$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
280 reviews
Family Vacation july 2014

We all had a wonderful time. All the staff were helpful . Punta Cana Grande Bahia Principe Bavaro... See full review

  • Boggie MD
  • Jul 5, 2014
Fantastic vacation

I keep saying that if you're ever down, go to Punta Cana. The staff is so friendly and happy. They... See full review

  • Fabi B
  • Jun 18, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (280)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL, USA
Jun 12, 2010

Lovely DR ...

[...] I decided to visit the resort without opinion. Overall I thought it was a great value for a very relaxing mom-daughter getaway. Based on my weeklong experience at the hotel, below are a few hints/comments that hopefully will be helpful to the next traveler thinking about Grand Principe Bavaro:- )1) If you are not a Spanish speaker, learn at least a few words and phrases in Spanish. It helps around the resort.2) Learn the trolley-shuttle system ... even if you enjoy walking. The property is much too big to manuever without it.3) Bring insect repellent for you (for the obvious reasons) AND bug spray for the room. There are going to be at least a few creepy crawlers (mostly large ants, etc.) that make their way into your room. Some appear because of the openness of the room and access via the balcony ... but the rest are there because I believe the hotel needs to step up their game just a bit (if you know what I mean). The other 4 and 5 star hotels in DR do not seem to have a bugs-in-the-room problem. 4) Keep your wash/face towels (ie do not ask for new ones the next day) if you rely on them to bathe! For some odd reason it is VERY hard to get wash/face towels on a regular basis.5) The staff do not do a very good job of explaining the property's many amenities (or guidelines/policies for that matter)... specifically to the non-advanced Spanish speakers (I relied on high school Spanish to get by). Once you get to your room (hopefully with a drink :-), make sure that you read all printed materials that are handed to you and sitting around in the room so that you understand the rules as well as the opportunites. It took my mother and I two days to find out about the towel policy.And last, do not let the bad reviews scare you away from the Grand Principe Bavaro. It is not even a 1/10th as bad as people claim. The staff are friendly, the food is certainly worth the $$, and everyone just seems to genuinely be having a good time.I would recommend this hotel if this is your first time in DR, if you are traveling with family, if you are participating in a girlfriends (or mom--daughter) getaway, or if you want to bring small children on the trip with you. I would stay away if honeymooning or if you require a lot of quiet/down time ... try Grand Prinicipe Ambar instead (within the same complex).P.S. Just an FYI ... we stayed in the Club Hacienda portion of the hotel, which apparently has a few enhanced services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If looking for fun within the resort, see the Michael Jackson show and visit the karaoke bar (next door to the nightclub).

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, Fl.
Jan 25, 2010

The Travelers

People be aware how this hotel works with the reservations, It doesnt matter how early you book, at the time of check in they will assign whatever room they have available. We reserved at the "Bavaro" side and they send us to another part of the resort with a lot of limitations(Premiere part). Overall (buffet and a la carta) food was acceptable, the cleanning lady was friendly and walk the extra mile to please us, pools are great and entretaiment team are good...nite shows are so so...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

As soon check in, try to reserve for a la carta restaurants, otherwise they will assigned what they have and will end up eating what you do not like. Ask for the menus at the reserve's person, and decide by yourself if its worthy to travel so far to the reserved restaurant. Everything is far away in the resort ( its a huge place )

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiff Taff
Chicopee, MA
May 28, 2011

Amazing Resort

Everything you need is right here on the resort. Shopping, dancing, pools, beaches!!! The intertainment was outstanding. The grounds of the resort were beautiful. The food could have been a little bit better but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liam & Jill
NC
Feb 22, 2011

