$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
218 reviews
Great experience for a lone traveler

I was a little nervous about traveling to another country by myself. But I have the most wonderful... See full review

  • LoneLady traveler
  • Oct 4, 2014
Punta Cana was gorgeous!!

It was so perfect...staff was wonderful, room clean and comfortable, food excellent - - just a... See full review

  • Just Susan
  • Sep 28, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 218
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kamille16
Business
Florida
Apr 22, 2014

Bad experience

I went to this hotel for my honeymoon, and nobody knows the it was out honeymoon. Not only that, but also the refrigerator doesnt work it was empty, aircondition it was no working, and bed its horrible to sleep. Also we told everythig to the guest service and nobody did anything. They said they fixed everything but it was the same. Staff it was some good another one horrible. Also the day the we have to leave the guy in the front desk called us because our taxi it was there to pick up. The taxi it was 20 minutes early because they told the taxi the it was a 3:20 when it was suppost at 3:40. I explain everything to the guy the it was in the front dest to told the taxi about the time we try out best to be ready. We were in another hotel and we have to walk with our bags to another hotel it was noboday to help us with our bags and at the time we went to the other hotel to pick up the taxi which we paid because it was VIP transportation theTaxi left wtihout us and we have to paid again double for another taxi. I think this is no fear and the service it was horrible with the guy in the front desk he was with attitude to us and said a lot of think, and we also speak Spanish so we can communicate very good because Spanish it is our principal language. Obset with this hotel because it was expensive to for one all inclusive to get a bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Georgia Clay
Business
Georgia
Jan 3, 2013

Poor staff and terrible food - Do Not Go Here!!

The food was terrible at each restaurant. It was not fresh and had terrible flavor. The food was old and often hard. Each restaurant had terrible service. We often waited 20 minutes on drinks at times. The people were not friendly and many were not either English or fluent Spanish speakers. This is due to many Haitians working at the resort. No one understood their role as a server and it was clear they weren't trained. They had no concept of the money spent and that it was a time for me to relax and enjoy my vacation. The entire trip cost around $4,200.00 with flight. It was my Christmas present to my girlfriend and myself. A lot of money to be spent. I was very dissatisfied with the entire trip and happy when I left because the stress it caused to be at the Gran Bahia. I had high expectations and I was let down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Happy to be back in the states
Business
Washington state
Feb 17, 2010

Still fresh in my mind

The front desk staff sent us all over the resort to get what we needed. When we had a concern, it was someone else's problem. I heard a guest tell the front desk "horrible management" as he left, all the front desk guy said was "I agree, have a nice trip home." Guest Services sort of chuckled when we said that we had no luggage because the airline had sent it to another island. We had to spend $400 on one change of clothes because the stores are so expensive. Our seats at the buffet were given away when we got up to get a plate so we had to wander around with our plates to get a new table. The servers kept forgetting to bring our drinks. The shuttle service guy told us we had to be ready to go at 4am for an 8am flight, so we got there and waited an hour and a half at the airport before it opened. The toilet ran constantly in the room, the shower flooded the bathroom, and the minibar was stocked once when I cornered the maid and she gave me drinks from other rooms. If you stop the servers and tell them what you want, they are great, but don't expect it to be brought to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Pack a carry on. We didn't get our clothing for three days and the airport staff kept saying they would call and update us but never did. I made some local calls and the front desk charged $2. They didn't give the clerk a cash drawer so he had to pull money out of his own wallet to make change for me. The cab driver didn't have change either, so he ended up with a 100% tip. Clever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 11, 2011

Very decieving,what you see is not what

The main hotel what you see on the pictures is very good but the area of the hotel where they place you [...] is not even on the hotel pictures it would be a few inches above the actual photos you see in the descriptions. Security at entrance to hotel took 15 minutes to get thru, Front desk very rude and in attentive. Rest of staff was friendly and helpful enough but not enough to overcome the bait and switch with the rooms and the security and front desk issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lienard Cabrera
Business
Prospect Park, NJ
Mar 22, 2010

NOT RECOMMENDED

Everything was a mess, First the didn't find our reservation, Second they gave us a dirty room with two beds, when we select a King size bed because we are a couple and we were in our anniversary, Third the personnel was not friendly and they were acting like your are not the client and that you didn't pay your money for your vacation, also they never had space for reservation at the restaurants a la cart, always the restaurant was full and when you go by the restaurant the place was empty, honestly i don't want to keep talking about it, me and my wife regret the day that we choose that hotel for our anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The shopping was the most helpful, YEAH RIGHT, we say that because everybody is trying to sell you something, they don't leave alone so you can enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 26, 2010

Stay Somewhere Else(Gran Bahia Principe)

