$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KidlessTravels
Business
Houston,tx
Jul 28, 2014

Great Trip

Overall had a great stay only problem I had was upon arrival they gave us a room that was not ready within 20mins they had us in another room. Other than that the resort is nice meals were great no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

They try to sell u souvenirs super expensive u can negotiate the price!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJA11
Business
Canton, Ohio
Jul 19, 2014

Great Resort!!

The staff at this resort were extremely friendly! The beach had white sand and clear blue water! The food was good overall, but I would suggest brining some American food to snack on while at the beach. The pool bar was amazing, but it closes at 6:00 p.m., which is kind of early. The overall scenery at the resort was beautiful and transportation was relatively quick for the amount of people. We were immediately upgraded for free to Ambar when we arrived, which is an adults only section. I would definitely reccomend this section if you are not taking children! Overall, we had a great experience and would visit this resort in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gabyfarks
Business
colonia, uruguay
Jul 14, 2014

very good

very nice hotel, staff very friendly. food, good. service good. although it is a family hotel and there is not one pool or play ground with shadow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anja1234
Business
North Carolina
Jul 8, 2014

Terrible experience

I am not the one to write reviews, especially bad ones but this was just awful! I would NOT recommend this to anyone and will NOT, ever, return here! The driver dropped us off at the wrong hotel because he couldn't understand us. When we finally made it to the right hotel we checked in but nothing was explained, we had no idea where anything was, room wasn't ready, no one spoke English, any questions we asked the staff seemed annoyed with us. For an all inclusive resort lots of things were extra, like if u wanted to use the safe for example. We carried our own bags to the room on the 3rd floor, house keeper was still there cleaning for about another hour, so our room was ready at 5 pm and we got there around 1pm. AC and 1991 TV didn't work, when I called front desk they transferred me around and hung up. Called back they gave me attitude and said someone is on the way. Door didn't lock properly, you could open it without a key. We were suppose to make dinner reservations as soon as we got there but no one told us that, they didn't even explain where the restaurants were. The resort is huge and very difficult to navigate. We got lost the first 2 days when asked for directions no one could help us because no one spoke English, they would just point in a direction with an attitude and walk off. By the time we figured out reservations were needed it was too late and they said everything was booked up for the remainder of our 5 day stay. Only one buffet was available. Food was terrible, flies everywhere. They only offered one type of beer. Bars ran out of drinks everyday. Beach was beautiful but very packed and about 2 MILES from our hotel room. About a 20 minute walk. They were suppose to give us cards for beach towels when checked in but no one did so when we got to the beach they wouldn't give us towels and told us to go back to the front desk, 2 MILES back lol. I have never felt so un welcomed in my life. First and last time to Dominican Republic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Beaches were beautiful

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boggie MD
Business
Md
Jul 5, 2014

Family Vacation july 2014

We all had a wonderful time. All the staff were helpful . Punta Cana Grande Bahia Principe Bavaro is a wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iheartdbeach
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 27, 2014

Great Family Vacation for the Money But Service Was Disappointing

My kids and I vacationed at this resort. This is a huge resort because it's a combination of 4 separate hotels with common areas with trams transporting guests between the buildings but no matter where you are you're only ten minutes from the beach or the main building. There were a lot of options for meals but breakfast is only served in the main building so if you want to hit the beach or pool early for the day there's no breakfast until they serve "snacks" around 10:30 - not even coffee BUT the bar is open! The beach is gorgeous but i expected more in terms of service there was next to done - at the beach and the pool there wasn't anyone to help you find chairs or bring you drinks. The rooms were nice enough - i asked for an upgrade when i checked and they gladly obliged by moving us to a building closer to the beach. Make your dinner reservations as soon as you check in because they're hard to get. The Japanese and Italian restaurants were very good. The buffet was huge and had lots of variety but a lot of the hot meals were served cold and the service was lacking - the servers in all areas just seem disinterested. You won't get a frozen drink - they serve you piña coladas and daiquiries but they're just liquid with alcohol in them. Even if you tip well the bartenders don't pay much attention to you if there's a line. For the money it was a great value but the service was disappointing. All in all I i would go back for the price but now i know what to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

there are vendors walking up and down the beach constantly selling everything from parasailing to jewelry, sunglasses, braids, etc. DO NOT engage unless you intend to buy because they will not leave your side until you buy and if you do decide to buy haggle with them because they will come down in price.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fabi B
Business
North Providence, RI
Jun 18, 2014

Fantastic vacation

I keep saying that if you're ever down, go to Punta Cana. The staff is so friendly and happy. They are so welcoming and make you feel taken care of. We were at Villa 47 which is the farthest away but there are trolleys. We wanted to maximize time so we just walked from the main lobby (bavaro) to our room in about 5 minutes. My only difficulty was that I wish there was more lighting in our particular room. I noticed this wasn't a problem in other rooms like villas 23 and 95. 24 hours of food and drinks. Great activities. The disco was fun. Even fellow vacationers were awesome. We had a GREAT time and will definitely be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara the Young Traveler
Business
Akron, OH
May 24, 2014

Great Getaway

The facility was extremely clean, and we felt very safe. Overall, the staff were very nice and polite, but some were a little pushy about tips. The food at the restaurants were great, but make your reservations as soon as you arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tofumao
Business
miami
May 12, 2014

Amazing vacation

amazing vacation, excellent staff, weekends are a little crowded though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kamille16
Business
Florida
Apr 22, 2014

Bad experience

I went to this hotel for my honeymoon, and nobody knows the it was out honeymoon. Not only that, but also the refrigerator doesnt work it was empty, aircondition it was no working, and bed its horrible to sleep. Also we told everythig to the guest service and nobody did anything. They said they fixed everything but it was the same. Staff it was some good another one horrible. Also the day the we have to leave the guy in the front desk called us because our taxi it was there to pick up. The taxi it was 20 minutes early because they told the taxi the it was a 3:20 when it was suppost at 3:40. I explain everything to the guy the it was in the front dest to told the taxi about the time we try out best to be ready. We were in another hotel and we have to walk with our bags to another hotel it was noboday to help us with our bags and at the time we went to the other hotel to pick up the taxi which we paid because it was VIP transportation theTaxi left wtihout us and we have to paid again double for another taxi. I think this is no fear and the service it was horrible with the guy in the front desk he was with attitude to us and said a lot of think, and we also speak Spanish so we can communicate very good because Spanish it is our principal language. Obset with this hotel because it was expensive to for one all inclusive to get a bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top