$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heidi Nichelle
Business
Hanmer, On
Feb 9, 2014

great time with family and friends

Aside from being slow at check in we were treated great. The staff were awesome. They made you feel welcome, the food was good, the rooms clean and cozy (need new mattress's) the beach was relaxing, and the drinks were refreshing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaLoutre
Business
Montreal, Canada
Mar 14, 2014

GREAT FAMILY ESCAPE!!!

Everyone in our party had a great time! From 1 yr-old to 65+! Beach was breathtaking, food ranged from good to memorable and service was always on par. the site is wayyyy too big, but we knew that going in but everything else was excellent. Clean, friendly and joyful hotel. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiffany Active Couple
Business
Saint Albans, Vermont
Mar 22, 2014

Amazing getaway

My spouse and I had a wonderful experience here! The buffet food was actually better than I expected with quite a bit of variety. The one downfall was that we couldn't get into the restaurants that we wanted, we only got into one that we were interested, the other three were picked for us. The resort is extremely large and very confusing at first but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our overall experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Call to reserve the restaurants prior to arriving at the resort. Otherwise, you will end being stuck with what they give you. I tried to call to do this but kept getting transferred or hung up on, I should've been more persistent because we only got one restaurant we wanted and most of our dinner reservations were at 9 pm.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Had a fun in Punta Cana
Business
Mankato, MN
Apr 3, 2014

Fantastic vacation!!!!

The staff was amazing!!!!! The grounds were well manicured and very well taken care of. The resort was HUGE!!! Food from the buffet was very good!!! The speciallity resturants were excellent and entertaining too. All and all, this was great vacation for a decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girl trip 2014
Business
Windham, New Hampshire
Apr 2, 2014

Girl trip 2014

On arrival check in went well, the staff can speak English which is a plus. You have to purchase use of a safe, I didn't like that. Our room was big and the bathroom is roomy. The premiere area had a buffet, pool with pool bar, lobby and bar. Overall pretty good. it didn't matter that it was the farthest from the beach as there are bus stops and trams regularly. You have to use the trams to get around, the place is huge! Plenty to do and you'll never be thirsty and hungry! The beach is amazing and the big pools in the front of the beach were great, big, clean and fun! They were overbooked when we went so all the alacart restaurants were booked and we only did the buffets which we decent! But we were getting bored with them after a week. We were there the 1st week 3/2014 and the weather was great... 81*-84*. The water is warm and the waves are just perfect! It's a girl trip I do every year with the same girls and we all loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You'll have to take the trams.... To big to walk!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Dad
Business
Chicago
Jan 18, 2010

We had a wonderful vacation, not perfect

We went to relax and get away. Other than the less than perfect weather, and an earthquake on the island (we didn't feel it, but others said they did), it was a very nice trip. Issues were: noisy location - we were near the hotel lobby (premier, which is nicer), probably because we have a 7 mo. old, which meant that lobby noise and the cleaning people station were right outside our door; some technical glitches (door, phone), but were handled no problem. Rooms were very clean, people very friendly (who doesn't love a baby!), drinks good and food excellent for all-inclusive. One restaurant, Mason, was as good as a full-blown restaurant. Just make sure you go with the wine-list and not the house. Very nice property too. Only caution - if you go to the spa make sure you double the time... they are not in a rush there and if you like the steam /sauna, $25 is a bit much to pay for one hour, especially if they haven't turned it on yet. They should charge $10 for all day since almost no one was using it. The message service was wonderful though. Also, it was very kid-friendly - lots of families. All in all, I'd go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orleans MA
Feb 18, 2010

out door great play exellent beaches

Too many people. Not enough bathroom outdoor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reed City, MI
Feb 21, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We had a wonderful time. We went mainly to get out of the cold and into the warm and we definitley did that. The grounds were beautiful (5 star) and the rooms very clean and the resteraunts very nicely laid out. The wait staff at the pools were not always that friendly unless they saw a tip in your hand. The ala carte meals were difficult to schedule and we had to eat very late to get into the ones that interested us (9:45pm) and we went right down the very first morning we were there to schedule and they were already completley booked. It took awhile to get used to what bars and pools you could go up to and order a drink but we finally figured it out but did cause frustration (more for the couple we were traveling with as they had spokent to alot of people who had done all inclusives and told you can walk up anywhere and order a drink), not so here. [...] We would go back again because the atmosphere and location was great and I would just know how the place works!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is large but they have travel trams that are going non stop to get you where you need to go.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 1, 2010

Great place to stay! Great staff!

Great place to stay!!! Friendly staff. Walked around to connecting hotels. Went shopping, casino & spa. Everythings connected so you really never leave resort. Great beach. Very clean ; )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Hotel entertainers put on great shows after dinner.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nyna
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 2, 2010

Definitely worth the money!!!

Hotel grounds were kept impeccable. Staff is visibly busy with upkeep. Hacienda rooms are beautiful and definitely worth the upgrade. Staff is friendly, accomodating and available. The food was great for an all inclusive--there was something for everyone. Mixed seafood lunch at Il Capriccio (the diamond club upgrade place for breakfast and lunch)was yummy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Upgrade to diamond club for a couple of dollars more and all your dinner reservations are made for you before you arrive. Plus, you get a private pool area and adjacent restaurant for breakfast and lunch, so you don't have to travel back and forth. If you don't upgrade the pools available and eating options are still above average for an all inclusive.

Back to menu Return to top