$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
248 reviews
Amazing family trip

This hotel is perfect for a family! Love the restaurants, food, atmosphere, pool, beach! only... See full review

  • Momofaprincess
  • Apr 20, 2015
Good time with feiends

Hotel was amazing. Staff were nice and we had a great time !!! Can't wait to go back. See full review

  • Mohammed A.
  • Apr 10, 2015
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Top hotels

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 248
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ADAVE
Business
ORLANDO, FL
Jul 7, 2013

summer vacation. with group of 17 people

GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.////////////////////this is a busy property. their main restuarant is very crowded/ because 4 other hotels are attached to this property - so everyone has access to lunch/dinner// over 1000 rooms. bring Mosquito Spray. we had to put it on, while we slept - the nightly shows are good, but you must get there 1hour before, since there are not enough seats for hotel occupents. 99% of the staff does not speak any english or does not care. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

STAY AWAY..FROM THE MAIN RESTUARANT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Niknyc
Business
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2010

Don't even bother...

I've traveled to Punta Cana every year for the past eight years and this was the worst (and only) terrible experience. The staff was completely unfriendly and inhospitable. Check in time was 3pm but were not able to get into my room until 6pm and it was still dirty. Tried to make dinner res for my bday but was not able to. I begged the manager for a res but he refused and told me to eat at the buffet. Staff is miserable and it shows. Hotel is too big and poorly managed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Feb 3, 2010

We got sick...family hit by hotel bus

My husband and I got sick at this hotel. We had [*] for several days. My brother-in-law was knocked over by the hotel owned bus and was bruised. Hotel did not even say sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Haydi P.
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

not what was expected

Last time I will be staying at Bahia. The staff we're not as attentive, refused to refund me my money for a damaged purse that was purchased.. room was falling apart and took maintenance 5 days to fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carla AA
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 5, 2013

Average vacation spot

The hotel is comfortable. The second day I noticed that the glasses in the bathroom had not been cleaned!!! it appeared that the maid only turned them around!!!. The staff is ok as long as you tip well. No kid friendly. The food is average. Not at all what I had expected.... next year a different location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sean in Dallas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2013

Nothing like the pictures

Booked a room for 2 adults and 2 kids and asked for 2 queen bed and got a king size instead. My kids had to sleep on a sofa and they did not want to do anything about it. Booked this hotel because it showed big slides for the kids and fun activities but there weren't any big slides and the kids activity hall is a small room with 2 games and very loud music. Food was ok if you don't mind eating all three meals at the same place every day while you are there. We had no house keeping for 3 days out of the 5 days we were there. I normally don't like to wright these reviews but this place is really really unorganized and you should consider twice before booking in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make dinner reservations before you even arrive at the resort because they don't like giving those out even if the place is empty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paloma R
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 6, 2013

A dissapointment!

Horrible customer service, no sense of urgency. Made the reservation in advance about a month in a half before we arrived and the rooms were not next to one another. After, they made me upset and I requested to speak with a manager who never show up, it took then about a hour to find two rooms at close proximity. The menu is almost the same everyday, except for some variations, the juices taste like water. Not many entertainment choices for adults. The children's water park was excellent. However, overall will not come back or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Water park for the children a five plus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katonya hennix
Business
Dominican Republic,Punta Cana
Aug 30, 2014

Family vacation

The food was okay but the bed was too hard and I had to go to customer service because they didn't want to honor the deal that i had I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The entertainment was just okay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sharum N.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Not What you expect

If you are looking for a beach resort this is not it. Even though they lie and show pictures of the resort on the beach. It is 4 different resorts shown as one. You have to take a 10 minute shuttle to get to the beach each time. There is no room service, they advertise it because one of the 4 resorts have room service. But you would have to take shuttles to just grab a small bite. The rooms had bedbugs and were not clean. The beds were really hard and springs popping out. Over all if you just want to be in a warm place and wast half your trip in shuttles go for it. If you want to relax on the Beach and have some drinks look for something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only good thing about the trip is when we left the resort and went to the dolphin show about 30 minutes from the resort driving. $125 to swim with the dolphins or $35 for just the show. Along with the dolphins they had many other animals to view and pet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tam B.
Business
Clarion, PA
Mar 28, 2014

the weather couldn't have been better!!!!

The resort is beautiful and well manicured! It is a large resort so that is something you want to know before going, if you are looking for a resort that has everything centraly located this is not the resort for you. We enjoyed the pool by the beach and the bar service was good but very limited seclection of alcohol and beer choices. Food was tasteful. after traveling to many resorts one of the downsides I experienced was being bothered to do excursions/pictures, I went there to relax not get pressured to take excursions.Overall it is a beautiful resort and we were treated well by staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

email and set reservations for the a la carte resturants in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top