$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
282 reviews
Family Vacation july 2014

We all had a wonderful time. All the staff were helpful . Punta Cana Grande Bahia Principe Bavaro... See full review

  • Boggie MD
  • Jul 5, 2014
Fantastic vacation

I keep saying that if you're ever down, go to Punta Cana. The staff is so friendly and happy. They... See full review

  • Fabi B
  • Jun 18, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liam & Jill
NC
Feb 22, 2011

Great vacation and resort

Check-in: All the staff were very nice and we had no problems at check-in, only one couple was in line front of us and they had 3 people behind the desk.Our room: There was an odor when we first entered the room, nothing too bad and was gone after a few hours with the fan running and the balcony door open. It was very clean and the maid left really nice towel arrangements on our bed every afternoon (heart shapes, kissing swans), maybe this was because it was valentines week. We had no issues with hot water and there are lots of American channels on the TV. We were located roughly in the center of the resort and walked all the time, except if it was raining. You can walk from the beach to the lobby in about 10 minutes.Pools: We only went to the big pool near the beach. It is very big and was never too crowded. Our only complaint about the hotel is people holding chairs with their towels, both at the pools and at the beach. I would estimate that less than 50% of the chairs had their "owner" at the pool or beach at any given time, but 99% of the chairs have towels on them. If they just confiscated towels that didn't have an owner in the vicinity, I think all chair problems would be eliminated. We got lucky most days and found at least one chair that we could use, but it really is ridiculous. Transportation to/from airport: We used the bus option [...] and had no problems getting the bus from the airport to the hotel. A friend of ours also done this, but her flight got delayed 2 hours. She had to get a taxi as the bus company had left for the day (around 8PM when she got in) by the time she arrived. [...] was our rep at the hotel, and you had to meet him the next morning @ 10AM. I got down there a few minutes before 10 and waited until 10.20 and no sign of him. He called later asking why I didn't turn up, and I explained I did. He says we must have missed each other and that I must go down the next morning. I asked if I can arrange the bus pickup time on the phone, but he says I must do it in person. Long story short, the people we met on the return bus to the airport had the same experience. And the reason for wanting to meet us in person is to try sell us other packages. Our pickup went fine and on time, although they were 40 minutes late for other friends who were on a morning flight.Food: We ate in the buffet every night as my wife is a vegetarian and we figured she would have more choice at the buffet. We were very happen with the selection and quality of the food, although my wife was getting tired of eating pretty much the same thing each day. The beef did tend to be quite tough and 1 night I got a piece of pork that was only half cooked, but I spotted it and didn't eat it. Salads, fruits and desserts were excellent.Overall it was a very pleasant stay and we would stay at this hotel again. I knocked off a star because of the whole towel and chair holding shenanigans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A market appears near the theater twice a week from 4PM to late. We found that we could get most things we wanted for about 1/3 of the initial asking price. Anything we offered less than this we ending up not getting and walking away. Just be prepared to stick to your guns and walk away, there are other stalls to try again.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heidi Nichelle
Hanmer, On
Feb 9, 2014

great time with family and friends

Aside from being slow at check in we were treated great. The staff were awesome. They made you feel welcome, the food was good, the rooms clean and cozy (need new mattress's) the beach was relaxing, and the drinks were refreshing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rita the Situation
NY
Aug 3, 2013

Birthday Bash

Travelers need to have printed vouchers for all transfers, hotel accommodations or excursions. VIP (transfer) and the hotel had my name registered, but they required the actual paper voucher/proof. My name was listed, clearly it was prepaid and additional payment shouldn't be requested. None was paid. A good Samaritan helped. Please advise future travelers to print all necessary vouchers/information. Your service remains outstanding. Not discouraged from traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Prepay and have printed vouchers.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ran and Nan
Stockbridge, Georgia
Dec 20, 2012

Great second Honeymoon getaway

We had an awesome time at the Bahia Principe Bavaro. The resort was great and we were overwhelmed with the size of the property. We liked the idea there was plenty to do within our 5 night stay. We are so glad we chose this resort and would definately go back and recommend to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Many dining choices to choose from.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiffany Active Couple
Saint Albans, Vermont
Mar 22, 2014

