$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DR fan 7
Business
Ohio
Dec 9, 2013

Not truly all inclusive

Despite the fact it claims to be all inclusive there are lots of hidden costs - wifi (anywhere besides the lobby where you can get 60 min free per 24 hours), higher end liquors, the safe in your room ($4/day). You also have to have reservations for any restaurants other than the buffets even if they are not full. The beach is about a 7-10 minute tram ride away or a much longer walk. Our room was by the pool which was often noisy (loud music) from about 10a-6p every day because their animation team is constantly doing activities. While the activities are nice while you're at the pool, we could hear about all of them from our room with doors closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRE Mimi
Business
Punta Cana
Dec 5, 2013

good family fun

It's a good place too spend time as a family but if your a couple looking for a gateway select somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

food is not all that good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paloma R
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 6, 2013

A dissapointment!

Horrible customer service, no sense of urgency. Made the reservation in advance about a month in a half before we arrived and the rooms were not next to one another. After, they made me upset and I requested to speak with a manager who never show up, it took then about a hour to find two rooms at close proximity. The menu is almost the same everyday, except for some variations, the juices taste like water. Not many entertainment choices for adults. The children's water park was excellent. However, overall will not come back or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Water park for the children a five plus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noah's mom2
Business
NE PA
Aug 26, 2013

Beach getaway

The beach was beautiful. Soft sand and warm clear water. Water sports were very fun. There were many different pools and they were warm and clean. The rooms were average. Clean, except for the tiny ants that were everywhere. Got about 30 mosquito bites in 6 days. Bring bug spray and bug cream. Pay the couple of extra bucks for the hacienda club. Your room will be close to the beach and you get an extra night in the fancy restaurants. Buffet was average adult food. A little hard for my son, who also has a tree nut allergy. He couldn't eat any desserts for the entire stay. They speak "some" English. The ala carte restaurants were very good. We went to the barbecue, Italian, and Japanese restaurants. Bring snacks. They always have food to eat ( hamburgers,hotdogs), but not what Americans call snacks. Beach was the winner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puntacana chic
Business
Puntacana Domician republic
Aug 25, 2013

Family vacation

Everything was great, except not enough beach towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TiaTravels
Business
Bk, NY
Aug 22, 2013

Ordinary vacay

Got to the hotel at check-in time and there was one person manning the desk with a line of 8 ppl waiting. After about 10 minutes, 2 additional staff came and assisted. Got assigned to a room with a king size bed but I'm vacationing with my Mom. Placed call to front desk and was informed that hotel is full and won't be able to change room until 1pm next day but I would have to call. Room change took place with minimal fuss. Attempted to make reservations at speciality restaurants without success; informed that reservations had to be made the morning of desired day but this proved false. No linen change for entire stay. Bathroom sink finally thoroughly cleaned on day 6. Although entertainment titled Caribbean show and international night, focus was totally latin based which was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sean in Dallas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2013

Nothing like the pictures

Booked a room for 2 adults and 2 kids and asked for 2 queen bed and got a king size instead. My kids had to sleep on a sofa and they did not want to do anything about it. Booked this hotel because it showed big slides for the kids and fun activities but there weren't any big slides and the kids activity hall is a small room with 2 games and very loud music. Food was ok if you don't mind eating all three meals at the same place every day while you are there. We had no house keeping for 3 days out of the 5 days we were there. I normally don't like to wright these reviews but this place is really really unorganized and you should consider twice before booking in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make dinner reservations before you even arrive at the resort because they don't like giving those out even if the place is empty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tamara1
Business
Miami
Aug 15, 2013

My first all inclusive!!!!

This was my first all-inclusive resort experience and it exceeded my expectations! They kept the food and alcohol flowing, ALL the employees were fun, friendly, helpful, charismatic, and cater to your every needs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe latino
Business
Chicago
Aug 15, 2013

Fun times

The place is huge and has lots of people. They have a great apmosphere that is exciting and fun to be around. Food is okay but it's drink and and enjoy beach time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carla AA
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 5, 2013

Average vacation spot

The hotel is comfortable. The second day I noticed that the glasses in the bathroom had not been cleaned!!! it appeared that the maid only turned them around!!!. The staff is ok as long as you tip well. No kid friendly. The food is average. Not at all what I had expected.... next year a different location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top