$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
222 reviews
WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the... See full review

  • little Morena
  • Nov 2, 2014
Great experience for a lone traveler

I was a little nervous about traveling to another country by myself. But I have the most wonderful... See full review

  • LoneLady traveler
  • Oct 4, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (222)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 222
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 9, 2011

Horrible Service

The hotel was awful. I went with my brother on vacation for a couple days. I called ahead and asked for a room with two beds, and they gave us a king. We arrived at 3:30pm, and the maid was still cleaning the room they assigned us. Not only that, but another maid and her were basically lounging around in our room for almost an hour chatting! The "two" buffets that they have are practically never open at the same time, forcing you to walk all the way to the beach or the lobby to eat. Our shower head was not secured and flew all over the place. We called to ask them to clean our room between 11-12 (because the maid routinely came at 4:30) and we got two phone calls and two unwanted entries at 9 in the morning on the day of departure. (Checkout is at noon) AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MARILYN EXPERIENCED TRAVELER
Business
MILFORD CT
Apr 25, 2011

SMALLER IS BETTER

THE HOTEL WAS WAY TOO BIG AND IMPERSONAL. THE STAFF WAS RUDE AND NOT VERY HELPFUL AT ALL. BESIDES THE FACT HARDLY NO ONE SPOKE ENGLISH THEY WERE UNCARING AND NOT FRIENDLY AT ALL. WE HAD GONE TO CABO LAST YEAR AT THE DREAMS AND THE STAFF AND HOTEL WAS WONDERFUL.IT WAS ABSOLUTE HEAVEN! THIS TIME WE WENT WITH 12 PEOPLE BUT WE COULD NOT GET DINNER ACCOMADATIONS TOGETHER. THE FACT THAT THEY ADVERTISE AS AN ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT IS FAR FROM THE TRUTH. WE WERE NOT ALLOWED IN MANY OF THE RESTURANTS BASED ON THE COLOR OF OUR WRISTBAND. THIS WAS NOT MAD CLEAR TO US BEFORE WE BOOKED OUR RESERVATION. ALL INCLUSIVE TO ME MEANS WE ARE ABLE TO USE "EVERYTHING" THE HOTEL HAS TO OFFER. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE. WE BASICALLY ATE AT BELOW AVERAGE BUFFETS THE ENTIRE 5 DAYS. HOW THEY GOT A 4 STAR RATING IS MIND BOGGLING. BETWEEN THE RUDE UNCOOPERATIVE STAFF, THE HORRIBLE FOOD AND THE AMOUNT OF WALKING U HAD TO DO TO GET FROM OUR ROOM TO THE BEACH I WOULD HAVE TO RATE THIS AS ONE OF MY WORST VACATION. IF IT WASNT FOR HAVING GREAT WEATHER AND BEING WITH WONDERFUL FAMILY AND FRIENDS IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A TOTAL DISASTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucille R.
Business
Bahia Principe Bavaro/Punta Cana
Jan 7, 2013

New Year's Getaway

While the Bavaro beach area was splended, the hotel food was not. The same food every day and sometimes not hot! The coffee served would be cold. The villas all look the same so at night it was difficult to get @ (if you didn't use the bus). I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Never going there again
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2013

Bad experience

i've been to this property 4 times including this year. never had a problem till now. new management i heard. not only I but a few other people cut their feet at the pool for poor mainteance. there were broken tiles not only in the pool with the bar by the beach but also in the other side where the kiddie size pool is. this is extremely dangereous being that any disease could be caught. i have a bad cut on my big toe that is still healing and i got cut two friday's ago, today being thursday. needless to say my vacation was ruined. i had to stay in my room 5days of my vacation with my foot elavated and out of the sun and water. the hotel did nothing to comp my lost time due to their negligence. im never going there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

all the restaurants were good. the waiting staff is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Admitted Hotel Snob
Business
New Jersey
Aug 2, 2013

Reviews are misleading

I am review junkie! I read every review that people post before I book, and once I read the reviews on this hotel, I felt good about my decision. However, once I got to the room, I didn't understand all the great reviews. I travel a lot! I have been to hundreds of hotels and this ranks in one of the worst experiences. I admit that I like very nice hotels and have come to expect a certain amount of luxury. If my taste describes yours, then bypass this property! The only thing I would say is to make sure you understand what hotel you are booking on this property. There are several and I think they vary in terms of quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Guest333333333333
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Not so great

