were somewhat pushy, but within reason. The same can not be said about any other place in the Dominican Republic, especially the airport. Beware of "photographers" and other "professionals" when you are outside the borders of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 26, 2011

Excellent Resort

From check-in to check-out everything was smooth and effortless. Once you land in Punta Cana you better forget the meaning of the word "hurry" - things there happen at a slow pace and that is the charm of the place. We arrived at Gran Bahia Principe in the early afternoon. Checked in with [...] who was very helpful in locating a room that matched our request and explained all details of the Gran Bahia experience. By 4pm we were at the beach and enjoyed the rest of the day there. The beach itself is very clean - staff is constantly collecting every little leaf or piece of trash that may be laying on the sand. Yes, most beach chairs are reserved by 6:30am, but I didn't find that rude or inappropriate. I woke up every morning at 6:00 am and reserved a location for my family as well. As a bonus I enjoyed the sunrise above the sea - a must see experience. Breakfast at the beach, lunch at the beach, and dinner at one of the many restaurants/buffets. The food variety was exceptional and all eating premisses were kept clean at all times. The restaurant staff were friendly (most of them) and did all they could to accommodate everyone's needs even at 7:00pm when the buffets were most crowded. The landscaping staff maintains the gardens immaculate. Not a leaf out of place, in contrast with the rest of the country as far as my observation.The resort is big and you can not escape encounters with loud visitors from french Canada who perhaps liberated from the cold grip of winter behave a bit oddly. Russian tourists can be seen there as well, but they are much more restrained in their appreciation of the warm climate.The maids were courteous, cleaned the room well, and kept the minibar stocked with drinks and deserved the appreciation tokens we left for them daily. We did not use the 24 hour complementary room service, but I heard it was good as well.Some of the merchants that are allowed to trade at Gran Bahia Principe were somewhat pushy, but within reason. The same can not be said about any other place in the Dominican Republic, especially the airport. Beware of "photographers" and other "professionals" when you are outside the borders of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 20, 2011

Mixed Review

The hotel was gorgeous but I definitely recommend staying at the Ambar not any of the other parts of the resort if you want the option for a more relaxing experience. The good: Buffet at the Ambar, free wifi in the lobby, gorgeously manicured grounds, bloody marysThe bad: food at the restaurants you had to make a reservation for, [...] at the Punta Cana front desk who lied to our faces multiple times about trivial things like how many beds were in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 20, 2011

Mixed Review

The hotel was gorgeous but I definitely recommend staying at the Ambar not any of the other parts of the resort if you want the option for a more relaxing experience. The good: Buffet at the Ambar, free wifi in the lobby, gorgeously manicured grounds, bloody marysThe bad: food at the restaurants you had to make a reservation for, [...] at the Punta Cana front desk who lied to our faces multiple times about trivial things like how many beds were in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top