$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EB NJ Traveler
Business
East Brunswick, NJ
Apr 12, 2010

Not a great experience.

Service was not good at all- had to make multiple requests for things like an iron and a coffeemaker in the room, which were clearly missing in the first place. Front desk very unresponsive to any request- no maps available for example. Reservations for special dining were difficult to obtain. There was a cockroach in the room. The maid failed to replace all our towels more than once. This resort was clearly the lowest priced within the property, and it showed. Buffet food was merely adequate, and again service in the dining room was a problem- getting hot water for tea took three or four requests on average. Would NOT return to this hotel or recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katonya hennix
Business
Dominican Republic,Punta Cana
Aug 30, 2014

Family vacation

The food was okay but the bed was too hard and I had to go to customer service because they didn't want to honor the deal that i had I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The entertainment was just okay.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sisi md
Business
Maryland
Sep 22, 2014

Dont ruin your vacation at this place

Hotel is one of 4 or 5 hotels and they all share same grounds. Showers are poorly designed and when you take shower entire floor soaked in water. There is no fan in bathroom so imagine how much it steams. Pools are big and nice but too much activity and its sooo loud, hard to relax. Hotel has small stores owned by local people and you cant walk around with out being harassed by them. They have no price tags on anything. We wanted to buy a bottle of mammajuana and they tried to sell us from $25 which we purchased from hotel's gift shop $10( where they have price tags on items). They have bunch of activity companies for snorkeling, parasailing, dolphin swimming etc and they dont leave you alone not even 5 mins. Good luck relaxing! They bug you all the time and dont accept the answer no. We stayed 4 nights and they told us we can only dine in 2 alacart restaurants but they were booked for 2 weeks. They told us what time and which restaurant we can eat. Booked us in Meditaranean at 6.30pm one evening which was too early to eat for us but we have had no choice. Restaurant had no AC, closed space with couple of windows open. We ate dinner which was really blaahh and left asap because of heat.. Very uncomfortable dining experience! Food is not good in buffet restaurants. Left for hours with out protection so you are most likely to find a fly in it.. The company called Vip for transportation service is a joke. He told us he will leave our pick up time to the room but never did. He gave us his cell and said if we ask for him in the lobby they will find him asap. Unfortunately he was no where to be found. We talked to someone from Soultour which is what i understand is a sister company to Vip. She told us we ll be picked up at 11.15 in the lobby for airport. No one showed up.. We tried to call this Vip rep Victor guy but no one found him.. Only thing they said Victor is not here..They kept sending us from one desk to another. Eventually they said Vip car left and if we pay another $40 they will take us to airport. There were another couple in same situation. I ve had a nervous breakdown and yelled at some people and 30 mins later they sent another car to take us airport. It was very scary because Dominican Republic can be very dangerous place.. Only good thing was servers at the restaurants. Nice friendly people. They went up and beyond to make sure we were having good time and we tipped them very well. Overall, scary experience with airport transportation and poor quality hotel. I will never go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Do not shop from locals!! They will try to screw you.. Go to hotel owned gift shop where you can see prices on everything..

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nnnnnnnnn
Business
Virginia
Sep 22, 2014

Needs Improvement

First off the the pool and the beach was amazing. But, sadly that was the best part of this resort. The food and the room was horrible. Our rooms had flies coming out of the sink in the bathroom. We also bought a safe for the room but that didn't work so we had to call to get that fix, which took about 30 mins. The staff was good for the most part, and they spoke english so that was a plus. We tried to make reservation for the restaurants but it was all full so we only got to try out the Japanese restaurant. The buffets had the same food so it got very repetitive, and the quality of the food was very poor. The buffet had flies flying over there food on certain dishes. There snack bar was disgusting because the food was kept outside in the warm weather and flies were once again around the foods. I would NOT recommend this resort to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the restaurants well ahead or do it asap when you arrive because they do book up quick.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sharum N.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Not What you expect

If you are looking for a beach resort this is not it. Even though they lie and show pictures of the resort on the beach. It is 4 different resorts shown as one. You have to take a 10 minute shuttle to get to the beach each time. There is no room service, they advertise it because one of the 4 resorts have room service. But you would have to take shuttles to just grab a small bite. The rooms had bedbugs and were not clean. The beds were really hard and springs popping out. Over all if you just want to be in a warm place and wast half your trip in shuttles go for it. If you want to relax on the Beach and have some drinks look for something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only good thing about the trip is when we left the resort and went to the dolphin show about 30 minutes from the resort driving. $125 to swim with the dolphins or $35 for just the show. Along with the dolphins they had many other animals to view and pet.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Megan B.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

