$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiff Taff
Single
Chicopee, MA
May 28, 2011

Amazing Resort

Everything you need is right here on the resort. Shopping, dancing, pools, beaches!!! The intertainment was outstanding. The grounds of the resort were beautiful. The food could have been a little bit better but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Boston
Feb 22, 2011

Fantastic week in the sun

We stayed in the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana and had a wonderful time. We were there for a wedding but had a great week. Everything from food to nite live was great. There was a great variety of food from restaurants to buffet's. The hotel staff were very helpful too so can't really complain about the hotel. The airport on the return leg was kind of painful. Very busy and unorganized so let plenty of time for your flight

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book the restaurants on your first day and they book up quickly

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liam & Jill
Couples
NC
Feb 22, 2011

Great vacation and resort

Check-in: All the staff were very nice and we had no problems at check-in, only one couple was in line front of us and they had 3 people behind the desk.Our room: There was an odor when we first entered the room, nothing too bad and was gone after a few hours with the fan running and the balcony door open. It was very clean and the maid left really nice towel arrangements on our bed every afternoon (heart shapes, kissing swans), maybe this was because it was valentines week. We had no issues with hot water and there are lots of American channels on the TV. We were located roughly in the center of the resort and walked all the time, except if it was raining. You can walk from the beach to the lobby in about 10 minutes.Pools: We only went to the big pool near the beach. It is very big and was never too crowded. Our only complaint about the hotel is people holding chairs with their towels, both at the pools and at the beach. I would estimate that less than 50% of the chairs had their "owner" at the pool or beach at any given time, but 99% of the chairs have towels on them. If they just confiscated towels that didn't have an owner in the vicinity, I think all chair problems would be eliminated. We got lucky most days and found at least one chair that we could use, but it really is ridiculous. Transportation to/from airport: We used the bus option [...] and had no problems getting the bus from the airport to the hotel. A friend of ours also done this, but her flight got delayed 2 hours. She had to get a taxi as the bus company had left for the day (around 8PM when she got in) by the time she arrived. [...] was our rep at the hotel, and you had to meet him the next morning @ 10AM. I got down there a few minutes before 10 and waited until 10.20 and no sign of him. He called later asking why I didn't turn up, and I explained I did. He says we must have missed each other and that I must go down the next morning. I asked if I can arrange the bus pickup time on the phone, but he says I must do it in person. Long story short, the people we met on the return bus to the airport had the same experience. And the reason for wanting to meet us in person is to try sell us other packages. Our pickup went fine and on time, although they were 40 minutes late for other friends who were on a morning flight.Food: We ate in the buffet every night as my wife is a vegetarian and we figured she would have more choice at the buffet. We were very happen with the selection and quality of the food, although my wife was getting tired of eating pretty much the same thing each day. The beef did tend to be quite tough and 1 night I got a piece of pork that was only half cooked, but I spotted it and didn't eat it. Salads, fruits and desserts were excellent.Overall it was a very pleasant stay and we would stay at this hotel again. I knocked off a star because of the whole towel and chair holding shenanigans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A market appears near the theater twice a week from 4PM to late. We found that we could get most things we wanted for about 1/3 of the initial asking price. Anything we offered less than this we ending up not getting and walking away. Just be prepared to stick to your guns and walk away, there are other stalls to try again.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BARILLAS
Friends
MEXICO CITY
Feb 21, 2011

PUNTA CANA TRIP

Perfect Time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

GOOD FOOD

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gus, great boyfriend and son...
Family
Miami, FL
Aug 13, 2010

Highly Recommend Family Getaway

Rest and Relaxation. EXCELLENT and PEACEFUL. Returning next year...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
new york city
Jan 31, 2010

love this place

I have been there several times, very relaxing, clean, beautiful setting, beach is gorgeous. I will return again, but I must say with all this they nedd to improve on their front desk check-in, this time I waited till 5:30pm for my room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fede
Couples
Boston MA
Sep 4, 2011

Great value All inclusive hotel

Very nice facilities good service and excellent food. Definitively reccomendable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Edmonton, AB
Mar 1, 2011

Fantastic Holiday!

