$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
280 reviews
Family Vacation july 2014

We all had a wonderful time. All the staff were helpful . Punta Cana Grande Bahia Principe Bavaro... See full review

  • Boggie MD
  • Jul 5, 2014
Fantastic vacation

I keep saying that if you're ever down, go to Punta Cana. The staff is so friendly and happy. They... See full review

  • Fabi B
  • Jun 18, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (280)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tawd
bahia punta cana
Apr 8, 2013

info

the hotel was good not enough english speaking workers couldnt answer questions and i had to give up my time to go meet wendy to sch. my pickup time should be done in advance and finnaly to many employes trying to sell all kinds of things prob not likely to return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Family
New York, NY, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Family vacation

Food is below average Resort is huge. rooms can be 20 min away from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben78
NC
Nov 4, 2011

Not What I was hoping For

The staff were excellent. Food at the restaurants were delicious. Food at the the buffet was hit or miss. Beach was wonderful. Very Disappointed with the room(not clean, broken fixtures, bed smelled).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeeDeeNY
NEW YORK
Jul 22, 2013

DeeDee157

The resort looks very nice and clean. The rooms are out-dated and in need of an update. The food is good but 3 our guest did get sick. The staff was nice and helpful except management. The resort is very big but they provide buses to transport you around. We stood 3 days and only allowed 1 a la cart dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There many things to do. Specially for kids.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tommythunder
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Big resort but ordinary

Thought I that upgrading to Hacienda or Diamond would be good value. It was not cheap drinks and ordinary food. The Ambar hotel is the higher class resort. The staff was kind and great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe swole
Chicago
Aug 19, 2012

Nice but not going back

Hotel is very nice, but rooms need upgrading. T.vs need to be updated. The staff is very rude even when you speak there language. Even upgrading does not give you better service. Cancun or Rivera Maya is the way to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elite Traveller
New York, NY
Oct 5, 2010

Beautiful Property, Lousy Service

The property was huge and extremely well-kept. Very beautiful. What would have been helpful before we booked, was to be aware that the hotel shared space with 4 other hotels of the same brand. There were places we could not go, pools we could not use, restaurants at which we could not eat, etc. This gave us a weird feeling when we were turned away from such locations. We requested an iron on day 2 or our 7 day stay and when we checked out we still did not receive the iron. This location is strictly for Spanish speakers, if you don't speak Spanish you will have to wing it. The staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. They were clearly not trained in customer service. Some who were helpful were [...]. I would not recommend this brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MotherDaughterSpringBreak
Reno, NV
Apr 20, 2011

Spring Break Vacation

We swam in the gorgeous beach, went on tour to Snuba, Snorkel and drive speed boats, ate great meals and watched entertaining shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Le Gourmet French Food was delicious !!!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 5, 2011

Great place but.......

The resort to begin was beautiful, the staff were friendly although I speak spanish I didn't see anyone have a problem. The room was big and the bed was a little hard but I guess that's personal preference. Our air conditioning was not working but they did take care of the problem. Now the but " The Food", unfortunately took away from all the good. The meat was low quality and the buffet was mediocre at best. Also the liquor are not big name, I asked for Jack Daniels drink and was charged because its considered top shelf. I drank at the casino which offered a better variety but I had to pay there, but was pretty cheap compare to new york prices. All in all I had a good time and enjoyed the atmosphere.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unplugged Mom
Houston, Texas
Jul 10, 2012

Beautiful Country and People

Resort had wonderful staff and except for hard bed and pillows had great accomodations. Food could be greatly improved but you won't starve. This particular location was not close to anything so had to spend money to see any sights that were not at the hotel. Best part was getting unplugged and away from my email and phone--on purpose!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Bargain over everything including the excursions!

Back to menu Return to top