$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
225 reviews
Amazing experience

Wow! One of the best vacations ever ! The staff is so friendly and entertaining. I could not... See full review

  • Jersey Cindy
  • Nov 22, 2014
WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the... See full review

  • little Morena
  • Nov 2, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 2, 2011

Good

Hotel was nice...would stay in the Ambar section next time rather than Bavaro. Ambar is closer to the beach and adults only. Hotel employees are super friendly and were pretty good with their English, which was very helpful. Maid service was fine for the most part...although there was one day where we got back to the room at 5:30 PM and it was JUST being cleaned. Other than that it was a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reserve your dinners in the restaurants when you first get there. Although they never book to capacity you're often given limited times to work with. You are allowed 2 dinners at a restaurant for every 4 nights you stay at the resort. Otherwise you eat at the buffets. Although it was suggested to me that the Japanese restaurant was the best I found it lacking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AaronWhitt82
Business
Peru, IL
Dec 20, 2010

Excellent Resort, Weather not so great

I arrived at the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro on 12/12/10 around 4PM. The Weather was cloudy and pouring down rain. It was roughly 45 minutes from the Airport. CHECK IN: Went fairly quickly and the room was ready when I arrived. I did not receive a welcome drink at all. I stayed in the Club Premier section (Villa 45.) The Resort was at 100% capacity when I arrived which I wasn't expecting because I wanted an upgrade to the Diamond or Hacienda section. GROUNDS & ROOM: Everything in the resort was very clean and the grounds & pools were very well kept. There was always workers out trimming bushes, mowing grass, cleaning etc. and everything was beautiful. The rooms were very clean as well and housekeeping did a great job everyday. The bed was a bit hard and I woke up with a stiff back a few of the days. The AC could have been a little colder as well. The water pressure for the shower was kind of low on certain days and higher on others. ACTIVITIES: There was many activities going on during the day around the pools which were pretty fun and exciting. The only thing I didn't like was these guys wearing a uniform with "FRAM" on it would come around and bug you to engage in the activities. I did a few of them, but not all. FOOD: Was pretty good and as other people have said some was cold and some was hot. There was also a lot of the same food each day which I didn't mind even though there was different "themes." I ate at 4 of the Ala Carte's: BBQ, Garden Grill, Italian, & Japanese. They were all excellent and food was very good. ALCOHOL: I'm mostly a beer drinker and the Presidente (on tap) & Brahma (in mini fridge) were really good beers. Some of the higher end alcohol was an extra charge like Jack Daniels, Jim Beam and stuff like that. I did try some of the Mamajuana and that stuff will catch up to ya quick. (Tastes like Jagermeister.) BEACH: It was very crowded and wall to wall people everyday and it was almost impossible to get a sun bed. It is also very narrow. The water was beautiful though and quite warm and was fun to swim in. WEATHER: It was cloudy and overcast for the first 5 days I was there and it did rain on and off in the afternoon for a while. Finally got to see the sun on Friday, Saturday & Sunday for a few hours before I had to leave. Overall I would rank this Resort about 4 out of 5. Many of the employees did not speak English very well and it was hard communicating. This was probably my biggest complaint. I did stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Coba in Riveria Maya last year and would have to say I would prefer it over this one...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fun Buggy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Feb 8, 2011

Good Times

Hotel grounds were beautiful and spacious. It was very much worth to upgrade to the Junior Suite for the private pool and breakfast/lunch separate seatings. The food and the service could have been better but the setting, pool and beach made up for any short comings. Compare to other trips this was very good but not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Upgrade to receive the separate breakfast and lunch seatings near the pool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Feb 7, 2011

Would go again hotel!!!!!!!!!

- Just chilled - convenience shops(i.e. food,snacks) - first trip with husband so it would get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fede
Business
Boston MA
Sep 21, 2011

Great Value All inclusive

Very good place to go and relax. Amenities were impresive and great value for the all inclusive. I reccomend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jun 12, 2010

Lovely DR ...

[...] I decided to visit the resort without opinion. Overall I thought it was a great value for a very relaxing mom-daughter getaway. Based on my weeklong experience at the hotel, below are a few hints/comments that hopefully will be helpful to the next traveler thinking about Grand Principe Bavaro:- )1) If you are not a Spanish speaker, learn at least a few words and phrases in Spanish. It helps around the resort.2) Learn the trolley-shuttle system ... even if you enjoy walking. The property is much too big to manuever without it.3) Bring insect repellent for you (for the obvious reasons) AND bug spray for the room. There are going to be at least a few creepy crawlers (mostly large ants, etc.) that make their way into your room. Some appear because of the openness of the room and access via the balcony ... but the rest are there because I believe the hotel needs to step up their game just a bit (if you know what I mean). The other 4 and 5 star hotels in DR do not seem to have a bugs-in-the-room problem. 4) Keep your wash/face towels (ie do not ask for new ones the next day) if you rely on them to bathe! For some odd reason it is VERY hard to get wash/face towels on a regular basis.5) The staff do not do a very good job of explaining the property's many amenities (or guidelines/policies for that matter)... specifically to the non-advanced Spanish speakers (I relied on high school Spanish to get by). Once you get to your room (hopefully with a drink :-), make sure that you read all printed materials that are handed to you and sitting around in the room so that you understand the rules as well as the opportunites. It took my mother and I two days to find out about the towel policy.And last, do not let the bad reviews scare you away from the Grand Principe Bavaro. It is not even a 1/10th as bad as people claim. The staff are friendly, the food is certainly worth the $$, and everyone just seems to genuinely be having a good time.I would recommend this hotel if this is your first time in DR, if you are traveling with family, if you are participating in a girlfriends (or mom--daughter) getaway, or if you want to bring small children on the trip with you. I would stay away if honeymooning or if you require a lot of quiet/down time ... try Grand Prinicipe Ambar instead (within the same complex).P.S. Just an FYI ... we stayed in the Club Hacienda portion of the hotel, which apparently has a few enhanced services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If looking for fun within the resort, see the Michael Jackson show and visit the karaoke bar (next door to the nightclub).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 11, 2010

Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro

Enjoyable staying, decent food quality for money, friendly staff, plentiful and professional entertainment. Always booked up to the roof so you have to wait until 3PM or later to get into the room. Nice transportation within the hotel. Will be there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Punta Cana and Bavaro (plus few more like Esmeralda and Ambar) seem to be a part of the same hotel but always confused. Bavaro is more remote to the beach but close to the restaurants and theaters. Not a problem since the transportation within the hotel is fairly good. Really 4.5 star hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnfez
Business
Abingdon, Va.
Mar 14, 2010

Bahia Principe

Everything about the hotel was very nice. Everywhere was clean and tidy, and you could see that the highest standard of cleanliness was maintained. Staff were freindly, courteous and helpful.Gardens etc excellent, as was shuttle transportation from the pools. The Diamond reception person was OK but appeared a little indifferent. Not wanting to appear too critical but after a long day's travel, would have apprecited a more friendly reception. Possibly an off day. Also, better information regarding check in location should be provided, to ensure people being directed to the correct location. We were originally sent to the normal check in desk and then transferred to the "Diamond" check in. A little bit annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Mar 19, 2010

great deal for short vacation

The beach in front of Gran Bahia has a water sport center, which is great. The food quality and amenity in bathroom can be improved

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
schwoeb's
Business
Belleville IL
Mar 2, 2010

PUNTA CANA

Beautiful location, nice clean rooms, the swim up bar was fun. Pool games were fun. Ala carte dinners were great. Buffet was a good variety. There was some confusion on where we were able to go with our color of armband but everything else was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top