$281 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
225 reviews
Amazing experience

Wow! One of the best vacations ever ! The staff is so friendly and entertaining. I could not... See full review

  • Jersey Cindy
  • Nov 22, 2014
WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the... See full review

  • little Morena
  • Nov 2, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Megbeth
Business
Portland, Maine
Sep 5, 2014

Food is hard to find and not all that good

Our over all stay was quite enjoyable but the most frustrating part was trying to find where to eat. There was no central place to find where restaurants were and what the hours were, but alcohol could be found everywhere. To eat at any of the a la carte restaurants we needed a reservation but we could only make a reservation 6 days out, we were only there for 4 days. We did find that you can talk your way into almost any restaurant since they never actually fill up, but you do receive a lower level of service. As far as the buffets finding hours was challenging, we found you had to go to each buffet to find the hours, and the posted hours weren't necessarily correct. The food quality at the buffets was generally low, food was either under seasoned, generally bland, or overly salty. The hands down best thing was the bread offered at all of the restaurants. Over all we had a great time it was just hard to make a reservation for a nice sit down dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can talk your way into a restaurant if you don't have a reservation. Also a $20 tip will get you a lot no matter where you are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LanaB
Business
DC
Oct 23, 2014

Bahia Principe

I have to say that the overall the experience was very nice and for the price we paid it was great. Resort is located within 30 min drive from the airport. Here are the details of why I gave only three stars to the property: The grounds are very well maintained, with that little special touch of sun imprints and pictures everywhere! I thought that was adorable! Several pools, swim-up bars, restaurants, hangout areas. Great! Using those amenities is another story. Pools ran out of towels quite often. The resort does not have a shuttle service to and from the airport so you have to book your own. We worked with one of companies that provides shuttle service and it worked out just fine. Our room, although nice, was not cleaned properly. The floors were never! cleaned with soap and water (even though outside grounds were) - our feet were so dark from walking around barefoot in the room it was embarrassing and we could not wash that dirt off! Only after we got back and I got a spa pedicure it came off. The shower, sink, and toilet all needed replacement. We could not switch between the tap and the shower head in the bath completely. Water was running from both at all times and it was difficult to shower because the pressure was low. Sink tap was so difficult to use, we had to use both hands to turn it on/off. Toilet flush button was constantly getting stuck and there's no ventilation in the bathroom. Staff - nice and friendly - but not very helpful. They either didn't know anything, or gave conflicting information. However I have to say thanks to Guest Services Rep. who went out of his way to help me with writing a letter to the restaurants in Spanish because I have allergies to make sure I don't get sick! The beach area was very clean and supplied with enough long-chairs. So was the pool. The pool deck can get very slippery when wet so be careful walking around. The bartenders were nice and attentive. The place felt like a land of plenty! Food, drinks, entertainment! I was particularly impressed with food selection, was very worried about it because of numerous allergies, but had no issues and did not feel left out! It was a great vacation with minor set backs. I gave three starts only because we didn't get to fully enjoy the entertainment program because of being misinformed and I like my room floors clean. :-) Overall, I liked the place and would recommend. Maybe we would've had a different experience if it was not our first time in Dominican Republic. ADVICE: Research in advance, make all arrangements as soon as you arrive and most importantly ENJOY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can bargain! Also be prepared to pay triple compared to US prices if you run out of a sun block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Dad
Business
Chicago
Jan 18, 2010

We had a wonderful vacation, not perfect

We went to relax and get away. Other than the less than perfect weather, and an earthquake on the island (we didn't feel it, but others said they did), it was a very nice trip. Issues were: noisy location - we were near the hotel lobby (premier, which is nicer), probably because we have a 7 mo. old, which meant that lobby noise and the cleaning people station were right outside our door; some technical glitches (door, phone), but were handled no problem. Rooms were very clean, people very friendly (who doesn't love a baby!), drinks good and food excellent for all-inclusive. One restaurant, Mason, was as good as a full-blown restaurant. Just make sure you go with the wine-list and not the house. Very nice property too. Only caution - if you go to the spa make sure you double the time... they are not in a rush there and if you like the steam /sauna, $25 is a bit much to pay for one hour, especially if they haven't turned it on yet. They should charge $10 for all day since almost no one was using it. The message service was wonderful though. Also, it was very kid-friendly - lots of families. All in all, I'd go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orleans MA
Feb 18, 2010

out door great play exellent beaches

Too many people. Not enough bathroom outdoor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reed City, MI
Feb 21, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We had a wonderful time. We went mainly to get out of the cold and into the warm and we definitley did that. The grounds were beautiful (5 star) and the rooms very clean and the resteraunts very nicely laid out. The wait staff at the pools were not always that friendly unless they saw a tip in your hand. The ala carte meals were difficult to schedule and we had to eat very late to get into the ones that interested us (9:45pm) and we went right down the very first morning we were there to schedule and they were already completley booked. It took awhile to get used to what bars and pools you could go up to and order a drink but we finally figured it out but did cause frustration (more for the couple we were traveling with as they had spokent to alot of people who had done all inclusives and told you can walk up anywhere and order a drink), not so here. [...] We would go back again because the atmosphere and location was great and I would just know how the place works!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is large but they have travel trams that are going non stop to get you where you need to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 1, 2010

Great place to stay! Great staff!

Great place to stay!!! Friendly staff. Walked around to connecting hotels. Went shopping, casino & spa. Everythings connected so you really never leave resort. Great beach. Very clean ; )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Hotel entertainers put on great shows after dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nyna
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 2, 2010

Definitely worth the money!!!

Hotel grounds were kept impeccable. Staff is visibly busy with upkeep. Hacienda rooms are beautiful and definitely worth the upgrade. Staff is friendly, accomodating and available. The food was great for an all inclusive--there was something for everyone. Mixed seafood lunch at Il Capriccio (the diamond club upgrade place for breakfast and lunch)was yummy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Upgrade to diamond club for a couple of dollars more and all your dinner reservations are made for you before you arrive. Plus, you get a private pool area and adjacent restaurant for breakfast and lunch, so you don't have to travel back and forth. If you don't upgrade the pools available and eating options are still above average for an all inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom from Wisconsin
Business
Waterford, WI
Apr 13, 2010

Beatiful resort, great pool and beach

Very beautiful resort. The facilities were great. Very clean, imaculate grounds. Pool was great, very close to the ocean. The beach was great as well. Very clean, sandy beach. Food was average. Service at the resort was average. Had a lot of employees, but not the most friendly and outgoing to make your resort experience special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steakhouse food was great. Skip the Barbeque alacart. Nice breakfast buffet on the beach at the snackhouse. Food at the regular buffet was not always warm, rather bland tasting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buda
Business
Vega Baja, PR
Aug 4, 2010

Punta Cana 2010

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nene Briceño
Business
Santiago chile
May 22, 2011

excelent for families

Nice place, good transportation to beach and lobby, good food!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top