$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 22, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
218 reviews
Great experience for a lone traveler

I was a little nervous about traveling to another country by myself. But I have the most wonderful... See full review

  • LoneLady traveler
  • Oct 4, 2014
Punta Cana was gorgeous!!

It was so perfect...staff was wonderful, room clean and comfortable, food excellent - - just a... See full review

  • Just Susan
  • Sep 28, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kamille16
Business
Florida
Apr 22, 2014

Bad experience

I went to this hotel for my honeymoon, and nobody knows the it was out honeymoon. Not only that, but also the refrigerator doesnt work it was empty, aircondition it was no working, and bed its horrible to sleep. Also we told everythig to the guest service and nobody did anything. They said they fixed everything but it was the same. Staff it was some good another one horrible. Also the day the we have to leave the guy in the front desk called us because our taxi it was there to pick up. The taxi it was 20 minutes early because they told the taxi the it was a 3:20 when it was suppost at 3:40. I explain everything to the guy the it was in the front dest to told the taxi about the time we try out best to be ready. We were in another hotel and we have to walk with our bags to another hotel it was noboday to help us with our bags and at the time we went to the other hotel to pick up the taxi which we paid because it was VIP transportation theTaxi left wtihout us and we have to paid again double for another taxi. I think this is no fear and the service it was horrible with the guy in the front desk he was with attitude to us and said a lot of think, and we also speak Spanish so we can communicate very good because Spanish it is our principal language. Obset with this hotel because it was expensive to for one all inclusive to get a bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Georgia Clay
Business
Georgia
Jan 3, 2013

Poor staff and terrible food - Do Not Go Here!!

The food was terrible at each restaurant. It was not fresh and had terrible flavor. The food was old and often hard. Each restaurant had terrible service. We often waited 20 minutes on drinks at times. The people were not friendly and many were not either English or fluent Spanish speakers. This is due to many Haitians working at the resort. No one understood their role as a server and it was clear they weren't trained. They had no concept of the money spent and that it was a time for me to relax and enjoy my vacation. The entire trip cost around $4,200.00 with flight. It was my Christmas present to my girlfriend and myself. A lot of money to be spent. I was very dissatisfied with the entire trip and happy when I left because the stress it caused to be at the Gran Bahia. I had high expectations and I was let down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ADAVE
Business
ORLANDO, FL
Jul 7, 2013

summer vacation. with group of 17 people

GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.////////////////////this is a busy property. their main restuarant is very crowded/ because 4 other hotels are attached to this property - so everyone has access to lunch/dinner// over 1000 rooms. bring Mosquito Spray. we had to put it on, while we slept - the nightly shows are good, but you must get there 1hour before, since there are not enough seats for hotel occupents. 99% of the staff does not speak any english or does not care. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

STAY AWAY..FROM THE MAIN RESTUARANT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jo Jo 10
Business
Bahia Principe Bavaro - Punta Canta DR
Dec 18, 2013

I would never recommend this hotel!

I had sent an email 1 week prior confirming my arrival. I checked in at 3pm on 12/12- check in time is 3pm. They did not have a room for me. They made me wait for 1 hour! When I checked back- they did not have 2 beds which I REQUESTED in my email and in the reservation. When we arrived at the room it was dirty! The maid was cleaning it. It went down hill from there. They charged $15 an hour for Internet it never worked, $20 for a safe that did not lock and close. I had to carry my passport, IPAD around all day! We had to beg for towels every day! I had to get a business fax on the 14th - forget it- they did not know where the fax was!!! I had to postpone my business until I returned. The funny thing is that I have been in the hotel business for 30 years and traveled all over the world. I have never experienced this bad overall incompetence from hotel staff!! I will go out of my way to tell all my friends and business associates not to use this hotel. By the way - I slept on a cot for my entire stay!! I am not sure about using your company again for my future travel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mervin R
Business
ca
Sep 13, 2010

Smoking Haven

The Hotel should have been great if they have a designated place for the smokers..You will feel like you are in las vegas hotel when you are in their lobby because there are a lot of people who smokes there. The staff in the buffet have some attitude also not friendly specially the greeters who hands you the cleansing gel..When your leaving early be aware , when you dial the front desk no body is answering the phone, we have to walk from our villa to the front desk. And you will not be greeted with good morning but with frowning faces... The Place was good , there are just things that have to be refined, specially the staff who are unfriendly... if you dont like smoking please beware..Bring some insect repellant ,definitely...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Niknyc
Business
New York, NY
Jan 19, 2010

Don't even bother...

I've traveled to Punta Cana every year for the past eight years and this was the worst (and only) terrible experience. The staff was completely unfriendly and inhospitable. Check in time was 3pm but were not able to get into my room until 6pm and it was still dirty. Tried to make dinner res for my bday but was not able to. I begged the manager for a res but he refused and told me to eat at the buffet. Staff is miserable and it shows. Hotel is too big and poorly managed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Feb 3, 2010

We got sick...family hit by hotel bus

My husband and I got sick at this hotel. We had [*] for several days. My brother-in-law was knocked over by the hotel owned bus and was bruised. Hotel did not even say sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila Pa
Jan 14, 2010

Not my favorite island

Check in was a hot mess. Disorganized and haphazard. Over crowded with pushy Europeans who acted like they owned the whole place. I was pushed multiple times or they would just blatently butt in front of lines and then look at you as if you were the crazy one. If you don't speak Spanish this is not the place for you. Never ever been to an All-Inclusive where the drinks were so obviously watered down. If you want a decent drink it will cost you more money. Food was always cold and even the "Good Restaurants" were no better than the average American chain. Don't expect tasty seasoned Island food. Expect European food that you have never seen before, over cooked seafood and under cooked chicken and beef. Cost $76 for a cabs to and from the airport. Drove so fast I feared for my life. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Wouldn't go back. Too many other nice places to go. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Happy to be back in the states
Business
Washington state
Feb 17, 2010

Still fresh in my mind

The front desk staff sent us all over the resort to get what we needed. When we had a concern, it was someone else's problem. I heard a guest tell the front desk "horrible management" as he left, all the front desk guy said was "I agree, have a nice trip home." Guest Services sort of chuckled when we said that we had no luggage because the airline had sent it to another island. We had to spend $400 on one change of clothes because the stores are so expensive. Our seats at the buffet were given away when we got up to get a plate so we had to wander around with our plates to get a new table. The servers kept forgetting to bring our drinks. The shuttle service guy told us we had to be ready to go at 4am for an 8am flight, so we got there and waited an hour and a half at the airport before it opened. The toilet ran constantly in the room, the shower flooded the bathroom, and the minibar was stocked once when I cornered the maid and she gave me drinks from other rooms. If you stop the servers and tell them what you want, they are great, but don't expect it to be brought to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Pack a carry on. We didn't get our clothing for three days and the airport staff kept saying they would call and update us but never did. I made some local calls and the front desk charged $2. They didn't give the clerk a cash drawer so he had to pull money out of his own wallet to make change for me. The cab driver didn't have change either, so he ended up with a 100% tip. Clever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 11, 2011

Very decieving,what you see is not what

The main hotel what you see on the pictures is very good but the area of the hotel where they place you [...] is not even on the hotel pictures it would be a few inches above the actual photos you see in the descriptions. Security at entrance to hotel took 15 minutes to get thru, Front desk very rude and in attentive. Rest of staff was friendly and helpful enough but not enough to overcome the bait and switch with the rooms and the security and front desk issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top