$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
208 reviews
chasing paradise

Very good nice hotel good food good drinks, overall a good hotel See full review

  • chasing joe
  • Aug 12, 2014
Family Vacation july 2014

We all had a wonderful time. All the staff were helpful . Punta Cana Grande Bahia Principe Bavaro... See full review

  • Boggie MD
  • Jul 5, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tawd
bahia punta cana
Apr 8, 2013

info

the hotel was good not enough english speaking workers couldnt answer questions and i had to give up my time to go meet wendy to sch. my pickup time should be done in advance and finnaly to many employes trying to sell all kinds of things prob not likely to return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeeDeeNY
NEW YORK
Jul 22, 2013

DeeDee157

The resort looks very nice and clean. The rooms are out-dated and in need of an update. The food is good but 3 our guest did get sick. The staff was nice and helpful except management. The resort is very big but they provide buses to transport you around. We stood 3 days and only allowed 1 a la cart dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There many things to do. Specially for kids.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TiaTravels
Bk, NY
Aug 22, 2013

Ordinary vacay

Got to the hotel at check-in time and there was one person manning the desk with a line of 8 ppl waiting. After about 10 minutes, 2 additional staff came and assisted. Got assigned to a room with a king size bed but I'm vacationing with my Mom. Placed call to front desk and was informed that hotel is full and won't be able to change room until 1pm next day but I would have to call. Room change took place with minimal fuss. Attempted to make reservations at speciality restaurants without success; informed that reservations had to be made the morning of desired day but this proved false. No linen change for entire stay. Bathroom sink finally thoroughly cleaned on day 6. Although entertainment titled Caribbean show and international night, focus was totally latin based which was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny pincher...
Michigan
Dec 10, 2013

Ladies trip

Nice getaway with my mom's.... Didn't expect the beach to be so far away but transportation is available. Plenty of food so needed to walk off a few extra pounds. Didn't let the little things ruin my vacation. Would go back but would upgrade to be closer to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DR fan 7
Ohio
Dec 9, 2013

Not truly all inclusive

Despite the fact it claims to be all inclusive there are lots of hidden costs - wifi (anywhere besides the lobby where you can get 60 min free per 24 hours), higher end liquors, the safe in your room ($4/day). You also have to have reservations for any restaurants other than the buffets even if they are not full. The beach is about a 7-10 minute tram ride away or a much longer walk. Our room was by the pool which was often noisy (loud music) from about 10a-6p every day because their animation team is constantly doing activities. While the activities are nice while you're at the pool, we could hear about all of them from our room with doors closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OrangeCloud
Canada
Dec 18, 2013

The room was not up to our standards but everything else was good

Hi , the food was good. The beach was amazing. The staff were very friendly. The room on the other hand smelled like mold, had a very dirty looking bathtub, and bathroom. mold all around the tub and a yellow floor that looked like a spill. we talked to customer service about the smell and the mold and they said they'd look into it. which they didn't and they didn't even bother calling us back or letting us know what they think. in general, no we won't be back at this hotel and we won't recommend it to our friends. maybe the neighbour hotel that looked recently renovated might be a better option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

do not book a fancy french or italian restaurant in all inclusive hotels. they keep you waiting at the tables for hours and bring you a tiny painting on a plate. use the buffets, always better. we wont make the same mistake again!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Jan 25, 2010

Looking for perfect vacation spot

We shopped down the beach at the markets, parasailed, went to the manati park. Sunbathed on the beach and the pools. Went to the evening shows and disco, gambled at the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey, USA
Feb 22, 2010

Views about Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro

The beach and ocean is beautiful, we love that there are no rocks in the water. The rooms were super clean and all bathroom areas in the resort were kept clean. The dinner reservation system was horrible. You waste your time upon arrival going to guest services to book dinners at the restaurants only to be told that there are no openings the entire weeek. The woman at guest services was pretty rude too. Luckily,my sister arrived earlier and was able to get some reservations. Even at 7:30 ( the earlier times) the restaurants were 50% empty or more. Why were we told that they were all filled? We have been to other resorts that do not require booking dinners and have never had problems nor had to wait on lines. The computer system they are using to confirm bookings is not accurate nor works well. The room was cleaned super well each day. The grounds were immaculate and the public area bathrooms were spotless. The workers work so hard so please remember to tip well. Unfortunately, and this is horrible- my sister's room the toilet never flushed properly and even with a tiny bit of paper in it would back up and flood the room. Every flush backed up which was disgusting. She and our brother in law were told that all used toilet paper must go into the wastebasket that the toilets were not meant to flush toiletpaper! We had no problem with our toilet. In order of preference we would rate this at 3 1/2 stars, Dreams resorts 4 stars and Excellence Punta Cana 5 stars. Yes, we read the reviews before hand, knew about the distance to the beach, the tram system, the cold food but THE BEACH AND WATER were perfect as were the cleanliness of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We went on the two hour snorkeling trip through the water sports area. It was so much fun!!!!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new england
Mar 8, 2011

great weather and ocean

we were not informed about which pool we could use and were embarrassed on day 2 to be told we had to leave and use a different pool. at that pool the towel guy/ dj asked us to get him free bar drinks, a gin and tonic several times. the music played was rap with language that should not be played in a family setting. the "f" word was quite frequently used in the songs. we would have like to have heard more dominican republic "island type music" our pre paid transfer to and from the hotel to the airport never came to take us back to the airport, so after an hour wait we had to pay another $50.00 to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elite Traveller
New York, NY
Oct 5, 2010

Beautiful Property, Lousy Service

The property was huge and extremely well-kept. Very beautiful. What would have been helpful before we booked, was to be aware that the hotel shared space with 4 other hotels of the same brand. There were places we could not go, pools we could not use, restaurants at which we could not eat, etc. This gave us a weird feeling when we were turned away from such locations. We requested an iron on day 2 or our 7 day stay and when we checked out we still did not receive the iron. This location is strictly for Spanish speakers, if you don't speak Spanish you will have to wing it. The staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. They were clearly not trained in customer service. Some who were helpful were [...]. I would not recommend this brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search