$281 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
225 reviews
Amazing experience

Wow! One of the best vacations ever ! The staff is so friendly and entertaining. I could not... See full review

  • Jersey Cindy
  • Nov 22, 2014
WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the... See full review

  • little Morena
  • Nov 2, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sean in Dallas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2013

Nothing like the pictures

Booked a room for 2 adults and 2 kids and asked for 2 queen bed and got a king size instead. My kids had to sleep on a sofa and they did not want to do anything about it. Booked this hotel because it showed big slides for the kids and fun activities but there weren't any big slides and the kids activity hall is a small room with 2 games and very loud music. Food was ok if you don't mind eating all three meals at the same place every day while you are there. We had no house keeping for 3 days out of the 5 days we were there. I normally don't like to wright these reviews but this place is really really unorganized and you should consider twice before booking in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make dinner reservations before you even arrive at the resort because they don't like giving those out even if the place is empty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paloma R
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 6, 2013

A dissapointment!

Horrible customer service, no sense of urgency. Made the reservation in advance about a month in a half before we arrived and the rooms were not next to one another. After, they made me upset and I requested to speak with a manager who never show up, it took then about a hour to find two rooms at close proximity. The menu is almost the same everyday, except for some variations, the juices taste like water. Not many entertainment choices for adults. The children's water park was excellent. However, overall will not come back or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Water park for the children a five plus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Guest333333333333
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Not so great

Here's what I did not like about this resort: 1) It was too big. Had to walk a long way to the beach or pools or front desk. 2) You could accomplish nothing from your room. If you wanted to do anything, even call to make a reservation for dinner, you had to go to the front desk. This was annoying because the front desk is a 20 minute walk from the beach and 5-15 minute walk from your room. 3) The food was subpar. They had a buffet with a lot of options, but it was not good. The meat was dried out, there was only limited seafood, and it was always crowded. 4) Could not get a chair at the pool or the beach. There were two pools near our room. We could never find an empty chair at them. We would then have to walk to the giant pool at the back of the resort and often not be able to find a chair there either, especially in the shade. Hard to find chairs at the beach too. 5) Staff was not very nice or helpful. The problem with all inclusive is there is no accountability. You have limited options, and no one really tips there, so the staff has no reason to go out of their way for you. 6) I honestly didn't like the guests who were staying here. Most guests apparently come from cultures where standing in lines is not the norm and where it is okay to shove or bump into people without even acknowledging their existence. Part of the reason there were no chairs was because guests would get to the pool at 8am, drop off a towel to claim their chair and then take off to do whatever. They would occupy the chair all day while only using the pool for an hour. Or one family member would reserve 8 chairs, just in case other people showed up, but most of the time they didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
Feb 17, 2010

Disappointed

From check in to making dinner reservations, everything was difficult. Property is huge and we were nearly a mile away from the beach. Food was only average and the buffets were very crowded and much of the food was cold. We take a winter vacation each year but will never return to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Feb 17, 2010

Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro

Wonderful beach, although very crowded. Delightful water--quite warm. Very difficult to get reservations to Non-buffet restaurants. Food in buffets sub-par & a la carte certainly not 1st class. Wait staff provided good service. Rooms often not cleaned by 5PM. I would never give this resort 5 stars[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alvin the Chipmunk
Business
Reading, PA
Jul 26, 2011

Class but not world class

Got an free upgrade to Ambar which is quite and close to the beach and private pool. No drink service at beach. Quality of food is good. Warning do not use CoCo Tours as your transporation. CoCo Tours will waste a lot of your vacation time.The complex is too large, it takes a couple of days to figure out buses and hardly anbody speaks English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Mediterranean Restaurant and order the Chefs Seafood Grill. Take a cab to your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EB NJ Traveler
Business
East Brunswick, NJ
Apr 12, 2010

Not a great experience.

Service was not good at all- had to make multiple requests for things like an iron and a coffeemaker in the room, which were clearly missing in the first place. Front desk very unresponsive to any request- no maps available for example. Reservations for special dining were difficult to obtain. There was a cockroach in the room. The maid failed to replace all our towels more than once. This resort was clearly the lowest priced within the property, and it showed. Buffet food was merely adequate, and again service in the dining room was a problem- getting hot water for tea took three or four requests on average. Would NOT return to this hotel or recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katonya hennix
Business
Dominican Republic,Punta Cana
Aug 30, 2014

Family vacation

The food was okay but the bed was too hard and I had to go to customer service because they didn't want to honor the deal that i had I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The entertainment was just okay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sisi md
Business
Maryland
Sep 22, 2014

Dont ruin your vacation at this place

Hotel is one of 4 or 5 hotels and they all share same grounds. Showers are poorly designed and when you take shower entire floor soaked in water. There is no fan in bathroom so imagine how much it steams. Pools are big and nice but too much activity and its sooo loud, hard to relax. Hotel has small stores owned by local people and you cant walk around with out being harassed by them. They have no price tags on anything. We wanted to buy a bottle of mammajuana and they tried to sell us from $25 which we purchased from hotel's gift shop $10( where they have price tags on items). They have bunch of activity companies for snorkeling, parasailing, dolphin swimming etc and they dont leave you alone not even 5 mins. Good luck relaxing! They bug you all the time and dont accept the answer no. We stayed 4 nights and they told us we can only dine in 2 alacart restaurants but they were booked for 2 weeks. They told us what time and which restaurant we can eat. Booked us in Meditaranean at 6.30pm one evening which was too early to eat for us but we have had no choice. Restaurant had no AC, closed space with couple of windows open. We ate dinner which was really blaahh and left asap because of heat.. Very uncomfortable dining experience! Food is not good in buffet restaurants. Left for hours with out protection so you are most likely to find a fly in it.. The company called Vip for transportation service is a joke. He told us he will leave our pick up time to the room but never did. He gave us his cell and said if we ask for him in the lobby they will find him asap. Unfortunately he was no where to be found. We talked to someone from Soultour which is what i understand is a sister company to Vip. She told us we ll be picked up at 11.15 in the lobby for airport. No one showed up.. We tried to call this Vip rep Victor guy but no one found him.. Only thing they said Victor is not here..They kept sending us from one desk to another. Eventually they said Vip car left and if we pay another $40 they will take us to airport. There were another couple in same situation. I ve had a nervous breakdown and yelled at some people and 30 mins later they sent another car to take us airport. It was very scary because Dominican Republic can be very dangerous place.. Only good thing was servers at the restaurants. Nice friendly people. They went up and beyond to make sure we were having good time and we tipped them very well. Overall, scary experience with airport transportation and poor quality hotel. I will never go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Do not shop from locals!! They will try to screw you.. Go to hotel owned gift shop where you can see prices on everything..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nnnnnnnnn
Business
Virginia
Sep 22, 2014

Needs Improvement

First off the the pool and the beach was amazing. But, sadly that was the best part of this resort. The food and the room was horrible. Our rooms had flies coming out of the sink in the bathroom. We also bought a safe for the room but that didn't work so we had to call to get that fix, which took about 30 mins. The staff was good for the most part, and they spoke english so that was a plus. We tried to make reservation for the restaurants but it was all full so we only got to try out the Japanese restaurant. The buffets had the same food so it got very repetitive, and the quality of the food was very poor. The buffet had flies flying over there food on certain dishes. There snack bar was disgusting because the food was kept outside in the warm weather and flies were once again around the foods. I would NOT recommend this resort to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the restaurants well ahead or do it asap when you arrive because they do book up quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top