$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SlipperDC
Couples
Maryland
Aug 29, 2014

OK

The Hotel is very nice but,Disappointment . Can't event try one of a la cart restaurant every thing all book ,staff in the restaurant need more training . Food are fresh but the shift need to taste all food before bring out to serve .Housekeeping are very nice.Front desk doing a great job.all restaurant should not be all close and open at the time ,if you missed lunch time you have to wait until dinner!!s

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Megbeth
Couples
Portland, Maine
Sep 5, 2014

Food is hard to find and not all that good

Our over all stay was quite enjoyable but the most frustrating part was trying to find where to eat. There was no central place to find where restaurants were and what the hours were, but alcohol could be found everywhere. To eat at any of the a la carte restaurants we needed a reservation but we could only make a reservation 6 days out, we were only there for 4 days. We did find that you can talk your way into almost any restaurant since they never actually fill up, but you do receive a lower level of service. As far as the buffets finding hours was challenging, we found you had to go to each buffet to find the hours, and the posted hours weren't necessarily correct. The food quality at the buffets was generally low, food was either under seasoned, generally bland, or overly salty. The hands down best thing was the bread offered at all of the restaurants. Over all we had a great time it was just hard to make a reservation for a nice sit down dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can talk your way into a restaurant if you don't have a reservation. Also a $20 tip will get you a lot no matter where you are.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LanaB
Friends
DC
Oct 23, 2014

Bahia Principe

I have to say that the overall the experience was very nice and for the price we paid it was great. Resort is located within 30 min drive from the airport. Here are the details of why I gave only three stars to the property: The grounds are very well maintained, with that little special touch of sun imprints and pictures everywhere! I thought that was adorable! Several pools, swim-up bars, restaurants, hangout areas. Great! Using those amenities is another story. Pools ran out of towels quite often. The resort does not have a shuttle service to and from the airport so you have to book your own. We worked with one of companies that provides shuttle service and it worked out just fine. Our room, although nice, was not cleaned properly. The floors were never! cleaned with soap and water (even though outside grounds were) - our feet were so dark from walking around barefoot in the room it was embarrassing and we could not wash that dirt off! Only after we got back and I got a spa pedicure it came off. The shower, sink, and toilet all needed replacement. We could not switch between the tap and the shower head in the bath completely. Water was running from both at all times and it was difficult to shower because the pressure was low. Sink tap was so difficult to use, we had to use both hands to turn it on/off. Toilet flush button was constantly getting stuck and there's no ventilation in the bathroom. Staff - nice and friendly - but not very helpful. They either didn't know anything, or gave conflicting information. However I have to say thanks to Guest Services Rep. who went out of his way to help me with writing a letter to the restaurants in Spanish because I have allergies to make sure I don't get sick! The beach area was very clean and supplied with enough long-chairs. So was the pool. The pool deck can get very slippery when wet so be careful walking around. The bartenders were nice and attentive. The place felt like a land of plenty! Food, drinks, entertainment! I was particularly impressed with food selection, was very worried about it because of numerous allergies, but had no issues and did not feel left out! It was a great vacation with minor set backs. I gave three starts only because we didn't get to fully enjoy the entertainment program because of being misinformed and I like my room floors clean. :-) Overall, I liked the place and would recommend. Maybe we would've had a different experience if it was not our first time in Dominican Republic. ADVICE: Research in advance, make all arrangements as soon as you arrive and most importantly ENJOY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can bargain! Also be prepared to pay triple compared to US prices if you run out of a sun block.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emily P.
Couples
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Pools/Beach/Drinks Great - Food was awful

We stayed 8 nights and 9 days. Positive: Beach were beautiful. Pools were so clean. Landscaping was impecable. Drinks were easy to get and well made. Negative: The food was the worst that I have ever experienced, and the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful 80 of the time. Tip- Reserve your beach/pool chair by 8am at the latest. Do not eat at the seafood restaurant. We would not reserve a room night again here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emily P.
Couples
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Beach was Great. Food was awful.

I would not recommend this hotel again. The food was absolutely awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael M.
Couples
Alsip
Mar 17, 2015

Price Matched Quality

Not bad for the price. Service made the stay better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mateo Ross
Family
Kentucky
Nov 27, 2014

Things you need to know

Getting there is about 35 minutes but not a bad drive. The cost is 60 from airport by taxi. The resort is comprised of 5 resorts, which you are not allowed to go ro 3 of them if you stay at this resort. We were there 6 nights and are only allowed to eat ala carte 3 times and are only choices were Japanese and barbq. We travel a lot and this is our third time in Dominican and the resort is nice and clean. The shows were good and they make every effort to transport guests around the large campus. The beach is nice but trying to get a chair is extremely difficult due to 5 resorts guests. The communication at check in is extremely poor and guest services was a joke. They do not let you know where things will be held or when, it's up to you to figure things out. The food was good at the Buffett and the two restaraunts. I have read posts that said they will offer a club priveledge and you can purchase upon check in, so I called and asked and they stated that was true, so when we get there I was ready to purchase and they said nothing available so started off poor. I think the staff really are attentive and work hard but the communication was just lacking and with the resort being so big it seemed like we probably missed a lot of fun events. I am not saying not to go here but be prepared, the resort is nice but the experience could be improved signifiCantly by just improving communication.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the Buffett because restaraunts are limited

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
osvaldo
Couples
miami
Aug 28, 2011

poor variedity food and drink

location ar good entertaiment are regulary food variedity poor and drink are bad selection beer are only one and only dratf beers de transporstations fron de hotels to the airports nevers arrive they was very rude and they less us on are unamtendet with ended paid 50.00 usd to the airport that's why i consider never will go back to.this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

bad trip

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buttercup84
Couples
New York
Nov 19, 2014

Nice place but needs tweaking

The place itself was gorgeous. The hotel Bahia pricipe I picked was Bavaro which was not close to the beach. We needed to take the hotel bus to the beach. We booked the 4 night stay and were only to pick 2 restaurants. The best food was the japenese restaurant. The breakfast was good but lunch and dinner was okay. The hotel room when we got in was pretty clean except the bathroom was not to my standards. There were water stains on the mirror and glass shower. The faucets had dried up water stains which skeeved me out. We spilled some of the drink on the counter and the next day after tmtw cleaning service came in the drink stain was still there- that was lazy in my book. The pool and lobby was very clean the staff was friendly. And if u speak Spanish they like you even more. My husband knows Spanish so it helped. My husband and I got sick the last night and I don't know if it was because of the food or drinks. I recommend Manati Park it was a great time If you swim with the Dolphins u have to buy a cd of all your pics. Not just one picture if you want pictures. Also the vendors are very naggy. We did have a nice time despite some disappointments. Also if u have no children stay at the Ambar side

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
miriam vacation
Family
nj
Sep 3, 2014

food needs room for improvement and more people that speak english

The hotel is kept and maintained beautifully. But everything is far away and you need to take a tram. It was very difficult to speak to people very few even at the front desk spoke English. They could not communicate with us. The restaurants were impossible to get reservations with. The food was not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top