$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
211 reviews
GREAT PLACE FOR A FAMILY VACATION

I HAD A GREAT TIME WITH MY WIFE AT BAHIA PRINCIPE AND WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANY AND... See full review

  • JUNBOX
  • Sep 20, 2014
awesome vacation

This is one of the best resorts that I have stayed at ... love the food and the location.... and... See full review

  • ijpatel25
  • Sep 4, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beautiful Latin girl
Goshen, IN
Sep 22, 2012

Best vacation ever!

OMG is all I have to said! Gran Bahia Principe is the best Hotel in Punta Cana, rooms are big and very nice, the hotel is beutiful, lots of things to do and places to go, the restaurants OMG are the best, the food is excellent all you wanna eat and drink all day and all night long. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is can like to do things and explore the Dominican culture. Beutiful place I LOVE IT, Can't wait to go next year AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dominican Republic is a very beautiful place, Love it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DR fan 7
Ohio
Jan 1, 2014

Disappointing

You are restricted to restaurants in your part of the hotel despite the huge complex. Staff was friendly but did not go out of the way as much as staff at other hotels in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperBert
Oregon
Dec 28, 2013

Good family getaway

Friendly staff, good amenities. Food is not very good - lack of flavors, mostly boiled and bland - except the few Dominican dishes. Desserts are mostly bad unless you stick to the fruits. This seems to be true of most resorts. The resort restaurants are reasonably good (especially the Dominican and El Pescador seafood restaurant), except the Japanese (Maiko/Mikado), which is terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OrangeCloud
Canada
Dec 18, 2013

The room was not up to our standards but everything else was good

Hi , the food was good. The beach was amazing. The staff were very friendly. The room on the other hand smelled like mold, had a very dirty looking bathtub, and bathroom. mold all around the tub and a yellow floor that looked like a spill. we talked to customer service about the smell and the mold and they said they'd look into it. which they didn't and they didn't even bother calling us back or letting us know what they think. in general, no we won't be back at this hotel and we won't recommend it to our friends. maybe the neighbour hotel that looked recently renovated might be a better option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

do not book a fancy french or italian restaurant in all inclusive hotels. they keep you waiting at the tables for hours and bring you a tiny painting on a plate. use the buffets, always better. we wont make the same mistake again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jo Jo 10
Bahia Principe Bavaro - Punta Canta DR
Dec 18, 2013

I would never recommend this hotel!

I had sent an email 1 week prior confirming my arrival. I checked in at 3pm on 12/12- check in time is 3pm. They did not have a room for me. They made me wait for 1 hour! When I checked back- they did not have 2 beds which I REQUESTED in my email and in the reservation. When we arrived at the room it was dirty! The maid was cleaning it. It went down hill from there. They charged $15 an hour for Internet it never worked, $20 for a safe that did not lock and close. I had to carry my passport, IPAD around all day! We had to beg for towels every day! I had to get a business fax on the 14th - forget it- they did not know where the fax was!!! I had to postpone my business until I returned. The funny thing is that I have been in the hotel business for 30 years and traveled all over the world. I have never experienced this bad overall incompetence from hotel staff!! I will go out of my way to tell all my friends and business associates not to use this hotel. By the way - I slept on a cot for my entire stay!! I am not sure about using your company again for my future travel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lattenldy
Washington DC
Dec 17, 2013

Group Trip

Over all enjoyed my stay. The breakfast food wasn't so good. Lunch and dinner were good, We made reservation at the Japanese steak house. That was excellent. The room was clean and staff was nice. Our location was great. We stayed only steps from the beach. We were at the Amber. The alcohol was free flowing at all of the bars. The only problem was it wasn't that way in the rooms. You only got little miniature bottles, one can of beer and different types of water. They only fill the fridges once a day. The pools were nice however it is hard to relax because they have people walking around trying to get you to sign up for excursions all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nickkil
Cleveland, Ohio
Dec 12, 2013

First time out of the US

I was worried I would have trouble going to my first all inclusive and first time in another country but I couldn't be happier.. Everyone was helpful and attentive to my needs. Loved every single day. I did an incursion to string ray bay, went to the beach, ate great food, met really nice people, and stayed in a very clean beautiful room. Night life was fun. Karaoke bar, Casino, Dance club, singers and entertainment were all good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Caribbean festival was the best day I had. Went to Swim with the sharks, play with the Sting Rays and then went out to snorkel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny pincher...
Michigan
Dec 10, 2013

Ladies trip

Nice getaway with my mom's.... Didn't expect the beach to be so far away but transportation is available. Plenty of food so needed to walk off a few extra pounds. Didn't let the little things ruin my vacation. Would go back but would upgrade to be closer to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DR fan 7
Ohio
Dec 9, 2013

Not truly all inclusive

Despite the fact it claims to be all inclusive there are lots of hidden costs - wifi (anywhere besides the lobby where you can get 60 min free per 24 hours), higher end liquors, the safe in your room ($4/day). You also have to have reservations for any restaurants other than the buffets even if they are not full. The beach is about a 7-10 minute tram ride away or a much longer walk. Our room was by the pool which was often noisy (loud music) from about 10a-6p every day because their animation team is constantly doing activities. While the activities are nice while you're at the pool, we could hear about all of them from our room with doors closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRE Mimi
Punta Cana
Dec 5, 2013

good family fun

It's a good place too spend time as a family but if your a couple looking for a gateway select somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

food is not all that good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paloma R
Orlando, FL
Sep 6, 2013

A dissapointment!

Horrible customer service, no sense of urgency. Made the reservation in advance about a month in a half before we arrived and the rooms were not next to one another. After, they made me upset and I requested to speak with a manager who never show up, it took then about a hour to find two rooms at close proximity. The menu is almost the same everyday, except for some variations, the juices taste like water. Not many entertainment choices for adults. The children's water park was excellent. However, overall will not come back or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Water park for the children a five plus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top