$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
243 reviews
Amazing trip!

After not being on vacation for 4 years this is exactly what I needed. The staff was always... See full review

  • Samantha J.
  • Jul 24, 2015
fantastic get away, great resort and staff. We world would definitely return! Maria was a FANTASTIC!

This resort was fantastic. We had an awesome time and experience. All the staff were EXTREMELY... See full review

  • brad
  • Jul 21, 2015
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Property features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Nearby attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 243
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samantha J.
Business
N/A
Jul 24, 2015

Amazing trip!

After not being on vacation for 4 years this is exactly what I needed. The staff was always friendly, the food delicious, and the grounds were BEAUTIFUL. The nightlife was more than fun, I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to go on vacation & I would love to go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brittany C.
Business
N/A
May 21, 2015

FANTASTIC first time to DR

This was an exceptional hotel, myself and my roommate were looking to get away and have a great place to relax that also had activities and this resort has a fantastic balance of both. The staff is super friendly and helpful with any and every need you have and we had a beyond amazing time. We went to the discoteca and karaoke bar every night and participated in beach olympics, dance lessons, beach yoga and so many activities each and every day. The food was great (buffet & restaurants that have reservations) and we're already planning our next trip back! HIGHLY recommend for all ages

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fritzy
Business
Dorchester
Jan 6, 2015

It was okay for the price

The hotel is huge. if you want more accommodations you have to stay in a different section of the resort. Bravo was okay for the price you get. The food was not the best. You also have to tell the staff if you want liquor in your drink. Everybody does things for a tip. It was worth the price but not the best place you can stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JaneM 49
Business
Niagara Falls On
Nov 24, 2014

Fabulous

Had a great week there last week. Food is great , taste, variety, presentation. Drinks excellent. My second time here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Teppanyaki steak house was amazing.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
little Morena
Business
Mass
Nov 2, 2014

WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the negatives were true, the staff was phenomenal always made sure that everything was up to par. i will be coming back here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

all attractions are beautiful and worth it

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LanaB
Business
DC
Oct 23, 2014

Bahia Principe

I have to say that the overall the experience was very nice and for the price we paid it was great. Resort is located within 30 min drive from the airport. Here are the details of why I gave only three stars to the property: The grounds are very well maintained, with that little special touch of sun imprints and pictures everywhere! I thought that was adorable! Several pools, swim-up bars, restaurants, hangout areas. Great! Using those amenities is another story. Pools ran out of towels quite often. The resort does not have a shuttle service to and from the airport so you have to book your own. We worked with one of companies that provides shuttle service and it worked out just fine. Our room, although nice, was not cleaned properly. The floors were never! cleaned with soap and water (even though outside grounds were) - our feet were so dark from walking around barefoot in the room it was embarrassing and we could not wash that dirt off! Only after we got back and I got a spa pedicure it came off. The shower, sink, and toilet all needed replacement. We could not switch between the tap and the shower head in the bath completely. Water was running from both at all times and it was difficult to shower because the pressure was low. Sink tap was so difficult to use, we had to use both hands to turn it on/off. Toilet flush button was constantly getting stuck and there's no ventilation in the bathroom. Staff - nice and friendly - but not very helpful. They either didn't know anything, or gave conflicting information. However I have to say thanks to Guest Services Rep. who went out of his way to help me with writing a letter to the restaurants in Spanish because I have allergies to make sure I don't get sick! The beach area was very clean and supplied with enough long-chairs. So was the pool. The pool deck can get very slippery when wet so be careful walking around. The bartenders were nice and attentive. The place felt like a land of plenty! Food, drinks, entertainment! I was particularly impressed with food selection, was very worried about it because of numerous allergies, but had no issues and did not feel left out! It was a great vacation with minor set backs. I gave three starts only because we didn't get to fully enjoy the entertainment program because of being misinformed and I like my room floors clean. :-) Overall, I liked the place and would recommend. Maybe we would've had a different experience if it was not our first time in Dominican Republic. ADVICE: Research in advance, make all arrangements as soon as you arrive and most importantly ENJOY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can bargain! Also be prepared to pay triple compared to US prices if you run out of a sun block.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nnnnnnnnn
Business
Virginia
Sep 22, 2014

Needs Improvement

First off the the pool and the beach was amazing. But, sadly that was the best part of this resort. The food and the room was horrible. Our rooms had flies coming out of the sink in the bathroom. We also bought a safe for the room but that didn't work so we had to call to get that fix, which took about 30 mins. The staff was good for the most part, and they spoke english so that was a plus. We tried to make reservation for the restaurants but it was all full so we only got to try out the Japanese restaurant. The buffets had the same food so it got very repetitive, and the quality of the food was very poor. The buffet had flies flying over there food on certain dishes. There snack bar was disgusting because the food was kept outside in the warm weather and flies were once again around the foods. I would NOT recommend this resort to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the restaurants well ahead or do it asap when you arrive because they do book up quick.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skydive25
Business
Dominican Republic
Aug 15, 2014

it doesn't get any better then this.

The staff where amazing people they will make you feel at home and always make your day happy...I loved every minute of it...the food was amazing I had everything I could it from all over the world food was galore :))) entertainment everyday and sunny everyday not a day went by that rained...believe me it doesn't get better then this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fabi B
Business
North Providence, RI
Jun 18, 2014

Fantastic vacation

I keep saying that if you're ever down, go to Punta Cana. The staff is so friendly and happy. They are so welcoming and make you feel taken care of. We were at Villa 47 which is the farthest away but there are trolleys. We wanted to maximize time so we just walked from the main lobby (bavaro) to our room in about 5 minutes. My only difficulty was that I wish there was more lighting in our particular room. I noticed this wasn't a problem in other rooms like villas 23 and 95. 24 hours of food and drinks. Great activities. The disco was fun. Even fellow vacationers were awesome. We had a GREAT time and will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girl trip 2014
Business
Windham, New Hampshire
Apr 2, 2014

Girl trip 2014

On arrival check in went well, the staff can speak English which is a plus. You have to purchase use of a safe, I didn't like that. Our room was big and the bathroom is roomy. The premiere area had a buffet, pool with pool bar, lobby and bar. Overall pretty good. it didn't matter that it was the farthest from the beach as there are bus stops and trams regularly. You have to use the trams to get around, the place is huge! Plenty to do and you'll never be thirsty and hungry! The beach is amazing and the big pools in the front of the beach were great, big, clean and fun! They were overbooked when we went so all the alacart restaurants were booked and we only did the buffets which we decent! But we were getting bored with them after a week. We were there the 1st week 3/2014 and the weather was great... 81*-84*. The water is warm and the waves are just perfect! It's a girl trip I do every year with the same girls and we all loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You'll have to take the trams.... To big to walk!

Back to menu Return to top