$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
286 reviews
The best hotel for a honeymoon

Best honeymoon ever other than the weather. The hotel and around the resort was kept very clean and... See full review

  • Mohammad M.
  • Jun 5, 2015
FANTASTIC first time to DR

This was an exceptional hotel, myself and my roommate were looking to get away and have a great... See full review

  • Brittany C.
  • May 21, 2015
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Property features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Nearby attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 286
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carlos m.
Business
N/A
Jun 20, 2015

this hotel is horrible

i usually don't comment or complain but this hotel was horrible the room i got was dirty and the staff was rude and un helpful. i booked a really nice room and what i got was the opposite. my sheets were dirty also had a stain of blood on it. i called to have my sheets changed and they took literally 3 hours to come and change it. i could say more but it would be to long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jose J.
Business
N/A
May 7, 2015

Great Vacations

I just don't know how EXTREMLY happy n satisfy I was with my vacation! Deft top of the line great friendly staff and ppl that take care of their tourist. I will deft come back n recommend it to anyone who is planning on traveling to Punta Cana! I'll be back soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momofaprincess
Business
Hackensack
Apr 20, 2015

Amazing family trip

This hotel is perfect for a family! Love the restaurants, food, atmosphere, pool, beach! only advice i could give for someone booking is request a room by the beach. it may be extra but you will happy you did because the resort is enormous! depending on where your room is, you may have to utilize the shuttle buses to go to the beach....Resort even has a waterpark for the kids. it's a KIDS only waterpark. Overall a wonderful place for families with kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Haydi P.
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

not what was expected

Last time I will be staying at Bahia. The staff we're not as attentive, refused to refund me my money for a damaged purse that was purchased.. room was falling apart and took maintenance 5 days to fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meli
Business
sacramento
Apr 6, 2015

Punta Cana 1st time experience

This was our first time in Punta Cana, we went with a very open mind after reading so many reviews. The hotel was nice and well kept, the food wasn't a 5 star hotel but wasn't bad either. We could find something to eat for every meal and the al a cart meals at the different restaurants were good, just make sure to make your reservations early. We enjoyed the BBQ restaurant the best, we also liked the Japanese restaurant but we didn't know we had the al a cart menu until we got there so we couldn't do the hibachi, make sure you tell them you want the hibachi at the Japanese restaurant or you will just get the menu service (it wasn't that the food was bad, it's the same food, but we wanted more of the experience). They had a wide variety of different food at the buffets so to say the least there was always something good. There are 5 resorts that are all connected (Punta Cana, Bavaro, Esmeralda, Ambar, and Turquesa) the Esmeralda and Ambar are exclusive and if you are not staying at those hotels you can not visit their amenities (ex:pool or restuartants). Ambar is the adults only. We went during spring break and to be honest the property was big enough that none of the pools or beach every felt over crowded. There are golf cart trains that you take to take you around the property because it is that big to get around the the different areas. I would say that for our first time to Punta Cana we did a good job at picking a hotel. Now there are a few things that could improve: first be careful in the bathrooms men are cleaning the women's bathrooms and women clean the men's bathrooms - something strange and they do it while your in there! The staff at the restaurants are very unorganized, they don't come up to you right away and ask for your drink order, sometimes your waiting 15-20 mins before they even acknowledge you are there. They bring the food out in the order it comes out, there were times that two of us got our meal and the forgot about the third person in our party. They argue with each other in front of you, they are too buy being angry with each other they forget you are there and you have to remind them that you need something. The drinks were very watered down, so you just need to ask for more alcohol which they will gladly do. One thing to be careful of at this hotel or any is that they are trying to sell you vacation packages or seem a lot like a timeshare presentation, we got one presented to us and it was a joke, so don't even waste your time. The people at the beach aren't as pushy as people have said, we politely told them we weren't interested and they went away. The people trying to sell you the timeshare were way more pushy! We did have some great experience with some of the hotel staff, Lydia at the hacienda check in was AMAZING, she really went above and beyond to make sure we were always being taken care of. You could tell she enjoys her job and enjoys making sure the guest are having a good time. She was very detailed in explaining the features of the hotel and setting up our reservations, she always had a smile on her face and made you laugh. Another person who made our trip great was the bartender at the pool with the swim up bar, her name was Yuleydi, again she was on top of it with our drinks and made sure we were always taken care of. She was happy and upbeat which makes your experience even better. I would say that overall our experience was a good one for the first time in Punta Cana, we were able to relax and have fun which is what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinny V.
Business
Morganville
Jan 15, 2015

Whole Family trip

This was an excellent trip for myself and my wife and her family. It was an excellent value, so much so, we were able to book 3 nights for her family that lives in the DR. It was a great experience for them and a joy to be a part of. The hotel was great, with the kids water park area and the shows at night were very good and everything else that you would expect for an all inclusive hotel in punta cana... pools, beach, restaurants, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to book the a la carte restaurants in advance.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sharum N.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Not What you expect

If you are looking for a beach resort this is not it. Even though they lie and show pictures of the resort on the beach. It is 4 different resorts shown as one. You have to take a 10 minute shuttle to get to the beach each time. There is no room service, they advertise it because one of the 4 resorts have room service. But you would have to take shuttles to just grab a small bite. The rooms had bedbugs and were not clean. The beds were really hard and springs popping out. Over all if you just want to be in a warm place and wast half your trip in shuttles go for it. If you want to relax on the Beach and have some drinks look for something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only good thing about the trip is when we left the resort and went to the dolphin show about 30 minutes from the resort driving. $125 to swim with the dolphins or $35 for just the show. Along with the dolphins they had many other animals to view and pet.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mateo Ross
Business
Kentucky
Nov 27, 2014

Things you need to know

Getting there is about 35 minutes but not a bad drive. The cost is 60 from airport by taxi. The resort is comprised of 5 resorts, which you are not allowed to go ro 3 of them if you stay at this resort. We were there 6 nights and are only allowed to eat ala carte 3 times and are only choices were Japanese and barbq. We travel a lot and this is our third time in Dominican and the resort is nice and clean. The shows were good and they make every effort to transport guests around the large campus. The beach is nice but trying to get a chair is extremely difficult due to 5 resorts guests. The communication at check in is extremely poor and guest services was a joke. They do not let you know where things will be held or when, it's up to you to figure things out. The food was good at the Buffett and the two restaraunts. I have read posts that said they will offer a club priveledge and you can purchase upon check in, so I called and asked and they stated that was true, so when we get there I was ready to purchase and they said nothing available so started off poor. I think the staff really are attentive and work hard but the communication was just lacking and with the resort being so big it seemed like we probably missed a lot of fun events. I am not saying not to go here but be prepared, the resort is nice but the experience could be improved signifiCantly by just improving communication.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the Buffett because restaraunts are limited

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr los
Business
Ny
Nov 14, 2014

Great

Awesome family vaca for the price.. Just what we were looking for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your reservations early

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Susan
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 28, 2014

Punta Cana was gorgeous!!

It was so perfect...staff was wonderful, room clean and comfortable, food excellent - - just a perfect vacation..Simon the grave shift manager was amazing...and our driver Sandri was too beautiful and kind to us......so many people to assist with anything you need and even thought a huge resort - easy to move around on the trains available all day and night...Doctor on-site as well as a pharmacy....we had a blast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steak House was excellent food and the staff was perfection..

Back to menu Return to top