It was our first time in Punta Cana and my friends and I couldn't imagine it being better. The check in was very quick and easy. The resort is gorgeous and VERY big. We found that staff was super friendly and we got excellent service. The rooms were very nice and clean. Buffet had a good variety and quality of food, however it wasn't THE best I've had. Out of a la carte restaurants, I would strongly suggest Spanish restaurant called Meson. It had an awesome selection of VERY tasty food. I would discourage booking French restaurant. We didn't like the food and the portions were very small. We found the bar service and quality of drinks excellent and quick. They also have a little shopping plaza called Pueblo Principe, where they have shops, bars, clubs and stage where they tend to have shows at night. The beach was gorgeous, although it had lots of people. Some people had hard time finding beds on the beach, however we always managed to get good spots for 4 of us. Overall, we really enjoyed the hotel and would definitely recommend it to our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Rochester, NY
Mar 2, 2011

Good

Hotel was nice...would stay in the Ambar section next time rather than Bavaro. Ambar is closer to the beach and adults only. Hotel employees are super friendly and were pretty good with their English, which was very helpful. Maid service was fine for the most part...although there was one day where we got back to the room at 5:30 PM and it was JUST being cleaned. Other than that it was a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reserve your dinners in the restaurants when you first get there. Although they never book to capacity you're often given limited times to work with. You are allowed 2 dinners at a restaurant for every 4 nights you stay at the resort. Otherwise you eat at the buffets. Although it was suggested to me that the Japanese restaurant was the best I found it lacking.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AaronWhitt82
Friends
Peru, IL
Dec 20, 2010

Excellent Resort, Weather not so great

I arrived at the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro on 12/12/10 around 4PM. The Weather was cloudy and pouring down rain. It was roughly 45 minutes from the Airport. CHECK IN: Went fairly quickly and the room was ready when I arrived. I did not receive a welcome drink at all. I stayed in the Club Premier section (Villa 45.) The Resort was at 100% capacity when I arrived which I wasn't expecting because I wanted an upgrade to the Diamond or Hacienda section. GROUNDS & ROOM: Everything in the resort was very clean and the grounds & pools were very well kept. There was always workers out trimming bushes, mowing grass, cleaning etc. and everything was beautiful. The rooms were very clean as well and housekeeping did a great job everyday. The bed was a bit hard and I woke up with a stiff back a few of the days. The AC could have been a little colder as well. The water pressure for the shower was kind of low on certain days and higher on others. ACTIVITIES: There was many activities going on during the day around the pools which were pretty fun and exciting. The only thing I didn't like was these guys wearing a uniform with "FRAM" on it would come around and bug you to engage in the activities. I did a few of them, but not all. FOOD: Was pretty good and as other people have said some was cold and some was hot. There was also a lot of the same food each day which I didn't mind even though there was different "themes." I ate at 4 of the Ala Carte's: BBQ, Garden Grill, Italian, & Japanese. They were all excellent and food was very good. ALCOHOL: I'm mostly a beer drinker and the Presidente (on tap) & Brahma (in mini fridge) were really good beers. Some of the higher end alcohol was an extra charge like Jack Daniels, Jim Beam and stuff like that. I did try some of the Mamajuana and that stuff will catch up to ya quick. (Tastes like Jagermeister.) BEACH: It was very crowded and wall to wall people everyday and it was almost impossible to get a sun bed. It is also very narrow. The water was beautiful though and quite warm and was fun to swim in. WEATHER: It was cloudy and overcast for the first 5 days I was there and it did rain on and off in the afternoon for a while. Finally got to see the sun on Friday, Saturday & Sunday for a few hours before I had to leave. Overall I would rank this Resort about 4 out of 5. Many of the employees did not speak English very well and it was hard communicating. This was probably my biggest complaint. I did stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Coba in Riveria Maya last year and would have to say I would prefer it over this one...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fun Buggy

Back to menu Return to top