$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love11
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 24, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

The staff is great - Johanna, Miguel and Federico (pool side bar tenders) are amazing!!!! They went above and beyond. We could not have been happier with their service =D The resort itself is enormous, the rooms are average but very clean and that’s always a plus in my book!!! The shows are great; I would most definitely recommend them. They have a total of 8 pools but if you try and get a pool side chair after 9am you’ll be left standing so wake up early and lay out your towel and just come back later! The restaurants food is good, well better than the buffet that is. The buffet in the other hand needs a lot of help!!! It made two of us literally sick to our stomach :(. The plus side is if the buffet isn’t open they have a snack bar open and we found that the food was better there. If you want to try Dominican food you’re going to have to get out of the resort and let me tell you it is well worth it. Their food is delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nolabi
Business
Illinois
Jun 14, 2012

Great family vacation

I stayed at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana From 6/4/12 - 6/11/12. the hotel is about 35 minutes from the airport. I took my children along with their friends and had two rooms. The resort is wonderful. There is something for everyone and for all ages. The entertainement was very good. There was great variety in the buffet whether for breakfast or dinner. The service is very good. What you need to know is that there are 5 restaurants but if you are staying for a week, you can only make dinner reservations at 3 of the restaurants. Also there is no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the hotel lobby. which is frustrating. Otherwise I really enjoyed the resort. The beach is nice. I would highly recommended as a family get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SS won't go back here
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 11, 2012

Cockroaches and Rats! DO NOT GO HERE!

I usually don't write reviews but this time I felt that if I can save even one person from having their vacation ruined by this resort, it would be worth it. CONs: -The hotel was infested with COCKROACHES and RATS!. There were cockroaches in the dining area, the theater and the rooms! -The rooms were very old and smelled of bug killer sprays. We switched rooms and it still smelled. We had to kill 3 COCKROACHES IN THE ROOM! It was such a nightmare. I couldn't sleep because I was scared there would be more crawling in.. - There were rats in the pool area, the bar and the hallways. It was disgusting. -The hotel staff was very rude, particularly their "supervisor" Jose Antonio who issued us wrong keys to the room 3 times. And then yelled at us when we approached him. He specifically asked us "where did you get these keys??" we said YOU gave it to us 15 minutes ago, you are the only one at the register! And he yelled at us, saying "what! You want me to say I'm sorry??" I really could not believe my ears. I have never been treated so badly on a "resort." -There were NO managers besides the one person who called himself the supervisor of the hotel. When we asked them for the manager, he wouldn't come out!! They asked us if we had an appointment with him! The manager refused to come out to speak to us, he was hiding in the back the whole time! It was the most dysfunctional hotel ever! -The hotel is HUGE! Way too big! It takes a 15 min bus to get from the lobby to the beach. At night, everything is really dark so you dont feel safe walking either. -The place should really be shut down and it should not be offeredas a "4 star resort." I am still waiting for my full refund- a front desk person named "Adrian" assured us that we would get it.. but here we are 2 weeks later. PROs: There really are no pros. The beach is beautiful but the rats we saw at the beach bar pretty much ruined it for us. OVERALL: Do not waste your money here. We paid to leave after the first day but there was nothing available until the 2nd day. It's so difficult to take time off for a vacation and they cost us 2 and a half days of our vacation. We spent the rest of the time at a RIU which was like paradise compared to this place. DO NOT GO HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LSMHG
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Late Spring Break Get-away

This was our first time to Punta Cana. We usually travel within Mexico but decided to do something different this year. A co-worker recommended this resort - so I highly trusted her recommendation. Location: Beautiful white sand beach with clear blue water. Beach/Pool: Overcrowded. Big downfall was no open lounge chairs. We had to get set our alarm clocks at 730AM everyday to pick up our beach towels (@ 8am) to save a spot. Although, that rarely ever worked out due to the fact that almost every seat was already "taken" prior to 8am. **TIP: Save your old beach towel til the next morning to save your seat bright and early - that way you do not need to wait til 8am for the towel stand to open. **Beach: Be aware there are nudist sun bathing on the beach - I thought a little arrogant especially since there were young children walking and playing around. Room: Location was perfect (Villa 11) in the middle of everything. Good walking distance. Bus service available every 5 minutes (As so they say). Lighting in the room needs to be changed - too dark. We were not able to turn on the tall lap in the corner. The fridge smelled like bad residue - needs to be cleaned - also "mini bar" were barely ever cold. Room presentation creative and cute. Food: Surprisingly good. Drinks: barley puts any alcohol - depending on which bartender. Shows: Michael Jackson was the only good one. Some co workers arrogant - made some racial comments directly at us. Overall, was a decent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Garick
Business
Encino,ca
Apr 24, 2012

N/a

There are a lot of absolutely identical hotels That is why to find your hotel is very complicated. Hotel pretty far from beach. In the hotel there is no pen ,paper,list of services Even no info how to call front desk or make a wake up Call. Towels in bathroom very small. Internet signal very very week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hanning
Business
Iowa
Mar 26, 2012

Very nice!

This was a family vacation: we took our 15 and 13 year old girls. The kids were not bored - wi fi area, miniature golf, many pools, nightly entertainment. The circus and Michael Jackson nights were great. The facility is huge!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Do not go to the local vendor night in the hotel that is offered one night. Very expencive, they do not leave you alone.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Armen Karapetyan
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Normal vacation

I was at this resort with my wife and 2 kids (ages 28 months and 14 months) from february 6 to 13. I checked all the reviews before going and have to say was not sure for 100%. But now I can say that everything was good. a few bad things. 1st. they gave me a room on the 3rd floor (no elevator.2 infants with a stroller).I thing that was purposly,but $20 fixed everything.2nd.the mattresses were terrible, may be for us only.they are very, very soft and you fall in and can't have a sleep.3rd.the resort was too big,was built towards the beach and a little long walk from resturant to the beach.but the rest was good.food is great,stuff very friendly,everything very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
edin32
Business
manchester,nh
Mar 3, 2012

going back

grrrrreat food was awessome,staff was friendly went there with 2 litle kids definetly going back in 2013 cant wait till next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy your ground transportation when booking online dont trust anyone at the airport u save time money and and its safer

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelBug00
Business
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Probably won't return

The first thing I noticed in the hotel room was the ants. Later I noticed what may have been bed bugs. The bed was hard as a rock and the room could definitely use an update. I was afraid to use the blanket because it smelled and looked like it had never been washed. You could not escape the cigarette smoke or the people asking you to buy things. The excursions were mediocre and a little scary. The buffets got tiresome because they lacked variety but you can expect that at an all inclusive resort. However, the Japanese restaurant and the Steak House were great and the staff was very friendly and accomodating, especially at the Sports Bar. Also, the weather was perfect and the scenery was gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you can't get a reservation for dinner, talk to the person at the front because they may be able to squeeze you in anyway and it's definitely worth trying to escape the buffet.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grma Kat
Business
Ohio, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Enjoyed our visit

We just got back from the resort on Feb. 27. We had a great time. We enjoyed all the little extras the resort included such as flowers and etc. in the room, chocolates on the bed and etc. The people who worked there were wonderful. The food was good, but I did get tired of buffet food after several days. (my problem). Everything was included and the pools were wonderful. There were only two things I was unhappy with. The beach was so crowded that you couldn't enjoy it. Second, people were rude at reserving their chairs and then never showing up to sit in them while other people were searching for places to sit. All in all it was a wonderful trip.,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations for the specialty restaurants the first day you get there.

Back to menu Return to top