I was very unhappy

I was looking forward to my vacation away with my boyfriend, from the busy city of NY however after our first day at the resort everything was less than ideal. My boyfriend and I were first told our in room mini bar would be restocked everyday (just some basic items soda, water and coffee). After the first day it was never restocked again. The woman who cleaned our room also never put the blanket back on the bed when she made the room up. Our AC also in our room did not work. Prior to our trip I called to make a reservation at the French restaurant. I was told we were unable to make reservations for the restaurants prior to our arrival but they would make a note of it for us. When we arrived apparently there were several reservations made by people prior to their trips and the restaurants were then unavailable. Because I emailed in advance we were booked at the French restaurants and were told its location. We traveled up and down the resort looking for the restaurants and were told by several ppl different locations. Eventually we were taken to the "Italian Restaurant" which they had changed to the French one and had not notified anyone. We went to a couples massage and the whole time the women were coughing and sneezing...less than relaxing. The staff when asked questions appeared indifferent and often did not know the answer to questions like location of items or who we could ask for help. We were told to meet our travel guide to plan our trip back at a certain time, the man did not come, we were often left wandering the resort looking for someone who knew the answer to our questions. The food overall was really unpleasant and we survived mostly on bread and butter. So overall I would say our experience was very unpleasant, we both were very happy to come home and felt very upset that our trip cost so much and was so unhappy. It wouldn't ever go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MARILYN EXPERIENCED TRAVELER
Business
MILFORD CT
Apr 25, 2011

SMALLER IS BETTER

THE HOTEL WAS WAY TOO BIG AND IMPERSONAL. THE STAFF WAS RUDE AND NOT VERY HELPFUL AT ALL. BESIDES THE FACT HARDLY NO ONE SPOKE ENGLISH THEY WERE UNCARING AND NOT FRIENDLY AT ALL. WE HAD GONE TO CABO LAST YEAR AT THE DREAMS AND THE STAFF AND HOTEL WAS WONDERFUL.IT WAS ABSOLUTE HEAVEN! THIS TIME WE WENT WITH 12 PEOPLE BUT WE COULD NOT GET DINNER ACCOMADATIONS TOGETHER. THE FACT THAT THEY ADVERTISE AS AN ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT IS FAR FROM THE TRUTH. WE WERE NOT ALLOWED IN MANY OF THE RESTURANTS BASED ON THE COLOR OF OUR WRISTBAND. THIS WAS NOT MAD CLEAR TO US BEFORE WE BOOKED OUR RESERVATION. ALL INCLUSIVE TO ME MEANS WE ARE ABLE TO USE "EVERYTHING" THE HOTEL HAS TO OFFER. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE. WE BASICALLY ATE AT BELOW AVERAGE BUFFETS THE ENTIRE 5 DAYS. HOW THEY GOT A 4 STAR RATING IS MIND BOGGLING. BETWEEN THE RUDE UNCOOPERATIVE STAFF, THE HORRIBLE FOOD AND THE AMOUNT OF WALKING U HAD TO DO TO GET FROM OUR ROOM TO THE BEACH I WOULD HAVE TO RATE THIS AS ONE OF MY WORST VACATION. IF IT WASNT FOR HAVING GREAT WEATHER AND BEING WITH WONDERFUL FAMILY AND FRIENDS IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A TOTAL DISASTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DR fan 7
Business
Ohio
Jan 1, 2014

Disappointing

You are restricted to restaurants in your part of the hotel despite the huge complex. Staff was friendly but did not go out of the way as much as staff at other hotels in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beach queen
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 13, 2014

Service surpasses everything else

The staff at this resort were the best. Always friendly and always ready to take care of customers. The room was well below what I would have expected from a 4star resort. The lights didn't all work, the bathroom ceiling was about to fall down and the floors were terribly dirty. And no wash clothes in the bathroom. The beach was great, grounds were impeccable. Should make it more clear how large the property is and if you are staying in the adult only area you cannot escape the kids. The shuttle service was efficient, but it was a sprawling place. The drinks were nothing exciting, very watered down and way too much sugar. All said, it was a great getaway weekend in terms of location and service, but rooms and information about the facility should be upgraded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

go early to buffets because the crowds get bad and not everyone has adequate table and buffet manners. Book the dinners as soon as you arrive to get a chance at good times and places.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tam B.
Business
Clarion, PA
Mar 28, 2014

the weather couldn't have been better!!!!

The resort is beautiful and well manicured! It is a large resort so that is something you want to know before going, if you are looking for a resort that has everything centraly located this is not the resort for you. We enjoyed the pool by the beach and the bar service was good but very limited seclection of alcohol and beer choices. Food was tasteful. after traveling to many resorts one of the downsides I experienced was being bothered to do excursions/pictures, I went there to relax not get pressured to take excursions.Overall it is a beautiful resort and we were treated well by staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

email and set reservations for the a la carte resturants in advance.

Back to menu Return to top