This place was way too big. We stayed in the Bavaro Premier section and they put us in the last hut, which was furthest from everything. They say a trolly comes every 5 mins to pick you up, but that is incorrect. We never saw a trolly pick us up or drop us off from our hut. But if we walked 5-10 mins. to the main lobby then they had trollys taking people to the beach and back, which was another 5-10 mins. trip. The buffet food was eatable but not good. If you ordered a drink at any of the restaurants, it would take at least 10 mins to get it. What really made me mad was the lack of organization of the place. We had a reservation to eat at the japanese restaurant on my GFs bday at 7:00. Our tour was supposed to come in at 5, instead we didn't get in till 645. We asked the front desk if they can change our reservation to any time later than 830 so my GF can get ready for her special night. They said no, everything is full. We begged and said please because she needs time to get ready, spend big money on a dress, etc... After about 30 mins of begging they changed it to 8:30 and said they can't make it any later because the restaurant is full and there's no room. Well, we rushed and got there by 8:30, and the place was basically empty. Maybe about 20% FULL. There were about 8 tables around us that never even seen people the whole time we were there. Very disappointed. We had 3 a la cart dinners. Japanese was ok, no where near as good as Benihana. Mexican was very disappointed for me, buy my GF liked it. The Italian was GREAT. So many interesting appetizers, and the pasta was very good. We were a little disappointed in the weather. It was a high of 80 during the day, and the sun peaked out in the morning, but was non-existent at night. So we were hoping to swim in the pools then, but the pools all closed at 6 pm (ridiculous) and none of them were heated, so it was too cold to swim. But they had lots of jacuzzis!!! Oh, but wait, these jacuzzis werent "hot tubs" they were just pools with jets. So they were the same temperature as the pools. They had no hot tubs on site. The entertainment was not good. The Michael Jackson tribute was decent. So every day you either have a card or a beach towel from the resort. You can go up to many huts and exchange your card for a towel, or dirty towel for clean towel, or whatever. Well, I at one point went 2 1/2 days without a towel because every hut was all out. They keep collecting all the dirty towels but probably clean them maybe once a day, so people are stuck without towels freezing. I heard many people complain. These are all easy fixes that can make this resort a nice place to stay. Open the pools till at least 8 pm. Get heaters for them. Was the towels more often. Get more trollys. The rooms were pretty clean. No bugs. The maid didn't really do a good job with our room. One day they gave us new sheets that were still damp when she put them on, so they smelled like dirty water. And the pillows she gave us looked like 8 handfulls of cotton stuffed into a pillowcase. We called to request new pillows and received them 4 hours later. Luckily the tours saved us. We went on the Dominican Republic tour will you visit their culture, make cigars, coffee, horseback riding, etc... It was great! Then we went on the ziplining tour as well, which was good but overpriced.The one day the sun was out the whole day, the waves were crashing hard and the tide was high, so they wouldnt let us swim in the beach. I went to an ATM once to get some money and they said they would charge $3 fee, well my statement showed up and they charged me a $10 fee for a $40 withdraw. We would not recommend this hotel. Stay somewhere else and you can enjoy the DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Italian place was grate. It's called Capricci or something like that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not el happy o
Business
Detroit Michigan
Feb 28, 2012

Average

Our room wasn't ready when we got there, the bed was like sleeping on a rock, the comforter smelled like urine and the ceiling above our shower leaked when the people above us were using their shower. The food was very bland, and I'm not a picky eater. The breakfast was the best. The meat was over cooked. The individual restaurants really were not good. The pool was awesome, Henry and Lorenzo were the only thing the Hotel had going for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food is not good, you dont need to go to the resutrants because they are as bad as the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
Feb 17, 2010

Disappointed

From check in to making dinner reservations, everything was difficult. Property is huge and we were nearly a mile away from the beach. Food was only average and the buffets were very crowded and much of the food was cold. We take a winter vacation each year but will never return to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Feb 17, 2010

Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro

Wonderful beach, although very crowded. Delightful water--quite warm. Very difficult to get reservations to Non-buffet restaurants. Food in buffets sub-par & a la carte certainly not 1st class. Wait staff provided good service. Rooms often not cleaned by 5PM. I would never give this resort 5 stars[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alvin the Chipmunk
Business
Reading, PA
Jul 26, 2011

Class but not world class

Got an free upgrade to Ambar which is quite and close to the beach and private pool. No drink service at beach. Quality of food is good. Warning do not use CoCo Tours as your transporation. CoCo Tours will waste a lot of your vacation time.The complex is too large, it takes a couple of days to figure out buses and hardly anbody speaks English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Mediterranean Restaurant and order the Chefs Seafood Grill. Take a cab to your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top