$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
218 reviews
Great experience for a lone traveler

I was a little nervous about traveling to another country by myself. But I have the most wonderful... See full review

  • LoneLady traveler
  • Oct 4, 2014
Punta Cana was gorgeous!!

It was so perfect...staff was wonderful, room clean and comfortable, food excellent - - just a... See full review

  • Just Susan
  • Sep 28, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jennyjennyc
Business
New York city
Feb 22, 2014

Perfect vacation

I had a wonderful stay at this resort. The grounds are beautiful and very clean. The room was average nothing great but that doesn't bother me since I was barely in the room. The staff was very friendly but it is hard to communicate with them since most don't speak any English. I didn't think the food was that good but I'm from new York where we have the best food so I wasn't expecting it to be that great. The beach area is gorgeous I had no problem getting a spot on the beach or at the pool. But I was there by 830 every morning. I would definitely stay here again the beach is large and there are plenty of pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tg56
Business
Punta Cana
Mar 1, 2014

great trip

I had a great time at this hotel. I met a lot of nice people. Me and my friends will come back very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama Juana Chica
Business
Hershey, pennslyvania
Apr 1, 2014

Will go back again and again!

I've stayed here twice now and it was even a better time the second time around! Very nice people and so relaxing! There's plenty of things to do and hotel entertainers that keep the party going at all times. The rooms are spacious and clean and the food is always good and plentiful. The beach was a good walk from our room since the resort is so huge but we could take a shuttle every few minutes back and forth. The beach itself was unbelievably beautiful and the pool bar was maybe too much fun. I will be back again ASAP. Great time here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sara Brenan
Business
New York
Apr 8, 2014

Very nice for family or couples

Had very good time although with two small kids. Had entertainment every night - family oriented and others. Would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
terri retired
Business
huntley,il
Jan 21, 2010

gran principle bavaro

because language was a problem, it was difficult to get directions or ask for an explanation. We needed things restocked in the mini bar routinely. Once we asked for it to be corrected it was done immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 24, 2010

Trip worth taking

Had a great time. The resort is huge... The food was excellent with many choices.. The staff was excellent.. fun and friendly. The only thing i would suggest is to take along washcloths.. the resort has everything but washcloths.. Had a great time ..will go back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diana y juan
Business
queens, new york
Oct 4, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price"

the resort is fantastic everything its beautiful the food is delicious, all the employees were friendly. it was the perfect place for a vacation. the only badd thing was the weather which didn't help so much b/c it was raining but still we had a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
a.j.m
Business
nj
Sep 5, 2011

fantastic getaway

this resort was amazing! more then what i was expecting recomend to anyone looking to go to punta cana

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure to make reservations the day you get to the resort! restuarants get filled up really quick

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tvoya2006
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Loved it! coming back soon!

Huge resort, rooms are always well maintained and cleaned. Service was amazing from checking in to checking out, very fast and no problems at all. The beach is beautiful although little overcrowded, but we always find a place to lay in the sun. Food was OK but I never care for that. There are plenty stuff to do, entertaining group was awesome. Club is good though closes too early - at 2 am. Lots of people, so if you are looking for quiet and peaceful place - not for you! Coming back in June!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We stayed at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro - Premier. Rooms are close to entertainment but we had to take bus to get to the beach - it was 8-10 min ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SBH2
Business
Lewes, DE, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Another Perfect Vacation

This was our second time staying at this particular resort. We loved it so much the first time we decided to go again. Everything was perfect from the weather to the food. Our room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. We ate at three of the a la carte restaurants and were blown away by them! (Especially El Pescador). The food was incredible, even at the buffets (we ate at all 3). One of our favorite things about this resort is definitely the staff. They are always ready with a warm, genuine smile. Another thing we love about this resort is the size. A lot of people we talked to complained about it being too big, but we loved the nice walk to the beach from our villa. We would definitely recommend this resort to our friends and family and anybody else who is looking for a nice, relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

For those who want to go to the beach and are staying at either the Punta Cana or Bavaro resorts, take the trams if you don't like/want to walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top