Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
235 reviews
Awsome

We have a blast ... Bad experience on try to sign us for the member club to long See full review

  • Rickycenturion
  • Nov 19, 2014
Awesome

Excellent resort, beautifully landscaped, friendly staff,nice food. See full review

  • SvMrflk
  • Nov 17, 2014
Kid-friendly Punta Cana resort captures luxury in all-inclusive setting

With 780 suites on the grounds, Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive is accustomed to entertaining large groups, from parents with tots in tow to honeymooners. Guests might enjoy a massage in a beachside gazebo, take catamaran lessons or sing at the karaoke bar, one of 16 bars at the resort. Kids' activities and multiple restaurants round out the offerings.

Highlights
  • Spacious, tropical rooms with balconies or terraces
  • Punta Blanca Gold Course nearby
  • Full-service spa with massage gazebos
  • Multiple restaurants and bars, including a karaoke bar and dance club
  • Supervised kids' activities
Rooms

Cheerful floral prints and bright colors inject a casual vibe into rooms at Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive. Terracotta tiles complement landscape-themed artwork, amber cabinets and headboards, while wicker furniture adds island flair. Crown molding gets a handsome touch: a single blue stripe around the perimeter. Guests sleep atop one king or two full beds and freshen up in bathrooms with Jacuzzis. Other amenities cover a mini-bar, furnished terrace or balcony and air conditioning.

Features

Guests indulge in head-to-toe pampering at the spa, whose signature service is a massage right on the beach inside a private gazebo. The other treatments are equally tempting -- sit on a bubble bed, lie underneath a Vichy or Scottish shower and relax toxins in the sauna.


After a day at the spa, wade in two lake-style pools, learn how to sail with a catamaran or tee off at the Punta Blanca Gold Club, an 18-hole course just five minutes away from the property.  

Dining

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort – All Inclusive dishes up international flavors at its many restaurants, starting with the all-day buffet in Orquídea Restaurant, which hosts themed dinners by country. Sushi rolls, lobster vol-au-vent and tequila shrimp dot the menus at other eateries.

 

The resort creates a festive scene with 16 bars – including three right on the beach – for sipping on cocktails, enjoying music and mingling with other guests. Congas Bachata discotheque and a karaoke piano bar keep the crowds moving and singing.

Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
Attractions
  • Playa Bavaro (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • El Cortecito (15.8 mi/25.5km)
  • Cap Cana (18 mi/29 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (21.6 mi/34.7 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (25 mi/40.2 km)
Business
  • Event space
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite Deluxe
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Mini-bar Balcony or terrace Bathtub with Jacuzzi Coffee machine Alarm clock Towels for the pool and beach in your room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.7262 -68.4607
Area served
The Dominican Republic shares the Island of Hispaniola. Thanks to its climate and to its endless kilometers of beach, the Dominican Republic has become a first class tourist destination.
Nearby airports
30 minute drive from Punta Cana Airport and 120 minutes from La Romana Airport.
Area description
A living paradise of crystal-clear waters, white beaches, and natural beauty. Puna Cana is now one of the best Caribbean top vacation destinations. It is home to numerous tropical and naturally shaped beaches and friendly locals, not to mention the excitement of adventure together with genuine magnificence.

Dining

Mikado
Menu-style Japanese Restaurant. Reservations required.
The Garden Grill
Variety of meats and grilled food prepared to your liking. Reservations required.
Orquidea
Main buffet
El Pescador
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Menu-style dinner with a variety of seafood dishes. Reservations required for dinner.
Piscis
Beach restaurant buffet.
Santa Fe
Tex Mex style restaurant.
Snack Noche
Night snack restaurant, Service hours 23:00 to 07:00

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Armen Karapetyan
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Normal vacation

I was at this resort with my wife and 2 kids (ages 28 months and 14 months) from february 6 to 13. I checked all the reviews before going and have to say was not sure for 100%. But now I can say that everything was good. a few bad things. 1st. they gave me a room on the 3rd floor (no elevator.2 infants with a stroller).I thing that was purposly,but $20 fixed everything.2nd.the mattresses were terrible, may be for us only.they are very, very soft and you fall in and can't have a sleep.3rd.the resort was too big,was built towards the beach and a little long walk from resturant to the beach.but the rest was good.food is great,stuff very friendly,everything very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
edin32
Business
manchester,nh
Mar 3, 2012

going back

grrrrreat food was awessome,staff was friendly went there with 2 litle kids definetly going back in 2013 cant wait till next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy your ground transportation when booking online dont trust anyone at the airport u save time money and and its safer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelBug00
Business
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Probably won't return

The first thing I noticed in the hotel room was the ants. Later I noticed what may have been bed bugs. The bed was hard as a rock and the room could definitely use an update. I was afraid to use the blanket because it smelled and looked like it had never been washed. You could not escape the cigarette smoke or the people asking you to buy things. The excursions were mediocre and a little scary. The buffets got tiresome because they lacked variety but you can expect that at an all inclusive resort. However, the Japanese restaurant and the Steak House were great and the staff was very friendly and accomodating, especially at the Sports Bar. Also, the weather was perfect and the scenery was gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you can't get a reservation for dinner, talk to the person at the front because they may be able to squeeze you in anyway and it's definitely worth trying to escape the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grma Kat
Business
Ohio, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Enjoyed our visit

