$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Arena Gorda Macao, Sector Baigua, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick B.
Business
Lincoln California
Aug 16, 2012

Carribean vacation

Be prepared to bring your walking shoes! This resort is hug and very widespread. The beach can be very far away from your room depending on where you situated on the grounds. We brought our 9mo old along and she did amazing! Coming all the way from California we had several plane changes. The staff is so extremely friendly weather you speak the language or not. Be prepared to wash your hands often, all they have is hand sanitizer at the restaurants. Over all a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ayame
Business
Providence RI
Aug 6, 2012

i wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone!

I'm shocked how everybody's reviews for this place are so good. That's why I stayed here. I would never come here again or recommend it to anybody! Check in took over an hour and a half. Even though check in is at 3pm, our room wasn't ready until after 4pm. The room only had 2 bath towels. Later someone snuck in and added 2 hand towels and a bath mat. On the second day, we got no hand towels again. But like the first day, the hand towels appeared later on in the day. There is no clock in the room and also no outlets. I had to unplug a lamp and the coffee pot to plug in my camera batteries and such. The tv is a small box tv with only a few fuzzy channels. The so called mini bar had only 2 beers! Seriously, this is a 5 star resort? I've stayed at Sleep Inns with better amenities! And I'm talking about simple things like a cold refrigerator and business center! I will say that the room did look nice at least. You have to insert your key card in a slot by the door when you come in to turn on the electric, which would be fine if it didn't turn off the AC when you leave! It's disgustingly miserable hot outside and you have to go back to your room being hot? And it also turns off the fridge! And even if you leave a key card in when you leave, that fridge keeps everything barely above room temperature. I really would appreciate some cold water! And who wants to drink warm beer? When you open your balcony door it also turns off the AC. But there is no handle on the outside of the door to fully shut it! Their wifi only works in certain areas of the lobby, if at all. And apparently the business center in our lobby is not for our use. The buffet food is honestly not good. After around 10pm the only place to get any food is one of the snack bars by the beach that only has leftover burgers and hotdogs. This resort is huge and it IS very nice looking. But the workers are all so very rude! They either love you or hate you. If the men (yes, including hotel workers) aren't hitting on you and not taking no for an answer, then they are literally scowling at you in disgust in passing! They make up their own rules too. If they don't like you or the way you look, they refuse to serve you. One of the workers we kept running in to was friendly, but way too flirty and touchy with me, and he even tried getting my friend to leave the resort with him! I will mention one bartenders name, "Rafael", because he was very nice to me and did not cross any lines. Another of the workers was at a little alcohol stand outside by the shops and he refused to serve me because they "close at 10". I said "it is 9:30". He mumbled something in Spanish with a dirty look. An hour an a half later we saw him serving others. One of the store owners kept calling me "cheap" because I didn't want to pay his outrageous prices for junk. Yeah, that's definitely a way to get me to buy anything! I was actually assaulted and blinded with pepper spray by a random crazy guest while I was minding my own business walking to the buffet with others, and not one hotel worker did anything! My friend chased her down. And everybody around us just ignored that anything happened! The beach and pools are very nice, but I imagine that stuff is nice at any of the resorts. Why would I ever want to come back or recommend a resort where I was treated like complete garbage??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Antolin
Business
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Aug 5, 2012

Funny Vacation

Very good vacation. A lot of amenities. I liked most of all the entertaiment staff, very funny people,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fam8
Business
Alexandria, Virginia
Aug 4, 2012

Nice family getaway.

Overall experience was good. When we got there the first day, it was not a good experience. The staff at the front desk was not particulary accommodating. We booked two rooms and there was only one available at that location. We were told that we will be given a second room at another facility. I insisted that it was not acceptable. The staff member acted frustrated with my request. We waited for a while; hungry, tired, hot, and was told that there was no food avaialbe at that time. Eventually we were given the two rooms. In the end, it turned out to be a decent vacation. The language however, was somewhat a communication barrier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We asked tha front desk for shopping information. He called a friend of his who picked us up and took us to his shop at Plaza Bavaro. This sounded like a good idea which was really not. This made us feel obligated to shop at his stall only, which turned out to be a bad idea. You are better off taking a taxi, going there on your own, bargain, and take a taxi back to your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fam8
Business
Alexandria, Virginia
Aug 4, 2012