Great vacation and resort

Check-in: All the staff were very nice and we had no problems at check-in, only one couple was in line front of us and they had 3 people behind the desk.Our room: There was an odor when we first entered the room, nothing too bad and was gone after a few hours with the fan running and the balcony door open. It was very clean and the maid left really nice towel arrangements on our bed every afternoon (heart shapes, kissing swans), maybe this was because it was valentines week. We had no issues with hot water and there are lots of American channels on the TV. We were located roughly in the center of the resort and walked all the time, except if it was raining. You can walk from the beach to the lobby in about 10 minutes.Pools: We only went to the big pool near the beach. It is very big and was never too crowded. Our only complaint about the hotel is people holding chairs with their towels, both at the pools and at the beach. I would estimate that less than 50% of the chairs had their "owner" at the pool or beach at any given time, but 99% of the chairs have towels on them. If they just confiscated towels that didn't have an owner in the vicinity, I think all chair problems would be eliminated. We got lucky most days and found at least one chair that we could use, but it really is ridiculous. Transportation to/from airport: We used the bus option [...] and had no problems getting the bus from the airport to the hotel. A friend of ours also done this, but her flight got delayed 2 hours. She had to get a taxi as the bus company had left for the day (around 8PM when she got in) by the time she arrived. [...] was our rep at the hotel, and you had to meet him the next morning @ 10AM. I got down there a few minutes before 10 and waited until 10.20 and no sign of him. He called later asking why I didn't turn up, and I explained I did. He says we must have missed each other and that I must go down the next morning. I asked if I can arrange the bus pickup time on the phone, but he says I must do it in person. Long story short, the people we met on the return bus to the airport had the same experience. And the reason for wanting to meet us in person is to try sell us other packages. Our pickup went fine and on time, although they were 40 minutes late for other friends who were on a morning flight.Food: We ate in the buffet every night as my wife is a vegetarian and we figured she would have more choice at the buffet. We were very happen with the selection and quality of the food, although my wife was getting tired of eating pretty much the same thing each day. The beef did tend to be quite tough and 1 night I got a piece of pork that was only half cooked, but I spotted it and didn't eat it. Salads, fruits and desserts were excellent.Overall it was a very pleasant stay and we would stay at this hotel again. I knocked off a star because of the whole towel and chair holding shenanigans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A market appears near the theater twice a week from 4PM to late. We found that we could get most things we wanted for about 1/3 of the initial asking price. Anything we offered less than this we ending up not getting and walking away. Just be prepared to stick to your guns and walk away, there are other stalls to try again.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRE Mimi
Punta Cana
Dec 5, 2013

good family fun

It's a good place too spend time as a family but if your a couple looking for a gateway select somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

food is not all that good

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two girls
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 15, 2011

Great stay

Our stay was wonderful, our room was amazing and the beach was only a few steps away. The staff was great and the food was good, the nightly entertainment was really good. My friend and I went to Saona Island which was one of my favorite when we were there. It was an all day excursion that included a speedboat, catamaran, buffet on the island, and a swimming pool in the middle of the Caribbean. Overall, I would definitely stay at the same resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gus, great boyfriend and son...
Miami, FL
Aug 13, 2010

Highly Recommend Family Getaway

Rest and Relaxation. EXCELLENT and PEACEFUL. Returning next year...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Feb 22, 2011

Fantastic week in the sun

We stayed in the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana and had a wonderful time. We were there for a wedding but had a great week. Everything from food to nite live was great. There was a great variety of food from restaurants to buffet's. The hotel staff were very helpful too so can't really complain about the hotel. The airport on the return leg was kind of painful. Very busy and unorganized so let plenty of time for your flight

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Book the restaurants on your first day and they book up quickly

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reed City, MI
Feb 21, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We had a wonderful time. We went mainly to get out of the cold and into the warm and we definitley did that. The grounds were beautiful (5 star) and the rooms very clean and the resteraunts very nicely laid out. The wait staff at the pools were not always that friendly unless they saw a tip in your hand. The ala carte meals were difficult to schedule and we had to eat very late to get into the ones that interested us (9:45pm) and we went right down the very first morning we were there to schedule and they were already completley booked. It took awhile to get used to what bars and pools you could go up to and order a drink but we finally figured it out but did cause frustration (more for the couple we were traveling with as they had spokent to alot of people who had done all inclusives and told you can walk up anywhere and order a drink), not so here. [...] We would go back again because the atmosphere and location was great and I would just know how the place works!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is large but they have travel trams that are going non stop to get you where you need to go.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girl trip 2014
Windham, New Hampshire
Apr 2, 2014

Girl trip 2014

On arrival check in went well, the staff can speak English which is a plus. You have to purchase use of a safe, I didn't like that. Our room was big and the bathroom is roomy. The premiere area had a buffet, pool with pool bar, lobby and bar. Overall pretty good. it didn't matter that it was the farthest from the beach as there are bus stops and trams regularly. You have to use the trams to get around, the place is huge! Plenty to do and you'll never be thirsty and hungry! The beach is amazing and the big pools in the front of the beach were great, big, clean and fun! They were overbooked when we went so all the alacart restaurants were booked and we only did the buffets which we decent! But we were getting bored with them after a week. We were there the 1st week 3/2014 and the weather was great... 81*-84*. The water is warm and the waves are just perfect! It's a girl trip I do every year with the same girls and we all loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You'll have to take the trams.... To big to walk!

Back to menu Return to top