$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeeDeeNY
Business
NEW YORK
Jul 22, 2013

DeeDee157

The resort looks very nice and clean. The rooms are out-dated and in need of an update. The food is good but 3 our guest did get sick. The staff was nice and helpful except management. The resort is very big but they provide buses to transport you around. We stood 3 days and only allowed 1 a la cart dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There many things to do. Specially for kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TiaTravels
Business
Bk, NY
Aug 22, 2013

Ordinary vacay

Got to the hotel at check-in time and there was one person manning the desk with a line of 8 ppl waiting. After about 10 minutes, 2 additional staff came and assisted. Got assigned to a room with a king size bed but I'm vacationing with my Mom. Placed call to front desk and was informed that hotel is full and won't be able to change room until 1pm next day but I would have to call. Room change took place with minimal fuss. Attempted to make reservations at speciality restaurants without success; informed that reservations had to be made the morning of desired day but this proved false. No linen change for entire stay. Bathroom sink finally thoroughly cleaned on day 6. Although entertainment titled Caribbean show and international night, focus was totally latin based which was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny pincher...
Business
Michigan
Dec 10, 2013

Ladies trip

Nice getaway with my mom's.... Didn't expect the beach to be so far away but transportation is available. Plenty of food so needed to walk off a few extra pounds. Didn't let the little things ruin my vacation. Would go back but would upgrade to be closer to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DR fan 7
Business
Ohio
Dec 9, 2013

Not truly all inclusive

Despite the fact it claims to be all inclusive there are lots of hidden costs - wifi (anywhere besides the lobby where you can get 60 min free per 24 hours), higher end liquors, the safe in your room ($4/day). You also have to have reservations for any restaurants other than the buffets even if they are not full. The beach is about a 7-10 minute tram ride away or a much longer walk. Our room was by the pool which was often noisy (loud music) from about 10a-6p every day because their animation team is constantly doing activities. While the activities are nice while you're at the pool, we could hear about all of them from our room with doors closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OrangeCloud
Business
Canada
Dec 18, 2013

The room was not up to our standards but everything else was good

Hi , the food was good. The beach was amazing. The staff were very friendly. The room on the other hand smelled like mold, had a very dirty looking bathtub, and bathroom. mold all around the tub and a yellow floor that looked like a spill. we talked to customer service about the smell and the mold and they said they'd look into it. which they didn't and they didn't even bother calling us back or letting us know what they think. in general, no we won't be back at this hotel and we won't recommend it to our friends. maybe the neighbour hotel that looked recently renovated might be a better option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

do not book a fancy french or italian restaurant in all inclusive hotels. they keep you waiting at the tables for hours and bring you a tiny painting on a plate. use the buffets, always better. we wont make the same mistake again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jan 25, 2010

Looking for perfect vacation spot

We shopped down the beach at the markets, parasailed, went to the manati park. Sunbathed on the beach and the pools. Went to the evening shows and disco, gambled at the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 22, 2010

Views about Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro

The beach and ocean is beautiful, we love that there are no rocks in the water. The rooms were super clean and all bathroom areas in the resort were kept clean. The dinner reservation system was horrible. You waste your time upon arrival going to guest services to book dinners at the restaurants only to be told that there are no openings the entire weeek. The woman at guest services was pretty rude too. Luckily,my sister arrived earlier and was able to get some reservations. Even at 7:30 ( the earlier times) the restaurants were 50% empty or more. Why were we told that they were all filled? We have been to other resorts that do not require booking dinners and have never had problems nor had to wait on lines. The computer system they are using to confirm bookings is not accurate nor works well. The room was cleaned super well each day. The grounds were immaculate and the public area bathrooms were spotless. The workers work so hard so please remember to tip well. Unfortunately, and this is horrible- my sister's room the toilet never flushed properly and even with a tiny bit of paper in it would back up and flood the room. Every flush backed up which was disgusting. She and our brother in law were told that all used toilet paper must go into the wastebasket that the toilets were not meant to flush toiletpaper! We had no problem with our toilet. In order of preference we would rate this at 3 1/2 stars, Dreams resorts 4 stars and Excellence Punta Cana 5 stars. Yes, we read the reviews before hand, knew about the distance to the beach, the tram system, the cold food but THE BEACH AND WATER were perfect as were the cleanliness of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We went on the two hour snorkeling trip through the water sports area. It was so much fun!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new england
Mar 8, 2011

great weather and ocean

we were not informed about which pool we could use and were embarrassed on day 2 to be told we had to leave and use a different pool. at that pool the towel guy/ dj asked us to get him free bar drinks, a gin and tonic several times. the music played was rap with language that should not be played in a family setting. the "f" word was quite frequently used in the songs. we would have like to have heard more dominican republic "island type music" our pre paid transfer to and from the hotel to the airport never came to take us back to the airport, so after an hour wait we had to pay another $50.00 to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elite Traveller
Business
New York, NY
Oct 5, 2010

Beautiful Property, Lousy Service

The property was huge and extremely well-kept. Very beautiful. What would have been helpful before we booked, was to be aware that the hotel shared space with 4 other hotels of the same brand. There were places we could not go, pools we could not use, restaurants at which we could not eat, etc. This gave us a weird feeling when we were turned away from such locations. We requested an iron on day 2 or our 7 day stay and when we checked out we still did not receive the iron. This location is strictly for Spanish speakers, if you don't speak Spanish you will have to wing it. The staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. They were clearly not trained in customer service. Some who were helpful were [...]. I would not recommend this brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Feb 21, 2010

gran bahai principe bavaro, punta cans

Beach great, grounds immaculate. Were told everyday that the specialty restaurants were all booked up, the reality was that you would look in and they were empty-many people very angry about this! Room toilet overflowed daily, buffet restaurants served the same food every day. Nighttime shows were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top