$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iheartdbeach
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 27, 2014

Great Family Vacation for the Money But Service Was Disappointing

My kids and I vacationed at this resort. This is a huge resort because it's a combination of 4 separate hotels with common areas with trams transporting guests between the buildings but no matter where you are you're only ten minutes from the beach or the main building. There were a lot of options for meals but breakfast is only served in the main building so if you want to hit the beach or pool early for the day there's no breakfast until they serve "snacks" around 10:30 - not even coffee BUT the bar is open! The beach is gorgeous but i expected more in terms of service there was next to done - at the beach and the pool there wasn't anyone to help you find chairs or bring you drinks. The rooms were nice enough - i asked for an upgrade when i checked and they gladly obliged by moving us to a building closer to the beach. Make your dinner reservations as soon as you check in because they're hard to get. The Japanese and Italian restaurants were very good. The buffet was huge and had lots of variety but a lot of the hot meals were served cold and the service was lacking - the servers in all areas just seem disinterested. You won't get a frozen drink - they serve you piña coladas and daiquiries but they're just liquid with alcohol in them. Even if you tip well the bartenders don't pay much attention to you if there's a line. For the money it was a great value but the service was disappointing. All in all I i would go back for the price but now i know what to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

there are vendors walking up and down the beach constantly selling everything from parasailing to jewelry, sunglasses, braids, etc. DO NOT engage unless you intend to buy because they will not leave your side until you buy and if you do decide to buy haggle with them because they will come down in price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fabi B
Business
North Providence, RI
Jun 18, 2014

Fantastic vacation

I keep saying that if you're ever down, go to Punta Cana. The staff is so friendly and happy. They are so welcoming and make you feel taken care of. We were at Villa 47 which is the farthest away but there are trolleys. We wanted to maximize time so we just walked from the main lobby (bavaro) to our room in about 5 minutes. My only difficulty was that I wish there was more lighting in our particular room. I noticed this wasn't a problem in other rooms like villas 23 and 95. 24 hours of food and drinks. Great activities. The disco was fun. Even fellow vacationers were awesome. We had a GREAT time and will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara the Young Traveler
Business
Akron, OH
May 24, 2014

Great Getaway

The facility was extremely clean, and we felt very safe. Overall, the staff were very nice and polite, but some were a little pushy about tips. The food at the restaurants were great, but make your reservations as soon as you arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tofumao
Business
miami
May 12, 2014

Amazing vacation

amazing vacation, excellent staff, weekends are a little crowded though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kamille16
Business
Florida
Apr 22, 2014

Bad experience

I went to this hotel for my honeymoon, and nobody knows the it was out honeymoon. Not only that, but also the refrigerator doesnt work it was empty, aircondition it was no working, and bed its horrible to sleep. Also we told everythig to the guest service and nobody did anything. They said they fixed everything but it was the same. Staff it was some good another one horrible. Also the day the we have to leave the guy in the front desk called us because our taxi it was there to pick up. The taxi it was 20 minutes early because they told the taxi the it was a 3:20 when it was suppost at 3:40. I explain everything to the guy the it was in the front dest to told the taxi about the time we try out best to be ready. We were in another hotel and we have to walk with our bags to another hotel it was noboday to help us with our bags and at the time we went to the other hotel to pick up the taxi which we paid because it was VIP transportation theTaxi left wtihout us and we have to paid again double for another taxi. I think this is no fear and the service it was horrible with the guy in the front desk he was with attitude to us and said a lot of think, and we also speak Spanish so we can communicate very good because Spanish it is our principal language. Obset with this hotel because it was expensive to for one all inclusive to get a bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfer....
Business
Michigan
Apr 21, 2014

Family Getaway

Hotel has lot of issues. It is very big so the customer service is below average. If you're booking 2 rooms expect them to be a mile away from each other and they don't accommodate a change. I have to call the room service daily to get fresh towels. Quality of Food served is below average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sara Brenan
Business
New York
Apr 8, 2014

Very nice for family or couples

Had very good time although with two small kids. Had entertainment every night - family oriented and others. Would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Had a fun in Punta Cana
Business
Mankato, MN
Apr 3, 2014

Fantastic vacation!!!!

The staff was amazing!!!!! The grounds were well manicured and very well taken care of. The resort was HUGE!!! Food from the buffet was very good!!! The speciallity resturants were excellent and entertaining too. All and all, this was great vacation for a decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girl trip 2014
Business
Windham, New Hampshire
Apr 2, 2014

Girl trip 2014

On arrival check in went well, the staff can speak English which is a plus. You have to purchase use of a safe, I didn't like that. Our room was big and the bathroom is roomy. The premiere area had a buffet, pool with pool bar, lobby and bar. Overall pretty good. it didn't matter that it was the farthest from the beach as there are bus stops and trams regularly. You have to use the trams to get around, the place is huge! Plenty to do and you'll never be thirsty and hungry! The beach is amazing and the big pools in the front of the beach were great, big, clean and fun! They were overbooked when we went so all the alacart restaurants were booked and we only did the buffets which we decent! But we were getting bored with them after a week. We were there the 1st week 3/2014 and the weather was great... 81*-84*. The water is warm and the waves are just perfect! It's a girl trip I do every year with the same girls and we all loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You'll have to take the trams.... To big to walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama Juana Chica
Business
Hershey, pennslyvania
Apr 1, 2014

Will go back again and again!

I've stayed here twice now and it was even a better time the second time around! Very nice people and so relaxing! There's plenty of things to do and hotel entertainers that keep the party going at all times. The rooms are spacious and clean and the food is always good and plentiful. The beach was a good walk from our room since the resort is so huge but we could take a shuttle every few minutes back and forth. The beach itself was unbelievably beautiful and the pool bar was maybe too much fun. I will be back again ASAP. Great time here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top