$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom from Wisconsin
Business
Waterford, WI
Apr 13, 2010

Beatiful resort, great pool and beach

Very beautiful resort. The facilities were great. Very clean, imaculate grounds. Pool was great, very close to the ocean. The beach was great as well. Very clean, sandy beach. Food was average. Service at the resort was average. Had a lot of employees, but not the most friendly and outgoing to make your resort experience special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steakhouse food was great. Skip the Barbeque alacart. Nice breakfast buffet on the beach at the snackhouse. Food at the regular buffet was not always warm, rather bland tasting.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buda
Business
Vega Baja, PR
Aug 4, 2010

Punta Cana 2010

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nene Briceño
Business
Santiago chile
May 22, 2011

excelent for families

Nice place, good transportation to beach and lobby, good food!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 2, 2011

Punta Cana Bahia Principe Bavaro

Staff doesn't speak English. There was a lot of confusion in regards to moving to another room, since part of my family was leaving and I had booked a separate room for an extra day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Adventurous Mom
Business
Chicago, il
Aug 4, 2011

Excellent time!

The hotel was beautiful itself. They provided trains that would take you to your villas, since it is a huge place. There were restaurants and pools scattered throughout the resort. In the resort itself they have what's called "pueblito" which means small town, where you can do some shopping and they had nightly entertainment as well. In the pueblito they had bars, nightclubs, and a casino as well. I really enjoyed watching the different shows at night. The staff there are amazing! Like I mentioned before in order to get around the resort there are train stops that you wait in, or you can just walk. Everyone in the resort was friendly and helpful. Most of the staff speak other languages as well, that was very convenient. There was always a variety of food among the buffets as well. Because this is a tropical island there were plenty of mosquitos, ants, and other bugs in the rooms. Me and my daughter got bitten at night as we slept. I recommend to bring mosquito repellent! Other than the bug issue, we had a really good and memorable time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

You can easily get frustrated when shopping in the pueblito where the vendors are. They each try to lure you in to buy something from their stand. I suggest if you don't want to deal with the vendors that are in the middle of the plaza, walk along the front of the stores and stay on that path.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mkre
Business
Gran Bahia Bavaro
Aug 14, 2011

Bahia

It was a very nice resort. A lot of seaweed at the beach, but i think that was because of a storm that was coming. Otherwise it was very pleasent. Food was sub-par, but it's what you would expect at an all inclusive resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summer7
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Dec 23, 2011

Incredible Vacation!

I first want to say our vacation was absolutely incredible! The Dominican people work very hard to keep the tourists happy. The language is Spanish and it can be a little difficult with not speaking anything but English but my daughter and I always managed to find an person who spoke some English. We both learned a few Spanish words that went a long way to getting what we needed. As for the hotel room itself we stayed in the Bavarro( orange bracelet) building 5 the top floor which was the 3rd floor (no elevator) and the view was overlooking the pool. It was very quiet for us. If you hate noise make sure you say you want a room away from the main road. The maid did a great job and kept our fridge stocked with pop, and waters. We left her notes of what we wanted and brought presents from the dollar store(for hair and toiletries) and children’s toys and games and art things. We left her something each day with a dollar and bubblegum candy canes. At the end we gave her $10.00 The beach was exceptionally clean and beautiful, it was very warm when we went in the week of December 14-21, 2011. It is a bit rough at times and the waves could take you out far, if you have children it would be smart to bring a life jacket for them if you can. This beach was the most beautiful beach I have ever saw in my life! You will not be disappointed! We did not do any excursions this trip! I would recommend bring $40.00 and 1.00 bills as the Dominican is a place that a tip goes a long way. We did tip a few times in the dining room for supper and the staff will always remember you and take care of you. From the second we got off the plane people were running to us to get our money. At the airport they charge you $10.00 each just to enter their country. Be careful to not go with the wrong shuttle as we almost did. They are forceful and pushy at the airport to take you with them and the chaos can be confusing. We booked through O and we thought our shuttle was paid for and we found out soon enough we were not on the list, it was a $30.00 ride from the airport and then $25.00 ride back to the airport. Make sure your travel agency sends you a paper voucher for the shuttles or you will be paying! The hotel “ shopping” is overpriced and ridiculous, I would recommend to bring lots of snacks with you as we did, as a bag of chips is $7 to 10 a bag. The sunscreen is $25 and 30 dollars. I would recommend 2 to 3 bottles depending on family size, we used almost two bottles just for my daughter and I. The shuttles are awesome and take you to the beach from your hotel. Or just about anywhere. My only complaint: As for the food well being a diabetic their was no dessert that was sugarless and they were all loaded with sugar, I am also a vegetarian and the choices were very limited and by the end of the week we were both sick of the repetition and tired of the food. And meat was in almost everything including salads. The hotel needs to do better with the food as perhaps having a table strictly for vegetarians. As when I had an omelette made I gave the guy my plate ( as we have to)I put the vegetables and cheese on and he mixed it in the same bowl as with the other hotel guests that had ham. Needless to say I had ham in my what was suppose to be vegetarian omelette, I never ate it. I even had him do it again and said no meat, he did the same mistake and then made it in the same bowl. Jewish people and vegetarians could not eat the omelettes. This needs improving! Yuri is a wonderful lady with a beautiful smile at the front door at the buffet( Bavarro) and when I requested fruit to take to my room as I am diabetic she was more than happpy to get it for me. Thank-you Yuri! All in all the week was amazing and I would go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For people with diabetes, their were no desserts that were sugarless and the food was limited if you were vegetarian. By the end of the week we were eating the same things.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdawgy209
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Second time as good as the first