Here's what I did not like about this resort: 1) It was too big. Had to walk a long way to the beach or pools or front desk. 2) You could accomplish nothing from your room. If you wanted to do anything, even call to make a reservation for dinner, you had to go to the front desk. This was annoying because the front desk is a 20 minute walk from the beach and 5-15 minute walk from your room. 3) The food was subpar. They had a buffet with a lot of options, but it was not good. The meat was dried out, there was only limited seafood, and it was always crowded. 4) Could not get a chair at the pool or the beach. There were two pools near our room. We could never find an empty chair at them. We would then have to walk to the giant pool at the back of the resort and often not be able to find a chair there either, especially in the shade. Hard to find chairs at the beach too. 5) Staff was not very nice or helpful. The problem with all inclusive is there is no accountability. You have limited options, and no one really tips there, so the staff has no reason to go out of their way for you. 6) I honestly didn't like the guests who were staying here. Most guests apparently come from cultures where standing in lines is not the norm and where it is okay to shove or bump into people without even acknowledging their existence. Part of the reason there were no chairs was because guests would get to the pool at 8am, drop off a towel to claim their chair and then take off to do whatever. They would occupy the chair all day while only using the pool for an hour. Or one family member would reserve 8 chairs, just in case other people showed up, but most of the time they didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nnnnnnnnn
Business
Virginia
Sep 22, 2014

Needs Improvement

First off the the pool and the beach was amazing. But, sadly that was the best part of this resort. The food and the room was horrible. Our rooms had flies coming out of the sink in the bathroom. We also bought a safe for the room but that didn't work so we had to call to get that fix, which took about 30 mins. The staff was good for the most part, and they spoke english so that was a plus. We tried to make reservation for the restaurants but it was all full so we only got to try out the Japanese restaurant. The buffets had the same food so it got very repetitive, and the quality of the food was very poor. The buffet had flies flying over there food on certain dishes. There snack bar was disgusting because the food was kept outside in the warm weather and flies were once again around the foods. I would NOT recommend this resort to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the restaurants well ahead or do it asap when you arrive because they do book up quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debpete49
Business
Alabama, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Very nice vacation spot. Beautiful resort with nice beach

We enjoyed our experience there. The beaches are beautiful and weather was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make use of the little buses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
barbied53
Business
Howell, Michigan
Feb 15, 2010

Beautiful Place, but too big

Started off very bad. Our plane was 6.5 hours late and we arrived at 9:00 PM to the hotel. It was dark and not very well lighted. They handed us maps and sent us (and our two friends) into different directions as far away from each other as possible. The complex is so large we both got lost and could not find our rooms. Very frustrating after a long day at the airport. When you finally find out where everything is, it is time to go home. Bring your walking shoes. There were too many people at the resort and we were tired of fighting people in the buffet lines. Buffet was good and varied at night, but breakfast buffets were the same old thing and everything was cold when you put it on your plate. This is our 4th time to Punta Cana Hotels, I would not recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LanaB
Business
DC
Oct 23, 2014

Bahia Principe

I have to say that the overall the experience was very nice and for the price we paid it was great. Resort is located within 30 min drive from the airport. Here are the details of why I gave only three stars to the property: The grounds are very well maintained, with that little special touch of sun imprints and pictures everywhere! I thought that was adorable! Several pools, swim-up bars, restaurants, hangout areas. Great! Using those amenities is another story. Pools ran out of towels quite often. The resort does not have a shuttle service to and from the airport so you have to book your own. We worked with one of companies that provides shuttle service and it worked out just fine. Our room, although nice, was not cleaned properly. The floors were never! cleaned with soap and water (even though outside grounds were) - our feet were so dark from walking around barefoot in the room it was embarrassing and we could not wash that dirt off! Only after we got back and I got a spa pedicure it came off. The shower, sink, and toilet all needed replacement. We could not switch between the tap and the shower head in the bath completely. Water was running from both at all times and it was difficult to shower because the pressure was low. Sink tap was so difficult to use, we had to use both hands to turn it on/off. Toilet flush button was constantly getting stuck and there's no ventilation in the bathroom. Staff - nice and friendly - but not very helpful. They either didn't know anything, or gave conflicting information. However I have to say thanks to Guest Services Rep. who went out of his way to help me with writing a letter to the restaurants in Spanish because I have allergies to make sure I don't get sick! The beach area was very clean and supplied with enough long-chairs. So was the pool. The pool deck can get very slippery when wet so be careful walking around. The bartenders were nice and attentive. The place felt like a land of plenty! Food, drinks, entertainment! I was particularly impressed with food selection, was very worried about it because of numerous allergies, but had no issues and did not feel left out! It was a great vacation with minor set backs. I gave three starts only because we didn't get to fully enjoy the entertainment program because of being misinformed and I like my room floors clean. :-) Overall, I liked the place and would recommend. Maybe we would've had a different experience if it was not our first time in Dominican Republic. ADVICE: Research in advance, make all arrangements as soon as you arrive and most importantly ENJOY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can bargain! Also be prepared to pay triple compared to US prices if you run out of a sun block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top