Amazing getaway

My spouse and I had a wonderful experience here! The buffet food was actually better than I expected with quite a bit of variety. The one downfall was that we couldn't get into the restaurants that we wanted, we only got into one that we were interested, the other three were picked for us. The resort is extremely large and very confusing at first but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our overall experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Call to reserve the restaurants prior to arriving at the resort. Otherwise, you will end being stuck with what they give you. I tried to call to do this but kept getting transferred or hung up on, I should've been more persistent because we only got one restaurant we wanted and most of our dinner reservations were at 9 pm.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york city
Jan 31, 2010

love this place

I have been there several times, very relaxing, clean, beautiful setting, beach is gorgeous. I will return again, but I must say with all this they nedd to improve on their front desk check-in, this time I waited till 5:30pm for my room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exoticmomma
Calgary, Alberta
Dec 10, 2012

Was ok

Constantly harassed by sales staff to buy timeshares. Rooms all had issues, staff are very lazy, place was clean and lots of amenities but very expensive and everyone wants to nickel and dime you. So big you will get lost in it and very unorganized

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When you book an attraction, book with guest services and ask for a group discount..... also, make sure they tell you restrictions as we found out restrictions once on the cruise and couldn't get our $$ back.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jan 7, 2010

OK

When we checked in we had to wait for 3 hours to get a room! Wearing our northern climate clothes for 3 hours in 90 degree weather was most unpleasant. Every time we went to check if our room was ready, the representative at the desk was not pleasant. We enjoyed the colossal size of this hotel and our room was very nice, however, when the place lacks any kind of customer service it overshadows all the positive elements. It seemed like the staff were annoyed with their work, with the visitors and definitely with any service they had to provide. We asked 3 times to get a new TV remote, b/c ours was broken, it never happened. Food is OK, although we did have upset stomachs for 2 days, but the non-alcoholic drinks were horrible. The juices are not natural. I asked for ice tea and was brought the artificial kind made from dissolving powder in hot water. The staff spoke very little English and would swear at us under their breath in Spanish when they didn't understand us. Simple words like tea and hot water was a challenge for them to understand. One staff member at the pool gave us a hard time by pretending that he didn't understand what I wanted (bus schedule) but when he realized that I wanted to take the bus to a park that he was selling tickets for, he right away changed to perfect English as he was about to earn commission. Finally, they wouldn't check us out! They didn't give reason, but we had to wait for half hour to get checked out. Our shuttle to the airport almost left us behind. Would not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
TX
Jan 21, 2010

Principe

Beautiful place, nice staff (helps to speak Spanish) but has thousands of guests so pools and beach are packed if there is a high occupancy. Food is mediocre but not awful, not too different from most DR all inclusives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jan 7, 2010

OK

When we checked in we had to wait for 3 hours to get a room! Wearing our northern climate clothes for 3 hours in 90 degree weather was most unpleasant. Every time we went to check if our room was ready, the representative at the desk was not pleasant. We enjoyed the colossal size of this hotel and our room was very nice, however, when the place lacks any kind of customer service it overshadows all the positive elements. It seemed like the staff were annoyed with their work, with the visitors and definitely with any service they had to provide. We asked 3 times to get a new TV remote, b/c ours was broken, it never happened. Food is OK, although we did have upset stomachs for 2 days, but the non-alcoholic drinks were horrible. The juices are not natural. I asked for ice tea and was brought the artificial kind made from dissolving powder in hot water. The staff spoke very little English and would swear at us under their breath in Spanish when they didn't understand us. Simple words like tea and hot water was a challenge for them to understand. One staff member at the pool gave us a hard time by pretending that he didn't understand what I wanted (bus schedule) but when he realized that I wanted to take the bus to a park that he was selling tickets for, he right away changed to perfect English as he was about to earn commission. Finally, they wouldn't check us out! They didn't give reason, but we had to wait for half hour to get checked out. Our shuttle to the airport almost left us behind. Would not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top