$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
224 reviews
Amazing experience

Wow! One of the best vacations ever ! The staff is so friendly and entertaining. I could not... See full review

  • Jersey Cindy
  • Nov 22, 2014
WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the... See full review

  • little Morena
  • Nov 2, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summer7
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Dec 23, 2011

Incredible Vacation!

I first want to say our vacation was absolutely incredible! The Dominican people work very hard to keep the tourists happy. The language is Spanish and it can be a little difficult with not speaking anything but English but my daughter and I always managed to find an person who spoke some English. We both learned a few Spanish words that went a long way to getting what we needed. As for the hotel room itself we stayed in the Bavarro( orange bracelet) building 5 the top floor which was the 3rd floor (no elevator) and the view was overlooking the pool. It was very quiet for us. If you hate noise make sure you say you want a room away from the main road. The maid did a great job and kept our fridge stocked with pop, and waters. We left her notes of what we wanted and brought presents from the dollar store(for hair and toiletries) and children’s toys and games and art things. We left her something each day with a dollar and bubblegum candy canes. At the end we gave her $10.00 The beach was exceptionally clean and beautiful, it was very warm when we went in the week of December 14-21, 2011. It is a bit rough at times and the waves could take you out far, if you have children it would be smart to bring a life jacket for them if you can. This beach was the most beautiful beach I have ever saw in my life! You will not be disappointed! We did not do any excursions this trip! I would recommend bring $40.00 and 1.00 bills as the Dominican is a place that a tip goes a long way. We did tip a few times in the dining room for supper and the staff will always remember you and take care of you. From the second we got off the plane people were running to us to get our money. At the airport they charge you $10.00 each just to enter their country. Be careful to not go with the wrong shuttle as we almost did. They are forceful and pushy at the airport to take you with them and the chaos can be confusing. We booked through O and we thought our shuttle was paid for and we found out soon enough we were not on the list, it was a $30.00 ride from the airport and then $25.00 ride back to the airport. Make sure your travel agency sends you a paper voucher for the shuttles or you will be paying! The hotel “ shopping” is overpriced and ridiculous, I would recommend to bring lots of snacks with you as we did, as a bag of chips is $7 to 10 a bag. The sunscreen is $25 and 30 dollars. I would recommend 2 to 3 bottles depending on family size, we used almost two bottles just for my daughter and I. The shuttles are awesome and take you to the beach from your hotel. Or just about anywhere. My only complaint: As for the food well being a diabetic their was no dessert that was sugarless and they were all loaded with sugar, I am also a vegetarian and the choices were very limited and by the end of the week we were both sick of the repetition and tired of the food. And meat was in almost everything including salads. The hotel needs to do better with the food as perhaps having a table strictly for vegetarians. As when I had an omelette made I gave the guy my plate ( as we have to)I put the vegetables and cheese on and he mixed it in the same bowl as with the other hotel guests that had ham. Needless to say I had ham in my what was suppose to be vegetarian omelette, I never ate it. I even had him do it again and said no meat, he did the same mistake and then made it in the same bowl. Jewish people and vegetarians could not eat the omelettes. This needs improving! Yuri is a wonderful lady with a beautiful smile at the front door at the buffet( Bavarro) and when I requested fruit to take to my room as I am diabetic she was more than happpy to get it for me. Thank-you Yuri! All in all the week was amazing and I would go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For people with diabetes, their were no desserts that were sugarless and the food was limited if you were vegetarian. By the end of the week we were eating the same things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdawgy209
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Second time as good as the first

second time around with a bunch of friends from college and it was a blast. the food is above average, which is about what you can expect for an all-inclusive place. pools are clean, beaches are clean, and a $1 tip here or there and the staff will load you up with mixed drinks that are quite hearty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RB9562
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Gigantic beach resort

