$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
224 reviews
Amazing experience

Wow! One of the best vacations ever ! The staff is so friendly and entertaining. I could not... See full review

  • Jersey Cindy
  • Nov 22, 2014
WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the... See full review

  • little Morena
  • Nov 2, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 224
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jo Jo 10
Business
Bahia Principe Bavaro - Punta Canta DR
Dec 18, 2013

I would never recommend this hotel!

I had sent an email 1 week prior confirming my arrival. I checked in at 3pm on 12/12- check in time is 3pm. They did not have a room for me. They made me wait for 1 hour! When I checked back- they did not have 2 beds which I REQUESTED in my email and in the reservation. When we arrived at the room it was dirty! The maid was cleaning it. It went down hill from there. They charged $15 an hour for Internet it never worked, $20 for a safe that did not lock and close. I had to carry my passport, IPAD around all day! We had to beg for towels every day! I had to get a business fax on the 14th - forget it- they did not know where the fax was!!! I had to postpone my business until I returned. The funny thing is that I have been in the hotel business for 30 years and traveled all over the world. I have never experienced this bad overall incompetence from hotel staff!! I will go out of my way to tell all my friends and business associates not to use this hotel. By the way - I slept on a cot for my entire stay!! I am not sure about using your company again for my future travel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mervin R
Business
ca
Sep 13, 2010

Smoking Haven

The Hotel should have been great if they have a designated place for the smokers..You will feel like you are in las vegas hotel when you are in their lobby because there are a lot of people who smokes there. The staff in the buffet have some attitude also not friendly specially the greeters who hands you the cleansing gel..When your leaving early be aware , when you dial the front desk no body is answering the phone, we have to walk from our villa to the front desk. And you will not be greeted with good morning but with frowning faces... The Place was good , there are just things that have to be refined, specially the staff who are unfriendly... if you dont like smoking please beware..Bring some insect repellant ,definitely...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila Pa
Jan 14, 2010

Not my favorite island

Check in was a hot mess. Disorganized and haphazard. Over crowded with pushy Europeans who acted like they owned the whole place. I was pushed multiple times or they would just blatently butt in front of lines and then look at you as if you were the crazy one. If you don't speak Spanish this is not the place for you. Never ever been to an All-Inclusive where the drinks were so obviously watered down. If you want a decent drink it will cost you more money. Food was always cold and even the "Good Restaurants" were no better than the average American chain. Don't expect tasty seasoned Island food. Expect European food that you have never seen before, over cooked seafood and under cooked chicken and beef. Cost $76 for a cabs to and from the airport. Drove so fast I feared for my life. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Wouldn't go back. Too many other nice places to go. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr knowitall
Business
pukwana sd
Feb 16, 2013

fun in the sun

weather is super, the complex is nice beaches are the best, good food good service, lots of thing to do seems to be a bit of something for everyone, great shows. I was kind of sad when it was time to go

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid the crowd by dining a bit later and maybe go on a tour to do your shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Illini Mike
Business
Chicago
Apr 1, 2013

Good value

This is one of the budget hotels and for me it was a good value. The food is not great but everything else was very nice, the entertainment and activities were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Imagine nightclub, Mangu nightclub and dune buggy tours are all great excursions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe latino
Business
Chicago
Aug 15, 2013

Fun times

The place is huge and has lots of people. They have a great apmosphere that is exciting and fun to be around. Food is okay but it's drink and and enjoy beach time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester , ny
Aug 5, 2011

GREAT HOTEL--PLEASE READ, WILL EXPLAIN

This hotel overall I thought was very well. Just like every review you see, theres bad and good ones. This will be a good one. We stayed there for one week 7/28-8/4. I traveled with my 2 bestfriends who happen to date. We also had our male friend come as well. Him and I both being single. First recommendation is to book taxi service [...]. Very precise, and the drivers get you to your resort as soon as you get off the plane. When we arrived to the hotel we were in awe. Lobby is huge, waitresses coming over giving you drinks, music, and tons of people. After about 40 minutes of getting our room and getting all checked in, our fun began. Food service is of course 24-7, with a great selection. Yes some of it does get repetitive, however bring into play that its all inclusive, your not going to get NY sirloin steaks. Drinks however were watered down a bit. We all came down to have a good time and to drink. We drank all day and did not feel it as much as we thought. Which is fine, better to pace yourself especially with that sun. our 2nd day we started early and hit the pool. In the main pool bar, come 2 or 3 pm, its a fantastic athmosphere. Music playing all the time. I didnt think there would be that many people at this resort, but i was way wrong. Everyday at that pool bar, theres around 100-130 people, all mixed ages. Im 25 , and I would say most were around 20-30 years old. There was alot of older couples there but mainly my age and a little older. Did alot of attractions, I would recomend doing the speed boats. Very fun, very fast. Staff does speak mainly spanish, but will do there best to speak and understand english. Room service was great, everyday same time it was done. Great place to go if your single, lots of single men/females. Most speaking spanish, but alot of english as well. We met a ton of people everyday and then would meet up with them in the night life. Night life I thought was great.At 9 pm everynight they have a show in the theatre. Very good show and nice bar there as well. People then usually drink in the lobby bar until 12, then walk to the sports bar, casino, or the nightclub right next to it. Casino is small and i have 2 complaints. You have to pay for drinks, also I was scammed one time. I cashed out with $135 and only receievd $100 back. I argued back and fourth but was no point because they didnt understand me. After they close at 2 am, if you want to keep drinking, not to many people know that they dont stop serving alcohol until 7 am. You can only get it at the snack bar by the main pool. Thats where I had the most fun. Lots of people my age that spoke english. I believe a few nights i strolled back in no earlier then 4 am, no later then 630 am. Make reservations for dinners. My favortie was italian and the japanesee. While sitting in the lobby just socially drinking, servers are coming around to take your order. Veyr nice staff, not as quick with getting drinks (depends on server) but very very proficient. EVerytime will wipe your table so you dont have liquid all over. also even if there is 1 ciggarette but in the ash tray they will replace it everytime. BY the end of the week, we wanted to drinks something different. They have a gift shop on the resort where they sell liqour and red bull. We went that way and had a phenominal time. The lobby breakfest/lunch or amazing. I recommened every day you goto those. Transportation service is a bit slow, but we realized if you use the trolleys in the middle, its faster by about 10 minutes. less stops, less speed bumps. Sorry for writing such a long review but You see good and bad, and I would def recomend this hotel/go back again. Have fun if you do go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiff Taff
Business
Chicopee, MA
May 28, 2011

Amazing Resort

Everything you need is right here on the resort. Shopping, dancing, pools, beaches!!! The intertainment was outstanding. The grounds of the resort were beautiful. The food could have been a little bit better but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york city
Jan 31, 2010

love this place

I have been there several times, very relaxing, clean, beautiful setting, beach is gorgeous. I will return again, but I must say with all this they nedd to improve on their front desk check-in, this time I waited till 5:30pm for my room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coolio2334
Business
LA, CA
Jul 31, 2014

Getaway

The place was great and the staff was friendly. The food in the buffet is my only complaint since there is no variety at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top