$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoneLady traveler
Business
Phoenix, Az
Oct 4, 2014

Great experience for a lone traveler

I was a little nervous about traveling to another country by myself. But I have the most wonderful time during my stay in punta cana. All the hotel staff were very accommodating and inviting. I had no trouble making new friends, The resort is very large and has a very diverse population of people from all over the world. Great value for the dollar. I will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Be ready for lots of American tunes, if you want to dance to Latin you'll have to go off the resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Susan
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 28, 2014

Punta Cana was gorgeous!!

It was so perfect...staff was wonderful, room clean and comfortable, food excellent - - just a perfect vacation..Simon the grave shift manager was amazing...and our driver Sandri was too beautiful and kind to us......so many people to assist with anything you need and even thought a huge resort - easy to move around on the trains available all day and night...Doctor on-site as well as a pharmacy....we had a blast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steak House was excellent food and the staff was perfection..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elysendra
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 24, 2014

great paradise getaway

my sixth time in Punta Cana, and each time I stay at different resorts, I would definitely return to this one, its very spacious, very clean, great variety of food and lots of it...friendliest staff, and immaculate and beautiful grounds and beach !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sisi md
Business
Maryland
Sep 22, 2014

Dont ruin your vacation at this place

Hotel is one of 4 or 5 hotels and they all share same grounds. Showers are poorly designed and when you take shower entire floor soaked in water. There is no fan in bathroom so imagine how much it steams. Pools are big and nice but too much activity and its sooo loud, hard to relax. Hotel has small stores owned by local people and you cant walk around with out being harassed by them. They have no price tags on anything. We wanted to buy a bottle of mammajuana and they tried to sell us from $25 which we purchased from hotel's gift shop $10( where they have price tags on items). They have bunch of activity companies for snorkeling, parasailing, dolphin swimming etc and they dont leave you alone not even 5 mins. Good luck relaxing! They bug you all the time and dont accept the answer no. We stayed 4 nights and they told us we can only dine in 2 alacart restaurants but they were booked for 2 weeks. They told us what time and which restaurant we can eat. Booked us in Meditaranean at 6.30pm one evening which was too early to eat for us but we have had no choice. Restaurant had no AC, closed space with couple of windows open. We ate dinner which was really blaahh and left asap because of heat.. Very uncomfortable dining experience! Food is not good in buffet restaurants. Left for hours with out protection so you are most likely to find a fly in it.. The company called Vip for transportation service is a joke. He told us he will leave our pick up time to the room but never did. He gave us his cell and said if we ask for him in the lobby they will find him asap. Unfortunately he was no where to be found. We talked to someone from Soultour which is what i understand is a sister company to Vip. She told us we ll be picked up at 11.15 in the lobby for airport. No one showed up.. We tried to call this Vip rep Victor guy but no one found him.. Only thing they said Victor is not here..They kept sending us from one desk to another. Eventually they said Vip car left and if we pay another $40 they will take us to airport. There were another couple in same situation. I ve had a nervous breakdown and yelled at some people and 30 mins later they sent another car to take us airport. It was very scary because Dominican Republic can be very dangerous place.. Only good thing was servers at the restaurants. Nice friendly people. They went up and beyond to make sure we were having good time and we tipped them very well. Overall, scary experience with airport transportation and poor quality hotel. I will never go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Do not shop from locals!! They will try to screw you.. Go to hotel owned gift shop where you can see prices on everything..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nnnnnnnnn
Business
Virginia
Sep 22, 2014

Needs Improvement

First off the the pool and the beach was amazing. But, sadly that was the best part of this resort. The food and the room was horrible. Our rooms had flies coming out of the sink in the bathroom. We also bought a safe for the room but that didn't work so we had to call to get that fix, which took about 30 mins. The staff was good for the most part, and they spoke english so that was a plus. We tried to make reservation for the restaurants but it was all full so we only got to try out the Japanese restaurant. The buffets had the same food so it got very repetitive, and the quality of the food was very poor. The buffet had flies flying over there food on certain dishes. There snack bar was disgusting because the food was kept outside in the warm weather and flies were once again around the foods. I would NOT recommend this resort to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the restaurants well ahead or do it asap when you arrive because they do book up quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JUNBOX
Business
CLIFTON, NEW JERSEY
Sep 20, 2014

GREAT PLACE FOR A FAMILY VACATION

I HAD A GREAT TIME WITH MY WIFE AT BAHIA PRINCIPE AND WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANY AND EVERYONE I KNOW ...... GREAT PLACE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

AQUARIUM IS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE AND LOTS OF FUN

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fontaine30
Business
Dallas, tx
Sep 12, 2014

Best vaction

We loved it!!! Hotel was right there on the beach, and everything was all inclusive!! Staff was very friendly and made sure we enjoyed our stay..rooms were cleaned daily and very professional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuCretia D
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Sep 10, 2014

Bring your own wash cloths

Original hotel was over booked so we were given a room at the 5 star Esmeralda. Hotel was very nice however they ran out of wash cloths 2nd day there. Room was on third floor with elevators. Food was okay same stuff at every buffet. Don't drink the ice tea or water causes stomach cramps and diarrhea for days. All inclusive drinks were great. Staff was Awesome. The free shuttle was a plus to go between resorts. Beware of timeshare sales people. If you want nice gift with rum, cigar and coffee or free helicopter ride give them 1 hour of your time...gifts are nice. Room service unlimited and daily stock of room mini bar nice touch. Taxi to and from airport $40 each way. Taxi to go to San Juan shopping center $20 each way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Items more expensive than United States

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Megbeth
Business
Portland, Maine
Sep 5, 2014

Food is hard to find and not all that good

Our over all stay was quite enjoyable but the most frustrating part was trying to find where to eat. There was no central place to find where restaurants were and what the hours were, but alcohol could be found everywhere. To eat at any of the a la carte restaurants we needed a reservation but we could only make a reservation 6 days out, we were only there for 4 days. We did find that you can talk your way into almost any restaurant since they never actually fill up, but you do receive a lower level of service. As far as the buffets finding hours was challenging, we found you had to go to each buffet to find the hours, and the posted hours weren't necessarily correct. The food quality at the buffets was generally low, food was either under seasoned, generally bland, or overly salty. The hands down best thing was the bread offered at all of the restaurants. Over all we had a great time it was just hard to make a reservation for a nice sit down dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can talk your way into a restaurant if you don't have a reservation. Also a $20 tip will get you a lot no matter where you are.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ijpatel25
Business
Warrn, nj
Sep 4, 2014

awesome vacation

This is one of the best resorts that I have stayed at ... love the food and the location.... and please don't try to shop outside the resort if you cannot bargain...... The resort provides with tours please be sure to do them ... they are amazing..... try the provider bavaro runner... they are awesome ... loved every second of it .... now i am suffering from a withdrawal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

try to buy in bulk and tell them its too much and u need a deal no matter what ... they will cut it down by atleat 30 dollars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top