We just got back from the resort on Feb. 27. We had a great time. We enjoyed all the little extras the resort included such as flowers and etc. in the room, chocolates on the bed and etc. The people who worked there were wonderful. The food was good, but I did get tired of buffet food after several days. (my problem). Everything was included and the pools were wonderful. There were only two things I was unhappy with. The beach was so crowded that you couldn't enjoy it. Second, people were rude at reserving their chairs and then never showing up to sit in them while other people were searching for places to sit. All in all it was a wonderful trip.,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations for the specialty restaurants the first day you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vipros King
Business
Mississauga, ON
Feb 25, 2012

What you'd expect from all inclusive

Well landscaped property and pleasant looking accomodations. Walls were a little thin and we could hear the neighbors but not a big deal. Second night there we were asked to complete a hotel review in which I mentioned that some minor mechanical issues plagued the resort and our room (leaking faucet, slow drain, broken light fixture outside, and a broken cable connection to the TV). The same night while we were out dining everything was fixed, a clock radio was added to the nigth ttable, and we were given souvenir bath robes of good quality. Good for management on that one! 5+ for responding to customer complaints. Buffets were good and a la carte restaurants we reserved were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Book your a la carte dinners upon arrival!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jenSwimGa
Business
alabama
Feb 20, 2012

Huge resort

food was alright, but not fantastic, drinks were great. Gym is run down & very small. Spa is decent, but u pay for things like using the different pools individually. Shows are entertaining. Our room had a lot of mosquitos. The resort is huge & there is a shuttle from the main buffet to the different pools and beach. A lot of canadians, & people were smoking everywhere. The staff is firendly, but for my next trip i would prefer a smaller more exclusive resort. If u have a family or large group, u may enjoy it more than I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmvw
Business
MN
Feb 16, 2012

Good Value

My husband and I stayed here Feb 8 - 14. It was peak season and hotel was full, but service was good. Our first Dominican trip. Pros: beaches are stunning, staff great, the shows at night were excellent for a middle-class, AI resort. Rooms large and nice with an umbrella, slippers, robe for your use. Minibar is stocked daily with beer, soda, water and part of the AI - no extra fee. The resort is divided into many villas which makes it a little quieter than a larger complex. It's a big resort and there are trucks with open-air people-haulers leaving every few minutes which is a nice option. We usually chose to walk, it's really not that far and grounds are beautiful. There were a lot of European and South American guests there during our stay, we had trouble finding other Americans or Canadians to visit with. Not sure if that's a rule or just timing. Plenty of bars and buffets. Not a lot of beach peddlers like in Mexico. Cons: buffet food was some of the worst we had on an AI vacation, however, we're not expecting a fabulous culinary experience at a middle-class AI resort (the ala cartes we went to were good). The frozen drinks melt within minutes - bring an insulated cup/mug as others have recommended b/c the plastic cups are thin and flimsy. We found the drinks very sugary. Especially as the days went on. We remedied that by alternating with beer! The beach at this hotel is crowded as well as the pools. Chairs can be scarce on Sat/Sun, but we had no problem on weekdays, even at peak. Overall: we would go back based on the shows, the beautiful beach, grounds, nice rooms and excellent service. Buffet food and drinks were our only complaints and not enough to keep us a away from a nice resort in our price range. Tips: book all of your ala cartes on arrival or before you leave, request a villa in the middle (less walking), the beach buffet has better food for lunch than the lobby buffet. Arrive to the evening shows 30 -60 min ahead of time if you want a table up top (the chairs inside get warm). Take in the margarita bar in the lobby if you like them. They were excellent every time, other bars not-so-much. Get your beach/pool chairs, then go find breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie O.
Business
USA
Feb 15, 2012

Fantastic Girls' Getaway

This was a great experience. The staff was super friendly. We had a small problem the first day with the housekeeping, but it was quickly resolved. I will be returning in May.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gladys2599
Business
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Feb 3, 2012

Excellent Vacations

Coming from Puerto Rico and enjoying the same tropical environment I have to said that were the best vacations we ever had. I was really surprised by the clealingness and comfort of the room. Even though we have to walk a lot but its good to walk to balance all the food and drinks consumed. Just few things I have to pinpoint.. I wished to have more dominican music (merengue, bachata) too much american music...Also the pool area should stay open little bit longer.. or at least once a week to do a pool party.. at 6pm is too early to close the pool; actually its when things start to get really fun... Overall 5 stars hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Its important to buy the transportation with your packet.. Transportation at the airport cost 38.00 p/p each way. We are talking about almost 80.00 for two persons.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tannous
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Feb 2, 2012

Beautiful Vacations

Excellent Resort. The Service was great and the Staff kind and gentle. The food excellent,and if you are tired of meat there is always a vegetarian section. We went as a couple and we enjoyed to see the familial atmosphere in this Hotel. Never get bored with the differents shows every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top