Not a bad family getaway

Experience was not good the first day. We booked two rooms; were given one at a different location. I insisted that it was not acceptable. Staff appeared frustrated, stated that it would be for only one night. We were asked to wait; hungry, tired, hot, with no food in that area. Staff did not take into consideration at all that we had traveled from overseas, acted like we were causing him inconvenience. The communcation barrier did not make any easier. In the end, it turned out to be a decent vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of recreational activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anokstay
Business
usa
Aug 2, 2012

punta cana vacation

Most of the staff was friendly. Food was good. beds are very uncomfortable, even for just a couple of hours of sleep each night. Hard to find a chair by the beach, impossible to find one by any of the pools, even if you get there by 6 in the morning, because people leave their towel and other belongings on the chairs as if they own them and the hotel allows this to happen. First come first served, that's how it should be. All in all, it's an ok place to stay in, you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
george and michelle
Business
Dominican Republic. Punta Cana
Jul 26, 2012

2nd Honey Moon!

Wonderful!! Provided transportation for you around property. We will return soon. Food was outstanding! Local tours with VIP travel was excellent! Ask for Wendy Polanzo, she was the best. Must go on Bavaro Local tour with Sammy Carwash and Martinre they're the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Bavaro Local Tour with Sammy and Martinre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love11
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 24, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

The staff is great - Johanna, Miguel and Federico (pool side bar tenders) are amazing!!!! They went above and beyond. We could not have been happier with their service =D The resort itself is enormous, the rooms are average but very clean and that’s always a plus in my book!!! The shows are great; I would most definitely recommend them. They have a total of 8 pools but if you try and get a pool side chair after 9am you’ll be left standing so wake up early and lay out your towel and just come back later! The restaurants food is good, well better than the buffet that is. The buffet in the other hand needs a lot of help!!! It made two of us literally sick to our stomach :(. The plus side is if the buffet isn’t open they have a snack bar open and we found that the food was better there. If you want to try Dominican food you’re going to have to get out of the resort and let me tell you it is well worth it. Their food is delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nolabi
Business
Illinois
Jun 14, 2012

Great family vacation

I stayed at the Bahia Principe Punta Cana From 6/4/12 - 6/11/12. the hotel is about 35 minutes from the airport. I took my children along with their friends and had two rooms. The resort is wonderful. There is something for everyone and for all ages. The entertainement was very good. There was great variety in the buffet whether for breakfast or dinner. The service is very good. What you need to know is that there are 5 restaurants but if you are staying for a week, you can only make dinner reservations at 3 of the restaurants. Also there is no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the hotel lobby. which is frustrating. Otherwise I really enjoyed the resort. The beach is nice. I would highly recommended as a family get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SS won't go back here
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 11, 2012

Cockroaches and Rats! DO NOT GO HERE!

I usually don't write reviews but this time I felt that if I can save even one person from having their vacation ruined by this resort, it would be worth it. CONs: -The hotel was infested with COCKROACHES and RATS!. There were cockroaches in the dining area, the theater and the rooms! -The rooms were very old and smelled of bug killer sprays. We switched rooms and it still smelled. We had to kill 3 COCKROACHES IN THE ROOM! It was such a nightmare. I couldn't sleep because I was scared there would be more crawling in.. - There were rats in the pool area, the bar and the hallways. It was disgusting. -The hotel staff was very rude, particularly their "supervisor" Jose Antonio who issued us wrong keys to the room 3 times. And then yelled at us when we approached him. He specifically asked us "where did you get these keys??" we said YOU gave it to us 15 minutes ago, you are the only one at the register! And he yelled at us, saying "what! You want me to say I'm sorry??" I really could not believe my ears. I have never been treated so badly on a "resort." -There were NO managers besides the one person who called himself the supervisor of the hotel. When we asked them for the manager, he wouldn't come out!! They asked us if we had an appointment with him! The manager refused to come out to speak to us, he was hiding in the back the whole time! It was the most dysfunctional hotel ever! -The hotel is HUGE! Way too big! It takes a 15 min bus to get from the lobby to the beach. At night, everything is really dark so you dont feel safe walking either. -The place should really be shut down and it should not be offeredas a "4 star resort." I am still waiting for my full refund- a front desk person named "Adrian" assured us that we would get it.. but here we are 2 weeks later. PROs: There really are no pros. The beach is beautiful but the rats we saw at the beach bar pretty much ruined it for us. OVERALL: Do not waste your money here. We paid to leave after the first day but there was nothing available until the 2nd day. It's so difficult to take time off for a vacation and they cost us 2 and a half days of our vacation. We spent the rest of the time at a RIU which was like paradise compared to this place. DO NOT GO HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top