$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kimchi N.
Couples
San Jose
Jul 8, 2015

Litte point

Unless your south american or can speak Spanish you will be waiting to be served. Every day the beach was getting see weed removed with a work force and the see still had plenty of see weed in it. WiFi only 1 hour daily in lobby Towel is very old look dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nannersbrooklyn
Family
N/A
Jul 19, 2015

There are better places to stay

This place is massive. And the resort tries to keep up with housing and feeding an extraordinary amount of people. Although our room was comfortable, and the beach was nice enough (if you enjoy endless rows of lounge chairs), there is a lot to be desired. Our fridge was broken, our room was only serviced twice in a 6 night stay, the towels are gray, but meant to be white, there were never any beach towels available, there was often a line for dinner, and when making reservations, we couldn't get into a restaurant until 9pm. I've stayed at many all inclusive, and although this one wasn't bad, I wouldn't go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Metin S.
Family
rochester
Aug 9, 2015

sea weed

you can't get in sea water because 3 ft of sea weed all over shore line

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Metin S.
Family
rochester
Aug 11, 2015

sea weed was all over the beach

sea weed was all over the beach we have to stat at pool all the time I have it at back of my house

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mily35
Couples
N/A
Aug 18, 2015

Summer Vacation

The hotel is pretty and all-inclusive. The liquor tastes super cheap as does the food. You aren't guaranteed to eat at the restaurants as you have to make reservations days in advance. The rooms are clean but the beds are rock hard. You have to pay $50 for wireless internet. The pool was a fun place to be. While I was there, there was a strong smell of sewage at the main dining hall near the front entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Verunchik
Friends
Russia
Jan 6, 2014

So so

Huge and beautiful area on which you can move on the small busses. A lot of chairs on the beach but there are smbd's towels everywhere. Low water pressure after 5 pm so you can not take a shower. Slow and lazy staff even for tips. Ants in the room and mosquitoes are everywhere nights. Music follows you on the beach, by the pool, in the lobby, so if you find quiet poolside somewhere you'll be "pleased" by frolicking kids. But I liked the sea, climate, nature and hope to visit Dominicana again ;) Probably it will be Bahia Ambar hotel (in case of sale).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. DB
Family
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 22, 2014

Huge Resort

I spent two weeks at this resort over the Christmas and New Year's holiday. It is in a wonderful location and the beach is beautiful. The resort is huge. If you do no like or are unable to walk, you must rely on the shuttle to and from all locations in the resort. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Customer service was below average for a resort that promotes itself as it does. It was impossible to get a reservation at a speciality restaurant after four different attempts. I was always told there were no reservations available but upon investigating two different times when I was refused, each restaurant was less than one fourth full. Food in the buffet was good but lines were long and many tourist were rude and inconsiderate of others. The Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve buffets were elaborate with many speciality food items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are interested in dining at one of the speciality restaurants go to the service desk immediately after check in and be persistant until you get the reservations you want

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heidi Nichelle
Family
Hanmer, On
Feb 9, 2014

great time with family and friends

Aside from being slow at check in we were treated great. The staff were awesome. They made you feel welcome, the food was good, the rooms clean and cozy (need new mattress's) the beach was relaxing, and the drinks were refreshing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaLoutre
Family
Montreal, Canada
Mar 14, 2014

GREAT FAMILY ESCAPE!!!

Everyone in our party had a great time! From 1 yr-old to 65+! Beach was breathtaking, food ranged from good to memorable and service was always on par. the site is wayyyy too big, but we knew that going in but everything else was excellent. Clean, friendly and joyful hotel. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiffany Active Couple
Couples
Saint Albans, Vermont
Mar 22, 2014

Amazing getaway

My spouse and I had a wonderful experience here! The buffet food was actually better than I expected with quite a bit of variety. The one downfall was that we couldn't get into the restaurants that we wanted, we only got into one that we were interested, the other three were picked for us. The resort is extremely large and very confusing at first but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our overall experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Call to reserve the restaurants prior to arriving at the resort. Otherwise, you will end being stuck with what they give you. I tried to call to do this but kept getting transferred or hung up on, I should've been more persistent because we only got one restaurant we wanted and most of our dinner reservations were at 9 pm.

Back to menu Return to top