The most important thing to know about this resort is that you must be prepared for a huge "complex" - this is really something like 5 hotels grouped into one. There are a bunch of different lobbies and buffets (which are all different bracelet access levels). I'm writing this from the perspective of a 26 yr old guy who went down with a group of college friends. We had a great trip, the staff is overly friendly and nice (in a good way). It will be noticeable how friendly they are on your first day. I speak a little Spanish, but you can get around with no issues if you speak none at all. We all thought food was pretty good, buffets and the reservation restaurants. You are not going to be wowed the way you would at some $20+/plate restaurant in the US but the food will not disappoint either. The beaches are beautiful and the pools are clean. Weather was perfect in the middle of Feb, 80s and mostly sunny every day. We checked out a couple of shows which were pretty good. If you are out late drinking it seems like they funnel you towards the middle/back of the resort where there is a karaoke bar, then the disco club. These are all relatively popular but still fairly tame. After the Disco closes up ~2:00 AM they do have a beach bar that is still open which you can get to via the drunk tram right around 2:00. This is a nice concept that they keep this open for another couple hours for people not wanting to call it quits right at 2:00. IMPORTANT --- As far as the all-inclusive stereotype that drinks are watered down goes: it doesn’t apply here. Maybe with some of the daily specials etc. but if you order a rum and coke you can watch them as they fill it ~50/50. People who are really looking for a serious party are going to need to go off resort to one of the clubs (discos) in the area (Imagine, Mangu, Oro). Overall I give this hotel great remarks, the scenery, architecture, landscaping, and presentation are all very high level for what you pay. I would recommend against Ambar, it is much lower key, the only thing you are paying for is proximity to the beach (which I would argue is not worth the price). If you are quiet and secluded this is probably not the spot for you. You get a lot for the low prices you pay to book this resort so I would fully recommend it to those without outrageous expectations. If you expect more than this from a hotel/resort YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE TO PAY MORE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach snack bar serves til 4am and beyond...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
granbahiawithfriends
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Lots of fun, lots of options

This resort definitely had variety and lots of choices. There were lots of bars, pools, places to eat and they were all spread out through the resort so there was always something near by. The food at the buffet got boring pretty quickly but we took advantage of making reservations at the resort restaurants so that made dinners much more enjoyable. The most annoying thing was the pools closing at 6pm. That was way too early for our group. Other than that the only criticism I have is the staff was never on the same page. People were always leading us in opposite directions which was a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The japanese restaurant and mexican restaurant were delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick20
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Great place to stay

Upon arriving was a little overwhelmed by the size of the resort. After learning the location of everything it got much easier to get around. The trolley car was helpful to get from one end to the other. Overall the staff was very friendly accept for the staff at the reception desk - never a smile or cordial greeting during check in/check out or any interactions during our stay. We would return and probably enjoy it more now that we know how to get around the very large complex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
With mi vida
Business
Boston. MA
May 29, 2012

Very Good Vacation!!

Staff was more than willing to satisfy1 food was good, plenty to eat. Will go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamajuana
Business
Los Angeles CA
Jul 19, 2012

Nice and super clean hotel

This complex is huge with 4 hotels but it's so big you don't feel that there are so many people, except sometimes at the buffet. The rooms are big and super clean. The food is excellent and there's a good choice of restaurants. We particularly loved the Japanese restaurant. The shows at night are the best I've seen in resorts. The grounds have luxurious vegetation and are meticulously maintained. The only things we were disappointed about were the mini-club and the sport activities. There's no a lot of activities for kids and no good classes for the adults. Even the sport equipment is minimum but the animation team brings a lot of fun (and noise) at the main pool. Some staff members are super nice and some are not so helpful. The excursions were really fun. Overall it's a good resort for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mommascarz
Business
bergen county, N.j.
Aug 8, 2012

Wonderful staff

We had a great vacation due to the staff! The hired staff was so helpful and generous! Our only problem was with the supervisor staff. When we arrived, our rooms were not ready at check-in time. The manager and supervisor gave us such a run around and we didn't get into our rooms until after 5 P.M. We also couldn't get into a restaurant we wanted because, again, of the supervisor. The beach staff and the bar at the beach was amazing. The beachfront property was the best in the area. We will be returning next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pooh 82
Business
Da Nasty
Oct 9, 2012

Beautiful Room, Great Staff

This place was absolutely beautiful. The room was huge, clean and very comfortable. There was a musty smell but it was fixed quickly and we had no other problems. The bars were great especially the swim up bars! Drinks flowed constatntly and the staff was always lively. They didn't speak English but hey- drink is universal! Our excursions were great as well. The tour guides were as pleasant as the hotel staff. Mini bar was decent. Night club was fun. The resort was great! Only minor complaint was the shower curtain. There wasn't one so water spilled everywhere. It was still an awesome room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peso Man
Business
Calgary
Dec 1, 2012

25th Wedding Anniversary

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Bavaro and the vacation started out a little rocky. We had booked the Hacienda Club and requested a quiet upper level room with a king bed. We received a ground floor room on the shuttle route with 2 double beds. We expressed our disappointment to the Hacienda Club manager and she quickly rectified the situation. From that point on the trip was great. We really enjoyed the exclusive Hacienda Club restaurant. It was air conditioned and offered a good selection of food. It is located near the beach and offers a nice alternative to the beach snack bar. We reserved the a la carte restaurants in advance on-line. We went to the Japanese, Steak House & Italian. They were all good, but the Japanese was our favorite. The hotel is reasonably well maintained and the staff is excellent. If there is a problem, they will try and make it right. We would return to this hotel again. The beach was great. Lots of chairs and they rake up any seaweed that does come ashore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top