second time around with a bunch of friends from college and it was a blast. the food is above average, which is about what you can expect for an all-inclusive place. pools are clean, beaches are clean, and a $1 tip here or there and the staff will load you up with mixed drinks that are quite hearty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RB9562
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Gigantic beach resort

The most important thing to know about this resort is that you must be prepared for a huge "complex" - this is really something like 5 hotels grouped into one. There are a bunch of different lobbies and buffets (which are all different bracelet access levels). I'm writing this from the perspective of a 26 yr old guy who went down with a group of college friends. We had a great trip, the staff is overly friendly and nice (in a good way). It will be noticeable how friendly they are on your first day. I speak a little Spanish, but you can get around with no issues if you speak none at all. We all thought food was pretty good, buffets and the reservation restaurants. You are not going to be wowed the way you would at some $20+/plate restaurant in the US but the food will not disappoint either. The beaches are beautiful and the pools are clean. Weather was perfect in the middle of Feb, 80s and mostly sunny every day. We checked out a couple of shows which were pretty good. If you are out late drinking it seems like they funnel you towards the middle/back of the resort where there is a karaoke bar, then the disco club. These are all relatively popular but still fairly tame. After the Disco closes up ~2:00 AM they do have a beach bar that is still open which you can get to via the drunk tram right around 2:00. This is a nice concept that they keep this open for another couple hours for people not wanting to call it quits right at 2:00. IMPORTANT --- As far as the all-inclusive stereotype that drinks are watered down goes: it doesn’t apply here. Maybe with some of the daily specials etc. but if you order a rum and coke you can watch them as they fill it ~50/50. People who are really looking for a serious party are going to need to go off resort to one of the clubs (discos) in the area (Imagine, Mangu, Oro). Overall I give this hotel great remarks, the scenery, architecture, landscaping, and presentation are all very high level for what you pay. I would recommend against Ambar, it is much lower key, the only thing you are paying for is proximity to the beach (which I would argue is not worth the price). If you are quiet and secluded this is probably not the spot for you. You get a lot for the low prices you pay to book this resort so I would fully recommend it to those without outrageous expectations. If you expect more than this from a hotel/resort YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE TO PAY MORE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach snack bar serves til 4am and beyond...

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
granbahiawithfriends
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Lots of fun, lots of options

This resort definitely had variety and lots of choices. There were lots of bars, pools, places to eat and they were all spread out through the resort so there was always something near by. The food at the buffet got boring pretty quickly but we took advantage of making reservations at the resort restaurants so that made dinners much more enjoyable. The most annoying thing was the pools closing at 6pm. That was way too early for our group. Other than that the only criticism I have is the staff was never on the same page. People were always leading us in opposite directions which was a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The japanese restaurant and mexican restaurant were delicious!

Back to menu Return to top